Home » 26170 » 23 Reviews

Nikon 26170 Camera, Coolpix L100, Black, 10 Mp Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 23 reviews)

78% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

the worst camenra

By kikika from Undisclosed on 02/11/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If I could I would have give 0 stars. Complete waist of money, and wasnt cheap. I would not had accepted even for free this camera. Awaful pictures, I have it for 4-5 of years now. I am using EVERYsingle setting just to take one single normal picture for the same spot and still rubbish. either yellow or burned, really poor quality. Such a shame for Nikon. I wander, have they even try to take couple of shots before they release it in the market?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By kelley from Tennessee, USA on 12/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had mine for a couple years now. I have only had one problem and it was the battery exhaustion thing. A fix was sent out for it though and all you had to do was download the fix to your camera. It was simple and fixed the problem. Takes great pics. Portable. Reliable. I have gotten close up spots shots of humming birds and the camera took a pic which caught their wings in motion, clear as can be. If you have issues with pictures not coming out right, don't be so quick to always blame the camera! Each of the pictures posted were either from a distance or zoomed in (some taken through glass window)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An Amazing Camera

By Chris from Ohio from Madison, Ohio (Right on Lake Eerie) on 06/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First of all, I love this camera. I've owned it now for a year and a half. This is my first nikon product, before I had a little Poloroid digital camera, but it broke so I got this camera as a replacement and it has done much more than just replace my old camera. The pictures it produces are beautiful and very large. My favorite specs are the 15X zoom, the close up mode, sports continuous mode (takes up to 13 pictures a second), and the design. The design makes me feel like a professional photographer, I often get asked if I'm in a photography club at my school because of it. A perfect fit in your hands. The pop-up flash is a nice feature too, if you don't want flash, just leave it down and it won't go off. The zoom on this camera is amazing, much much better than and of the popular digital cameras. It STILL amazes me even though I've owned this camera for a while. Since it's digital zoom, you aren't risking clearity of the pictures at all. The Sports Continuous mode is really fun. I've always wanted to make a flip book with it, but I haven't yet. Fun things like jumping into a pool or off of a swing look really cool when showed frame after frame. I haven't timed it yet, but I would estimate that this mode only lasts a couple seconds at a time, and after your done the camera takes up to 10 seconds to finsh before you can take any more pics. I do notice a slight difference in clearity in this mode, but it's nothing too major. I take all of my normal pictures in closeup mode because it seems to focus the best. In this mode, you still have the ability to zoom all the way and you can take normal pictures too, it's not only for close things. Sometimes it takes a second to focus, but it's always worth it. I get some beautiful pictures of birds in my bird bath for example, or really clear pictures of something up close, like a small coin. The only annoyance in this mode is that when you first select the mode, it automatically zooms in a little bit and you don't always need it zoomed in. It zooms in to where the zoom bar at the top has a mark at, where it's green. I assume it takes the best pictures in that degree of zoom, but I'm not sure. When you push the button half way to take a picture, if it shows gree you know your picture will come out great. When it's red, I'd give it a couple more seconds to focus again The only major downsides to this camera are that it takes 4 AA batteries and you can't use rechargeable according to the booklet. I would reccomend buying batteries in bulk, especially if you use your camera alot I know I've typed a lot, but it's only because I love this camera so much. Worth every penny you pay. If you've made it this far, congratulations. P.S. I would upload so many more pictures if I could, I feel these are good examples of the camera's features


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall Excellence

By 280zx2005 from Pueblo, CO on 05/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with the performance of this camera. Takes beautiful, high quality shots and is easy to use. Great resolution, awesome stock lens, flash works great indoors and outdoors, good video/audio quality. The only negative thing I have to say is, occasionally the L100 will have difficulty aquiring good focus on target, especially under low-light conditions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Was relly good at the time

By NikonKate from Eugene, Oregon on 01/30/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got this camera two years ago and I loved it. It is a really good camera for outdoor photos but when you get to the indoor photos they turn out with a yellow tinting that has to be edited out later on. The camera itself is very easy to use and has very straight forward settings. I was happy with the simplicity of the camera but I was very disappointed with the quality of the images. When I took outdoor photos the images were very sharp and high quality. Once you go outside when it is cloudy or stay indoors the images are very blurry and does not produce the quality that you get outside. For the first year of having this camera I was just taking pictures when I was bored or when something important was going on. Lately I have been taking a lot of photos as a hobby and I am really not pleased with this camera. Another problem I have encountered is that the auto-focus is not very helpful. Whenever I try to take a close up picture I end up having to focus it about 7 times before getting a decent focus. The cons outweigh the pros.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blurry, yellowed Photos

By Wolfmaan from Niagara Region on 01/05/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been a solid Nikon fan for almost 3 decades. I have had many of your great brand names and was a huge fan of the coolpix series cameras. Sadly I purchased this L100 from an authorised dealer and find it constantly takes blurry photographs. The low light (indoor) photos are generally yellowed and no setting seems to correct this. I have serious brand loyalty to Nikon and will continue to purchase their products, even though this particular one was a let-down. PRO: Great battery life with Lithium batteries Compact 67mm filter lens compatible Lightweight Professional Looking CONS: Poor grainy indoor photos consistently blurry photos in all settings


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Love IT!!

By Photographeratheart from Undisclosed on 12/27/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this camera as a gift last year for Christmas, and have started my own photography career using the L100. I have had my ups and downs with it, but every time I get frustrated with something I read through the user guide and figure out the only reason I thought my camera was malfunctioning was because of something I was doing. This is a wonderful camera for beginners!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i love it!!! i only wish ...

By babygirl from clevelan, tn on 12/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i love it!!! i only wish you had more in stock, along with more colors. i will tell everyone, from the tallest mountain top to the lowest valley, that this is an awsome camera. begininers dream. thanks so much for making this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

L100 is Undoubtedly Awesome

By Sougata from Bangalore on 11/19/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Afret taking the shots by L100, you have to believe that, there is a photographer inside you. Great resolution, great value for money, great zooming capasity like Tele. This is a great guide to the way of Professional Photography. But if Nikon provided the option to do the all manual settings like F/L, Aperture, then I'll be a "All Time Favourite". In One Line " It is a Great Memory Stopper"...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good camera for beginnings

By EmilyJane from New York, NY on 10/19/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am a younger photographer but I have my own company. This camera was my first real SLR camera. This has good quality pictures but my least favorite part of this camera is the cap because it doesn't connect. This camera is very light and has all the different colors such as black and white, sepia, and all those. I would suggest this for parents that don't want to buy their children very expensive cameras but want a good quality camera. The other problem with this camera is that you have to use AA batterys which don't last very long.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By BIGMS from Downey, CA on 08/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great replacement for my Sony Cybershot. Loved it ever since I've had it. Bought it on my sons birthday a year ago. Had the party at the park on a beautiful sunny day. It took some very very nice pictures. Have loved it ever since.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can get some amazing results with this camera.

By savy shooter from Iowa on 07/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this camera over a year now and have been very happy with the results. I have used it at my kids' outdoor ballgames as well as indoor games and concerts. To get better shots in the gyms I somtimes had to adjust the lighting with the exposure compensation and could get great shots. The zoom lens on the camera also is great if you dont go past the recommended setting. I love all the different options it gives you and that the menu is easy to understand and that it responds quickly. I too was upset that the camera would not take rechargable batteries, but have used the lithium ones and they last a loooong time. Though the video is not of the greatest quality it is a fun feature to have. Nice to be able to carry just one camera to some of the events rather than a camera and a video camera. Overall I have been really happy and impressed with this camera. A coworker even went out and bought one after borrowing mine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good travel companion

By traveler from Boston, MA on 07/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I travel a lot and sometimes, my SLR is just not a good option for the destination. I looked for an alternative littler and affordable option and gave the Coolpix L100 a try. I was very surprised by the quality of the shots and the power of the zoom. Small body with a large screen, dependable, easy to use with a large number of convenient features to choose from to adapt to your photography needs. The video option is also a plus and creates fun souvenirs. The battery is far from being great and the zoom button, albeit it functions well, doesn't "feel" very sturdy. This camera has certainly gained its title as my SLR's sidekick in conditions where multiple lenses and larger camera body are limiting. Try it, you won't be disappointed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent camera

By snakmann from Haverhill, MA on 07/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ever since I got this camera last year for father's day I don't go anywhere without it - it is easy to use, takes excellent photos and comes in handy when going camping, for graduations and for taking lots of pictures of our husky Starr. The only drawback is that you need to time your shots just right, pressing down on the shutter button a second before you want to take the picture is the trick. Otherwise I love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall great camera so far

By Liz from Austin, TX on 07/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my camera for a few months now and really like it. The pictures have overall been crisp and the features are pretty intuitive- although sometimes you can't tell from the viewfinder what the quality of the picture is (it comes out a little grainy).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

For the cost I am a bit disappointed

By JM from Mississippi on 07/23/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

1st camera had to be returned twice b/c of fogging lenses, and scrambled screen that left buttons not working. However, Nikon made it right the 2nd time by replacing the camera 100%. Replacement camera has the same fogging lenses, when going from inside to outside or vis-a-versa. Overall good camera, I like it, just not the problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs improving

By AIA on A1A from Melbourne Beach FL on 07/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The L100 is my sixth Coolpix. I live at the beach, and sand and water take their toll. The L100 has made it thru a whole year of happy shooting. Yes, a viewfinder would be a good plus in bright sunlight. Otherwise, I like most of the features and the ease of use. The BIG NEGATIVE is poor battery life.With the camera "on" for fireworks, or sports shooting, twenty minutes is all a fully charged set of recycled alkaline batteries gives you. You always have to bring along a seond, and third set of fully charged batteries if you don't want to get caught "powerless".


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Snapshot Camera

By John1445 from California on 07/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very good camera for family trips. Easy to learn and use on short notice. Lots of features to use when you take time to read the manual. Nice comfortable size for large hands and fingers. use of SDHC cards a real plus. Rear viewer is good, but I sure miss the old eyepiece viewer on bright days


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

happy at first

By shutter animal from winston salem nc on 07/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am happy with this camera. I shoot alot of sports, and I think that what I want to do photo wise, I have out grown this model. Manual adjustments as well as auto would have been nice. Nikon will be considered for my next purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent buy for the price

By BillW from Illinois on 07/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The features on this camera alone are worth the price, but the quality and ease of use are what really sold me. My wife; who is a "technophobe" was able to pick it up and start snapping pictures after just a couple of minutes. We took a lot of pictures on our recent vacation to Niagara Falls, and a lot of our friends thought that we scanned postcards!! Our pictures never looked this good on our old camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the automatic features and zoom.

By Engineer from Fraser, CO on 07/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the automatic features and use the zoom all the time to catch wildlife. Some indoor picture quality lacks if flash not up. A couple of issues are (1) Manual flash pop-up - should be automatic when needed. (2) If I forget to remove lense cover and turn power on, it does not push the cover off like Canon does. Also must power down, take lense cover off and then power back up. Can't just take lense cover off.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good capture device for the $$$

By Cothrom from Spartanburg, SC on 07/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The L100 is a great backup/carry around camera for the price. I own a D200 and a D3 SLR, both which are far more versatile but at the cost of carrying much more equipment at times. For the money, the L100 is a hard one to beat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good product for semi-beginner

By dld85377 from Phoenix, Arizona on 07/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good product for photographers with some knowledge of cameras. Control is pretty good with knowledge of the owners manual. Not good in low light situations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved