Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 26233 » 24 Reviews

Nikon Coolpix P7000 10.1 Megapixel Compact Camera - 6 Mm-42.60 Mm - Black 3" Lcd - 7x Optical Zoom - Optical - 3648 X 2736 Image - 1280 X 720 Video - Mpeg-4 - Hdmi - Pictbridge (26233) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 24 reviews)

83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Good image quality and packed with features, disappointing responsivness

By AndrewP from Undisclosed on 08/10/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This camera is a portable, robust, and sleek. It is absolutely filled with options and settings to fool around with as well as professional features such as the PSAM modes. The image quality is decent with vibrant colors. 7.1x zoom is more that enough to satisfy anyone. HOWEVER! The entire thing is botched by a sluggish internal computer/firmware or whatever. Everything is quite slow: autofocus, write time, menu navigation, playback, etc. This was very disappointing. The version 1.2 firmware only helped a little bit. Some features are limited as well: only 720p video, 1.3 frame burst (can that even be called a burst?) and changing the ISO is very inconvenient, having to go into the slow, sluggish menu, and then twiddling dial. Not only is the system slow, but it is also glitchy. In the PSAM modes, the aperture and shutter speed dial menus are glitchy, appearing to scroll up when they are scrolling down. It is quite hard to explain but the overall effect of this is a confusing onscreen popup dial which covers 1/3 the screen. Nikon had the right idea but somehow messed it up with the firmware. Perhaps the 7800 is good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent value and quality.

By Panache1964 from Orange, CA, USA on 10/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only owned Nikons for five decades. I purchased the P7000 when it was first released because of its ability to take RAW/NEF images. Within the constraints of its lens it takes excellent quality images and it has way more features and functions than I will ever use. I am still learning about its many features and it is so handy to use. I process my images in Lightroom and Photoshop and I use onOne, Topaz and NIK software on my Macs. I am always pleased and I am often astonished with the results. I suppose I will upgrade to the newest version of the P7000 series some day - 1080 HD video and Wi-Fi would be nice - but I don't know if I will ever get a 'Big Boy' body/lens again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Inevitable lens cover problems

By theoldtree from Undisclosed on 06/16/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It's just a matter of time before this camera's lens cover will stop opening all the way. Search the internet reviews and discussion threads: It happens to everyone. Until Nikon admits that this is a manufacturer error and offers to fix the problem, I have to rate this otherwise great camera as "Poor."


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good camera at night

By Skep from Anaheim, CA on 10/06/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera because it looked like it would take good pictures in low lighting situations which none of my point and shoots seem to be able to handle. It arrived the day I was headed to a party at night so I took it along, I couldn't see anything without my glasses on so I just winged it and left it on auto and got some really nice shots. Imagine what pictures it could take if I could see what I was doing and had time to read the manual.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful Camera

By Psyche from Undisclosed on 04/23/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far I've been very impressed with this camera. I wanted a camera with full manual control and did quite a bit of research before finally settling on this one because it seemed to be just as good as its competitors, but considerably cheaper. I received it with firmware 1.1 already installed, so I don't know how slow it was before. It takes about 5 seconds to write a RAW file, which is the same as my sister's DSLR. With a class 10 memory card, the write speed was cut to 3 seconds. I don't notice a delay when I am shooting. I've found the menus very easy to use and I love all the dials, it's a pain to go racing through menus looking for important settings just before taking a shot and the dials on this camera fix that problem. The video seems adequate and I'm glad the camera doesn't have in-camera HDR because the quality usually isn't the best. The view finder is extremely important in sunny weather, I just have to remember that the last quarter of the picture is missing. It might have been nice to have a rotating LCD screen, but they break easily. The rotating screen on my friend's Canon broke very quickly. All I wanted was a camera that takes very good pictures and is easy to carry around. The Nikon P7000 more than fits the bill!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Compact, But powerful P7000

By Nerds need love too! from Kansas City, MO, USA on 03/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Full featured professional grade tool. If your a beginner just use the auto mode to get great shots. For more advanced shooters this camera really gives some great high quality images. I have enlarged to 16x20 with good results at ISO100. Up to ISO 400 enlargements to 11x14 are stunning. Firmware is alittle quirky and sometimes its like trying to coax a drunk into a taxicab for a ride home.... but once you learn how to get your bracketing and macro modes to work you'll get great results. The qaulity of the images you get out of this little jewel is well worth the effort to work around its issues. I went to a Media Professionals Seminar at the Nelson last night. Greg Gorman was the speaker and presented about 100 of his images. Anyhow, setting up on the stage taking time lapses of the crowd assembling at this Canon sponsored event... was you guessed it... a Nikon P7000. Must have been sort of embarrasing for Canon. Anyhow, this is a great little camera and I see SLR photo's that are not as good as what I get from this camera. Yes for magazine or poster size work its not up to that level but for most everyday street photography this baby rocks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small camera very flashy

By ions1010 from Mt Holly, NJ, USA on 12/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this camera on Christmas and I just fell in love with it.! It is very compact and it is very simple to use. Although it has many buttons and various options just take your time with it. It take amazing sharp crisp images. I am not a photographer but my life is like a photo shoot and I have caught every single moment from breakfast to dinner on by the shore. It is fast, responsive, and unique


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

All Around Awesomeness

By Smokediver235 from Pigeon Forge, TN on 11/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is perfect for someone that wants the quality of a DSLR but a little more compact. All of the features go way beyond anything else for the price. If anything... the HD video camera makes it worth the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great SLR companion

By stanleymcp from Minden, NV on 10/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my P7000 for a business trip to India when I couldn't take my D200 and all of its stuff. I'm very pleased with the image quality (I shoot raw) and the manual control. The recent firmware update is a great improvement on the image save speed. The only thing that prevents me from giving this 5 stars is that the lens cover sticks and has to be opened with your finger. The camera is small enough to fit in your pocket, but that would probably cause more problems with the lens cover. We've had similar issues with an old P50.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A diamond in a lump of coal. Product sparkles!

By stub63 from San Jose, CA on 10/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I must have when you travel-size, flexibility, quality of the pictures and retaining most of the features of a much large Nikon full body digital single lens camera. It fits almost 100% of my requirements with the single exception of a large telephoto lens. The pictures have earned me praises from professional photographers who were only evaluating the pictures on display. One photographer purchased the P7000 after seeing the quality to add to his must have in his camera bag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Compact Camera with DSLR features

By Jim S. from Tucson,AZ on 09/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am using this camera as a back up when weight and amount of gear is a factor. Just the right features, could be a bit faster with righting files to SD card, but most compact cameras are not as fast or responsive as a DSLR. Menu's could be streamlined. Love the camera .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By Snoweeowl from Denville, NJ on 08/29/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Despite some of the negative reviews I still purchased the P7000. My other camera is a Nikon D90 and I have several lenses I use so part of my decision is based on loyalty to Nikon. So far, so good. (I compared the P7000 to the Canon G12 and although they are very similar, plus and minuses for both, I stayed with Nikon). The P7000 is packed with features that make it hard to put down. I've been testing all of them and find them fun to play with. I am especially happy with the sharp pictures I get as well as the macro capability. I have not experienced any of the problems others have mentioned so maybe Nikon worked out the kinks - I hope that is the case. If all remains as is I think others would be as happy as I am with the P7000.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poorly Engineered

By tomkellyphoto from Park City, UT on 08/19/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Went through three cameras before I finally gave up and decided to live with the problems. Biggest issue, which was a problem with all three cameras, was in ability to get the lens shade to open fully. I now just open it with a fingernail. Really poorly engineered. Also had problem with flash settings on one camera. Would not recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great camera once sorted

By Greenberg Images from Hampshire UK on 06/10/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Base line is the image quality that can be achieved from this camera is simply stunning. My other camera is a D700 and I demand high standards as a pro. I had some initial problems which after installing the upadated firmware and the camera going back to Nikon to have the zoom function freezing sorted, it now performs great. The rangefinder is more accurate than the Canon G12 and the lens range is also better and the low light shooting results are very good for a camera of this size. I always like to have a camera on me and this one will give me professional results when I havn't got the D700 on my person, or in a situation where I need to be discrete.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Recommended as "all times with you" camera

By ahinterl from Austria on 06/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Despite its size, weight, slow processing speeds and sometimes problems getting the autofocus to focus on the selected point, I recommend the P7000 because of its wealth of options, good image and build quality as well as excellent handling thanks to the numerous dials and buttons. The main issue that I personally have is that manual focus is almost impossible because the zoomed-in area has way too less zoom factor and there's no way to increase the zoom factor. Wish Nikon would change manual focus to allow for full screen enlarging of the focus point and increasing/decreasing the zoom factor (like e.g. Sony's NEX and others do it -- Nikon, do you read?). The amount of functions like built-in ND filter, 5 frames auto-bracketing with +/- 4 EV, P(rogram) shift, RAW support, lens correction and many others outperform even expensive DSLRs. I searched long for a replacement for my old "always with me" point and shoot camera, and the P7000 is the perfect choice!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I own a 300S but find the 7000 is with me most

By Chuck A from Forestport NY on 05/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own a 300S but find at my ancient age, that it serves best when I am traveling by car. I can literally wear the P7000. It serves me in the field and in the pub. The flash though limited gives me some great indoor photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best compact camera I have ever used.

By dphoto from Undisclosed on 05/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best compact camera I have ever used. I love being able to adjust the exposure compensation so easily. The fact that it has controls like a DSLR is great. I only wish it had an APS sensor and more than 80% coverage in the viewfinder. If this resulted in a camera 1.5x the size, that would be ok with me. It would still be a lot lighter than my DSLR & lens, ect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One step below a DSLR

By BulldogDaddy from Atlanta, GA on 04/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I did not really want to rate the P7000 as excellent, however it is above good. The flash hot shoe is a definite plus. I would hesitate to recommend this as a first digital camera unless the individual was inclined to do a lot of experimentation before taking important pictures. I think that it is the ultimate point and shoot if you can anticipate minor adjustments to get "the" shot. It is comfy to hold and adjust, even with my fat fingers. It is also a lot easier to put into a shirt pocket or cargo pocket then a DSLR with an 18-200 zoom lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nikon P7000 Rocks!

By Lawrence from Singapore on 04/17/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Nikon P7000 is a camera that will deliver DSLR images only if you know what to do exactly on each given scenario. The graceful delay in configuring the camera prior to each shot does seem to suggest an unoptimized firmware or lower-tiered C2 image processor. But if you can preempt your next shoot and give yourself the time to transit, it will be ready for you! The occasional hangs also seem to suggest that you have to be pretty patient using the Nikon P7000, unlike say a D700. But the upside of its petite size, one-shot bracketing, stereo HD videos, wide optical reach, hi-sync flash support, optical view finder, interval shooting and U1/U2/U3 dials completely justify for her sluggish menu performance and somewhat unoptimized firmware.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Little Camera

By BCA from normally Southeast Alaska on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The great features about this little camera (big if you are used to very thin point and shoots) is that a lot of the settings are on dials or buttons on the body. It is setup a little more like a larger dSLR, so the transition if you normally shoot a large camera body is actually intuitive. The photos are actually surprisingly sharp. I used the camera at a baseball game at the Baltimore stadium (near the nosebleed section) just before sunset. It worked very well in the Program mode with the ISO left on Auto, until the natural light started fading. Then the Auto ISO feature started amping up the ISO and causing some noise. But, while the light was good the numbers and detail on each player remained clear and sharp. Once the light starts falling, it starts resembling other point and shoot style cameras for photo quality. Within flash range, with the ISO at 200, this is not an issue. It actually does fairly well and you can use an external flash on the camera which is a big advantage over smaller point and shoots. Overall, I like the camera. It is a good pack around camera when you can't take bulky dSLR gear. It is at the upper end of the price range for a point and shoot, but I think it was worth paying extra over a smaller less versatile camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent little camera

By Retired Pro (if that is possible) from Omaha, NE on 03/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This digital camera reminds me of carrying a film rangefinder only easier to focus and all of the other advantages of digital over film. The image quality is about the same as scanned film at all ISO settings. My other camera is a D700. This P7000 is a nice camera to carry around all of the time where the D700 is too big. I like that all sounds can be shut off on the P7000 and there is no mirror slap. If I ever go back to photographing weddings I would use this camera when absolute silence is needed. I'm also having a good time with the panorama assist feature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best compact camera, that I have ever used.

By Daniel Carretero from State College, PA on 02/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I honestly recommend the P7000. It has exceed my expectations. The quality of the pictures are outstanding.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost there

By F8bthere from Rocky Mountains on 01/15/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm a retired pro photographer, who has used Nikon since 1972. But in this digital age Nikon seems to lag behind on the point & shoots. Three years ago was in the Amazon and totally scared that I'd get knifed with my gear, and I was traveling light (one DSLR body & three lenses), I found my son's little p&p to be better in this situation, and some of my favorite photos were shot with it. Three months ago was doing a freelance shoot and fainted cause my neck & torso couldn't handle the DSLR weight (have pic on sideline with 3 F3s hanging on me & big glass lens). So I'm now looking to down grade. The P7000 is almost there, but why a 10meg file? Why not a 12 or 14 meg. The lens just isn't wide enough, I want around a 25, the 200 is okay, but 300 would be better! And up the variable aperture a stop brighter (I know you can do this). And why not have the noise level down on the high end (3200 & 6400) to at least good. From the posts here it sounds like a firmware update is needed too. Love the fact that I can use my SB800 cause I bounce like crazy. Guess I'll have to wait longer, or give up the love, cause I can no longer carry DSLRs around. The P7000 is almost there!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Swiss Army Knife Camera

By RMG from Milw., WI on 09/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a G11 and know it's features, but this Nikon has everything. The articulating LCD on the G11 is a plus but it's too hard to hold without activating buttons. For that reason alone, the P7000 ergonomics look much better. The G11 does not have the zoom range of the P7000 nor the level indicator, which is a great feature on my D700. I'm anxious to try it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved