Home » 26372 » 38 Reviews

Nikon 26372 Coolpix S6500 16mp 12x Red Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 38 reviews)

52% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Very Satisfied With My Coolpix S6500 Camera

By NSRPixy from Undisclosed on 07/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far using my camera has been a lot of fun. The pics are incredible the videos are superb! Sound on video sounds scratchy when viewing replay on camera. Once you download it using Quick Time Player, it sounds much different, but if not satisfied you can adjust accordingly. I love all the features the camera has to offer and have used them frequently. When in doubt use auto focus. :) The only glitch so far was trying to find a replacement battery. Mine is just fine, but I wanted a backup battery. Should any of you need a place to purchase one here is a website where you can order replacement batteries. Hope you have as much fun and success with your camera as I have with mine. Stay focused and snap away! :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

User Friendly

By TechnologicallyChallenged from Templeton, MA, USA on 08/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Even I can do it! (I am technologically challenged.) Actually, this is my second Coolpix S6500. I unfortunately lost my first, and immediately went out and purchased the same to replace it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lens Problems & Poor Support

By apra from Carmel, CA, USA on 07/09/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We have owned two of these cameras. They provide everything we look for in a simple point and shoot. However both cameras have developed lens problems. On the first the telescopic function often malfunctions. On the other, the lens aperture does not close completely. On the second, it failed within the warranty period. I mailed to the service center address provided with the warranty. After 3 weeks it was returned by USPS as undeliverable. I called support. She promised to e-mail the correct address. I never received it. I registered at the Nikon site and asked for the correct address. Three days later, I have not received it. I called support again and asked for the address over the phone. I have mailed the camera to the new address at my expense (twice). Let's see what happens now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk

By S6500 from Undisclosed on 06/24/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is my second Nikon. I am going to wait to complete my review until I see how the service is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best little camera ever

By NikonGranny from Undisclosed on 06/22/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have taken great pictures in all kinds of conditions - sun - rain - low light, sunset - museum I like to backpack this is light and small enough to take anywhere I like this camera so much when I lost the 1st one in a museum, I purchased the same thing....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera!

By SAsleepy from San Antonio, TX, USA on 06/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this camera just before a big vacation. Thanks to its ease of use, I was able to take great pictures starting off. It is the perfect size and the big zoom is my favorite part. Also what you see in the window is what you get, clear picture and all. I did have a little trouble with night pictures, which would not have been a problem if I had had a full manual to explain, as I didn't have time to see CD or check online before leaving and no way to do it there. A written manual would have been quicker and easier on the spot. The only other thing I noticed was the on/off button is so tiny, you must press pretty hard to make it work. Other than that, I love my new camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just bought, already broken.

By Will from Texas on 06/04/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We just picked up this camera and it broke on the first real attempt to use it. Missed out on graduation photos thanks to the lens getting stuck. It was never dropped or damaged in any way. The camera will be returned today and replaced with a different brand. If you insist on getting a Nikon product, go through a store with a good return policy. I've read some troubling reviews of customer service and so I won't even be going that route.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Point and shoot

By Satisfied from LA on 05/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had the camera for a little over one year. Used mostly for vacation shots in Oregon last September. Battery life was good and chargeable feature is nice unless you go out with low power. Auto focus works well if you are not trigger happy and wait for the focus to engage. Quality of photos was good to excellent and that is above average for me. Screen size is generous. Reliability has been good. I also have an older Canon Power Shot and the cameras are comparable with the Nikon having more pixels and a better zoom. I recommend the camera for the casual user.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice camera, simple to use, good for amatuers

By Sittle from Undisclosed on 05/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera for my wife. She loves it. Very light, simple to use which is what she wanted. I have a complex camera. it is not simple and heavy. I see the biggest problem with the camera is the slick finish, which makes it easy to drop if you don't have the strap around the wrist. Need some rough edges somewhere so it is easier to hold on to.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great camera in a small package

By VacationPhil from TN on 04/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easy to use, wonderful pics, clear instructions,light weight


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to Set Up and start using

By gardenlady from Wisconsin on 04/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great picture quality and so easy to download pictures to my computer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MIS USE OF WIFI TECHNOLOGY

By Cesar from Colorado, USA on 03/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

WIFI DOES NOT WORK. will not work.WIFI is meant to work with any device with wifi period. should be advertised as smart phone ready NOT WIFI. other wise camera is simple to use and takes decent pictures. very unhappy with the wifi function. have spoken with tech support and they seemed to agree that this is a mis use of the wifi terminology. works for what we need and transfer via cable is fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery life too short, great pics!

By techchslow from Iowa, USA on 03/18/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the battery life is too short.I charged it all night and then took a 3 min video plus some other pics and the battery still died that same day. the camera shows more battery life but then just shuts down. I got clear pictures of birds in mid flight while on a boat! I was very impressed with that. The camera has a great zoom too. I wish there was a way to charge a battery while using one so I didn't lose out on the second half of the day of pictures from my trip.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wi fi function is totally useless

By indiana from Indiana, USA on 03/02/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

wifi does not work. will not work. wifi is meant to work with any device with wifi period. should be advertised as smart phone ready not wifi. other wise camera is simple to use and takes decent pictures. very unhappy with the wifi function. have spoken with tech support and they seemed to agree that this is a mis use of the wifi terminology. works for what we need and transfer via cable is fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Requiring Service in Less Than 3 Months

By ScratchingMyHead from Undisclosed on 02/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this to replace my still working Coolpix L5. Less than 3 months later it will not power up despite going to technical help center. I am returning it to place of purchase hoping to exchange it for a new one instead of having to ship it off. This is a shame because I was generally pleased with the photos and video clips I shot up to this point.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Picture quality good, everything else not so...

By Notahappycamper from Undisclosed on 02/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The supplied software (for downloading and editing photos taken with the S6500) does not work with Windows 8.1...this in spite of published compatibilities. The WiFi feature is non-operational with Windows 8.1 and the Wireless Utility application is not available for an iPad Air or an iPad mini. In order to charge the battery (life is unknown at this point), the battery must be in the camera and the charger plugged into a 120VAC outlet. Charging via a USB port on a computer takes forever and a day. All in all, I would not buy another S6500, or another NIkon product for that matter. I'll stick with my Canon products...they work as advertised, are reliable, are flexible and take fantastic pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A pretty neat little camera

By hrhsmith1 from Undisclosed on 02/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought this camera as something to use when I have an itch to take a pic. Bought it. Seems okay.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Many Great Features!!

By NewNikonFan from Portland, OR, USA on 02/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this camera. I used to be a canon person, but after going from a canon point n shoot to a nikon... I am not sure I'd go back! I love how many features come with this camera. There are so many different scenes, like fireworks, snow, low light and so much more. There is even a smile recognition feature. So amazing and I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

S6500

By ButchP from Chattanooga, TN, USA on 02/05/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use and takes great pictures. Wife uses it for all her reality shots and loves it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Trouble right out of the box

By sorehead from Undisclosed on 01/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

DVD for View NX2 did not work in my HP machine running Windows 7. Website didn't like my choice of password. This is supposed to be easy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Camera OK, but Poor WIFI

By CasualUser from Near Hartford , Ct on 01/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Only owned a few weeks. Purchased this camera to replace my wifes Sony CyberShot DSC-W90. Wanted better low light picture taking and WiFi features. Camera OK, but No WIFI when battery is not fully charged. It will not finish connecting. Charger that came with camera requires battery to be installed in camers for charging. The camera prevents WiFi or taking any pictures while being charged. Plan on getting second battery and separate charger to charge battery outside of camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features

By Mindy from Undisclosed on 01/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this camera because you can take video's & trash pics that don't come out like you like. And you can down load the pics on your computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Around the camera

By CoolpixGenius from Colombo, Sri Lanka on 01/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nikon COOLPIX 6500 is a all-round good camera. Great imaging and awesome color quality with SCENE mood. Zooming is amazing. Taking photos from a android or apple device and syncing through the Wi-Fi is a amazing feature. No need to plug the camera or SD card into PC and connect phone data cable and put all the photos to phone. When we connect to camera through the Wi-Fi to our mobile device, it will automatically sync the all photos. Manual White Balancing is a great feature too. I saw some reviews talking about Wi-Fi for the internet. Wi-Fi feature is not for the internet or for updating camera firmware. It is for syncing with mobile devices and taking photos remotely with zooming. If you want to update the firmware you should download the firmware and follow the introduction. Nikon COOLPIX S6500 awesome and amazing camera for the price. Thank You...!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exactly what I was looking for!

By FirstNikon from Undisclosed on 12/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first Nikon and I am thoroughly impressed. It does everything I want it to do plus more. The pictures look amazing, great in low light, panoramic works nicely, and the effects are fun to use. The navigation is smooth unlike other cameras i've used. Switching from picture to video mode is simple, just press the record button, unlike other camera's that make you search through a menu. The camera is durable too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful Product

By Prose from New Jersey, USA on 11/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Needing a camera, this was the practical one to own. A beautiful product with additional features and quality zoom for a camera lover and picture fancy person. Being mindful of all the things the camera can do yet a slow in snapping a picture. Finding a glitch in the shutter release button, hence loosing the picture intended in motion. However, I love the capability of the video asset to the camera.. it is a wonderful surprise as to its ability. On closer examining I realize that the shutter release button* is indented to the touch on this camera making the connection apparently delayed to the touch. This is the only fault so far and hopefully it is just this one camera which has it so. This would make a deep annoyance with this picture taker.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Takes great pictures and videos

By Vinny from Undisclosed on 11/20/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Takes great pictures and videos but the microphone is too sensitive. You can hear the motor in the lens if you are zooming in and out when taking videos. Also the audio is a little distorted if the sound is too loud when taking videos. I wish that there was an adjustment on the camera for adjusting the sound volume, so it would not sound scratchy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad as a camera can be.

By JoeS from Helena, MT on 11/02/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I recommend anyone looking for a pocket camera, a Cool Pix is not the camera for you, especially if you enjoy taking outdoor pictures. I purchased my first Cool Pix because I need to replace my older pocket camera. That camera latest about 3 weekend and I had it returned to Nikon for repair. Since, I had purchased extra batteries and accessories for that model of camera, I purchased the same make and model again. I received my first camera back from Nikon but had to return again for repair 2 weeks later with the same problem. Meanwhile my second camera started having the same issues as the first and I send it in for repairs. I received my first camera back and loh and behold, it has been send back for repairs again. I received email notice stating that the repairs to my second camera is not covered by warranty because of "Sand" being found in the camera. I have never had this much trouble with any other brand of camera then I have with these Nikon Cool Pix's. I spend every weekend traveling outdoors and documenting my travels. I'm now in search of a good pocket camera other than Nikon. I'll take any recommendations. But my recommendation is not to purchase any small Nikon camera if you plan on being outdoors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

easy to use

By bunnypaw from Undisclosed on 10/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

using cameras for pictures for a wound care clinic. pictures very important to track our progress and these cameras fit the bill


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

VERY BAD PERFORMANCE

By chinna from Undisclosed on 09/19/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Battery back up is very bad. battery is not staying for at least 1 hr also. wi- Fi is not getting connect properly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great camera for the money

By gonzo5857 from Olathe, KS on 08/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Takes great pictures with alot of great features. ALso has great color


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Mattub from Milwaukie, OR, USA on 07/29/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had a few Nikon digital camera's now. My old Coolpix 880 takes better quality pictures than this new S6500. The Wi-Fi feature was attractive... it doesn't work on my Netgear N600 wireless network. Ugh..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blurry pics

By SKH from Undisclosed on 07/24/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is not a user friendly camera and the pictures are blurry. Very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the worst cameras ever

By Nikon user from Villa Park, IL on 06/29/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This camera may sound like a good deal, but the truth is, it's not! Photos on the auto setting are very soft and not sharp at all and look terrible when zoomed in on a computer. The focus is not great and takes a while to get it to focus. The zoom is also not very good because photos don't look good when zoomed in. The 16 megapixel sensor is also of little use. The body also has no grip and it feels very slippery. I will say that the one thing I did like about the camera is the colors, they look nice but this camera is just too hard to recommend to anyone. Nikon does make some good cameras, but this one is not a good camera at all. Save your money and look elsewhere. You will regret buying this camera, but you will NOT regret saving your money and looking elsewhere.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lot of things packed in this small package, alas !

By frustrated from New York, NY on 06/02/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

In Auto mode the cam's pics are not Sharp, very fuzzy, it takes forever to get the squares to turn green, not at all user friendly. Not a camera I wanted to just put on Auto and start taking pics, no such ease. Battery life is ridiculously short, right in the middle of trip how to charge it? No separate adapter to put the battery in and charge. WiFi which was they touted for so loud is Useless and Does Not Work, save money buy other cams in same category.The On/Off button is Too Sunken in many a times you think you pressed it but the cam does not open, try again. Very Hard to press. No cam case provided. Vid quality is excellent. Very cute device feels good holding it, I loved the cam I must say but unfortunately can not keep it with faults described above.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WIfi capability

By Jonathan from Long Island, New York on 05/11/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Setting up the Wi-Fi on the S6500 took 3 phone calls to Nikon customer service and almost 2 1/2 hours with various customer service rests. No one at Nikon seems to know how set up the wifi on the camera and link it to an iPhone. After finally getting it to work comes an unpleasant surprise. Every time you turn off the phone the wifi defaults back to "off". You have go through 3 levels of menus on the phone to set the wifi on again every time you want to use the feature. But thats not all, every time you want to transfer pictures to you iPhone you must scan through all the local wifi networks and reselect the camera. Nikon didn't think this through before they released the phone. I have purchased a few Nikon SLRs over the years but I will never buy another Nikon product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't waste your time

By susan h from Undisclosed on 05/08/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

won't connect to any internet - have to return! wasted about 4 hours of my time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By Scouter from Pueblo, CO, USA on 04/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I ordered another major brand of camera from a major on-line company with the same pixel count. This camera has a larger glass lens and takes sharper, clearer pictures than that other brand. This camera may cost more than that other camera, but takes much better pictures. I also own a Nikon DSLR camera but this on is to stick in my shirt pocket for when it is too inconvenient to carry a larger camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a lot of features in a small package

By Newbie Tom from Englewood, FL, USA on 03/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

camera takes great pictures. I'm new to the digital camera world and so far with me not knowing what I'm doing I am very happy with this product. Good job Nikon. Below is a sample of my first pictures. Now I'm off to Google to learn more :) Tom from Englewood, FL


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved