Home » Accessories » Remote Controls » 4730 » 36 Reviews

Nikon Ml-l3 Remote Control Transmitter - Camera - 16 Ft - Camera Remote (4730) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 36 reviews)

86% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight (3), Easy To Use (3), Durable (3)

Best Uses:

Home (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

A Great Addition To My Camera Bag

By Nik from Everett, WA, USA on 05/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This remote works great, especially for group photos, where you also want to be in the shot. Just set up your camera on a tripod, set the release mode to "remote", and press the button. Doesn't get any better, easier, and simpler than that. This remote also works great for doing landscapes if you are going for long exposures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

But first learn how to use it........

By ikon from Undisclosed on 04/22/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I found that with one press of the IR remote the shutter does not operate for about 20 seconds. You can however press the remote a second time after the mirror is raised raised, at any time you choose to operate the shutter, giving you a delay of your choice up to about 20 seconds.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent addition to my photographic tool kit

By Nevada Image Maker from Henderson, NV, USA on 12/07/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this with my DSLR, D5000 and my Coolpix P7700. In a previous review there was a complicated approach to the D5000. An easier one for me is: 1) Press the "I" button on the back (bottom left), 2) toggle down to "Release mode" (normally set at "S"), press "OK" and 3) toggle down to remote image (last) and press "OK." Once you turn the camera off, it will authomatically return to the "S" release mode. I like to use the remote for most of my hand held shots, to avoid camera shake. Very nice accessory and reasonably priced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great product

By drskmed from Undisclosed on 06/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love the remote. we have a big family so its perfect. make sure to set the release-mode to remote or 2 second release.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wireless Remote - Mixed emotions

By Mitch from Kansas City, MO, USA on 04/27/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Well the concept is simple and should work well. Problem I am having is the wireless remote I bought seems to be very unreliable. It doesn't want to fire the camera about half the time. Very annoying when you are in a bad part of town at night or down on a riverfront trying to shoot a quick sequence and get outta dodge. The remote won't fire and your in the dark trying to figure out why. From close examination on my unit it seems to be the flimsy metal contacts inside the housing do not want to stay firm on the battery to ensure proper operation. I have bent the tabs up a couple times and it works better for awhile. I either I got a defective unit ... or this is not up to Nikon's design standards.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent remote at a great price

By Photojan from State College, PA, USA on 03/07/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Super product. Works perfectly. (To those who can't make the ML-L3 function, LOOK AT YOUR CAMERA MANUAL. For most models, set the release-mode dial to "remote," then go into the shooting menu and choose between immediate release and delay.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far so good.

By BB from Toronto on 01/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a nice little toy. I've read some of the earlier reviews and agree on some points. There should be, at the very least, a little note included in/on the packaging to say that operating instructions are included with your camera manual. (I find it frustrating that many technical products don't include manuals any more.) Alternatively, dealers could be supplying basic operational info sheets. At any rate, I read the manual and the instructions were very clear. The item seems to work as advertised. Can't wait to play with it a bit,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I own the beautiful D3100 ...

By photolover27 from Palm Coast, FL on 11/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own the beautiful D3100 model. I was anxious to buy a wireless r/c for the camera because I always have to rely on the shutter button which can lead(s) to photo blurs. The only 'Con' is the certain model number for the wireless r/c is not compatible with my camera model...Disappointed! Ever thought about being more flexible and expanding?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Essential for night time shoots

By Merlin from North Alabama on 11/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased one of these right after getting my D90. It is a wonder tool, inexpensive, small, light and very effective. I recently lost it on a shoot, and rest assured, as soon as I discovered it was missing, I purchased a replacement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stupid i have a camera ...

By Hknkrsn from Innsbruck on 10/31/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Stupid i have a camera d700 can't control !!! but d70 or other camera I can not believe you Nikon !!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So little yet, so powerful!

By ThePhotographer from Connecticut on 09/27/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got my remote for my D60 and this is beyond great! Can't wait until night time to give it a shot since that's why I decided to buy it. A quick word of advice, when you get yours, make sure the battery is placed correctly. I spent almost 30 minutes scratching my head on how it was suppose to work, because I pressed the button and follow all the advice and nada, zippo, nothing happened! Then I decided to reverse the battery placement and voila, problem solved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wish it activated video shutter

By Yeeha!Photo from San Diego, CA on 09/11/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works Can be finicky to find the >eye< on the camera at times. Especially with a long lens, it seems to block the view from one side. Basically for macro work it depends on what your doing as to whether you should get this or the MC-DC2 wired remote. When I shoot hummingbirds I need to be farther from the camera. If your looking for close ups that you can be by the camera, go wired.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this remote!

By ravster25 from Sunnyvale, CA on 09/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent Remote, totally eliminates tripod shake.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ML-L3 Remote is amazing!

By Nikon girl from Calgary, Alberta, Canada on 08/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I shoot with a D40X. The remote worked brilliantly. I am very pleased with this product. I agree with some of the other users. It took a bit of fiddling around to figure out how to use it. Instructions would definitely be nice!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ML-L3 with Nikon D7000

By Malaysia Truly Asia from Undisclosed on 08/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

At first, there was some head-scratching. The ML-L3 didn't come with an instruction manual. The instructions are in the Nikon D7000 Manual on page 80! I'll summarise it here (for Nikon D7000): 1) Press "MENU" button on camera body. Select the icon that looks like a camera (ie. "SHOOTING MENU"). 2) Scroll up or down until you find "Remote Control Mode", then press "OK". The default is "2s(seconds) Delayed Remote". I chose "Quick-response remote" meaning if you use the ML-L3, the shutter will fire immediately. There is also a "Remote mirror-up" option for Mr. Fancy Photographer. Once you've decided which option you want, press "OK". I suggest you just select the "Quick-response remote" option and press "OK" coz you want to see immediate results, whether your ML-L3 works or not. Later on you can get fancy. Now, exit from the "MENU". 3) Now go to the "Release-Mode Dial", that knobby dual-dial thing on the top of the camera body that has the letters "S, CL, CH, Q, Timer icon, ML-L3 Remote icon and Mup" options. You have to press the "Release-Mode Dial lock release(!) black button just next to it to turn the "Release-Mode Dial" to the "ML-L3 Remote icon". Phew! So far so good! Stay with me now, buddy! :) Have a sip of water... 4) The Nikon D7000 has 2, yes TWO infra-red receivers! The FRONT receiver is just above the "D7000 logo" , and the REAR receiver is to the right of the "OK" button-wheel-thingamajig. What does this mean? You can be behind or infront of the camera when you use your ML-L3! 5) The ML-L3 is fantastic. I absolutely love it. Regards from Malaysia :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ML-L3 Remote for D5100

By Viggy from New York, NY on 07/27/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Amazing stuff. It was just ready to go device :D I just changed one thing in the camera. That is the release mode to Quick Response mode and you are good to go. It works great. Works for everything including the bulb mode. I strongly recommend for everyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ML-L3 Remote Control and the D5000

By R284100 from Northern California on 07/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a hard trying to find out how to make the ML-L3 work with my D5000. I could not find my users manual and there were no instructions that came with the remote and there were no reviews I could find specifically for the 5000. So for you D5000 owners, here is how it works: (Hint: Mount the camera on a tripod first) 1. While watching the screen in the back of the camera, press and hold the function button on the left side of the camera. 2 Note the tiny highlighted default setting in the screen. You will want to come back to it to make the shutter release work normally. 3. With your right thumb move the scroll wheel in either direction until you see the tiny icon the resembles the ML-L3. Release the function button.You are set. 4. Check the remote for function. Works best if you are standing in front of the camera. 5. To return to manual shutter release mode, press and hold the function button, move the scroll wheel back to the original setting while watching the tiny highlighted icon as it changes. Release the function button. Once I did this after about 2 hours of trying to figure it out it works great. There is also a 2 second delay ML-L3 icon if you need it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy

By G from Undisclosed on 04/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this remote as a gift. I had no idea how to set it up. I went to my local camera shop and got a 30 second lesson on how to set it up with my D90. It's awesome!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ML Wireless Remote Control

By Nikon D90 User from Toronto, Ontario, Canada on 04/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a D90 and I purchased this product to use specifically for low shutter speed shots with the camera set up on a tripod. It is an excellent and simple product. I agree with other posters there is no instructions, but really, non are needed. The camera manual, if you take the time to read it, comes with all the instructions for remote shutter release. You have to set the camera up accordingly and that is simple enough. Pull the plastic tab to engage the battery and you are set. I can't be any simpler. Removing the battery is a bit tricky, but again, easy to figure out just by looking at it. I believe the product is well designed for what it does. Has worked well so far and I am happy I have it. If I was to say anything negative, it is a bit over priced for what it is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am very pleased with this product

By Will from Undisclosed on 01/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently bought this product, when it came in i opened it and saw its extreamly small size. That I am appreciate of. At first I had no idea how to use it, then I looked at the back and saw the plastic tab, pulled and went on ( thats embarrising ). I still didnt know how to use it because it came with no instructions but I finally got it. I have a D3000 so what you do is click the magnifing glass at the left, go down to realese mode and select either the second to last one or the last one. Then take your shots!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Satisified

By Brooklyn from Undisclosed on 01/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Although getting the battery compartment open was difficult and chipped my nail polish, it took only a moment of concentration. My major problem was that there was no instruction manual. I logged onto here to see if there were any tips and saw that many said to check your manual. I did and saw only directions for how to install the battery. (I have a D3000.) I don't speak fluent "Nikon" so I set about playing with my camera and figured it out in a short minute. For the D3000, you must go to shooting menu (the camera icon), then 'release mode', and choose 'delayed remote.'


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No complaints

By Joby T. from Undisclosed on 12/29/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Remote came without instructions BUT any simple Jack can figure this one out. Just what I needed so my unsteady hands will no longer blur my pictures. Perfect, small and extremely functional.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent remote at a great price point

By Len from the Hudson Valley from Chester, NY on 12/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I originally purchased this remote for my D3s, but unfortunately it is not compatible. On the flip side it is compatible with my D7000 and it works great. It you're a hobbyist with a compatible camera body this is a must piece of equipment. NIKON: Make a software change to allow the use of this remote to be adaptable with the higher end models.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simple and effective -- ...

By Virt from Undisclosed on 10/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simple and effective -- can be used to trigger photos immediately or after a short count-down. (The instructions do not come with the remote. Consult your camera manual for the required settings.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Much Better than a Camera Timer

By Baltimore Will from Baltimore, MD USA on 09/26/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife loves to take group shots of family, friends, tennis teams, etc. Using the camera's timed release, the shooter has to rush to get in the photo and then everyone has to hold pose for a few seconds. With the ML-L3, especially when set to instant release, we can say "cheese" and shoot immediately. I've gotten smarter about holding the remote so it doesn't show in the photos, but that's a minor quibble. I agree with those who complain about the lack of an instruction sheet. Nikon should have a consistently-named section of its camera user manuals and the brief ML-L3 sheet can give a generic overview and then point to that section in the camera manual. I do have one gripe, but it is not about the remote. I wish I could use it when behind the camera rather than only when in front, which would mean the camera needs another sensor. If that were the case, I'd use this remote even more than I already do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Need to change setting on camera to use remote.

By Joyce from Northern Michigan on 09/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a Nikon D40x. Remote didn't work out of the box, and it did not come with an instruction manual. So in reading my camera's instruction guide, I learned that you have to tell the camera that you want to use a remote. It's easy to configure. On back of camera, press menu. Then bring up the custom settings menu (the icon that looks like a pencil). Move down to shooting mode and press ok. Then move down to either delayed remote or quick-response remote, then press ok. When using remote, aim it at the front of camera just below the shutter release button. It's GREAT for tripod use!!! I LOVE IT!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

IT'S OKAY.

By MYLO from Undisclosed on 08/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Before I purchased this ML-L3, I read my manual if it's compatible with my D60. When I got my ML-L3, the first thing I did was to read my D60 manual. I had to go to the Quick Setting Display, then to the Release Mode and then choose the icon wireless. After that, I've been shooting pics with no problem. I gave 4 stars only coz ML-L3 has no manual/instruction included.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ML-L3

By Grafx from Undisclosed on 08/24/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I shoot a D-80 and my manual says it is compatitible. Pulled ML-L3 out of Box, puilled plastic tab to engage battery, and it did nothing. Did not work. Not sure whats up but it is DOA. No instructions, so back it goes I guess.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

simple

By Nikon91 from Michigan on 08/19/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This remote doesn't always trigger a fire (it doesn't work from very far away). As well, there's no lock, so if you want to do a long exposure, you need to buy a second remote.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth buying.

By Ron from Oregon on 08/05/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product is somewhat junkie in my opinion, for a Nikon product. There was no information sheet included. It would be nice to know the operational range and angle, and information on the battery. I tried it on my D90, and it didn't work. I assumed it came without batteries. Opening the battery compartment will result in broken fingernails. The MC-30 works fine on my D200-the way to go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for shooting the night sky

By nimrd from Antwerp on 07/27/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

top toy for bulb mode on any compatible camera. Doesn't work on my D200 though, which is a bit of a drag.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nikon Ml-l3

By TT from Portland, OR on 02/14/2009


Describe Yourself:

Hobbyist/enthusiast

Pros:

Lightweight, Easy To Use

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product is great and cheap for a Nikon brand


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great product

By simon from fargo, nd on 10/28/2008


Cons:

Weak Signal

Describe Yourself:

Practical, Professional

Pros:

Nice Features, Durable, Nice Button Configuration

Best Uses:

High-end Equipment

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great product, but must point to the camera to work. will not work if you keep it dicrected in a dicrection different than towords your camera


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great For Me But Small

By hb_carebear_07 Verified Purchaser from Lockport, IL on 09/24/2008


Describe Yourself:

Practical, Professional

Pros:

Nice Features, Strong Signal, Nice Button Configuration, Easy To Set Up, Durable, Ergonomic Design

Best Uses:

Upgrade

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This works great and I use it all the time for night photography. I do wish that it was slightly larger or had a loop so I could attach it to a string because I am always afraid of losing it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best camera accessory buy I've made!

By J[Mack] Verified Purchaser from Three Lakes, WI on 09/17/2008


Cons:

None

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Pros:

Durable, Improves Product Function, Easy To Use, Lightweight

Best Uses:

Everyday Use, Macro Photography, Portraits, Home, Studio

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far I've only used the remote for self portraits and it has already paid for itself. The ease of use is great for any beginner and its potential can be used by the best. It has great range and accuracy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Product ... Fantastic Company

By Keith from Prattville, AL on 07/04/2008


Cons:

None I Can Think Of

Describe Yourself:

Hobbyist/enthusiast

Pros:

Lightweight, Improves Product Function, Easy To Use

Best Uses:

Home, Sporting Events, Portraits

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved