Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » 26240 » 28 Reviews

Nikon Coolpix L24 14 Megapixel Compact Camera - Red - 3" LCD - 3.6x Optical Zoom - Electronic (IS) - 4320 x 3240 Image - 640 x 480 Video Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 28 reviews)

46% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Love this camera!

By cleeReviews from New York, NY on 10/14/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is great for travel and takes fantastic photos. I am always impressed with the quality of the photos. The small size makes it a must-have for trips.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible disappointment

By photolover from Undisclosed on 07/12/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I received this camera as a gift a few years ago. I hate the delay time from when you hit the button to snap a picture and when it finally snaps and some days the camera would just start snapping away on its own. In the last year it has been more and more difficult to use. For example: reviewing pictures took multiple clicks for the picture to come up and view, reaction time for all functions slowed eventually and the retractable covers over the lens broke off except for one piece which got stuck every time you turn it on. I had to push it down and get the lens dirty every time I took a picture. Today it just froze on and that is it....dead! I am disgusted and have been since the beginning with this cheap camera. Also, my in-laws bought this same camera when I got mine and they have gone through two chargers, two batteries and the retractable cover over the lens broke as well. Don't waste your time and money on this camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not to happy

By unhappy man from San Antonio, TX, USA on 01/08/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Got this camera in february of last year as a gift. The camera is fairly good but is not that great. The problem that I got with this camera is that I'm getting a message that the battery is exhausted. I replaced the batteries with new ones and still I'm getting the same message. I did check the old and new batteries with a voltmeter and they are good showing a little over 1.5 volts. Everytime I tried to take pictures I get that message and I can't use the camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk ... But Close to Great

By Nikon Coolpix L24 from College Station, TX on 10/23/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great pictures for three months and then the camera battery door broke. Was told that it was not covered under warranty. Now ... 15 months after purchasing, I see that it's a common problem. Very frustrated. The broken door makes the camera useless. Other than the door ... it's great. Portable, great pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery Latch Door-Broken after 10 Months of Daily Use! Under Warranty of 1 year. i will Update on Warranty Progress.

By iceman from California on 08/12/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I Bought this L24 Camera on October 4th 2011. it has been a Good Camera up until Now! I use it For Work Every Day Taking Pictures and movies of Jobs. i am in the Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Service business. i New From Day One That the Battery Door Was a Weak Link. it is a terrible Design, the Battery Door has So Much pressure on it When you close the Door that it just breaks over time. also the Sd card is in the same slot as the battery's, so to remove the sd card u have to open the battery door and remove battery's to remove sd card. Poor design. this is my third nikon camera. i had 2 Nikon coolpix 7600 before and it was a better designed camera and a better camera overall. only about 7 megapixel though. older technology. but great camera, but agin the battery door was the failure of the 7600 too! although it lasted about 3-5 years. Who ever is Designing the Battery Doors on these camera's ought to be Fired !!! Period!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Compact DSLR

By ElArteByReemz from Karachi, Pakistan on 07/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera made my life amazing! I must say it is no less than a DSLR. I've taken like over a thousand photos and the results are extraordinary! Love you Nikon S6000.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

By Alexxx from Kansas, USA on 05/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great little camera. I got this to start my photography. I absolutly think it is worth the money! Seriously it has 14 mp's!!! If you want a camera this is the one you should get.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst camera I have ever owned!

By Would'nt buy a Nikon from Undisclosed on 05/17/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera because we needed a quick and easy camera for field trips, etc. I should have read all the reviews. We have had this camera for 7 months and the battery compartment latch is broken. Cheap piece of junk! Not to mention it blows thru batteries. Picture quality is poor, settings are inconsistant. I take a ton of pics, and I would rather haul around my Canon and all it's lenses than deal with this one. I have always owned a Canon, and now I know why. The worst part, to get it fixed under warranty, we had to pay to ship it back to Nikon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery Door Breaks / Blurry Pics

By bummed out from Undisclosed on 04/09/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very disappointed in this product. I gave it to my daughter as a gift and after a year the battery door latch is broken and requires tape to keep it closed. Also this unit burns batteries with little output. Lastly the photos are blurry and slow and you often miss the chance so to speak. I thought the Nikon name stood for quality however not with this model. Stay away from this model. My 10 year old fuji digital is a much better camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome camera!

By P3428 from San Luis Obispo, CA on 03/09/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the 4th Nikon Cool Pix I've had.... each one has exceeded all of my expectations & I wouldn't purchase anything else. I love the size, the cost, the quality of both the camera and the photos it produces. Editing is simple. The use of AA batteries makes it easy to never run out, I just throw some extras in my pocket or purse and take as many pix as I want. I am the official photographer at family events and even requested a Cool Pix when I needed a digital for work. Thanks for an amazing product at an affordable price. P.S. My 42 yr old Down's Syndrome brother has a birthday coming up and his most requested gift is one of your cameras. He used mine recently and took some wonderful photos and made lifetime memories. THANK YOU!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

cool coolpix

By Elke from Undisclosed on 02/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I won this camera in a competition and it's a great one for beginner. I love this camera and it makes brilliant photos


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome!

By Roxy from Minnesota on 12/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera on black Friday last year, in red. I've have it for a year now and i love it. some pictures are blurry but its worth it when you get some amazing photos. I uploaded a picture i took with this camera at sea world this summer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this little camera

By AnneMarie from Cleveland, OJ on 11/22/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this camera! It is easy to set up and easy to use, I love the fact that it runs on AA batteries, I always carry replacement batteries in my purse. You can't go wrong for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is not made well.

By Chelsea from Memphis, TN on 11/13/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have bought this product twice. The first time it lasted a little over a year then it would no longer turn on. I had an extended replacement warranty so I replaced it with another one. The second one lasted six months. The screen looked as it it was divided in sections. I sent it in to Nikon (at my own expense) and they said the screen was cracked and that it was not covered. The camera had not been dropped so I disagree that it shouldn't be covered. I will buy another camera, but it won't be this one or any Nikon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not durable

By Me no likey!!! from Dallas, TX on 10/28/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had the camera on two month and because it uses double AA batteries we changed them out often. Not durable for wear and tear on the battery cover. I have to use tape because it broken and they would not warranty. I DO NOT recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love my camera. It is small. Takes great pics.

By Barb B. from Arizona on 09/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This little camera is light, takes great pictures. Put in sans disk 4GB, I can take over 850 pictures. That is more than enough pictures for any vacation. I love it. Thanks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You pay for what you get. ...

By Jojo from Undisclosed on 09/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

You pay for what you get. The camera was easy to use but got spoilt in the 1st month it was bought. I will not spend my money on it again


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very unsatisfying customer service,

By grannysel from albuquerque, N.M. on 08/19/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

too fragile, easily damaged, and impersonal customer service person


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Nikon product should be much better

By Becca from Norwalk, California on 08/05/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am not at all satisfied with the camera. It takes great pictures but here it is a brand new camera and the zoom does not work. Nikon quality control should be a lot better. Also the Nikon software does not recognize that the camera is attached to the computer through the USB port. No Nikon's in this family's future. Becca


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love Love Love me some Nikon!

By Photo Phanatick from Cleveland, Ohio on 07/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have spent the last 15 years using a Nikon FM10 (fully manual 35mm) and not only has it outlasted any other camer I have ever seen, it also performs like a champ and takes exceptional pictures! When I took the plunge to digital, I did A LOT of research on what the best camera for me would be. I decided on the Coolpix S6000. I couldn't be happier with my choice. Thank you Nikon for never ceasing to amaze me :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not hapy with this camera at all.

By SomeTeenager from Arizona on 05/31/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My parents bought this for me as a Christmas present after my old digital camera broke. This just seems to be very ...hmm...poor quality. The lighting NEVER looks right. Its normally an akward yellow tone in artificial lighting, and outside it sometimes acts up as well. Also it is extremely delayed when pressing the capture button. Sometimes it goes right away and other times I have to press it 2 to 3 times. Frustration to the max.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad focus

By lucian400 from Arcadia, CA on 05/30/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This camera is pretty bad in terms of focus. What I don't get is that it appears to be focused in the viewfinder, but the image taken after isn't. Also, it almost always takes forever to take a shot, which is bad because my hobby involves taking pictures of moving objects and vehicles. It appears to have a mind of its own and only works when it wants to. I've had some experience with a Nikon D40 DSLR and I have to say that it was awesome working with it, and I assumed all Nikon cameras were of great quality, but I am heavily disappointed with this camera and now I'm thinking twice about purchasing another Nikon in general...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I did not like this ...

By K from Undisclosed on 05/16/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I did not like this camera at all! The focus was awful and it takes everything a long time to load. There are a lot better cameras for the same amount of money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

FIX THE BLUR

By STEVEO from Undisclosed on 05/13/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

THE CAMERA HAS A HARD TIME FOCUSING QUICKLY. MY 3 YEAR OLD NEVER COMES OUT CLEAR..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love it

By campbeLLsoup from santa monica, ca on 05/08/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the shutter speed is fast, and it has all these scene modes you can quickly choose.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Pictures.

By Coolpix S6000 from Riverside, Ca on 04/30/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Crystal clear pics, and the videos are very clear. I love this camera. Very easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best yet

By pilot42 from Margate, NJ on 11/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my latest travel camera. Every incarnation of these little guys has been an improvement. Its a nice small package with lots of great features. Anti motion, 7-1 zoom, large view box, protected lens, 14.2 mpx and very easy start up and controls. I just hope it will be durable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really fits the bill.

By Wyn from Melbourne, FL. on 07/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera because I don't always carry my D 5000 with me and there are always things or situations to photograph. This is a great supplement to my photo needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved