Home » 1960 » 55 Reviews

Old Forge 1960 Spot Weld Breaker Air Chisel Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 55 reviews)

90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Excellent short zoom

By JRDPHOTOG from Professional photographer, Clifton Park (Albany burb) New York. on 02/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this lens only a short time, however I have made many images with available light (f2.8) and daylight work with apps of f4-5.6 at much of the zoom range. Sharpness is excellent, compact lens, a little heavy but that adds to stability of shooting in low light and low shutter speeds (as low as 1/10th sec) hand held rendering sharp images. I would certainly urge any photog doing photojournalistic or event work to include this lens in your bag. It does take some knowledge of short lenses to get the image you re looking for. Note - I have used another photogs lens of this type prior to purchasing one. For my work it is an "everyday lens!"


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like the lens, but disappointed.

By JerseyT from Undisclosed on 11/11/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Nice clear lens takes great pictures. I just disappointed that it squeaks and it is common problem with this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

General professional walk-around lens

By kursatkarabulut from Ankara/Ankara Province, Turkey on 05/25/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this lens a year ago and it's pretty useful in landscapes, street photography and indoor shoots. Unlike 16-35 vignetting and distortion does not bother much, and can be easily corrected in Photoshop. I use a D800 and I've seen some comments that this lens is not sharp which I don't agree. If you want a general professional walk-around lens this one is yours.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An ideal wide angle zoom.

By JMAN from Undisclosed on 01/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this lens for a couple months now, and it has served me well. The Images are crisp and I have not seem much vignetting. Although the corners might be slightly soft it hasn't really been an issue for me. I love using the lens with filters, especially my 9 stop grad for artistic landscapes. There are a few things worth mentioning here though. For one there is a bit of chromatic aberrations even at higher f stops(although correctable in lightroom). My other gripe is the auto focus. There is a bit of a high pitched sound unlike other AF-S lenses, which are dead silent. My overall opinion is it is a great lens that will see a lot of use on my camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An oldie but (very) goodie!

By Longstanding Nikon enthusiast from Litchfield County, CT, USA on 08/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of Nikon's stellar lenses (like the 24-70mm f/2.8, 70-200mm f/2.8): sharp and f/2.8 thru its focal-length range, with very solid build. Excellent near-extreme wide-angle lens for FX bodies (film or digital) and even a fine wide-to-normal zoom in DX format. Despite its age, this design's image quality remains competitive with that of the newest products (eg, 16-35mm f/4 VR).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

focus is so so, sqweeks

By dillusiv from SD, CA on 10/28/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Squeaks during focus, and focus is not sharp tack-on like other top-end lenses, such as 70-200.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I've had this lens for ...

By millimus from NJ on 10/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this lens for several years now I purchased it from another photographer who probably wishes he had never sold it. It's built like a tank, I had it serviced by Nikon and it has served me well. Originally built for film cameras today still every bit as viable. Good glass is good glass. Love this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BE CAREFUL OF THIS LENS

By DALE W from Encino, Ca on 09/23/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I live in Los Angeles and I did a cross-country road trip where I went to over 20 National parks to shoot thousands of photos. My favorite lens was the 28-300mm lens on my Nikon D3X camera. At the time I purchased the D3X, I also bought this 17-35mm f/2.8D lens for getting a wider angle of view of some of the landscapes in places like Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon among other places. The lens worked very well, EXCEPT when I went wide in the 17mm-20mm range I noticed that there was serious VIGNETTING on all four corners and this greatly disappointed me. I used this lens without any filters or lens shades as I was shooting sunset photos in Zion National Park and at Cedar Breaks. I wanted to capture the vastness of the scenery. When I saw the vignetting, I was greatly disappointed, because I spent a lot of money on this lens and I really wanted the extra angle of the 17mm. This problem was consistent with all of the 17-20mm photos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A must have lens for serious photographers

By d.edwards photography from Undisclosed on 07/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is a must for wide angle views encountered with interior photos, portrait, and general landscape photography especially if lighting is difficult. Weight should not be a disadvantage with respect to this lens as it is extremely well balanced on most bodies. The clarity and detail from this lens is stunning


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Practically perfect!

By Dave in Seattle from Undisclosed on 06/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A really fine lens for DX photography. Fast enough at all stops to generally not require flash. Really good resolution for detailed photography in industrial environments. As mentioned above, a little on the heavy side, but that is the price you pay for quality professional equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great lens for its size

By NikonEd from San Francisco, CA on 06/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like having many focal lengths available in one lens instead of carrying multiple lenses. Also, I can use it on both a film and a digital camera body (it has the aperture ring), so it's flexible. Its construction is very sturdy as can be felt by its heft. It's not light and flimsy like the regular consumer lenses, so I know that it can handle the rigors of heavy use. And, since it is a fast lens at f/2.8 I can shoot in low light conditions. The focusing is very fast on a DSLR body, which is great! I've been wanting to get this lens for a long time and finally was able to get it. I am one happy camper with this lens!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb Interiors using Nikon's best glass

By TheLondonPhotographer from London on 06/12/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been shooting prestige interiors (Roomsets and SuperYatchs) for over 24 years and have always had Nikon in my bag. I consider one of the best lenses Nikon has ever produced is the 17-35 '2.8. As a Pro Photographer, I have 3 Nikon D3's one which is attached permanently to the 17-35 since new, its never been taken off ! The glass in the lens is nothing more than stunning. For people who understand optics the density of the glass is all important. This lens is heavy make not mistake about it (due to the 2x high density ED elements) and the chassis will last forever. My work has been used at the London Boat Show to poster size panels of over 10meters and the glass gives amazing edge-to-edge sharpness with rich true-tonal graduations. The lens designs gives very little barrel or pin-cushion effect. I think I will never change this piece of gear. Its the perfect choice for optimum quality and durability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Architectural quality zoom from the film days

By Britographer from Texas, USA on 04/16/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I shoot a lot of architectural subjects, and this lens has seen a lot of buildings. It stays in my kit today with my digital bodies. It has a fast constant aperture, zoom range from ultra-wide 17mm to moderate-wide 35mm, and has very low distortion. I used this lens extensively on my F5 film camera, and today use it on all my digital bodies, including the D3 and D3X. I think it holds up well with the transition to digital sensors. It also is a great choice for shooting events/weddings because of the fast aperture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This zoom lens is fast and sharp.

By Terost from Clearwater, FL on 04/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my "normal" lens. It works great with the FX series digital cameras and film too. It has an amazing definition and sharpness. This lens also has a low level of barrel distortion. I know a photographer who has a 14-24mm zoom and he told me that it is an excellent lens but has limited uses. The 17-35mm has more range.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional lens

By John T from Undisclosed on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an exceptional lens. Clear, sharp with incredible detail from corner to corner and edge to edge. Great depth of field performance, well protected from the elements and excellent contrast from side to side. It is a little heavy but on a tripod there is no problem. Standard 77 mm filter size. I have been using the lens to stitch together large panorama. The lens performs exceptionally well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast and crisp

By Mike from Undisclosed on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The pictures are very sharp and the low light capability on a D700 is fantastic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Nikkor 17-35 "a must have" lens

By getphoto from Williams Lake, B.C. Canada on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Last year when I purchased a D-700, I needed to replace/upgrade from a couple of DX lenses. I chose the AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED to be the first. I am absolutley impressed. A year has passed and the more I use this lens the more I smile as I generate images that were previously out of my reach.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent everyday lens - has become my favorite

By CK from Converse, TX on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this lens while waiting for the follow-on to the D700. I am using it a my old D50 in the mean time. The lens has a solid well built feeling. It's weight is not a problem because the lens is very nicely balanced. Focusing is fast and quiet. The biggest surprised was with close-ups. I shot some amazing close-ups in my rose garden. At a birthday party the 17-35 mm range worked well in a crowded kitchen with a glaring back light enabling me to take excellent photos in tight spots. I compared the bokeh of the F2.8 v my Nikkor 50 mm F1.4 Prime. For portraits the F1.4 was the winner but for all-round photography in close quarters this lens is hard to beat. I will give it a real workout in April 2012 during a trip to a remote area in the Far East.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

FOCUS PROBLEMS

By PHIL from Vancouver, B.C. on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

While the quality of the lens manufacture is high I've have focus problems on both the F100 and the D7000 bodies. In both cases the camera will not fire because the autofocus did not find a focus point. The lens focus bounces back and forth without finding the sweet spot. This is not because of low light or lack of strong objects to select within the array of autofocus sensors. It always takes a touch of the manual focus ring for the lens to find the sweet spot. Any thoughts?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Built like a tank

By BookemDanno from Vancouver, BC on 04/14/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A solid, dependable lens. Performs well at all focal lengths. Very close focusing. Moderately good bokeh at closest focus distance; gets better & smoother at further focus distance. A heavy beast, but weight has never really been an issue and it helps balance the camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of my 3 prime lenses

By edthefed from Bowie, MD on 02/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the lens for my F100 and I now use it on my D3. It has a wonderful zoom range which makes it useful in numerous situations both interior and for landscapes. Sharp and quick to zoom I couldn't be without it. I've been shooting with Nikons for 33 years and this is one of my faves. The only drawback is the weight of the lens on the D3 makes for a heavyweight combination.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Lens

By TESPhoto from Chicago, Illinois on 02/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens exemplifies Nikon's reputation for quality optics. Solidly built and sharp throughout the zoom range, this 'glass' should be in every landscape photographer's bag. I used this lens extensively this past fall when visiting Yosemite. The prints are spectacular and adorn the walls in my home. Pricey?...yes but worth every penny!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent+

By ProPhotog from Long Island, NY on 11/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens never lets me down! Great in tight spaces, interiors, low light and gives impressively sharp results through the whole zoom range.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Film and Digital compatibility

By ExtremeWeatherPhotographer from Sharon, CT on 11/12/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was using this lens on the F5 and F6 with great results. When assignments require digital only, which is 99% of them now, there is no need to sell this lens for fear of poor image quality on a digital body. I've produced images for architects, books, editorial and private contracts with 5 different digital cameras and every time the results were extremely sharp and color correct. This was taken on assignment and used for a travel story in a national newspaper. D80 body, 1/50th, f2.8 at 19mm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Landscape Lens

By AielloPhoto from San Francisco Bay Area on 09/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my GO TO Lens for landscape and cityscape photography. This a great wide angle lens does everything a landscape photographer could hope for. I highly recommend this lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharp and contrasty, my everyday lens.

By D700 Fan from Jensen Beach, FL on 08/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent lens for landscapes, close ups or just walking around. Images are sharp and have plenty of contrast. My D700 has become my everyday camera and this quickly became my everyday lens for it. I kick myself for waiting so long to spring for it; don't wait to treat yourself to great glass!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

West Wide walkround

By KyoshiNikon from Los Angeles, CA on 08/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After trying this lens a year ago in my local camera store I knew I had to have it. About 2 months ago I purchased one and don't regret it in the slightest. As a street/art photographer is my prime shooter and stays on my camera almost 24-7. Not only is the zoom range good but it is sharp across the whole range and across all the f-stops. I prefer it much over the new 16-35 f/4 (although not a bad lens) in particular for the f/2.8 it carries and the sharpness at all zoom ranges...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My favorite and most used lens.

By TM from Tallahassee, FL on 08/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is the one that stays on the camera. It is absolutely my most used lenses. The images are phenomenal and tack sharp. Landscapes are great with this lens, but I also use it close in with none of the distortion found in lesser quality lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well worth the cost & weight

By Deems from San Francisco Bay Area on 08/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this lens. It's sharp, built like a tank and it delivers great colors. It's expensive and heavy, but it's worth every penny. It's a little soft at 2.8 but sharp by 4.0. I tested it against a 50/1.4 and it beat it hands down, even after Nikon calibrated the 50. It covers the 17 - 55 range amazingly well. I'd like more reach, but I bought an 85 to take care of that. Buy from a place that has a good return policy and test your lens soon after you buy it because quality varied when I bought mine even though I bought from good suppliers. I tried out 3 copies. One was sharp, contrasty and saturated, but was a little soft on the right side at the wide end. One was sharp across the range but not as contrasty. And one was terrible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This lens has unsurpassed versatility!

By Nikon Mike from California on 08/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The rugged construction of this lens makes it perfect for everyday use. Weddings, car shows, portraits, vacations, travel, you name it and it works! Can be used with multipliers and filters to create effects like no other lens. Tack sharp images, crisp colors, 77mm filters, fast focus and f2.8. What else could we ask for from a lens? Buy one and see for yourself why I like this lens. Worth every penny, I have two of them, one on a F5 and on my D200. The one on the F5 has never been removed and was purchased in 1996.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent pro level lens

By KiwiAl from Maplewood, NJ on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Spectacular, sharp at all apertures, with moderate to low distortion (if you look for it, and that is how you spend your time). Sharpness can depend on any things, a lens is just one aspect. I could not find any light falloff. Maybe a little soft at the corners at f2.8 17mm, if you use a microscope, and are a total gear-head. Fast and silent to focus on a D700. Heavy, but rock solid, tough, and feels like it should last many years. Use on FX format or 35mm film, as this will be a little wasted on the smaller DX format. The lens focuses internally, so filters will not rotate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very sharp, high quality lens.

By bamaman from Meridian, MS on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a quality product in every respect. It focuses quietly quickly and takes the sharpest photographs I've ever seen. It is engineered and built to last a lifetime. I am an advanced amateur and recently used this lens to take a picture of the Sydney opera house with the Sydney skyline in the background, and enter it in Photographers Forum College 2010 contest.This very sharp shot gained finalist status. I wish I had a 28 - 200 in the same lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Versatile lens to carry.

By Scottshot from Costa Mesa, CA. on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only owned this lens for 6 months but I seem to leave it on my D700 more and more. This lens is very fast, allows for extreme closeup and is always in focus. Built to last as all of Nikons pro lenses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Past its prime

By Liam from New York, NY on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Built like a tank and still a solid performer on DX sensors, it is no longer the ideal WA zoom for FX cameras. Stopping down to f/11 is needed for sharpness across the entire frame on these cameras. It was designed in the days of film and is optimized for that medium, less so for digital.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the very best

By watches from Boston on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens is with me 100% of the time and virtually completes all my necessary tasks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding W/A that can take filters!

By F8lee from Van Nuys, CA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the sharpest W/A lenses around, as far as I can tell (and have read), and while I eventually want to get the fabulous 14-24 f2.8 this lens has one ability that does not - it can take polarizing or other filters in the 77MM diameter size. While polarizing filters can be a little tricky on ultra-wide angle lenses, depending on the position of the sun to the subject to the angle of view from the camera, and for this lens you would need a thin-mount PL to avoid vignetting (on FX format or film cameras) when the timing is right they filter can add a lot to the impact of the image. As a result, I always carry one with me just in case, and that this lens can take it makes it a better all-purpose choice than the 14-28. I did have a problem after owning the lens for about 3 years, which Nikon did repair under warranty. The lens was having difficulty focusing - it would constantly hunt and never settle on a spot - and it turned out that a flexible circuit board inside the barrel of the lens was to blame. However, since having been fixed 3 or so years ago it has had no issues.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent wide zoom

By bchamp from Montreal, QC on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

+ Replaces all primes of same speed its range covers + Very sharp (best at f/4-f/5.6) + High-quality construction, very sturdy + Internal focusing + 77mm filter size - Big and heavy (less so than 14-24 though) - Does scary whining sounds when focusing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for street and formal shooting

By LA_LNM from Los Angeles, CA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I can only say that this lens does everything I need it to, and brilliantly. It allows me the freedom to catch a shot in almost ANY situation. It's heavy, yes, but what a magnificent chunk of glass and metal - from architectural to street candids to group shots, it does precisely what it was designed to do - pull the light in and capture life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pro quality images, almost perfect lens

By super10s from Denver, Colorado on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good points: 1) Beautiful colors - saturated, not washed out. 2) Very sharp. Wide end of zoom range is best. 3) Flare not a problem. 4) Very solidily built lens. Minor issues: 1) Mine squeaks occasionally when zooming. 2) Limited zoom range but still very useful. 3) Weighty, but that goes with being solid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great lens

By cloudrain from Seattle, WA on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use it for landscape and wedding to get an unique perspective that consumer zoom lenses can't offer. A very solid lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great glass.

By WorldsBestPhotographer from Anchorage, AK on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice lens but it quit working after three months. For some reason the apeture/iris gave out. It is is being repaired now and I hope the problem was just a fluke. It is a very versatile lens and I miss it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a great len.

By queman from Danville VA. on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There is nothing to compare this len itis one of best I ever used. It does a great jobs with groups and a excellent job on bridal portraits.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just great!

By Omi from Puerto Rico on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There's a reason why most pros use this lens. It has solid construction, focuses quickly, and is sharp.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding wide zoom

By weldonphoto from San Diego, California on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This wide zoom has been around for a long time for a reason - it is just excellent in every respect with both FX and DX cameras. Images are super sharp with great contrast. Tiny bit of distortion but nothing that has ever bothered me and much less than a lot of other wide zooms I've used. If you don't need 14mm, this is a better option than the also excellent 14-24mm Nikkor since it gives you more on the long end and, more importantly, accepts 77mm filters. I also own a 24-70mm which may be better for a walk-around lens (if you only want to travel with one lens and have longer reach) but otherwise, FX or DX, the 17-35mm is my "go to" wide lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Arguably the best lens ...

By Photo48 from Dade City, Fl on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Arguably the best lens Nikon has ever made, this is a classic. I find no problems with this lens from f/2.8 to f/22 in performance. I find it to limit flare and or ghosting in bright light although I always shoot with the lens hood on. The lens is a bit heavy but balances well enough on my D300. I use this lens for every type of photography but love it for scenery using a tri-pod and wired remote release. I find myself taking it more and more to parties as its a fast lens requiring no flash in most cases and gives me limited zoom capabilities. This is the one lens I would choose if I were limited to only one lens, its that good!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By garympg from San Diego, California on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an aspiring amature. I have used Nikkor lenses for about 20 years (I have used Nikon cameras for 30). I bought this lens for my F6. The images produced are unbeatable. It is a great lens for candid shots at a party; the range is perfect and captures low light situations. If it's a day time party I can use my Nikkor 35mm just fine. But at night, the 17-35mm is the go to lens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My most frequently used lens!

By Nikonman888 from Sydney on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This lens has been mounted on my D100, D2H, D2Xs & D3. For one reason or the other it is my most favorite lens and I have taken more shots using this lens than any of the dozen of other pro level Nikkor lenses I own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great in all range

By keang from NYC on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

some of the best photos i took was from this lens sharp and quick


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Lens

By Wedo-Photo from Vancouver, BC on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this lens or about 5 years now and am still amazed at the image quality it achieves. It is extremely sharp throughout its range. It is very resistant to flare/ghosting and is very well constructed. This lens is always in my camera bag wherever I go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing !

By palmo from Tooulouse, France on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my prime lens on my D3 body ! I used to set a B&W filter in front of it but recent tests using hoya digital pro 1 brings me to reconsider my original bundle. So now, I have D3 + 17-35 + hoya Dpro1 for best results


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderfully sharp, fast lens. Solidly built.

By gsbene from Metro Detroit area, MI on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used this lens as a photojournalist, and it's held up to that kind of daily use with ease. It continues to provide ultrasharp photos, with quick, quiet focusing. Easily replaces the several wide angle fixed focal length Nikkors I used to use. It's held up over a number of years, and I expect it will continue to for a number of years more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great len is all lighting conditions

By dsyphoto from Los Angeles Ca on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of a few lenses that I bring to all of my photo shoots. Its versatility in low light and wide zoom is perfect for creating a dramatic perspective or capturing any interior space!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

After 5 years I still love this lens

By Xtreme Hobbyist from Utah on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned/used this lens for over 5 years and I love the image quality. Very nice for freehand low light shooting. I use it mostly for landscape shots but it's also great for portrait use as long as you avoid the wide angle extent of the zoom. Subjects will obviously appear stretched or "fat" when shooting 17mm. Great lens if you can live with the limiting focal length range 17mm-35mm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

17 to 35mm AFS f2.8 Superb wide zoom none better

By Ricksniks from Central California on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Im a 40 year plus pro shooter, this lens, the 105mm f4 ais macro, 35mm 1.4 and 55mm 2.8 micro are just as good. Nikon cameras and lenses have been my mainstay my whole career, Leica a close second." Bravo Nikon! " I will be a loyal customer till I can't shoot anymore.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb product

By Woodbury Fred from Woodbury, CT on 07/30/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent WA for FX format as well as great 'normal' lens for DX format. Sharp, edge to edge.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved