Home » BLC131A » 19 Reviews

Panasonic Blc131a Wireless Mpeg-4 Network Camera Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 19 reviews)

84% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Set Up (4), Easy To Use (6), Durable (3), Convenient (7), Exceeded Expectations (3), Compact (4)

Primary use:

Business (4), Personal (4)

Cons:

Difficult To Use (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

5 yrs + still working.

By 5yrstillworking from Houston on 09/23/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had 4 of this cameras for over 5 yrs still working fine, set up a little complicated, but tech support will walk through. When change new router, have to reset up the cameras. Time for new 1080p cameras.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It just works

By Mark from Undisclosed on 04/22/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

More features than you'll take advantage of. Had this product for 3+ years. Very satisfied. I own two.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Takes all your bandwidth

By mlm from NH on 07/10/2012


Pros:

Convenient, Durable, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Need Separate Internet

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have three and have always faulted my isp and router for poor download speeds and breaks. I experimented with the cameras my DL speed wirelessly is now 7 mb up from the former 1.5 due to ONE camera. Connected the camera wired still suck all the bandwidth.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent IP Camera from a leading brand

By Tony from UK on 11/17/2011


Pros:

Convenient, Reliable, Versatile

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have 4 of these working non-stop for about 2 years. I have found them indispensable. I can remote monitor from anywhere and receive notification e-mails and file uploads when the cameras are triggered. The set-up, especially if you have more than one unit requires an understanding of port-forwarding so an ability to read FAQ's and blogs is probably necessary. Once I'd sussed it I found it straightforward. The set-up menus are sophisticated compared with cheaper IP cameras from lesser brands, so you can do a lot more with Panasonic cameras, even though they are not the cheapest out there. Triggering by movement work very well, I have images streamed to my NAS and emailed to my cloud service - which is handy for seeing what has been going on from a remote location. Panasonic provides their own DDNS service for life to help with remote monitoring. I thoroughly recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great, first couple of years

By Art from Tulsa, OK on 05/08/2011


Pros:

Compact, Convenient, Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As long as you don't want to run these camera full time for two years they are great. After that kind of use they begin to fail. I purchased four of them and currently none of them are functioning properly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Own 5 BL-Cxxx cams

By Glider_Pilot from Troy,IL on 04/02/2010


Pros:

Convenient, Durable, Easy To Use, Easy To Place On Web Site, Exceeded Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own 5 of these cams. I think my first BL-C30 was one of the first as the picture quality is better now with the 111 and the 131. What is really nice is you can write your own code to place pictures or video into your web page, if you like. One draw back with the 131 and the 111 is they force you to use the viewnetcam or your own dynamic dns. If you have a static ip address you might not be able to get the cam working correctly, by turnng off the Dynamic dns feature. THe BL-C30 units work great without having to use a dynamic dns on a static ip. But other then that I love these cams, one of my cams has been working now NON stop in a bad enviorment for 6 years now without a problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Cam, viewnetcam issues

By doublebak from Undisclosed on 03/11/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient, Compact

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent camera, easy to set up and get working wirelessly. My issues came with trying to register with viewnetcam. Wasn't able to do it. Emailing Panasonic didn't help. However, calling them to follow up, I found the problem was that B&H Photo had sold me a returned camera, already registered to the other user. The camera was in perfect working order, but obviously B&H didn't realize this problem. Interestingly, they are no longer sellling this model. Something to watch for, but certainly not a strike against Panasonic - great camera and follow up service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Difficult to setup, ok quality, good features.

By Christopher from Lund, Sweden on 02/27/2010


Pros:

Nice Basic Design.

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

PROS: Lots of features. Fairly comfortable design. CONS: Even if your tech-minded, it can be difficult to setup. Interface is very 1980s. Clumsy and ugly. Not setup at all for friendly viewing for friends or family. So if you're looking for a 'website webcam' you may want to look elsewhere. NOT Apple Mac friendly but can be used and setup by a mac. VERDICT: I'd keep shopping. I knew much of the cons going in, but when I saw the actual quality of the video produced and just how ugly the interface was, I was let down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best camera in it's price range

By Danny Troy from Bronxville, NY on 01/01/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Can Be Difficult To Install Initially

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I successfully installed the camera using the wireless function (after making one call to tech support). Unfortunately I had frequent disconnects from the network, necessitating a reboot of the camera to get it working again. After three more calls to tech support I was lucky to get a support person that suggested the problem may have been related to my WPA encryption. I disabled the encryption and the camera connection is now 100%. I feel this should have been covered by the first tech support person I spoke to, not the 3rd or 4th. I decided to use MAC filtering, and should note the camera would not connect with MAC filtering. Another call to tech support, and I was advised that MAC filtering wasn't recommend with this camera. After thoroughly reading the online support, I found that there are not one, but two MAC numbers for the camera that must be entered in the router configuration. I believe the tech support rep was totally unaware of this. The camera is now 100% again, using MAC filtering. All in all, it works great and would love to get a few more, especially since I now know how to get it working properly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BL-C131A

By LoveThis from Oregon on 11/13/2008


Pros:

Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is FANTASTIC!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent!!

By SAB from Amsterdam, NL on 10/20/2008


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use, Convenient

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent product - very versatile and easy to use, the only thing missing would be an integrated speaker. Wireless functionality is very easy to set up, user interface is very simple to use; even the grandmother is using it to watch her grandkids grow up on the other side of the world! Highly recommended!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceeded Expectations

By Horse Verified Reviewer from DFW Area on 08/02/2008


Pros:

Good In Low Light, Easy To Set Up, Sharp Image

Best Uses:

Monitoring

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent camera that does everything it says and more. I have it in a shed that has a radiant barrier foil on walls and roof. Due to this the signal is weak 7% but it never drops out. Trigger is great, it will even trigger when I come home late at night and the car lights shine on the window. It does not over trigger like a bad motion sensor. It simply works. I can even see the flashing armed light on the speedo of my motorcycle. Worth every dime and I have owned over a year and would buy it again. Tech Support if needed is in the USA, real techs vs someone reading a screen and it's an experience like the good ole days. Responsive, knowledgeable. Wireless set up can be interesting and as someone said, may require port forwarding on your modem but Tech Support is first rate in getting you configured. If you buy it you won't be disappointed !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Trial & Error

By Bob M Verified Purchaser from Hoffman Estates, IL on 07/18/2008


Cons:

Setup A Pain

Describe Yourself:

Semi-professional

Pros:

Great Sound, Security, Durable, Veratile, Simple Controls, Versatile, Great Features, Comfortable To Operate

Best Uses:

Security

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Use is for home security Remote internet accesss Leave lots of time for trial & error setup,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

High quality wireless web cam

By DB the tennis player Verified Purchaser from Winter Park, FL on 05/02/2008


Cons:

Conspicuous

Pros:

Discreet, Accurate, Sensitive, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Safety, Deterrent, Recording, Early Warning

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great vacation home surveyance camera...only thing that can help to maintain continual ip connection is to add a daily timer to turn on and off the camera to refind the ip address in case there is a cut in electricity.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Net Cam

By Lab Man Verified Purchaser from South Carolina on 02/29/2008


Primary use of this product:

Business

Describe Yourself:

Novice

Pros:

Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Deterrent

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to set up (once the wireless part was configured), and excellent video quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LAN is fine: WAN beware

By Jim the Wizzard Verified Purchaser from Tehachapi Mtns, CA on 02/19/2008


Cons:

Networking Difficult

Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Handyman

Pros:

Lots Of Features, Sensitive

Best Uses:

Peace Of Mind

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product was easy to setup using direct connect to computer. Controls easy and fun to use. Wireless and access via internet MUCH more difficult and fraught with pitfalls. Required port forwarding to allow access through routers is not for the unitiated in dealing with IP addresses and ports.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera for online monitoring

By King-Care Kennels Verified Purchaser from Texas Hill Country on 01/21/2008


Primary use of this product:

Business

Cons:

Needed Help Forwarding

Describe Yourself:

Do-it-yourself

Pros:

High Quality Visual

Best Uses:

Sound Pan Tilt Zoom

Primary use:

Business

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought several of these cameras to monitor a dog boarding facility when I am not on site. This is a great camera for viewing and listening to what is going on when I am away from the facility. I can see, and listen to what is happening. I use the pan, tilt, and zoom to visual see what is happening at various locations. Using an iphone, I can view the kennel from any location where I have a cell phone signal. I did need help with port-forwarding the signal through my wireless router. My internet provider provided that help for a reasonable cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By Bok Choy Cowboy Verified Purchaser from Pittsburgh, PA on 09/25/2007


Describe Yourself:

Professional

Pros:

Reliable, Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to setup and use, as long as you're familiar with setting up network devices. Otherwise it would be a little more challenging. Has a great set of features and the web interface is remarkable with the ability to click and drag on the image to pan the camera (similiar to what you can do on Google maps). Image is fairly clear, as good as can be expected anway.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceeded Expectations

By Geezer Verified Purchaser from North Dallas on 07/31/2007


Describe Yourself:

Do-it-yourself

Pros:

Easy Installation, Easily Understood Instructions, Great Support

Best Uses:

Homes, Office

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent camera for the price, crisp pictures, many useable features, easy to use software. The only issue I had was ISP related and Panasonic Technical Support was great, understandable and US based. This is not junk - you will be pleased with your purchase. I have one wirelessly transmitting from a detached garage with excellent results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved