Home » BLC20A » 10 Reviews

Panasonic Wireless Network Camera (panasonic Blc20a) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 10 reviews)

60% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Durable (5), Inexpensive (3), Exceeded Expectations (3), Easy To Use (3), Compact (4)

Cons:

Difficult To Use (5), Poor Documentation (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Terrible Instruction

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/06/2013


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation, Expensive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I would like the camera if I could get it running. I am not a tech person and I find this camera extremely hard to set up. If it weren't for that The camera would be pretty good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera - Difficult to Set First One Up

By Ed B from Culver City, CA on 09/04/2012


Pros:

Good Value With Features, Compact, Durable, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The camera is great but the instructions leave a lot unanswered. They work perfect with the program Security-Spy on the Mac with excellent quality pictures both in video and received through email. I read that someone could not find a program to record the live feed from the camera, Security-Spy seems to work great for this on the Mac. Router ports forwarded to the camera via your router with a static IP worked the best for me. Short version-If you set up your router for port forwarding you should be able to get this camera to work great for you. It just takes a lot of time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Documentation needs lots of help

By ITHawk from Bronx, NY on 11/30/2011


Pros:

Simply To Set Up For Basic Use

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Difficult To Use, Difficult To Configure

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Although I did recommend it to a friend, it was only because he was only using it to monitor a location. The documentation is minimal and the user interface is confusing especially when setting up the e-mail notification and network access.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera while it works

By Silicon Valley from Silicon Valley, CA on 09/11/2011


Pros:

Great Features

Cons:

Poor Quality, Poor Documentation, Expensive, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This was a great camera while it worked. Admittedly it was extremely difficult to set up, but once set up it worked beautifully for about 3 months until it completely died.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great hardware, Horrible software and support

By JonL from PA on 06/27/2011


Pros:

Durable, Great Features, Compact

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

SUMMARY: Good for watching live video or reviewing recorded still screenshots. Does NOT record in a usuable video format. Haven't been able to view pictures after downloading them from the camera. Sensor and relay features seem to be simple to use and very powerful. Documentation is useless so you'll need to be knowledgeable enough to figure things out on your own. REVIEW: I bought the BL-C230A to monitor pet activity. The camera itself is a wonderful unit. In moderate light it produces a nice image good enough for documentation, but not "production quality". Its pan and tilt angles are wide and the output switch, microphone have many uses. The recording feature can be activated by any combination of timer, motion, sound or by two external circuits. The interface is entirely browser based and accessed directly from the camera. There is no software to install. It does a great job when you simply want to view the video feed live. When triggered, it records a series of still JPEG's to the on-board memory. To view recorded pics stored on the camera, you use the clunky interface they provide. You can play from beginnig to end wtih no stop/rewind controls, or you can view each frame (pic) one at a time or jump 10 or 100 frames in either direction. If power is interrupted, all stored images are lost. There is no "Record Now" function so all recording has to be programmed via triggers. You have the option of downloading the cached images either individually, in a batch of 10 or 100, or all. You'll need to do this to make room for further recording. The captured files are downloaded and stored as a .PNC file. Nothing can open them. Panasonic has a viewer on their site, but the installer program would only open the README.txt. I haven't yet been able to find even a 3rd party ap that will (successfully) record the video feed that is streamed. Also can't converty stream to a "webcam format" for use in skype or videoconferencing. The user interface and support are HORRIBLE. The interface, help menus, manual, and online support websites are obviously all made by someone who not only can't write English but has never written product documentation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BL-C230A IP Camera

By Angel and Bear from UPPER MARLBO, MD on 10/25/2010


Pros:

Convenient, Durable, Compact

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations, Low Light Viewing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is worth the money. We have a few different cameras inside and outside the house that work just fine, but the additional functions that come with this camera for $200 less is a good deal. The quality of the viewing is average (when lit) and in the dark (below average--TOOOO grainy). The real time viewing is above average, but when attempting to view it on-line (if your network is SECURED), it's somewhat difficult to set up. We're pretty savvy when it comes to IT and this camera was a little perplexing to us. A PRO is it comes with one-way audio and 4 different alarm sounds to include the barking of a dog. The PAN/Tilt function is above average because it covers a wide area.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera!

By happy from Houston on 09/17/2009


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Exceeded Expectations, Convenient, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Better than cheaper models because not only is the camera and mic great, the recording software actually WORKS!! GREAT PRODUCT!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great price for a really good cam

By Maddogthegreat from Andover Kansas on 05/11/2009


Pros:

Can Upload Via Ftp, Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The cheapest network cam that can FTP and a really good camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera

By maddog from Andover Ks. on 03/31/2009


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just ordered my second one. Have had one for 2 years and is working great. Power supply went bad while under warranty. got it back in 4 days.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great cheap little netwrok cam

By cameraman from ny.ny. on 07/04/2008


Describe Yourself:

Professional

Pros:

Reliable, Simple Interface, Easy Installation, Easily Understood Instructions

Best Uses:

Apartments, Office, Homes, Outdoors, Valuables

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

good stuff


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved