Home » DMCFP8S » 11 Reviews

Panasonic Lumix Dmc-fp8 Point & Shoot Digital Camera - Silver - 12.1 Megapixel - 16:9 - 4.6x Optical Zoom - 4x Digital Zoom - 2.7" Active Matrix Tft Color Lcd (dmcfp8s) (dmc-fp8s) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 11 reviews)

90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Inexpensive (7), Easy To Use (7), Durable (5), Compact (9), Convenient (6), Exceeded Expectations (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great pictures automatically!

By Photofan from Cranbrook, BC on 12/27/2012


Pros:

Durable, Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Compact, Fun To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not only was the compact ZS20 easy to learn to use the menu navigation, but it hardly allows one to take a bad picture when using the Intelligent Auto (iA) mode and Scene mode. The 4 optional manual modes (P, A, S, M) plus Creative Control make it possible to experiment with artistic photography almost without limit. Many photo editing operations for stills, and for movies as well, can be performed in camera making it possible to view a modified photo on flat screen TV via the mini HDMI cable. Computer modified photos can not be viewed this way when copied back to the SD card. It is truly amazing how many features are packed into this compact version of my bulky FZ150 and shares the same CMOS sensor although it lacks the RAW format. In addition it has GPS and optional touch screen controls for the most often used operations. When traveling, the photos can be uploaded to internet to share with family and friends back home or shared with the world by uploading to YouTube, etc. For convenience it has the option of in camera battery charging. And the best thing of all is the Leica lens for superb definition and sharpness complemented by its 14 MP sensor. The camera is also known as TZ30 in some countries so it has seen 30 generations of development to produce this gem of a digital camera. With the photo editing software supplied on a CD slide shows including HD movies can also be created with music and burned to a DVD or copied to USB flash memory for viewing on TV. After exploring the camera for 2 weeks I would not hesitate to recommend the camera to anyone just starting out with digital photography.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By DS from Undisclosed on 02/04/2011


Pros:

Compact, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive

Cons:

Slow Switching Between Modes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We already own and are happy with a DMC FZ35 Superzoom, so when we saw this at Costco we figured to give it a try. What we've found is that it takes excellent pictures! The "shutter" lag is reasonable, the touch screen is nice and the picture quality is great. One of the best aspects is the battery life, we've only charged it once since purchase and have taken enough pictures to empty the memory card. My only complaint would be switching to motion picture mode takes a little too long. It's so small and handy to carry we hardly use the "big" camera but we take more pics overall. Which was kinda the point. We didn't really compare cameras in this class but overall it's been great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Camera, Terrible Touchscreen

By Tean94 from Ogden, Utah on 11/29/2010


Pros:

Compact, Convenient

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use, Touchscreen Lacks Resposiveness

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The images that this camera takes are very good and the HD video is also very nice, but make sure you are in good lighting. Video in dark lighting doesn't pic up the best. The speed between pictures is very good, though I am using a High Speed High Capacity SD card, which helps. My issues come in the Touchscreen interface. The responsiveness is poor at best. You've got to be pinpoint accurate for it to register your touch, which is frustrating, especially when I use a Smartphone with a touchscreen every day. I expect this camera's touchscreen to be a lot better than it is. Supposedly there was a firmware update released to fix this issue, however, I can attest that the issue was NOT fixed! I would suggest a calibration tool in the next firmware update, as that would help dramatically the functionality of their touchscreen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome quality pics

By Jeff from Undisclosed on 09/04/2010


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Compact, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera in May 2010. I love to take photos of sunsets, Storm clouds, as well as family and close-up shots. I couldn't be happier. My daughter takes a ton of pics, tried 3 different brand name cameras in the same price range, and returned all 3, then stated "your camera rocks, dad". I have to have one, so I bought another for her.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

cover opens too easily

By Em from Undisclosed on 07/31/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I slipped my camera into my pocket to be easily accessible on a walk. When I reached in, I realized that the lens cover had slid open and the battery was totally drained. I was then careful to be sure the cover was in the closed position, but it happened to me several more times. So, I have it in a light case so that I do not lose my battery charge. A shame because the photos are excellent! I have an old dmc-tz5 that I absolutely Love!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AMAZING!

By 007macroshooter from Undisclosed on 07/29/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Compact, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Panasonic Lumix Camera is the best camera I've ever owned. I was shocked by how simple it was to figure out and that fact paired with the quality of photos took my breath away. I am an amatuer photographer and this camera helps me look like a professional, I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! I reccomend it to every budding photographer out there <3


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

cool camera, touch screen needs a lot of work

By b-dawg from San Francisco, CA on 07/13/2010


Pros:

Inexpensive, Easy To Use, Durable, Compact, Convenient

Cons:

Moving Around A Zoomed In Photo Is Worthless, Slow Touch Screen

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Over-all it is a good camera. I also own the Panasonic G-1 SLR which is fantastic in comparison, but for a compact this is a decent camera. It has gets the normal complaints- slight delay in shutter (but better than most), lack of manipulation in trade for compact size. I have been very happy with the camera's ability to take low light without flash, macro, and really overall shots. The touch screen is ok, but needs some work- it is really slow to respond, and not as sensitive as I would like- or maybe it is too sensitive, and my fat fingers touch too many pixels, either way I end up having to touch the screen several times before the camera responds. Perhaps I am spoiled with my iphone's touch screen. Not as many touch screen options as the i-phone either... like zoom in/out, and moving around a zoomed in photo is totally worthless!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AMAZING!!

By fp3lvr from Undisclosed on 05/21/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Compact, Convenient, Exceeded Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is the best camera ever! i love it soo much! grat pictures and fun features! worth the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

***BEST CAMERA EVER!!!***

By lumixlover22 from Boston, Ma on 05/12/2010


Pros:

Durable, Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I absolutely LOVE this camera. Its cool, easy to use, and it makes good quality pictures. Its not too expensive, I guess, and it definitely exceeds expectations. I LOVE THIS CAMERA!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What the heck?

By DrLaur from Ft Lauderdale on 04/21/2010


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Can't See In The Lcd On A Sunny Day, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the camera except why the heck did they not put a view finder on the camera? You can't see a thing in the LCD screen if you shoot in the daylight sun!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome camera. Takes ...

By Ima Knotreal from Undisclosed on 04/06/2010


Pros:

Durable, Compact, Easy To Use

Cons:

Too Thick

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Awesome camera. Takes great photos! :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved