Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » DMCFZ70K » 35 Reviews

Panasonic Lumix Dmc-fz70k 16.1 Megapixel Bridge Camera - 3" Lcd - 60x Optical Zoom - Optical [is] - 4608 X 3456 Image - 1920 X 1080 Video - Hdmi - Pictbridge - Hd Movie Mode (dmc-fz70k) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 35 reviews)

82% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Inexpensive (24), Compact (12), Convenient (15), Exceeded Expectations (20), Easy To Use (23), Durable (12)

Cons:

Poor Documentation (3), Difficult To Use (3), Did Not Meet Expectations (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Really nice camera for the price

By Anonymous from Silicon Valley, CA on 08/21/2015


Pros:

Awesome Zoom

Cons:

Minimum Lens Aperature, Burst Speed Really Disappointing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera has more features than any one person could possibly use. Incredible zoom capability with effective stabilization. A major disappointment is the burst mode; really slow with even a class 10 SD card. The manual is pretty comprehensive, but could use some more technical description about how the more complicated functions work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I really like this ...

By Quiltlady brk from Star Prairie, WI on 07/27/2015


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this camera, its easy to use, and really light!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for above average user

By sam from tennessee on 07/14/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Very Very Cheap Cost Compared With Sx60 And Others, Exceeded Expectations, Excellent Alternative To Costly Slr, Durable, Convenient

Cons:

Low Light Could Be A Bit Better, High Speed Shutter Of 10k Needed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If your sick of IPhone pictures but don't want the bulk and cost of an slr system this is for you. Had sx50 and this camera is as good and even better in many ways. Much less cost than the overpriced over rated sx60


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent camera

By Paul from Englewood, FL, USA on 07/08/2015


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent camera but its skill level is more that I can master, so far. It will take some education before I can begin to use all of its features. Am glad I purchased it and expect to be able to use most of it soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Panasonic camera

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 06/22/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am still learning about my camera. I have mostly taken pictures outdoors only and the photos looked excellent. I will have to practice taking pics using different settings before I can comment on that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Camera

By Anonymous from Oregon on 06/04/2015


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I Have owned this camera a few weeks now and I love it! Provides crisp, clear photos. The optic stalinization is the best I have ever seen. Great effects can be applied to your photos. Long battery life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Impressive

By Cassidy from Saint Paul, MN, USA on 05/18/2015


Pros:

Convenient, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Compact, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Super lightweight. This product gets the job done


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy Peezzie

By Quartzsite Kid from Fountain Valley, CA on 04/20/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Compact, Convenient, Inexpensive, Durable, Exceeded Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have several digital cameras that have two or more interchangable lenses; macro, wide angel, telephoto, etc. All are great cameras but are heavy and require a large camara bag to carry the equipment. The Panasonic Lumix is a high quality light weight camera that takes cyrstal-clear pictures with up to 1200mm. Outsatanding Value !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love the optics and ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 04/14/2015


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the optics and wonderful zoom. I get better shots than my daughter's police camera. It is really a great value!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This camera started me on a new life path!!

By Naturally from Spring, Texas on 03/25/2015


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Easy To Learn To Use Everything You Need Is There, Durable, Compact, Easy To Use, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I know this sounds strange, but this camera was the one I used to create such gorgeous pictures that it started me on my way to becoming a professional nature photographer. So easy to learn on, crisp, colorful, amazing shots were generated by this camera. Incredible micro close up and zoom images. I was even able to get great shots of the blood moon!!! People seeing my shots were asking me what kind of camera I used thinking it was some mega/multi lense thousand dollar camera. Others requests for copies of my pics was amazing to me. Okay, you can read the specs here on line, these comments come straight from someone who experiences using this awesome camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best P&S camera

By Hiko from Woodinville, WA, USA on 03/23/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Durable

Cons:

Remote-controlled Shatter Feature

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was a Nikon man for 45 years. Just before the last Christmas, I bought a Nikon Coolpix L830 but I couldn't hold it still due to the weight of camera with 4 AA batteries and no viewfinder. I returne it and bought a LUMIX DMC-FZ70. With the viewfinder I can hold it steady. (Battery life is much longer using viewfinder.) I shoot almost every day and am trying all the features it gives. Lots of fun! This has given me a fun and joy to my retired life. Thank you, Panasonic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great camera

By Bill from Dayton, Ohio on 03/23/2015


Pros:

Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very good camera for not being a DSLR. I was tired of carrying all the extra lenses and large bag I needed for DSLR. This is a great camera for vacations. The zoom is very good, and the auto takes very good pictures. Many modes and scene modes to experiment with. Not a DSLR but a great sub for one. Picture quality is excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Zoom Zoom Zoom!!!!

By DM from Midwest on 01/10/2015


Pros:

Zoom, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive

Cons:

Slow Focus, Manual Focus Would Be Nice.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera's zoom has exceeded my expectations. While the auto focus might not be what you are needing... and it could use a simpler interface.... It is by all means the best camera I have ever owned (Nikon d300 is now on shelf). I shoot wildlfe photos and this thing is so portable... I used to have to carry a bag that weighed 10lbs full of 3grand in lenses to have what I get from this.. which goes into my edc bag and give me better zoom.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this camera!

By CamQueen from New york on 12/11/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Exceeded Expectations, Long Zoom, Easy To Use, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera for my trip to Italy and I absolutely love it! The zoom on this thing is fantastic. I was able to shoot from far away and the pictures still came out clear. It is super easy to use and the in camera creative controls allowed me to retouch the pictures right on my camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bought this online after seeing in popup shop

By Pixygirl from New York, NY, USA on 12/11/2014


Pros:

Clarity, Inexpensive, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use

Cons:

Doesn't Fit In Pocket

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Loved the zoom on this. Saw it in NYC and wanted to bite but the price was too high. I bought it once I found a promo because it takes amazing pics. Especially panorama


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Know what features you want before purchase. Zoom

By Robertski from Laguna Beach on 11/26/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I researched super-zoom cameras extensively. I am very happy with an earlier DMC-FZ150 with a 24X zoom. When a sale on a refurb FZ70 came along I bought it just for the long 60X zoom and the wide 20mm end. If I could have only one bridge camera, I would want a tilting LCD (though my FZ150 malfunctions), and a mic input. For the price it can be a fun camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT CAMERA FOR THE PRICE, ONLY LACKING ONE THING

By LaRoo from Grand Marais, MN on 11/24/2014


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use, Inexpensive

Cons:

No Plug-in For Remote Shutter

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I LOVE THE LIGHTWEIGHTNESS OF THIS CAMERA, so much lighter than my canon with additional lenses. The only problem I have is I can't take pictures on a tripod with a plug-in shutter and I am not the steadiest hand, especially at 60x magnification. I really like the lowlight ability, and all the other features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Need Battery Recharger- hard to find!

By Battery Running Low from Phoenix, Arizona on 11/02/2014


Pros:

Good Grip

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Either it is stolen or lost, but trying to replace the battery charger for this camera has been far too hard! Not available every where I ask. I like the zoom and resolution; better than my older model Panasonic Lumix. Not sure if operator error, but I liked the features of my old Lumix (Z28?) better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Heavy traveler

By gfieldmd from California on 09/09/2014


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Convenient, Compact, Durable, Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Cons:

Wifi

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera does it all. From extreme wide angle (wider than any other long zoom camera) to long telephoto. You can either use it simply (Intelligent Auto) or manual. Satisfied


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera

By GField MD from Calif. on 07/14/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact, Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sure I would like a camera that has wifi and Iphone connectivity But this camera does it all for me. I really needed that 20 mm wide angle (35mm). And the 1200 mm comes in handy too. As for difficult to use, just leave it on intelligent auto and for get it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great bridge camera with multiple features

By kanehi from Honolulu, HI on 06/23/2014


Pros:

Convenient, Durable, Inexpensive, Built Quality, Good Battery Life, Exceeded Expectations, Great Zoom Range

Cons:

Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First of all the camera is a tad larger than my Canon SX50 which is a plus because I can hold it more comfortably and steadily and yet surprisingly about the same weight. As any camera there is a learning curve on how to operate it and some people just don't want to learn. Yes it does have a lot of bells and whistles and once you learnt it it's actually a cool camera. I bought this camera to lieu of bringing my dSLR (Canon 70D) on my upcoming trip to NY because it can get pretty heavy after long treks and my son will be using the Canon SX50. Picture quality is on par with the Canon. I was going to get another SX50 but it doesn't have the wide angle range that the FZ70 has and it was more expensive. The thing I missed most is the articulating screen on the SX50. I'm still learning to use the FZ70 and the potentials it has and boy it sure does have a lot of features which can be intimidating. The controls can be overwhelming at first but I'm getting the hang of it. I do recommend to people who buy an advanced point and shoot camera to learn and not whine about it. I do recommend downloading the manual and read it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Researched the superzooms and chose this one!

By fortfan from Maryland on 06/08/2014


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Fast Shutter Response, 60x Zoom, Easy To Use, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the zoom, features and fast shutter. Not bothered by the lack of an external mic jack, fixed LCD or no remote, as I researched this and was totally aware of the features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hi, I am the one that ...

By Mickey from Riverside, CA on 04/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Hi, I am the one that wrote a previous statement that camara did not print date on picture, well since I could not find a phone number in manual book to call for support I did go to the where I bouhgt it and the store technician after a while of walking through it was able to complete the set-up for printing the date on taken pictures. Since I have had this camara for a short time I have decide to keep it. But I still unhappy about the poor manual book that comes with it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LumixDMC FZ70

By Mickey from CA on 04/28/2014


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This camara did no fill my expectation it does not print dates on pictures and it is complicated to operate


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Third Lumix and a Total Failure

By Chris L from FL on 04/05/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Windows Connection Problems, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Not Supported

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

So many flaws that I dont even know where to start. But here's one you can try right now. Go to the top of this page (panasonic website) and click on Support. Search for Lumix DMC-FZ70. Got 28 pages of results of which the first 5 dont have this camera. Try again, search by device....click on that option..then pick digital point and shoot cameras from the menu.....you get everything including the kitchen sink but not this camera. Reason I am looking for support is that when I connect it to my computer (windows 8), the camera is NOT recognized, and I was looking for a driver. Well I cant find one now. The Camera controls are HORRIBLE. They have introduced a wheel that switches between aperture/shutter speed/exposure compensation/manual focussing. Imagine when you have set the camera on manual, you have to deal with clicking the wheel and rotating it to change settings. Its easy to accidentally click the wheel while rotating it. while looking in the viewfinder to see which feature you are changing. One usually needs manual controls in unusual situations - sports/theatre where one might want preset focus and manual exposure in anticipation of a moving subject. This is the worst time to be dealing with this incredibly cumbersome wheel. They have limited maximum exposure to only 8 seconds - why is beyond me. They have changed the features controlled by the round 'rocker' switch. Exposure compensation is now on the wheel, self-timer is not the right position anymore but the down position. white balance is now on the right position and iso on the top position. The changes must be an attempt to frustrate owners of previous models of this camera - congratulations, you succeeded, Panasonic. My conclusion is that this camera was designed by technicians and NOT field tested by photographers. This is definitely my third and LAST Lumix.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Impressive Performance and Value

By Omen from Amherst, MA, USA on 03/24/2014


Pros:

Excellent Results, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had earlier purchased a Panasonic 18X zoom and was favorably impressed with its optics and functionality. I waited for the next Panasonic, even while other powerful zooms made their appearance, because I had a hunch it would be worthwhile to do so. Indeed it was, I brought FZ70 with expedited shipping, as I was heading out to SF to see my son, daughter-in-law, and grandchildren and I wanted to be able to test it out during the trip. My son, as a surprise gift, bought my wife and myself tickets aboard a tour ship that went out into the SF harbor to watch the America's Cup. Our distance ranged from 1/3 to 3/4 miles from the racing craft and the zoom gave me exceptional photos. Not only did the image stabilization take care of my tremors, it also took care of the rolling of the tour ship! I have a collection of truly impressive clear pictures that I only wish I could share with you. This camera is truly an exceptional value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this Camera

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 03/11/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first LUMIX and I am not disappointed. This is a great camera for the price point. Very happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Purchased two of these!

By Anonymous from Delaware, USA on 11/29/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact, Convenient, Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Wish The Viewer Movable For Sunlight/glare.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased one for a trip to Jackson Hole, Wyoming to photograph scenery and animals, etc. It was so great we purchased a second one for our daughter who was going to South Africa for her honeymoon. It takes great zoom shots. All around a great camera. Only thing I would add is the adjustable screen like my previous Panasonic which also covers the screen for protection. Otherwise a fantastic camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

JUST ONE THING....WONDERFUL

By BETO from Hayward, CA, USA on 10/09/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Convenient, Easy To Use, Compact, Exceeded Expectations, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

IN THE PAST BOUGHT MANY CAMERAS LUMIX AND ALL WERE EXCELLENT AND THIS IS WONDERFUL,THANKS PANASONIC


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Panaonic FZ70 Great buy

By Sage from Greybull, WY on 09/16/2013


Pros:

Compact, Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Do Not Like Having Manual On Computer

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only one problem with this camera, that is the fact the majority of the owner's manual has to be downloaded onto the computer. Very basic info in manual included. I have used the FZ7, then the FZ35 and was concerned about quality since this has such a long zoom and I shoot wildlife and scenery and was concerned about shake. Does very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing

By Panyfan from Oregon, USA on 09/16/2013


Pros:

Video Button, Grip, 20 Mm Wide Angle, Easy To Use

Cons:

On / Off Switch, Did Not Meet Expectations, Soft Pictures

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Images are soft compared to my FZ150. Horrible on/off switch. Feel of camera is great. I love the grip. Placement of the video button is great, finally a vid button easy to find without looking for it. Needs remote shutter release capabilities. I miss an articulated screen. First place to start Panasonic is fix the terrible on/off lever. Go back to what the FZ150 has or add a ON/OFF button like other brands have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera for the Price

By Kathy from Bonita Springs, FL, USA on 09/16/2013


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Compact, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned several Panasonic cameras and they all have met my expectations, including this one. I am using this camera for real estate and nature photography. It takes great interior photos that I convert to virtual tours. For the nature photography the zoom lens works great for that. I am amazed that this gives me that capability all in one camera. The other thing that I find is that I do not have to do a lot of PhotoShoping to enhance the pictures, as the quality of the original photo is very good. Unlike a couple of other reviews, I thoroughly checked out this camera before my purchase to make sure it had and did the things that I needed and expected it to do, and I am totally happy with my purchase of this camera and the quality of the pictures. I found it easy to learn some of the new features and find that it is going to be great to incorporate into one of my hobbies, graphic art.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor design

By JohnH from New South Wales, Australia on 09/15/2013


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Well - there's been a fan fare hasn't there? I rushed out and bought one. Then the fun started - couldn't buy the accesories, MACRO enhancer DMW-LC55 and Lens adaptor DMW-LC55. Nasty shock. Then I found a major design flaw - the LED screen does not hinge up or down thereby eliminating many of those macro shots taken from side on. Nor could I use a tripod to photograph the moon, it would take an expert contortionist to achieve that. I didn't check this feauture because I never thought it would be excluded from a camera of this type. I wouldn't have bought it had I known and besides all this, other than the 60X zoom (Grainy), this is an altogether unremarkable camera. Forget the hype and fanfare - it is a LEMON!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

US Open

By Kit from New York, NY, USA on 08/29/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use, very quick shutter, even in relatively dark conditions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THe feature longed for - still not there

By RD from Braintree, MA, USA on 08/03/2013


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

No ability to record audio on a still picture frame, as in a voice memo feature, like on the dmc-fz5 through to the dmc-fz50, the feature was not in the fz100,150, 0r 200 models either do to the .mov file format transfer in the camera matrix over to the avchd format designs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved