Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » DMCGF2CK » 16 Reviews

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF2 12.1 Megapixel Mirrorless Camera (Body with Lens Kit) - Black - 3" Touchscreen LCD - 4000 x 3000 Image - 1920 x 1080 Video - HDMI - PictBridge - HD Movie Mode Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 16 reviews)

75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (10), Compact (10), Exceeded Expectations (8), Inexpensive (4), Convenient (11), Durable (6)

Cons:

Poor Documentation (4), Did Not Meet Expectations (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great picture quality.

By Hook from Illinois on 06/17/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Picture Quality Excellent, Durable, Convenient

Cons:

No Cons

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera with a pancake lens can't be beat for the price. Much better than a point and shoot. Lot's of great features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality with Great Features

By Like George from Idaho on 03/09/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Convenient, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Rated high and it lives up to expectation. Takes great pictures for me. Separate vidio record button is nice. Mic picks up crisp sound. Takes quality MP4 movies. A great choice for both pictures and vidio. I feel like I have quality in my hand when the lense moves. The screen is bright and menus are large enough for my over 50 year old eyes to read. It is fun to use. Flash is good for a point and shoot but takes about a second to fire in low light. The flash has two modes: iAuto that covers most cases and off.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good p & s

By Mjjm from LI ny on 02/14/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Convenient, Compact

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Doesn't Feel 'robust' Enuf

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good p&s+ camera w/many adv features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Traveler's Friend

By mobilelawyer from Mobile, Alabama on 10/16/2012


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Easy To Use, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I took this camera on a recent trip to Oregon, and could not be more pleased with its preformance. It is a point and shoot camera with a huge optical zoom range and gets it gets the job done! I did not want to lug my DSLR on this trip, and was able to keep this camera in a belt case. I generally kept the settings on totally automatic, and got beautifully exposed shots. The camera is quick to shoot, and I got great life from the battery. I always had plenty of charge left after a day of shooting, but always charged up every night, just to be safe. We also have a Lumix DMC-TZ1 which we have used since 2007, and it still takes great shots. My wife used it on this trip. But the DMC-ZS15 is smaller, and outperforms it. It should, since the former is 5 years old! But our positive experience with the older camera let me in the direction of the newer model. I could not be any more pleased. This camera will be my constant travel complanion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Camera"

By Marvin from spokane, WA on 08/27/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Compact, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Better Owners Manuel (book)

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Received this Camera as a gift from wedding. Took along on Honeymon-Hawai trip. The camera took outstanding pictures. Great camera and many features that make the camera work for itself and keep owner very happy.....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not that good

By BlueParrot from Belize on 06/24/2012


Pros:

Compact

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Dispite this camera has been promoted as THE BEST it is not. The consumer service to answer a question about the "funny" size of the RAW files is absolutely USELESS. What kind of camera produces RAW files at the size it wants. Generating 4 different of RAW files size for the same original JPEG file. Range of aperture and speed too small. A lot of features for dummies photographer but some BIG mistake on the engineering (put a tripod plate and you can not access the card or the battery...)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst flash design

By Kelly from Washington State on 06/18/2012


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Dark Shadow On Pictures When Using The Flash, Poor Documentation, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We purchased this camera after having our first child. We live in WASHINGTON STATE where sunshine is usually limited and we need to use a flash indoors for all photos. This camera has a design flaw that leaves a dark shadow on every picture from the lens. It is unnaceptable panasonic!! This should be fixed. If you are onl,y using this camera outdoors when no flash is needed it does take great pictures. But I would NOT recommend for indoor use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice camera

By CatLady from California on 04/19/2012


Pros:

Compact, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Raw Files Processing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great little walk around camera. I does not weight much and it takes great pictures. The lens is extraordinary. I have problems replaying the videos; it is very complicated. And, the biggy is that although this camera takes pictures in the Raw format, this format is not read well by Adobe Photoshop or other editing programs. So, in this sense, the camera is not perfect but it is very nice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One great camera

By Stan from Bozeman, MT on 03/22/2012


Pros:

One Button To Start Video., Can Do Raw Format With Software To Process., Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Can Show Histogram, Convenient, Very Good Lcd Display, Easy To Use

Cons:

Very Short Usb Cable, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this camera for a short while, but I am simply amazed at the quality of shots using the digital zoom out to 50x or so. Maximum optical zoom is 24x, but the 32x intelligent zoom feature really makes this a 32x camera. HD videos are incredible. I like the fact that you can screw on filters and lenses. The documentation is really not very good for such a great camera which has so many features and capabilities.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love love love this camera

By Missdmplz143 from Oakland, CA on 03/02/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Durable, Convenient, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is my favorite by far of all of the cameras that I've owned in my lifetime. I could not afford one of the bigger and more pricey SLR cammeras so I purchased this one. I LOVE IT!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By photonut from Pennsylvania on 02/12/2012


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Compact, Easy To Use, Convenient, Durable

Cons:

Hang Grip Could Be Alittle Longer

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am a DSLR owner( I won't say what brand),and the FZ150 has almost all the features of the big boys,I was really surprise to see the histogram,the intelligent auto works great,as does eveything else.I was looking the get a second DSLR for video,but those only takes clips about 12 to 15 mins long.the FZ150 can go for as long as memory or battery last,and not to forget,a jack that works double duty,for a remote or a external mic


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

first time purchase

By mo from Undisclosed on 01/02/2012


Pros:

Convenient

Cons:

Picture Quality Not The Best, Instructions Too Complicated Difficult To Follow, Expensive, For Price Paid It Is An Okay Camera, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

bought this camera for christmas as well as vacation where a lot of natural photography is involved. Found functions not easy to understand.and use Instructions are not clear. some pictures come out grainy and out of focus and strangely, some came out black and white!! for price it needs better instructions, and these quirks addressed. I am going to call Panasonic help desk for addressing these problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy so far

By Train Nut from Colorado Springs, CO on 12/16/2011


Pros:

Threaded For Filters, View Finder, On/off Switch

Cons:

No Play-only Setting, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After the usual searches of the usual sources for info/recommendations on the usual brands, I ended up with something entirely different. Just happened across a review of the Lumix and was hooked. I haven't tried everything yet, but I mostly like what I have tried so far. The first thing I noticed on the camera was a real on/off switch, NOT a button! Love that. Then I noticed the lens was threaded for filters, just like a "real" camera. Nice thing is, it's 52mm, which is the filter size of my old 35mm camera, so I had a UV filter ready to be used. I like the view finder, I sometimes prefer to use same, and it's optically compensated. The digital display is large and clear and can be swiveled in various directions, making it easy to get those not-head-on shots. And when it's not being used, it can be flipped around so it's protected in transit. It can shoot RAW format which, while I rarely need it, is definitely nice to have for certain photos. Ditto for its 3D ability. It has all sorts of high-speed options and you can choose how long (or not at all) you want an image to display after you take the shot. I've found only a few annoyances so far. The big one is the (now standard) lack of a real manual. Hard to believe, Panasonic, but not everyone has a computer! And no computer is as handy to carry in my pocket as a manual would be. The other annoying thing is there's no play-only setting to look at your photos. In other words, you must power up the camera in record mode, have the lens extend and then press a button to switch to play mode. This extra in and out wastes battery power. Minor annoyances are interface related. The camera comes with a USB cable but it's too short to be very practical. And, while it has HDMI capability, the camera does not include a cable for same. I'll try to post a follow-up after I've used the camera for a while. I expect I'll be quite happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great camera, meets expectations

By duoduomollie from new york, ny on 07/12/2011


Pros:

Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

don't have to carry the heavy and bulky dslr but still could take dslr quality fotos!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Quite There

By Fruitcop from Blaine, WA on 03/18/2011


Pros:

Convenient, Compact

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been eagerly awaiting the new GF2, having been a user of Panasonic cameras for several years. But I may have to replace this one with one from the competition. Panasonic really missed the boat on this one, by not having on board stabilization instead of in the lens. This is especially a bad choice as it is not available on some of the more desirable lens. At the price break on this camera, it should have been included.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best camera ever

By michael from brooklyn, new york on 12/06/2010


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Inexpensive, Good, Convenient, Durable, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

good and magnificent


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved