Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » DMCLX7K » 16 Reviews

Panasonic Lumix Dmc-lx7 10.1 Megapixel Compact Camera - Black - 3" Lcd - 3.8x Optical Zoom - Optical [is] - 3648 X 2736 Image - 1920 X 1080 Video - Hdmi - Pictbridge - Hd Movie Mode (dmc-lx7k) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 16 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Compact (12), Easy To Use (7), Convenient (13), Exceeded Expectations (9), Inexpensive (4), Durable (11)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Takes better pictures than I usually do

By Anpav from Washington State on 11/26/2014


Pros:

Durable, Exceeded Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The camera is a great system and has many accessories to get that picture you want. The lack of viewfinder and the proprietary cable to hook to my PC was perturbing and a little annoying, but I knew what I was getting into when I got it. Build quality is first class, the lens is fast and clear. Navigation on the menus takes some getting used to, but that's nothing new for a new camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LUMIX DMC-LX7 - THE ONLY CAMERA YOU EVER NEED!

By Lew L from Southern Connecticut on 11/26/2014


Pros:

Reasonably Priced, Convenient, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Easy To Use

Cons:

None!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using digital cameras since they were announced. I have had many point-and-shoot models and five (5) DSLR's. A professional photographer friend of mine showed me pictures he took in Italy with the original LX7...they were outstanding! He also mentioned that there was a newer version available, but with a faster f/1.4 lens. I purchased the new version shortly after talking with him. The results were outstanding! Most of the time no flash is needed with the fast lens speed. About four weeks later, I sold my DSLR, three lens, and two flashes. The LX7 is now my only digital camera I use...and I carry it with me everywhere.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big bang for little buck!

By DnBurbank from Burbank, CA on 08/28/2014


Pros:

Great For Low Light Situations., Compact, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Durable, Convenient

Cons:

Menus Are Little Difficult

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No camera can be all things to all shooters. It's a fallacy of logic. That being said, sometimes manufacturers get closer to perfection than not with a model. Such is the case with the LX7. For the price, size, speed and resolution it's the perfect (good) storm. Yes, the filter ring is finicky and odd. Yes the flash is underhelming, blah, blah blah. On the other hand, it makes fantastic point-and-shoot photos. Focus is fast enough, light sensitivity due to a very fast lens is AWESOME.....i.e. less blur in low light. The flash, up close, is deadly accurate for just enough pop. Video looks spectacular. This camera makes the worst, least seasoned, shooter look good almost all the time becasue of it's auto modes. Example, my spouse, now, uses it to shoot all her ebay items she sells. Again, typically, in an auto mode and the results are SO MUCH BETTER than her prior attempts. BEST OF ALL, if you want to push it to it's limits, you got manual overrides out the wazoo. That is why I love this camera. I can tuck it away in a small pocket (space) and when I'm in a situation where there is no place or time for a DSLR etc. I (literally) whip this one out and get a GREAT SHOT....uasually in one of the auto modes. Think, THE BEST pocket TRAVEL CAMERA out there if you need something closer to "all things to all shooters".


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very worthy successor to the LX5

By Johns from Los Angeles on 08/17/2014


Pros:

Excellent Video, Convenient, Durable, Easy To Use, Very Sharp Focus, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I shoot mostly live music stills along with the occasional video. The compact size makes it so I can take this camera into places that disallow larger "pro" cameras. The f1.4-f2.3 lens is a leap in the right direction. I've printed spectacular 16x20 and 18x24 prints. For an eight hour festival, I shot over 2350 photos on two batteries (flash & video not allowed). I commonly get complimented on my photos pasted on facebook. Proposed next version: 20mm wide equivalent, f1.4-f2.0, 20MP, 6x zoom. Wider is most important, then keeping the aperture the same, then more megapixels then zoom. All with a very sharp focus. Other requests are an electronic remote shutter release, get rid of all ring functions (put in menus instead), a durable, self retracting lens cap and a salient, fixed, shaped flash close to the lens (even in the lens shoulder if possible - even better to have 4 smaller ones, one at each quadrant) - controlled by the menu (and a button).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lumix LX9 to include a 24-480mm lens?

By monikphoto from Wisconsin on 11/12/2013


Pros:

Compact, Convenient

Cons:

Short Zoom Range

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

More than a review, this is a request to Panasonic.... this camera has too many great functions to make it very complex, it takes time to get use to it. I have a request and it is the zoom range... add the zoom range that has been included in the Lumix ZS30..... a 24-480mm zoom lens... that way one camera will do it it all in my pocket and I won''t need to carry more than just this camera... since the image quality is amazing. coupled with a water casing and it becomes the perfect camera to carry everywhere .... lumix LX9..... Please Panasonic , let me dream of this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera, one suggestion

By Chris from Urbana, IL, USA on 10/10/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Exceptional Features, Convenient

Cons:

Lack Of Full Flash Control In Menu

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought two cameras for my wife, one for underwater, one for the surface. The big selling point for us is the fast F1.4 lens; it's dark at the bottom. One enticing discovery is the 4x slo-motion video mode. She is looking forward to videoing a pistol shrimp (a fast little guy#. Ikelite makes a housing that supports almost all the features of the camera, with one notable exception. #Really not Ikelite's fault.) To enable flash you need to pop the flash up with a mechanical switch. The problem is if you want to 1) have the camera in a housing, and 2) want to be able to choose whether to use flash, you are out of luck. In all modes, if the flash is "deployed", the choice of "no flash" is not available in the menu system. My wife wants to take some pictures with, and some without flash. To do this she has to carry 1) a diffuser to get even illumination with the housing, 2) a blocker that keeps the flash from lighting up anything in front of the camera, and 3) the blue-water filter. If she could disable the flash from the menu, she could forget the blocker, leave the flash diffuser on the housing, and only carry the filter. I found one way to disable the flash: in Scene mode if you pick Scenery, the flash is forced off. We will try it when we're diving next month. I would recommend a book: The Photographer's Guide to the Panasonic Lumix LX7 by Alexander White. That's where I found this tidbit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little camera with one fatal flaw - imo

By parma67 from NYC on 07/29/2013


Pros:

Fast Lens (bright), Offers Advanced Settings (pasm), Some Cool Effects (i.e. Panorama), Feels Solid

Cons:

No Bracketing With Self-timer, You May Need A Second Battery, Lack Of Printed Advanced User Guide, Filter Adapter Ring Too Expensive Hard To Find

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera because I wanted something light to carry around that would offer some of the flexibility of my DSRL. I haveused the LX7 for over a week now and I am quite happy with it. I have to admit that I did not try out every possible function. I love this camera because it has a very nice bright lens, it has a convenient built in ND filter and because it allows me to take pictures the way I want (PASM). Considering its cmos size, I have to say that I am impressed by the pictures it takes. It is also a great camera for beginners because of its fantastic automatic modi: they allow non adepts to take "advanced" shots. Although I am not a creative effects person, I have to admit that they are quite captivating. And the video capability, definitely a bonus! If you plan some touristy shooting or some extended trip, get a second battery. You definitely will need it! Now the one big CON for me.... Sadly I found a flaw that may put some major limits to HDR RAW shooters. BE AWARE: This camera will not allow you to shoot in bracket mode and self timer at the same time. So, if you plan to do some 'non camera internal' HDR using RAW files, you should know that this camera will not allow you to set up bracketing and delay the shooting by a few seconds in order to avoid trigger jitter (shaking caused by pressing on the shutter button). Apparently, if you use the camera's internal HDR mode, it will only produce a jpeg image. Although it has this limitation, I will keep the camera because it is a great little camera, one of the best for the money. I would suggest that you read the whole manual before you buy this camera, it is a wonderful piece of technology that has a few limitations. If you find that one of them is a deal breaker for you, better safe than sorry! Dear Panasonic, Please fix it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No underwater housing!

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 07/03/2013


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use, Convenient, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's a shame Panasonic doesn't offer an underwater housing for this excellent camera!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrific camera if you only use one

By Alfa from California on 03/01/2013


Pros:

Great Image Quality And Performance, Looks And Feels More Expensive That It Is, Compact, Durable, Convenient, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Nice To Be Able To Recharge With The Battery In

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wonderful performance, both still and video, in a camera that is easy to take everywhere. Pluses: - I wanted a camera with excellent low light performance for travel because of all the scenic shots in dark buildings or night scenes, and this camera delivers. I'm particularly impressed by the dynamic range where parts of a dark scene might have bright light sources. I virtually never use the flash except as a fill flash. - The camera also is very quick in deploying for action and in processing the shot. - Video is full HD and looks professional quality when played back on my Viera plasma. The only reasons for having a dedicated video camera at all would be if you needed a longer telephoto or longer recording times -Great quality look and feel for the price. -Beautiful images, can't imagine significantly improving on them. - Portability; Will fit in large pockets or is easy to carry on belt pouch - Raw recording format option - Control ring for quick change of aspect ratio - Preset zoom steps and return to previous zoom on power up - Lots of features I will never use (Full manual is 226 pages!) but it is good to have them in case I ever will use them. - LCD screen is usable in bright sunlight - Excellent auto modes and the manual modes are easy to get to. Cons: - Would like a recharge mode that doesn't require pulling the battery - Need to buy an aftermarket auto lens cap if you want that feature Suggestions: - I don't find the 24mm wide angle that useful. It does an amazing job of avoiding the fish eye look, but with the easy availability of image compositing software, I would rather stitch together images for a very wide shot and have a zoom range that starts at 28 or 35 mm in exchange for getting a longer telephoto at the other end. - I still like an optical viewfinder for the ability to stabilize the camera, but only if it can be added without increasing camera size. - There are operating options such as image recording mode that also apply to auto mode but the the setup screens are only accessible when the selector knob is on one of the manual modes. The setup menus should reflect all options applicable to the mode the camera is set to.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LX5 Replacement

By Bike Tourist from Central California on 02/26/2013


Pros:

Durable, Convenient, Compact, Inexpensive, Exceeded Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had an LX5 and let it get away. The new LX7 is my travel camera on my bicycle, going where no DSLR would go. The quality is excellent, good enough for microstock. I especially like the step zoom feature. I wish all the bells and whistles were NOT included just because they can be. My gratitude to Panasonic for making a full range adjustable EVF diopter! Why do these other manufacturers stop at +1? Thanks to the adjustable EVF (an accessory) I can see!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So small yet so big

By The Wrench from Santa Clara on 12/12/2012


Pros:

Plenty Of Control, Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Convenient, Durable

Cons:

Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have to say that its been many years since I have had the pleasure of shooting with a panasonic camera. My last one was an FZ10 and I forgot how much panasonic can pack into these things. Yes, there are a lot of features but if you boght this camera it was probably one of your main reasons. I have a full featured SLR and sometimes I just dont want to lug it around and I've never been happy with your standard point and shoot. Well here's a camera that will satisfy just about everyone. Don't want to use all the fetures, then put it in IA mode and let the camera do the rest. The pictures are supurb even in extremely low light. What more can you ask for. Want full control, well then go for it. Only thing I think is missing is the ability to add an external shutter release. Thanks Panasonic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent image quality with a small sensor

By Pete from Hampton, CT on 12/10/2012


Pros:

Durable, Compact, Inconspicuous In Use., Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Superior Quality Optics., Convenient, Extraordinarily Quiet Camera.

Cons:

Too Many Features. Keep It Simple..., Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using the LX 7 for around two weeks and have found it fun to use. In this timeframe, it has become my primary camera over my professional quality DSLR. For many years I've used Leica lenses for their magnificent quality in film cameras, and I'm realizing that the LX 7 brings back memories of my early days in photography, using Leica lenses. My images have taken on such great detail throughout the entire image, where as a number of other digital cameras just didn't cut it. They all lacked the realness of what a quality photo should look like. The Lumix LX 7 may just become my primary camera. I'm enjoying the size and light weight of this camera, too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awsome little camera

By Yaffstone from Vermont on 09/09/2012


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use, Durable, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera is really great for high quality snapshots. Total control over shot including shutter or apperature priority, color control, etc. Raw image capture in addition to JPG. All in your pocket!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great upgrade from a ...

By fliny00 from Queens, NY on 09/04/2012


Pros:

Compact, Durable, Easy To Use, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great upgrade from a point and shoot. This has enough manual control features to help a point and shoot user decide whether to make the move over to a full featured DSLR. Nice bright lens, Fast shutter. A joy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LX7

By Steve from New York NY on 09/01/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient, Compact, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice camera. light weight. Wish the zoom was better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice features. Pro compact

By Mars from Undisclosed on 08/31/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the aperature ring!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved