Home » Photography » Digital Cameras » DMCZS10S » 21 Reviews

Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS10 14.1 Megapixel Compact Camera - Silver - 3" Touchscreen LCD - 16x Optical Zoom - Optical (IS) - 4320 x 3240 Image - 1920 x 1080 Video - HDMI - PictBridge - HD Movie Mode Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 21 reviews)

76% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (15), Exceeded Expectations (11), Durable (6), Convenient (13), Compact (13), Inexpensive (4)

Cons:

Expensive (4), Poor Documentation (3), Did Not Meet Expectations (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Reliable camera

By Evagal from Honolulu, HI, USA on 04/17/2014


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am on my third generation of Lumix cameras. I keep upgrading for more zoom. Now I want a wi-fi camera and it's going to be another Lumix.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Poor Support

By Paul from NYC on 12/25/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Batteries Very Expensive, Poor Documentation, Poor Quality, Expensive, Did Not Meet Expectations, Lens Inoperable, Dark Spots On Pictures., Poor Support, Terrible Camera

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this camera and was happy at first. Then all of a sudden a black spot appeared in the corner of all my pictures. I learned to live with that. Some time later everytime I turn the camera on, the lens would extend all the way out and back in a few times and then display an error message about the focus. I went online to look for help, and there was ZERO. No firware to address anyones issues and no help whatsoever. All I saw in the help section was everyone basically being rediredted to purchase technical support. This was my second Lumix camera, however it will be the last.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great!

By CameraUser from Undisclosed on 07/31/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Durable, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this camera as a present, and every time i use it (often), the pics come out great and its easy to use. I would def. recommend this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

gr8 movement pics!!!

By kmalonefan from Cottonwood,CA on 02/06/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Convenient

Cons:

Heavy/off Balance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I take a lot of pictures of dogs and puppies. They obviously move quite a bit and I have been thru numerous point and shoot cameras and even the Nikon1 and this is my favorite camera!! The other cameras took very blurry pictures when ever the pups would move, I lost out on so many great puppy pictures. But the color quality was excellent and none of the pictures were blurry at all. This is my favorite camera and I love it the zoom is great and even when you are zoomed in close and the pups move my pics aren't blurry!! I would say the only con is the camera is real heavy.. The specs say just over 7lbs. so it isn't as heavy as a bag of dog food...but to me it is a pretty heavy point and shoot. Where the weight is just kind of makes the camera off balance and easy to drop, so I suggest hanging on to the camera strap!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor colours

By The Great Dane from SF, Ca on 02/02/2012


Pros:

Hd Quality Video, Compact

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had high expectations to this camera but now I wish I never bought it. Reason: All images comes out with a very strong blue coloured tint to them. Red coloured is missing desperately. The finished image looks nothing like "the real thing". the camera does not have an option that will correct this problem. I can go to a photo editing program and correct most of this, but this is not something I would want to do with every photo I take from now on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Low Light Video

By gwbarr from Birmingham, AL on 01/02/2012


Pros:

Compact, Convenient, Durable

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Unlike the ZS7, the low light video is very poor. In daylight the video is very good but in any sort of low light situation, the video is completely dark and useless. The vdeo quality was the main reason that folks loved the ZS7 but the ZS10 is a major let down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Camera Ever

By giggles from pennsylvania on 01/01/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient, Compact, Exceeded Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got the camera has a gift and I am so pleased with the camera. The features like the scene mode are my favorite among all the features. I can now pick and choose the subject that I am taking pictures of and I will get the best quality picture of them. I love the GPS feature as well. Overall this is just the best Lumix camera I have and I have 4 other Lumix cameras. I can safely say they are my all time favorite. Thanks Panasonic for giving me the best pictures to show off


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera for the Novice User

By yukonjack from Southwest on 12/28/2011


Pros:

Compact, Convenient, Inexpensive

Cons:

Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm a complete novice but have found this camera easy to use. I've had plenty of inexpensive digital cameras in the past that have found the trashcan. The 16x optical zoom on this camera is awesome. I've played around with the low light - nightime picture cababilities have have been very pleased, as long as you use it with a tripod. In decent to good light, the 1080p HD video is awesome too. While I needed to poke around a bit to find the video files, they were easily coverted so that I could burn to DVD. I took approximately an hours worth of Video on a recent CO trip (16g class 10 card), burned to DVD and looks great on my 55" TV. The lens did fog up one day but I'll cut some slack as it was -4 degrees F.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love.

By uknow from Spokane, Washington on 12/26/2011


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Compact

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ive had a lot of cameras in my life, and this one by far is THE BEST.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Low Light Video

By gwbarr from Alabama on 12/07/2011


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Low Light Performance, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this for the video function. I have a ZS7 and it is great for this with the exception of the "blue line" problem. The new sensor in the ZS10 solves that problem but it is TERRIBLE in low light. Basically, in any room light situation is is almost black and very grainy. The 1080P is great when you are in daylight. Photos also suffer somewhat from the same problem. Overall the camera is improved over the ZS7 (if they had left the sensor alone!).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another step forward

By wty from Kaneohe, HI on 12/03/2011


Pros:

Convenient, Good Value, Durable, Compact, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The ZS10 is another step forward in the "travel zoom" camera category. It is definitely a step up from previous models with several major advancements. The ZS10 is fairly easy to use for owners of previous ZS models. Newcomers to the ZS line of cameras may find themselves struggling to master its many features. I recommend they download the Advanced Users Manual from the Panasonic web site and read it. None the less, the ZS10 is an excellent camera for its intended market segment. My one gripe is the less than adequate manual included in the box. The advanced manual, which is a lot more complete, is only available as a PDF download. I want a hard copy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DMC-ZS10 is great but still has room for better

By clchen711 from Calfornia on 11/21/2011


Pros:

With Touch Screen Controls

Cons:

No Quick Option To Overwrite/disable A Behind Gps, Intelligent Auto (ia) Mode Is Not Very Useful Bcus, Reddish Skin Tone On Indoor Picture With Flash On, Battery Gauge Drops Too Quick From The 1st Nonfull, Scene Mode Icons Descriptions Are Confusing, Lack Option For Setting Focus Length Manually

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Lumix DMC-ZS10 is a great camera specially when comparing its features with other cameras in the same or even higher price range, however, even great product have room for improvement, so please take my feedbacks following positively. I will definitely purchase another Lumix camera if it comes with all features I care about.. PRO: -) many controls are easier to set/select on the touch screen than those cameras with no touch screen. CONs: 1) Lack option for setting focus length manually. 2) Reddish skin tone on indoor pictures taken under the incandescent lighting with flash ON 3) Scene Mode icons descriptions are confusing. 4) Intelligent Auto (iA) Mode is not very useful because it frequently picks the wrong Mode but no quick manual overwrite to skip it to the correct Mode 5) No quick option to overwrite/disable a behind GPS 6) Battery gauge drops too quickly from the first not-full mark to the red insufficient/too-low power CON-1) Lack option to allow setting focus length manually -- manual focus settings as few as just 0.3m, 1m, 3m, and infinite, would be enough to cover the most pictures taken, it is vital when camera has difficulty to focus automatically such as taking pictures of the Moon with 16x optical zoom, or when red focus assistant beam scares off the wild animals hidden in the dark (prefer to turn off the red focus assistant beam). or when taking pictures behind the glass or screen window that confuses the auto focus. So far the Lumix ZS10 I have still unable to take a sharp Moon picture with its optical zoom on 16X/max. CON-2) pictures showing reddish skin tone for pictures taken indoor under the incandescent lighting with camera flash ON, all people showing mad red like faces. Also, the orange color T-shirt showing the color close to the dark pink grapefruit color. Daylight outdoor pictures do show good colors. Hope the reddish color skin tone can be fixed by a camera software driver update or is it a hardware issue? CON-3) many of the Scene Mode icons descriptions are not very clear;. For examples, I have little clue about the scene modes/icons descriptions that state "Takes clear pictures of night scenes." and "Takes natural-looking pictures of food."? The mode description would be much more readable if each description contains both "What are the current environments" (such as indoor with dim incandescent lighting), and "What could be achieved when shots with this mode " (such as bringing face skin tone similar to shooting picture under the daylight). The confusing descriptions make users difficult to pick the right Scene Mode to use. For example, To shoot people sitting in the shade, it is difficulty to find which Scene Mode to use so to bring their faces & clothes with sufficient lighting, i.e., to show the right skin tone but still won't show the under sunlight background too bright. About 20 years ago, the Canon EOS 10QD camera came with an excellent bar code booklet that provided very clear descriptions for many frequent photo occasions, hope Lumix camera team doesn't mind to check it out to see how did they make their descriptions differently/effectively 20 years ago? CON-4) Intelligent Auto (iA) Mode: is not very useful because it frequently selects the wrong Mode but doesn't allow/provide a quick manual overwrite option such as a key on touch screen for user to skip Mode until it reaches the correct Mode. CON-5) No quick on-touch-screen option to overwrite/disable GPS location when GPS location detection is behind or slow. It would be better if user can temporarily disable a misleading/behind GPS location with one touch on an icon on the touch screen? CON-6) Battery gauge drops too quickly from the first non-full mark to the red insufficient/too-low battery power. It would be better, if possible, alert user by how many pictures left for the battery power when it is off from the full power sign. Again, as I mentioned above, using Lumix DMC-ZS10 camera is a very enjoyable experience even without the features I mentioned above, the camera is a good deal in its price range, better than some other less feature but more expensive brands of cameras..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb camera but needs two more features

By martyn from Berkeley CA on 11/21/2011


Pros:

Very Versatile, Convenient, Compact, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive

Cons:

Delicate ... Treat With Care

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

OK, this camera is already loaded with features. It's a superb picture taking machine and I wear it strapped to my belt almost 24/7. But there's just a couple more features that I'd like to see in the next upgrade: (1) wi-fi and cell phone connectivity. One of the optically lesser models from Panasonic already has this. Add it to the ZS10! (2) A time-lapse mode for taking pics of flowers unfolding etc. To make room for these features you could lose the touch-screen controls; they just cause me to take a lot of unintended exposures when my finger grazes the screen. The ZS series just keeps getting better and better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could have been better

By SpaceWeasel from Undisclosed on 11/16/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient, Durable, Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Noisy Images, Purple Fringing In High Contrast Bright Images

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a previous Z3 owner. The switch to CMOS from CCD could have been better. A backlit CMOS would have been a better choice. The images are too noisy. Hoping Panasonic will fix this with a firmware update. Pictures from the Z3 have less noise, and have much less purple fringing (CA). Panasonic, please fix this camera with a firmware update!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The pitchers are great ...

By missirwin from wa australia on 11/12/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Exceeded Expectations, Durable, Compact, Convenient, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The pitchers are great and gps works a treat great camara


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lumix ZS10

By daya from Los Angeles, CA on 09/06/2011


Pros:

Compact, Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

Slow Gps

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought this camera and went on trip to Scadinavia. I have not had a chance to look at my 3000 picture yet, but I noticed one thing during the trip, it takes camera a while to change the GPS location. We were travelling on a bus and for few hours the location remained same. We were going from Bergen to Oslo, and about half way it changed the location, until then it was showing Bergen. Updating the position thru GPS menu did not help. Does somebody have any idea to improve this?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beware replacement batteries

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 08/15/2011


Cons:

Accesory Issues

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Be aware that replacement batteries purchased from reputable suppliers of brand name products (just not Lumix brand name) may not work in this camera. I am told (and it appears to be the case) that the original Lumix battery has a chip in it which is required for the camera to work. Replacement batteries without that chip will not function despite efforts to reset the settings as instructed. You will be left with having to purchase "original" panasonic batteries which are many times more expensive than other options on the market. This is more than being "nickeled and dimed."


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SWEET!

By coodru from morgan hill, california on 08/10/2011


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WOW! I took this camera to an A's baseball game and was surprised with the ease of use and the pictures it captured! In fact, I was surprised when I observed the picture I took of the wind up and the delivery, to capture the ball suspended in space in front of the batter. Nice camera but would advise when using it, to place strap on wrist to keep from dropping it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LUMIX ZS-10

By Marty from California on 08/08/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Having a hard time getting the setup, GPS, will not give me videos for when I want to take video of my Daughters Wedding in September (mid). need help Thanks for your help


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DMC-ZS10

By dovefeathers from Undisclosed on 07/04/2011


Pros:

Excellent Color, Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Sharp Photos, Compact, Durable

Cons:

Needs View Finder

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

beautiful photos & features except only one draw back when trying to set up a photo shoot outdoors it is hard to see the composition through the screen in bright sunlight. It needs a view finder. For me, adding this feature is what would make this camera the perfect pocket camera.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome First!!

By gkecorp from Orange Park,FL on 04/17/2011


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera for the fast burst and HD movie. It is incredible. It's Auto mode is the best i have scene and detects everything I throw at it. The scene mode is great also except for night shots,BUT, if you use it as a sports mode for night shots...WOW, the fast shutter captures everything. I also love the slow motion video capabilities.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved