Home » DMPBD30AK » 115 Reviews

Panasonic Dmp-bd30pp-k 1080p Blu-ray Disc Player (panasonic Dmpbd30ppk) (panasonic Dmpbd30ak) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 115 reviews)

16% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

No Streaming (3), No Netflix Streaming (3), No Netflix (4), Does Not Stream Netflix (3), Everything (3)

Pros:

Great Picture (7), None (8)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

BDP-S560

By Schwaby from Salt Lake on 07/19/2011


Pros:

Plays Disc Movies Well

Cons:

No Streaming

I was told by the sony sales rep at this website that this player CAN play netflix and pandora streaming. It cannot and is one of their most expensive players. I called and was told my set up is wrong or my password but in fact it just can not do it. I just paid a service tech to come out and look at it only to find out now that it is not capable. Poor sales, poor service and why bother with this player? I am very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BDP-S560

By Schwaby from Salt Lake on 07/19/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was told by the sony sales rep at this website that this player CAN play netflix and pandora streaming. It cannot and is one of their most expensive players. I called and was told my set up is wrong or my password but in fact it just can not do it. I just paid a service tech to come out and look at it only to find out now that it is not capable. Poor sales, poor service and why bother with this player? I am very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blu-ray no more :(

By marshallt from Charlotte, NC on 03/19/2011


Pros:

Design, Style, Synchronization With Other Sony Products, Wifi

Cons:

Blu-ray Capability Is Gone

I really liked the player and I've had it for 15 months now, but 2 weeks ago the player just all of a sudden won't recognize or play any blu-ray DVD. It only plays DVDs now, which is nice that it's not completely broken, but I didn't buy it to play DVDs. I'll still use it for the DVDs we've got and I still like the look and the way it is synchronized with the Sony TV we have, but we'll have to look into buying another Blu-ray player now and I don't know if I'd get another Sony at this point.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blu-ray no more :(

By marshallt from Charlotte, NC on 03/19/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I really liked the player and I've had it for 15 months now, but 2 weeks ago the player just all of a sudden won't recognize or play any blu-ray DVD. It only plays DVDs now, which is nice that it's not completely broken, but I didn't buy it to play DVDs. I'll still use it for the DVDs we've got and I still like the look and the way it is synchronized with the Sony TV we have, but we'll have to look into buying another Blu-ray player now and I don't know if I'd get another Sony at this point.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Purchased this Blueray ...

By Cousie from Wisconsin on 01/06/2011


Cons:

Not Happy With My Blueray

Purchased this Blueray bdps560 to stream online videos...but now learn that this particular model is not compatible to stream the online videos. That is why I bought this wifi bluray...want to send it back but now I learn that it's past my 30 day return...I will never do business again with Sony.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked 1 day and broke!

By cavemeister from madison, wi on 12/28/2010


Pros:

Nice For 1 Day...

Cons:

C'mon It Broke After 1 Day;

Hooked it up and watched a great movie. Next morning, it will not turn on although I hear something inside the machine trying to get going; has a wining sound. Worst part is its a rental dvd and I can't get it open! Fees add up! What should I do?! This is rather pathetic of a once great company.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked 1 day and broke!

By cavemeister from madison, wi on 12/28/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Hooked it up and watched a great movie. Next morning, it will not turn on although I hear something inside the machine trying to get going; has a wining sound. Worst part is its a rental dvd and I can't get it open! Fees add up! What should I do?! This is rather pathetic of a once great company.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BD review

By Duke from New York, NY on 12/21/2010


Pros:

Great Picture

Cons:

Software Updates Are A Bomb

I wouldn't recommend this heap of garbage to anyone. Already sent it twice to the repair shop 1,400 miles away. Customer service has been horrendous as well. Sony does not make quality products anymore


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DOA

By techiguy from Undisclosed on 12/14/2010


Pros:

None

Cons:

Defective Unit

HDMI will not output any picture or audio


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blue Ray Player

By Godfather from S C on 12/04/2010


Pros:

So Far So Good, All Pros---no---cons

Cons:

None

seems to be good only viewed one moview so far


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Piece of Junk

By RockPop from San Diego on 11/25/2010


Pros:

None

Cons:

2 For 2 Dead On Arrival

I think Sony must assume that there customers who return items under warranty simply don't understand how to operate the product. It can't be that the product is defective, so just ship it out to some other sucker and let him try it. It the same item comes back two or three times, then it might actually be defective. I am convinced that is the philosophy of Sony's refurbishing center.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BDP-S360 BLUE RAY

By johnince from Sunriver, Oregon on 10/19/2010


Pros:

Great Introduction To Blue Ray

Cons:

No Extra Features Like Connecting To Netflix, And Pandora

The player works flawlessly, the images are amazing to a first time BlueRay homebody. Makes now rethink old movies where the quality of production was hign and the playback was not; ie: VHS and standard DVD. Think of 70 mm original camera work reproduced and shown on 8mm and played back on a 1950's movie projector, then and now with Blue Ray, it is like seeing it for the first time. I can't wait for some old classics like Lawence of Arabia to be released on Blue Ray, where the quality of filming was only appreciated in the theater in the day it was released. This player is more than adequate to translate the abundant information found in the 25 gigs stored on a Blue Ray disc. I just bought another one of these for a friend, to share the joy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great find!

By Earlene from Sacramento, CA on 09/29/2010


Pros:

Everything

Cons:

Nothing

Thank You very much for the quick and speedy purchase and delivery on my BluRay player. My fiance' could not be happier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great find!

By Earlene from Sacramento, CA on 09/29/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Thank You very much for the quick and speedy purchase and delivery on my BluRay player. My fiance' could not be happier. Thank you again


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very dissapointed

By blurayguy from Chicago on 08/14/2010

I bought this so I could have a universal replacement for my Sony DVD player that failed. I liked the fact that WiFi was built in. I expected that I would be able to network stream video. The only thing I can do is play pictures from my PC. I can't even use the enhanced BD network features because there is no memory. I could have purchased a USB drive if I had known, but it really doesn't matter. It's going back to the store. I upgraded the firmware, hoping that Sony may have added this no-brainer funcationality. The manual said it had to be connected to the wired Ethernet port to do a network download, but it worked over the wireless. A sign of unreliable documentation. What a $220 dissapointment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BDP-S560 is a lie

By veryunhappy from New Iberia, La on 05/23/2010

This player is sold under a false pre-tense that can hook up to netflix. well its all a lie. that was the main reason i bought this player. it really doesnt play any better the the cheaper ones


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good quality video but ...

By islamoradamoon from titusville, fl on 02/28/2010

Good quality video but very disappointed that Sony would design this player with wireless internet connection but without the capability of getting movies from any provider. Bad planning and leaves a bad taste....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WiFi without Netflix! Why buy?

By Radio from New Jersey on 02/12/2010

Purchased this player right before Christmas. When I purchased it I had read that Sony would be adding Netflix capability to some of their BluRay players. It only made sense that if the S460 did Netflix they would certainly update the firmware on the S560 to add this capability. Even my son's PS3 can download from Netflix now. It doesn't make sense. I felt like I had been taken for a ride by Sony. So at the beginning of February when I was looking for a 46" LCD TV I didn't even look at the Sony. I voted with my dollars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Streaming

By FireDamper from Newnan, GA on 02/06/2010


Pros:

Wireless

Cons:

No Streaming

I didn't check close enough. The cheaper no WiFi has streamiing. This one doesn't. They where right next to each other in the store. Shame on me. Wireless is cool for program updates, but no streaming!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Without Netflix Streaming This Player is Worthless

By MrE9 from Texas on 02/06/2010

Without Netflix Streaming This Player is Worthless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wireless - but no Netflix / Pandora - only BD LIVE

By txjoey from Birmingham, AL on 02/04/2010

I made this purchase intended to be an upgrade to my older Sony Blu-ray. I am afraid it is going back to be replaced by a Samsung Wireless Blu-ray with internet content. My mistake to assume that the wireless access would have included internet content. It does not make sense to me that the Ethernet wired Sony N460 Blu-ray network player would have internet content, but not to have it included on the wireless unit. Can't wait to take it back and get the Samsung unit with wireless internet content. Maybe by next year Sony will get on board. By the way, other than the lack of internet content, the unit is tremendous! Great picture, easy connection to my secured wireless network, easy update via wireless, easy access to pictures in computers on the network. It would be "excellent" if upgraded to internet content. I hope this helps!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

don't buy...no streaming

By tonyd from Undisclosed on 02/03/2010

needs a fix. 450 is cheaper and has every thing and streaming. the 3 star rating is also wrong. there is only one 3 star entry.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No NetFlix

By JoeColt from Brooklyn. New York on 02/01/2010


Pros:

Great For Movies

Cons:

No Streaming Netflix

Very disapointed the lower 460 streams but not this one. It would be nice if Sony came up with a fix for the 560. it seems I'm not the only one unhappy about this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wi-Fi player with no streaming???????

By LibertyMark from Undisclosed on 02/01/2010


Pros:

Overall Good Design

Cons:

No Netflix Streaming

So, the wireless player (the S560) does no streaming, while the wired player (the S460) does. That is incomprehensible to me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No NetFlix

By JoeColt from Brooklyn. New York on 02/01/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very disapointed the lower 460 streams but not this one. It would be nice if Sony came up with a fix for the 560. it seems I'm not the only one unhappy about this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Random audio loss- unit "flaky" at best :-(

By lxtac from Middle GA on 01/31/2010


Pros:

Built In Wifi (even Thouh It Doesn't Have A Good Use For It).

Cons:

Have To Stop The Disk And Restart To Fix It (did Microsoft Help Build This Software??), Audio Cuts Out From Time To Time

I bought this unit over the S360 because the wifi and I was sure there would be an update to make use of that for things like Netflix or something. Turns out Sony has decided that isn't going to happen I guess. But the BIG problem is the audio cut off from time to time which I explained in the cons. ALSO sometimes the unit will freeze up and I will have to unplug it from the wall in order to "reboot" it to even get the disk out!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This Blue Ray is a rip OFF

By Carman from Milwaukee WI on 01/28/2010


Pros:

Good Picture

Cons:

Does Not Stream Movies From Netflix

I purchased this higher price model S560 only to find out that the cheaper N460 downloads Netflix movies but the more expensive S560 does not. Sony should come up with a fix at no charge if they want to keep their customers


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best player without vision

By friendly22 from MN on 01/27/2010


Pros:

Excellent Player

Cons:

No Netfilx And Internet Streaming...

Wish truely that Sony would have done a review of what they produce, excellent player without netflix etc streaming...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sony..get in tune with the rest of the world

By TheLayabout from London, Ontario on 01/26/2010


Pros:

Great Bd Player

Cons:

No Streaming Media From Pc

This is a great unit for playing BD movies but can't believe it does not have the technological capability to stream from my pc. Really bad choice on my part and will be returning unit. What good is wifi if you can't use it other than to blog while your watching a movie.....yeah right.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sony..get in tune with the rest of the world

By TheLayabout from London, Ontario on 01/26/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a great unit for playing BD movies but can't believe it does not have the technological capability to stream from my pc. Really bad choice on my part and will be returning unit. What good is wifi if you can't use it other than to blog while your watching a movie.....yeah right.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too expensive a Blu-ray player

By JMMGarza from Southern California on 01/25/2010


Pros:

Simple Set Up

Cons:

No Youtube Or Netflix

Spent too much for too little in 2009. Talk about buyer's remorse. Wish I could get Netflix and Pandora on this unit, but no way-Jose. Sony won't update firmware to make me happy. This will be the last blu-ray I buy from Sony.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Where oh Where is my Pandora?

By TheMadRatter from Bonita Springs, Florida on 01/25/2010


Pros:

Nicely Upgrades Dvd's

Cons:

Wastes The Internet Capability

Despite what I was led to believe by a salesman , this unit can not receive Movies, or even Pandora over the internet. When, if ever, will Sony give us a Firmware update for this unit? I should have read the Reviews!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No netflix

By elephantfoot from northern lower Michigan on 01/25/2010


Pros:

Solid Simple

Cons:

No Netflix

the sales person thought I would be able to get netflix.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO STREAMING!

By Code from Oklahoma City, OK on 01/24/2010


Pros:

Good Looking Video

Cons:

Huge Con!!!! No Streaming

My wife bought this player for me after being told by a sales person that it could stream from Netflix. She asked specifically for a Blu-Ray player that could work with Netflix online! It took me 3 days to determine just what it could do, NOTHING!!!! Very Upset...Wasted $$$$$$$$


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lacking Features

By ScottBlogs from Cumberland BC on 01/24/2010


Pros:

Great Video Quality

Cons:

No Mp3 Playback Via Usb, No Video Streaming

Are you serious? I can't play MP3's via the USB port and a flash drive?? really?? Even my old super cheap DVD player allowed this functionality!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lacking Features

By ScottBlogs from Cumberland BC on 01/24/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Are you serious? I can't play MP3's via the USB port and a flash drive?? really?? Even my old super cheap DVD player allowed this functionality!!! I wish it had the video streaming also... shoudl also allow for audio streaming!!! It has wifi, but what good is it? Wish I had bought the $149 model, or even a Samsung - waste of money getting this upper model. Dont buy it. For just blu-ray, the picture and sound are awesome, but I am sure you would get that with any other player these days - not insentive to buy this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great bd player, skimped on the expected extras

By steensn from carpinteria, ca on 01/23/2010


Pros:

Great Upscaling, Wifi Easy To Use, Bravio Works Great

Cons:

No Streaming... What?!

As a bd player it works great. Would be five stars if it had wht should be standard features on the high end players like streaming. Seriously, sony, do the right thing and update the firmware. The hardware is more than capable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WTH? Spend More Money on Better Model - Get Less !

By CustomerSony from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 01/22/2010


Pros:

Given The Con - No Pros

Cons:

No Netflix Streaming

What the H*LL ! ! Talk about being disappointed . . .I finally upgrade to a Blue-Ray DVD Player from Sony - only to learn that the newest "Best" model is the "Worst" model they have to offer, especially when it comes to streaming movies from Netflix. More importantly, it seems - even with all the negetive feedback concerning this issue - that Sony and/or Netflix refuse to do anything about this situation or even upgrade the firmware for this model to correct the lack of this feature for those of us that have purchased the BDP-S560 - specifically so that they can use the WiFi feture to stream movies from Netflix . . . And they call this Customer Service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do Not Buy Until Streaming Enabled on Firmware!

By MCMC from Undisclosed on 01/22/2010


Pros:

Someday May Be Worthwhile Once Streaming Is Enabled.

Cons:

Does Not Stream Netflix, Although Has Wifi To Connect You To Internet

Bought to stream Netflix videos, as was told at store. Has WiFi which should easily allow this. Do not buy this unit unless you have heard that it has gotten Netflix and other streaming working! A similar unit from Samsung (#3600) works great and streams Netflix out of box, including wireless. Buy that until Sony gets streaming working on this. If you have just purchased this Sony unit and are reading this to figure out how to get Netflix streaming to work - return your unit ASAP, and get Samsung unit until Sony gets streaming working!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

UPSET!!!

By SCREWED from Michigan on 01/21/2010


Pros:

Great Blu Ray And Dvd Player, Etc

Cons:

No Netflix!!!! That's Why I Bought It!

I was fooled in to believing that this player, for all of it's pluses, streamed Netflix. It doesn't and I am upset to say the least. The retailer goofed or I did, but I doubt it was me since I was shopping SPECIFICALLY for Netflix streamers! Hopefully I can exchange it for a proper player. If, not I can stream from my PC. But I am upset


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

S560 vs. N460

By MichaelC from Chicago on 01/19/2010


Pros:

Beautiful Output

Cons:

No Video Streaming

Let me see if I have this straight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Won't Get Fooled Again...

By Upstate from Saratoga Springs, NY on 01/19/2010


Pros:

Excellent Blu-ray And Up-convert Performance

Cons:

Or Pandora..., Wi-fi Feature Is Virtually Usless. No Media Streaming Of Netflix, Slacker

Who would have thought, you purchase the top of the line Sony Blu-ray player, and the model below it has more features. Unreal! And, having purchase the player from NewEgg.com, I would have to pay return shipping plus a 15% re-stocking fee. So I'm stuck with a Wi-Fi equipped player, that is useless for what I thought I was getting. My fault, totally. If Sony doesn't issue an add-on piece, or a firmware update, to allow media streaming, I'm probably done with Sony products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too late for refund...

By Marshal from St. Louis on 01/18/2010


Pros:

Incredible Display Of Movies

Cons:

Not Netflix Capable

Very disappointing to learn that it was not Netflix capable. Please Sony, do the right thing and upgrade.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO NETFLIX STEAMING SONY NEEDS TO MAKE THIS RIGHT

By Baseball65 from El Dorado Hills, Ca. on 01/17/2010


Pros:

It Has Wi-fi

Cons:

No Viedo Steaming And Pay Alot Of Money

The SALES Person at BestBuys said this BD Player was capable of Netflix Steaming,come to find out the LOWER Price Model has Netflix capables.I have been a Sony fan for Years,SONY YOU NEED TO MAKE THIS RIGHT FOR YOUR LOYAL CUSTOMERS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why bother?

By GMS46 from Tucson on 01/16/2010


Pros:

Decent Blu Ray Player

Cons:

No Netflix Same Cost As A Ps3 But With Less Featuers.

This is decent unit, i bought if for my mom, it has the same general features as my PS3 except not playing games. While the PS3 allows for NetFlix streaming (with the disc) this unit DOES NOT and it cost the same, so why would you bother with us? Same cost, less features eauals BAD. Sony get grip on your product eco-system!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What was Sony thinking? Fire marketing!

By capezio49er from Charlotte, NC on 01/16/2010


Pros:

Wi-fi, Fast Load Times, 1 Gb Memory Included

Cons:

What To Do With That Wifi? No Useful Streaming Content (i.e. Netflix) Like The N460 Has

This or the N460 would have been the player that got added to my tv, but it appears some executive decision to "differentiate" Sony's products, left me no choice but pick up the competitor's BD-P3600 instead. This one had everything that the BD-P3600 had, but without any of the streaming content (BlockBuster, NetFlix, YouTube, etc), rendering the WiFi useless except for BD-Live and the ommission of Divx. The N460 has the streaming content covered, but missed Divx and the 1 GB memory and WiFi built-in... very disappointing Sony! I was hopeful and went to look and see if the 560 has a firmware update to enable streaming content via the Bravia Internet Streaming system... but it was not there and I have not seen any rumors suggesting Sony is planning to provide that.... so I bought a competitors product that covered the bases for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Make it right Sony

By Happycamper from Wilmot,Wi. on 01/14/2010


Pros:

Great Picture And Easy Set-up

Cons:

No Streaming Of Netflix

I hope Sony will make this right and update the firmware so you can get streaming movies, without that it's just your average player, I would not recommend this product until it can stream.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Streaming

By STimike from ATL on 01/14/2010


Pros:

Looks Cool

Cons:

No Netflix Or Youtube

Boo, Sony has never let me down untill now. The sales rep told me I would be able to set up my netflix acct but he was wrong. Bult in wifi sounds good but in this case it is useless


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Make it right Sony

By Happycamper from Wilmot,Wi. on 01/14/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I hope Sony will make this right and update the firmware so you can get streaming movies, without that it's just your average player, I would not recommend this product until it can stream. Sony read the 10 pages of reviews and do the right thing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What's wrong with SONY ???????

By Alien from New York, NY on 01/12/2010


Pros:

Good Picture And Wi-fi

Cons:

No Streaming So Why Bother For Wi-fi

I don't understand SONY concepts. This 560 Bd player has WI-FI built in but no streaming and there is another SONY BD player model the support Netflix streaming but no WI-Fi.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Streaming Video even with built--in WiFi

By geerj from Pleasanton, CA on 01/09/2010


Pros:

Great Picture, Easy Setup, Wifi

Cons:

No Streaming Internet Connectivity

Was mislead by Sony and store salesman re: WiFi and streaming Netflix, Yahoo movies. Paid a premium to get a more complete system than the N460 unit. Screwed again by Sony. Why would you manufacture this unit without it doing more than the cheaper N460? I've bought my last Sony product. No more cameras, playstations,radios, TV's nothing. RIP


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Premium price for a useless built in wifi

By Nostreaminginsd from CA on 01/07/2010


Pros:

Works Ok As Standard Bd Player

Cons:

Useless Wifi Function, Poor Customer Service

Like most reviews I read, I was misled by the built in wifi hype on this unit. I inquired about this on the Sony website but got zero response. I should have read the posts on this item before buying it. I could have gotten a standard BD player without paying for the wifi function that just burns energy. Very disappointed with Sony.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sony, give us Netflix on this player

By gor88 from Brandon, MS on 01/06/2010


Pros:

Intuitive Menus, Outstanding Picture Quality

Cons:

Youtube, Etc., Does Not Stream Netflix

Overall, this is a good player. However, why SONY, do you make a player with WiFi that can't stream? Every player higher than the S360 should be able to stream. This is a big disappointment to a long time Sony fan.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Why the WiFi if it doesn't support streaming video

By shadow from Undisclosed on 01/05/2010


Pros:

Easy Set Up, Sinc With Bravia Tv

Cons:

No Streaming Video

Purchased 3 days ago. Was told by salesman the wireless WiFi would support Netflix Streaming Video, Now I find it doesn't. Thinking of exchanging it for another brand with streaming video.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DON"T WASTE YOU MONEY OR TIME!!!!

By NoMoreSony from Undisclosed on 01/05/2010


Pros:

None

Cons:

Everything

Got it in August 2009. Have been able to watch 2 movies. Sent in for repairs twice, same thing each time. Getting nowhere with service/support. Did not seem to care. I guess I just have to take a $300 loss with this one. I will never buy SONY again. Went and bought a Samsung, half the price - very satisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO DLNA Movie & Music streaming

By Ayan from Sydney on 01/03/2010


Pros:

Easy To Setup

Cons:

Can Only Display Photos From Your Network. No Streaming Option1

I was very excited to buy the 560 wifi BD and thought this would be a perfect solution to network all DLNA media content (Photos, music, movies) On my Networked Hardisk storage and PCs and bring it to my living room Sony Bravia X...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO STREAMING,UNUSEFULL INTERNET CAPABILITY!!!

By Leboneo75 from New York, NY on 01/03/2010


Pros:

Excelent Picture Quality And Great Sound.

Cons:

No Streaming, Bd Live Is Not Updated.

I do not understand why a top of the line bluray player like this does not stream movies(netflix-youtube-amazon).What is the Wi-Fi for?only for update??it`s ridiculous.BD live is unusefull and never is updated!!!SONY you have to pay attention to your customers.We are the one who buy your products!!!you are now a step back of new bluray players like SAMSUNG or LG again!!!please be serious and update this BDP at once.and i would like someone who answer this review.Be respectfull and do something.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO DLNA Movie & Music streaming

By Ayan from Sydney on 01/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was very excited to buy the 560 wifi BD and thought this would be a perfect solution to network all DLNA media content (Photos, music, movies) On my Networked Hardisk storage and PCs and bring it to my living room Sony Bravia X... But this excitement was short lived and turned into disappointment as found it can only show photos. Could not believe this ! I am a sony fan and buy it blindly (till now) and Sony does this to me ? Tried updating the firm ware and nothing..the option is not available and Sony is way behind competetion on this front. Didnt want to have a PS3 in the living room and guess Samsung would have been a better choice this time. I am hoping Sony will release an updated firmware to get the BD to stream content..till then I will be very upset having spent my money on a half baked BD player. Hopefully if Sony heeds to its customers and makes an updated firmware for DLNa music/movie streaming - I will give it a 5 then.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs Streaming Video

By Harley09 from Manito,IL on 01/02/2010


Pros:

Everthing It Has To Offer

Cons:

Needs Streaming Video

I bought this because I saw in 1 store where it did streaming video, then I asked in another, and was told it did. I ordered it on line, due to the savings, got it then found out it didn't. I would have returned it but it was to late the garbage had gone already. I would have given it all 5 stars if it did do streaming video. It is an excellent unit would be outstanding if it did this one thing. Come on Sony read your reviews and see about fixing this problem. The wireless works great and was easy to connect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs firmware upgrade to allow streaming

By SonyReviewer from GFK, ND on 12/31/2009


Pros:

Could Be Better With Firmware Update To Allow Streaming.

Cons:

No Netlix. Needs Firmware Update So One Can Connect To Netflix.

Though S560 BDP has wireless capabilities, this player does not connect to Netflix. This was the worst design decision that SONY has ever made. Of course, if one bought the older and cheaper S460 BDP, one would be able to do exactly that. Therefore, if you paid Sony more by buying the S560, what does SONY do? Punish you by taking away the streaming capability! Come on SONY, own up to your poor decision on this model and issue a firmware update ASAP. This fix is possible and your consumers deserve it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome blue ray

By movielover76 from orlando, fl on 12/31/2009


Pros:

Everything

Cons:

Nothing So Far

great blue ray dvd plays all my regular dvds and blue rays awesome sound and picture easy setup took a little time to set up the wireless conection but its worth it. dont let other reviews turn you away from this blue ray dvd just because you cant get netflicks steeming into it who cares thats why its a dvd player so you can watch movies if you want streeming video buy a tv with it built in other than that its worth the money hope this helped everybody like other reviews helped me


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME PLAYER! BEST ON THE MARKET! WIFI IS GREAT!

By mattliptak from Boston, MA on 12/31/2009


Pros:

Crystal Clear Image And Audio And Wifi Make This The Best On The Market

Cons:

No Netflix

I previously owned the S550 model of this player and loved it but I didn't love having no Wifi and hated fumbling with the Linksys bridge box everytime it came to an update or BD Live.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Make one mid-level unit with what people want!

By NextelWeildingDelegator from SC on 12/31/2009


Pros:

Great Picture On Dvd And Blu-ray, Came Free With Tv

Cons:

No Lan Video Or Audio Streaming (just Pics, Why?), No Web Streaming!

The marketing of Sony's Blu-Ray players is confusing to say the least. Using the product comparison function on this site, it becomes apparent that to get a good feature set you would need to combine the streaming functionality of the NDP-460 with the built-in WiFi of the BDP-S560. Buy a separate router for the NDP-460 to get WiFi... seriously? Get a clue Sony, and stop locking out functionality like this. Even my game system has better web and LAN streaming functionality than this unit, so it has to take over HD streaming duties for the BDP-S560 to get the job done. A firmware upgrade that fixes this is not only possible, but necessary. If Sony did this, it would reflect very well on them as a company. If not, a softmod will surface soon enough to unlock the features in this unit that should have been there in the first place...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent but no streaming!

By MMMMMM from PA on 12/30/2009


Pros:

Excellent Picture And Sound

Cons:

No Streaming Video Services

This is an excellent player but why doesn't Sony release an update to allow streaming video services such as Netflix? Thats what this player is missing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BDP-S560 vs. BDP-S460

By KenL from North Carolina on 12/30/2009


Pros:

Plays Blu-ray Discs Perfectly Well

Cons:

No Streaming Capability

I can't believe I paid MORE money for a S560 in order to get LESS features than a S460. The reason I bought a higher end player was more available features and "TO GET STREAMING CAPABILITY!" Very disappointing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BDP-S560 Falls Short

By Steve100 from Mclean VA on 12/29/2009


Pros:

Plays Blu Ray Disks

Cons:

Wi-fi Effectively Useless

The Sony BDP-S560 plays Blu-Ray disks and includes 802.11N Wi-Fi, however Wi-Fi on this device is limited principally to BD-Live features (yawn) and accessing photos on other DLNA-enabled devices.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Where is the NetFlix

By FBoyzsre from NY on 12/29/2009


Pros:

Compact Design

Cons:

No Netflix

I dont get it, the wifi component is easy to set up, but for what purpose. I would look to buy another model with a netflix option... I recieved this as a gift and would return it if I could b/c it lacks the netflix...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BDP-S560 Review

By SLUF1354 from Mohnton, PA on 12/28/2009


Pros:

Excellent Unit.

Cons:

Nothing Yet.

This unit came as close to plug-and-play as you're ever likely to see in conjunction with other Sony equipment. Easy set up and wifi conection as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid quality player with easy to connect wi-fi

By GreenSpider from Pacific Grove California on 12/28/2009


Pros:

Good Looking, Easy To Set And Use. Great Picture And Lots Of Options For Even The Pickiest Of People.

Cons:

None

It took me about 45 minutes to set up my blue ray player and connect it to my home wireless internet. I read alot of reviews that said the people could not connect the BDP-S560 to there home wireless. THIS IS COMPLETELY UNTRUE. This player connects quite easily to your home wirelss and is not hard to do if you actually follow the set up intructions. As far as picture quality, well that will be different for everyone depending on your home set up. I run my player through a Sony STR-DG720 reciever,all HDMI hookups, and my tv is a 47 inch,120hz vizio lcd. These blue rays look amazing and the load times are fast and it has a easy to use dvd menu. Plus this player will play all your old dvds,burned dvds and music. It has a usb connection on the front to load pictures and movies. I really cant say anything negative about this player. Dont litsen to the people who said its not WI-FI. It is WI-FI and super easy to set up. Hope my review helps.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Netflix would make it champion instead of also-ran

By bsloss from Olympia, WA on 12/27/2009


Pros:

Works Very Well With My Bravia Tv. Warms Up And Goes Quickly., Quick Set-up

Cons:

No Netflix!

This almost jumped out of the box and set itself up. I was told by multiple employees from multiple retailers that with the WiFi Netflix should be no problem. Not the case. Sony, please release some firmware that lets this player stream Netflix, etc! Overall rating would be a 4 or 5 with some streaming capability.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bought this blu-ra player ...

By elcampotexas from el campo,texas on 12/27/2009


Pros:

Wifi---easy Set Up

Cons:

Does Not Stream Netflix

bought this blu-ra player after researching serval blu-ray players...love ths bluray player,excellant picture and sound quality,easy set up...only thing tha bothered me was the fact that i paid almost has much as a ps3 system and this bluray player does not stream netflix----like the lower priced units do---hopfully since this unti is still new i am hoping there will be a firmware update to fix this issues...if this unti would reconize other sony products--like my ps3,psp, laptops, home pc's, and be able to stream content form them...then this would make for the best blu-ray player on the ,market for the price


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Be Careful before you buy this product

By Rick12345 from North Carolina on 12/27/2009


Pros:

Plays Blu-ray Disks

Cons:

Wireless Internet For Firmware Updates Only

Took back the Samsung BD player because wireless dongles were not included and not immediately available. Bought this one since wireless internet was included and thinking it would have Pandora, Netflix etc access. Why would you pay a pemium price for very limited benefit of updating the firmware program? Very disappointed. Sony technology is not keeping up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Player crippled due to lack of features

By PeeKay007 from Undisclosed on 12/27/2009


Pros:

Great Player For Bluray

Cons:

Wi-fi Rendered Useless Due To Lack Of Support For Many Features

The player is very good for Blu-Ray playback. The wi-fi feature is the highlight that Sony uses to charge $300 for this player but is seriously crippled due to 1: No support for netflix, youtube streaming which is availble in cheaper players from Sony 2: DLNA support only for pictures. Why not music as well if not video. I did get the player free in the recent promotion when I bought the TV but i wish I should have waited and got the PS3 bundled free rather than this crippled player. For the same price I could have gotten a versatile gaming/blu-ray/online streaming machine in the form of PS3. Hope Sony cares and heeds the advice of their customers and releases a firmware addressing these shortcomings. At least the customers will get their money's worth.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Streaming Video...not on the S560!

By JavaMan from Connecticut on 12/27/2009


Pros:

Great Integration With My Bravia Tv

Cons:

No Streamping Video

Had I known the integrated wieless would have cost me streaming video capability I would have bought a different product. Sony, I hope there is a firmware update in your future, you have done your customers a disservice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Netflix, no value

By TomP from Chicago, IL on 12/27/2009

Extremely poor value for the money. Competing products provide Netflix streaming and Wifi. Updated firmware, spoke to support... no plans to update this player to stream Netflix. Sony's streaming site is very poor. Returning product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Player crippled due to lack of features

By PeeKay007 from Undisclosed on 12/27/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The player is very good for Blu-Ray playback. The wi-fi feature is the highlight that Sony uses to charge $300 for this player but is seriously crippled due to 1: No support for netflix, youtube streaming which is availble in cheaper players from Sony 2: DLNA support only for pictures. Why not music as well if not video. I did get the player free in the recent promotion when I bought the TV but i wish I should have waited and got the PS3 bundled free rather than this crippled player. For the same price I could have gotten a versatile gaming/blu-ray/online streaming machine in the form of PS3. Hope Sony cares and heeds the advice of their customers and releases a firmware addressing these shortcomings. At least the customers will get their money's worth.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Need Netflix and Internet Streaming

By John78 from Undisclosed on 12/26/2009


Pros:

Ease Of Opperation, Picture Quality

Cons:

Does Not Allow For Netflix Streaming

Please release a firmware update allowing for Netflix streaming. The models below this player offer this feature. As this is considered a top of the line player, it should include this feature as Wi-Fi access is useless if you do not plan on using the internet beyond Blu-Ray Live. Very good player, but cosidering returning for a Samsung that will allow me to access Netflix.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO Streaming - BD Live only

By huskiect from Virginia on 12/26/2009

I cannot beleive a WI-FI enable BD player has it so you can only use for special features on BD-Live DVDs. This seems pretty lame. I would like to connect to the internet and stream information. Update your firmware please.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Top of the line?? No

By MNBOUND from MN on 12/26/2009

Why would Sony create this model (560) without a way to download from Netflix when a lower model (460) has that option? Their BD-Live is a waste - no good content. Hopefully Sony will get the hint from all of these reviews and do a Firmware update to add the Netflix option.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very unhappy with this ...

By Netflixuser from Michigan on 12/26/2009

Very unhappy with this player. Bought the more expensive Sony player and can't even access Netflix like it's cheaper cousin.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO INTERNET STREAMING...ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

By Ratliff from Houston, TX on 12/25/2009


Pros:

Great Unit. Works Well. Nice Lines. Plays Great. No Problems.

Cons:

Streaming! No Netflix Streaming!

Seriously? This high-end unit won't stream netflix or internet media? ARE YOU KIDDING ME? It's a HORRIBLE VALUE for that very reason. Otherwise, the machine is great but we're a decade into the 21st century. COME ON SONY GET WITH THE PROGRAM! It's unfortunate that I made a BIG MISTAKE buying this unit thinking it was top of the line when in fact, it's mediocre and out of date.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Blu-ray

By ScottL from Atlanta, GA on 12/23/2009


Pros:

Awesome Picture, Cost, Performance

Cons:

None So Far

This blu-ray is an excellent value. The built in WiFi was easy to connect to my secure wireless set up. My Sony TV already has internet access to connect to Netfix, so I did not need this service through the Blu-Ray too. The integration between Sony TV's is awesome too. Just pop it the Blue-Ray, Sony TV automatically switches to Blue-Ray connection and you're done. I love this unit and for the price, you can not beat it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SONY...WHAT WERE YOU THINKING??

By Grandpa from Ingleside, IL on 12/19/2009


Pros:

Great Picture And Sound As Expected

Cons:

Doesn't Stream Movies From Netflix

I purchased this top-of-the-line unit with built-in WiFi assuming it would stream live movies from the internet. I was wrong !! I question why a company like SONY would engineer WiFi in to a qulity unit for nothing more than DB-live with it's (very) limited content.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SONY...WHAT WERE YOU THINKING??

By Grandpa from Ingleside, IL on 12/19/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this top-of-the-line unit with built-in WiFi assuming it would stream live movies from the internet. I was wrong !! I question why a company like SONY would engineer WiFi in to a qulity unit for nothing more than DB-live with it's (very) limited content. Wake-up SONY, update the software to be compatable with NETFLIX (like your BDP-N460) or I'll trade this unit in for a Samsung...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Netflix

By sonyfanman from TN on 12/15/2009


Pros:

The Picture Is Out Of This World! Great

Cons:

Dose Not Connect To Netflix

I do not understand why the top end dvd will not connect to netflix, this is nuts! the 460 will but not the higer end model? Sony what are you thinking.........? You came so close to the best blue ray on the market.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sony BDP-S560

By Mwbwhorton from Bastrop,Louisiana on 12/14/2009


Pros:

Works Well

Cons:

None

Another nice sony product.Hopefully Netflix,You Tube,ect will be included in a future firmware update.The netflix issue aside this is a great player excellent picture&sound quality.DVD playback after firmware update is second to none.Highly recomended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No netflixs and hard to connect

By Dogears from Ashburn, VA on 12/13/2009


Pros:

Not Sure There Are Any

Cons:

Wifi Ready But Not Netflixs Ready

Bought the BDP-S560 because of the built-in wifi capablity but was unaware that it was not compatible with Netflixs for streaming. Setup to the internet was long and laborius and even after completed the only feature you have is BD-Live. Lots of cheaper blu-rays by other manufacturers that hook up easier to wireless routers and offer full advantages of what the internet has to offer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DLNA service

By kjny28 from NY on 12/10/2009

Hi, I agree with most of you that Sony should have had the netflix streaming. And wireless connectivity was an easy-setup. But I have not been able to connect my laptop to the blu-ray player through DLNA. What I mean to say is that I am running a DLNA server on my dell laptop. I used the window media centers but wasn't of much help. But then I used twonkymedia and I was able to detect the blu-ray player in my laptop but my Sony BDP-S560, was not able to find the server. If this could be done, then I can hook my laptop with netflix and play my movie on a laptop through blue-ray on to my Sony HD TV. If any one has accomplished this, please share your information. I have turned-off my fire wall from my dell laptop too, but that wasn't of much help. Thanks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not true Wifi

By Smith from Detroit, Michigan on 12/09/2009


Pros:

Sound, Great Picture

Cons:

No Vidoe Streaming As Wifi Implies

Great unit was told would do video streaming but waited to long to hookup for stores return policy shame on me.. However, the BDPN460 is effectivly the same unit without the s-video output is cheaper and has these functions no reason to continue purchasing this model. The BD live doesn't offer much content.. Sony makes great products and have owned many but this makes me think need to look at other products as well...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BDP S500 1080P

By erikg from Sacramento, CA on 12/09/2009


Pros:

Great Picture

Cons:

Cant Connect To Internet

I bought this product hoping it would be compatiable for future blue ray use like streaming videos from netflix. However I have not been able to perform this function. Load time is slow and it doesnt play HD DVD's! Wish I had waited to buy a different unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not much network support like video streaming

By Prasad from Bedford, NH on 12/07/2009


Pros:

Its Sleek And Wireless

Cons:

No Netflix Support. Need To Have Support Like Ps3 Or N460

Does not support video streaming, not all wireless router is supported. Not all laptop / desktop is supported, only DLNA Sony should provide a firmware upgrade for BDP-S560 to support Netflix streaming. Like for PS3, netflix send a separate bluray or something. With wireless support if Sony send an updated firmware, could resolve Netflix problem. However its not in our hand until Sony answer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it so far.

By prisoner6 from Undisclosed on 12/07/2009


Pros:

Wireless, Flawless Quality

Cons:

Netflix Streaming (read Further)

Okay... so I'm crazy. I ordered a PS3 disc for Netflix streaming... and because that uses BD-Live technology, it almost worked. The issue is activation. But I am confident, once the activation is taken care of, this will work. I'm talking to Netflix about it. So don't lose hope! This box should be able to handle it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not happy?

By PRAGNESH from CANTON,GEORGIA on 12/06/2009

without netflix compatible? this product is worthless compared as what i paid for because of the brand name SONY. I HOPE THEY DO SOMETHING.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

what a let down

By CB79 from Undisclosed on 12/05/2009


Pros:

Blue Ray

Cons:

Customer Service Wouldnt Exchange For Less Expensive Model, No Netflix

Blue ray has a fabulous picture but i dont get why they would have a more expensive player with wifi and everything else but no netflix. Wifi at any speed would be enough to stream the netflix even in HD. A dumb move by sony.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Handicapped wireless functions

By OMSUSA from Saratoga, CA on 12/02/2009


Pros:

802.11n Wireless Capability

Cons:

...but Can't Do Video Streaming?!!!

I bought the S560 in a combo deal with a W-series LCD TV. This BD player is a nice add-on while I fully expected it to support video streaming given the support of 802.11n, which beats my PS3's 802.11g. However, the support of a more powerful wireless protocol turned out to have many functionalities stripped. In addition to the lack of Netflix streaming as the other customers pointed out, it doesn't support video and music streaming from my NAS. This only thing it supported was photo, which was almost hilarious when I found out and btw, it didn't work out well at all compared to a PS3. Sony's strategy might have been to reserve functions for a sell-up opportunities but these functions have become a must-have in most electronic gadgets that support wireless. Doing so virtually makes Sony technologically inferior to its competitors, instead of stronger as Sony traditionally was.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Netflix access

By DD55 from La Grange, IL on 12/02/2009


Pros:

Wireless But What Do You Do With It Without Netflix

Cons:

No Netflix Access

Great unit but Sony missed the mark by not making it Netflix compatible. I hope this can be handled with a download update. The unit would be a 5 star if the Netflix feature is added.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do your research you won't be disappointed

By markel from NYC on 12/02/2009


Pros:

Dual Band 802.11n Compatible

Cons:

None Found

I am reading these reviews and all the people complaining that it doesn't stream Netflix, etc. Nowhere did it claim to do so. (Though it would be nice.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great BD, but no Netflix streaming??

By pulsar from New Jersey on 12/02/2009


Pros:

Excellent Picture

Cons:

No Netflix Streaming

Great picture with both BD and DVD. Wireless work ok, simple setup. But why release this player without Netflix streaming? Supposed to be top of the line, and obviously Netlix was ready since it is on other players. I agree with other reviews that Sony should release an upgrade that supports Netflix streaming, even if there is a small charge! This would at least somewhat make up for leaving it out in the first place.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do your research you won't be disappointed

By markel from NYC on 12/02/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am reading these reviews and all the people complaining that it doesn't stream Netflix, etc. Nowhere did it claim to do so. (Though it would be nice.) The fact that I can update firmware and get BD-Live features are what drew me to this unit. Set up of Wifi was very easy - though the instructions make it seem so much more difficult. I was up and running - fully connected to Wifi - in less than 10 minutes! Great picture and features. Who cares that the remote has no open/close? I don't. Great unit at a great price!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not true WIFI but still a good player

By GSWY from WY on 11/30/2009


Pros:

Great Picture And Sound.

Cons:

Wifi Only For Updates And Bd Content.

The WIFI connection is the easiest I have used. Had the player connected to my video system and the home network in less than two minutes. Disappointed that the WIFI connection is only for updates and BD content. WIFI capable implies, to most, that you should be able to stream movies etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sony blew this one

By mark09 from Scottsdale, AZ on 11/30/2009


Pros:

Picture / Sound Quality

Cons:

No Streaming Video

Cheap BD players have streaming online video. This player is great, except for the odd lack of ability to stream video. How this was released without that ability is hard to fathom. They need to update the firmware, but have not been able to - which is also hard to fathom. Getting netflix or even youtube in hd is a really cool feature on bd players - yet Sony left it off of their best player. Maybe they can fix it one day. But don't buy this product until they figure out how. Disappointing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO Netflix streaming?

By Beachguy from San Clemente, CA on 11/28/2009


Pros:

Good Dvd Quality

Cons:

No Netflix Streaming?

WHY... I was soooo dissapointed when I discovered that my super machine was not in fact Netflix ready. You put in Wi Fi , you cut a deal to make the S460 Netflix ready what do you intend to do about this?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

don't confuse this with the BDP-N560

By hdrookie from az on 11/27/2009


Pros:

None

Cons:

None

If you are hoping to use this to connect to Netflicks you bought the wrong product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

enjoyable product, sony's high quality

By Gonz from Undisclosed on 11/23/2009


Pros:

Great Picture, Fair Remote, Enjoy Onscreen Menu

Cons:

No Streaming At A High Cost Over A Streamng Unit. Wifi Seems Weak.

SONY...PLEASE ADD FIRMWARE UPGRADE THAT SUPPORTS NETFLIX OR OTHER VIDEO STREAMING....EVEN IF A SMALL FEE IS REQUIRED...WHAT A WASTE OF A GREAT UNIT WITHOUT IT!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Disappointed

By Keaauboy from Chicago, IL on 11/21/2009


Pros:

Great Picture Quality.

Cons:

Poorly Designed Remote., No Internet Streaming

Will NEVER again buy based just on the Sony name. Wifi is next to useless from a user standpoint if access to the internet is restricted to firmware updates. Buyers assume "built-in wireless wifi" mean access to streaming media (movies). A remote without an open/eject button?!! I ignorantly thought S560 meant an upgrade from S550, clearly not the case. Great picture quality is trumped by thoughtless design. If Sony had addressed these simple but major flaws, they would have received 5 stars across the board.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good except the online streaming

By ydsony from boston, ma on 11/16/2009


Pros:

Also On Regular Dvds, Great Blu Ray Quality

Cons:

No Online Video Streaming

I think this is the common theme..Sony - include all the online streaming capabilities of the network blu ray player BDP-N460 in to this one to make it great. Otherwise, great hd quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What is Sony thinking to ...

By dhogan2084 from CA on 11/14/2009


Pros:

Great Picture

Cons:

Wifi Is Bad No Netlix Bad Remote

What is Sony thinking to put in a WI FI that is not worth being there what good is it if you cant get netflix or any othher site I got this lastnight and taking it bact today waist of my time Sony was no help when I called then just to say get the n460 if they had told me a firmware was on it way would of kept it but no just told me to get another modle last time I buy Sony please dont waist your time and momey on this and shame on sony


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs Streaming Video Capability

By fritschej from Staunton, IL on 11/13/2009


Pros:

Superb Quality

Cons:

No Netflix Capability!

I competely agree with many of the previous reviewers. This is an excellent quality player, but Sony has missed the boat by not including Netflix and other streaming video capability. I've had the player for almost a month and have only used the WIFI for an update. Wireless N is mostly useless to me without being able to stream video. Get with the program, Sony!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW.. SONY WHAT WERE YOU GUYS THINKING....

By Dude from Pearland TX on 11/08/2009


Pros:

Sleek Design, Faster Loading Time, Quality Picture & Sound

Cons:

No Netflix... Horrible Remote.. Worst Out There

What is really going ON @ SONY.. You guys take 1 step forward, then 5 steps backwards.. where do i start? How come an improved BDP-S560 lacks some of the vital features of the older BDP-S550 player.. i don't get this. BDP-S550's remote has a better layout, & of course an eject button.. oK.. Now you guys claim BDP-S560 is wifi capable.. oh wow great news, but wait no online video streaming capabilities.. i was duped.. i will return this product..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

By Snoopy5023 from Flint, MI on 11/06/2009


Pros:

Easy Setup, Great Picture Quality, And Great Features

Cons:

Wireless Networking Suck For Bd-live, Limited Remote Features

I bought this player because I wanted to be able to update the firmware wirelessly, which works like a charm. However, getting it to play bd-live features always produced coming messages or some would give information concerning bd-live but never able to get bd-live content to show. See, I have the BDPS300, BDPS550 and now the BDPS560. So I know there are bd live content because all the other players I have had a hardwire connection. With this player, I can get bd-live content hardwired but not wirelessly. Also, the remote does not have open/close/eject button. I had to use my logitech universal remote I had programmed for the BDPS550 to open the tray on the BDPS560. Also me and numerous tech support personnel spent 3 hours (that's when I gave up) Trying to get the wireless bd-live content to play. That is why I rated this: The good, the bad, the ugly and I am a sony fan as you can see by the number of Sony blu-ray players I have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Like some of the other ...

By jsmith from Madison, WI on 11/04/2009


Pros:

Plays Blu-rays Well

Cons:

Lack Of Video Streaming

Like some of the other reviews, I am very unhappy with Sony not updating this product to allow streaming with Wifi. Also, having a sony rep comment and tell people one of their other Blu-ray players allows streaming is pretty ridiculous. I purchased your higher end model, and Sony releases a lower model with features that should be a firmware upgrade for the 560. I waited for the new model line to be released before making a decision, then a the 460 released later. I have learned my lesson about purchasing Sony products and will not in the future. Otherwise, plays Blu-ray's and is easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed with Sony

By BobK from Los Altos, CA on 11/01/2009


Cons:

No Internet Streaming

I bought one because of the wireless Internet connection, but I could not recommend it to anyone else because of the lack of Internet streaming. Why else would you want wireless Internet? I feel that I was "taken" by Sony by purchasing this at introduction and then finding they introduced a real Internet capable machine less than two months later. How about a firmware upgrade Sony?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Feature - Less feature

By Anagh from TN on 10/18/2009


Pros:

Very Good Quality Of Pricture ... Wifi Is A Very Good Feature

Cons:

Does Not Have Internet Video Streaming Like Netflix

The quality of picture is very good, WiFi is a very usefull feature, but I am very disapointed that just after 2 months of this launch Sony came out with Internet Video streaming in Blu Ray players but does not provide a Firmware upgrade for my current S560


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Netflix

By SSYYOOO from Margate NJ on 10/16/2009


Pros:

Great Piece Of Electronic Enginering

Cons:

No Streaming Movies

Shame great peace of equipment if I had known that Sony did not have the software to receive WIFI movies I would not have bought the BDP S560 I would have bought a Samsung or LG. I thought the BDP S560 would be a perfect addiction to my Sony surrond sound and Bravia TV. I'm disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sony BDP-S560

By FacilityGuy from Mesquite, TX on 08/05/2009


Pros:

Great Picture, Easy Wireless Setup, Decent Pricing

Cons:

Remote - Fewer Features

Just received and it was very easy to install. The unit is boxed in green packing and comes with composite cables and batteries for remote. You will need an HDMI cable to get the full features. Wireless setup was easy, the longest part is entering your password to your wireless router. I would recommend reviewing the wireless setup instructions on your router provided on the Sony site. The startup is decent and you can speed it up as an option, if desired. I hooked this up to a Toshiba Regza HDTV. The TV set recognized the HDMI link as a REGZA link and starts the blu-ray player automatically. I purchased through Provantage - I have yet to find a lower priced seller, I tried Blu-Ray disks and standard dvd's and the image on the television was crisp and clear. I am very happy that I waited for this model to be released from Sony. I wanted the wireless network feature and it works - setup worked automatically up to the WEP password entry. It easily found my wireless routers and setup was just a couple of minutes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved