Home » DMPBD35K » 18 Reviews

Panasonic Dmp-bd35k Blu-ray Disc Player 2009 Model 1080p P4hd Sd Card Slot Viera Link Bd-live (panasonic Dmpbd35k) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 18 reviews)

77% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Inexpensive (15), Exceeded Expectations (8), Easy To Use (10), Compact (7), Durable (6), Convenient (5)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Freeze Problem

By Don from Minneapolis, MN, USA on 04/08/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This unit would be OK if it didn't have the freezing problem that many have mentioned previously. I'd have no problem giving it a much better review if this issue was fixed. I long ago installed the latest Firmware, but that didn't resolve the issue. Maybe the problem is hardware related and can't be fixed by a Firmware upgrade?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great!

By MittenStateGirl from Plymouth, MI on 04/05/2015


Pros:

Compact, Durable

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my blu ray player for over 2 years now and use it on a daily basis. It still works great! It has a compact design which fit into my entertainment unit with room to spare. It loads, reads, and plays discs very easily & the quality is good. I don't use the extra features because I only use it for discs so I can't attest how those work. The only drawbacks are occasionally it will not shut off & has to be unplugged to reboot, but works great again. I would also improve the design of the remote control because I've accidentally hit the wrong button because they're so close together. Overall, I'm very happy with my player and would recommend it for playing discs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not recomended

By slg98 from Undisclosed on 02/13/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very slow...does not resume play ..look for a different player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no fancy features

By Atul from San Jose, California on 01/26/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Slow, No Netflix Even With Firmware Upgrades

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a barebone Blue-ray/DVD player. No Netfix, BDLive is also slow(useless my my opinion). Note:- FOr BDLive to work you need to add SD Card in the SD Card slot. If you need streaming/Netfix or fast uptime - don't buy it. Buy it if it is very cheap as the quality of Blue ray and DVD


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Netflix streaming

By Randy from Newman Lake, WA on 12/18/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

What? No Netflix streaming??? This has to be a firmware upgrade ... right? This is disappointing from a company like Panasonic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Player

By Richard from Dallas on 05/15/2010


Pros:

Compact, Durable, Easy To Use

Cons:

Needs Netflix Capability

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Player works well. Wish I would have purchased one that had netflix capability. I wonder if this could be added via a software update.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best value on the market without a doubt

By d2f from Los Angeles on 11/01/2009


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Cons:

No Wireless Connection Built In

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great value in a Blu ray player in my opinion. DVD conversion is so good there little need to buy Blu-ray discs unless you ready need the hi-res images and 5.1 sound. For animation DVDs there is no need to purchase the Blu ray version, the upscaling is that good. The only drawback is the need to provide a Ethernet port or wireless bridge, to allow for player firmware updates to play certain Blu ray disks, and to download Blu-ray features and options, the later of which are nearly useless in my opinion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This needs Netflix streaming...

By tmac from Portland Oregon on 03/28/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Durable, Compact, Convenient

Cons:

Lack Of Netflix Streaming, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been satisfied but this product needs the netflix streaming. Why is this not an option?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By Papi from NJ on 03/27/2009


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Durable, Compact, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love it. Great quality and value. Panasonic please please please provide firmware to add Netflix instant viewing. Thanks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Picture

By Chas from Orange County, CA on 03/04/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Compact, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Convenient

Cons:

Need To Add Netflix Capability.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this player for Christmas and have been extremely happy with its performance ever since. Every disc, both Blu-Ray and standard DVD, that I have played has performed flawlessly. The only issue is the lack of Netflix streaming capability. Adding this capability with a firmware download would make this a really excellent machine. Please Panasonic...make it so.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DMP-BD35K AWESOME

By MG3 from Germany on 03/02/2009


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Network

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first Blu-Rayand I'm hook. Now need to find a solution to hook to wireless network to enjoy BDLive. After that I will never leave the house.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally a BLU Player worth buying

By Jaz from Atlanta, GA on 01/27/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Exceeded Expectations, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been holding off on a Blu-ray player without having to get sucked into the PS3 gaming system. I'm so glad I waited because this BD-35AK player is amazingly crisp and brilliant. Currently I have an older 1080i projector w/screen 120" wide - and WOW! is all I can say when I turned on the player. The DVD's upconvert great; however, put in a Blu-ray disc in and even at 1080i the picture is stunning. I can cleanly read the script scrolling through the credits. I may never go to a movie theater again. Thanks Panasonic for putting out the first serious and affordable Blu-ray with almost all the bells and whistles. Highly recommend for the A/V enthusiast or even bargin hunters. Placement of the remote buttons are easy to navigate. Easy to set-up and get down to business. My wishlist for future would be to add the Netflix LAN capabilities and backlit remote.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't compare others to this!

By MSG2009 from Kenosha,WI on 01/22/2009


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Compact, Durable, Inexpensive, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Without a doubt, the pros at Panasonic knew what they were doing when they released this full featured,quality piece of video bliss.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

exelent purchase

By voodoo from San Diego,CA on 01/05/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Install was easy,firmware update took four minutes, works like a charm !!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Blu Ray Player

By lenny from Columbia, Maryland on 01/02/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A great Blu Ray player my first ever. Watching movies will never be the same. The picture quality is outstanding indeed. Up scale to 1080 is great also. All I can say that panasonic makes great products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great BD Picture

By sprkeng from Washington on 12/10/2008


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Set-up Guide, Inexpensive, Convenient

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was really hesitant to purchase a Blu-Ray player. I took the wrong road with the HDDVD format. I set this player up with out any problems, inserted a BD and I was amazed at the clarity of the picture. I followed by inserting an SD video and I was floored with the exceptional upconverstion of a standard DVD. Why did I wait so long to purchase a BD player?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Player - Needs 1 Feature

By Blu-Man from Undisclosed on 12/08/2008


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

No Netflix Support Currently?

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best Blu-Ray player on the market hands down. However I would like to see the Netflix support added. Thank you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't beat the recognition, Can't beat the Price

By davidm767 from Tucson, AZ on 11/05/2008


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Lack Of Coaxial Input

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The BD-35K is by far the best mid-price product on the market. Reviews are Steller, which is the prime reason why I sought out the player. The ONLY downside to the BD-35K is the availability on both online and local retail outlets. However I did find a killer deal with an online retailer. The most impressive feature is the built in Dolby True HD and DTS-HD decoders, saved me a bundle on a new receiver. The BDLive feature is a bonus, considering any Firmware updates are automatically found. One minor detail is the lack of a Coaxial output for digital sound, but Optical is provided. Overall I would rate this unit as a 9/10 for its category.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved