Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » DMPBD75 » 28 Reviews

Panasonic DMP-BD75 Blu-ray Disc Player - 1080p - Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS HD - DVD+RW, DVD-RW, CD-RW, BD-RE - NTSC - BD Video, DVD Video, AVCHD - Progressive Scan - Ethernet - HDMI - USB Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 28 reviews)

35% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Inexpensive (19), Compact (13), Convenient (6), Easy To Use (6), Durable (3)

Cons:

Difficult To Use (9), Poor Documentation (4), Did Not Meet Expectations (13), Poor Quality (9)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Disappointing Buy, Mr. Freeze is Warmer

By Chanz from Atlanta, GA on 03/23/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This player had been with me for three years, but I had to replace it. It regularly froze while playing BDs or using the Netflix app. I called customer service within the warranty period only to get a factory reset as the solution. That never worked for longer than a week, no matter how many times I tried that. Only cutting the power would recover the unit. I thought its simplicity and functionality would have made it a solid Panasonic product, but I was wrong.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WASTE OF MONEY

By Anonymous from Texas on 06/23/2013


Cons:

Expensive, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Poor performance, lock-ups. Very limited Apps - no Crackle, No Amazon. Could have done better with a $20 unit. These issue could probably be addressed through the upgrade firmware option, but it appears Panasonic doesn't want to make this product competitive, or at least worth the cost.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No wireless!!!

By L from Undisclosed on 03/05/2013


Cons:

Poor Quality, Poor Documentation, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This player can only be connected to the Internet via a LAN cable. A basic Internet feature in all devices now is called WIRELESS. How in the world would anyone be able to run a cable far enough to go from their wireless box to their TV, especially on upper floors? I don't get it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Surprising disappointment

By Chan from Atlanta, GA on 01/19/2013


Pros:

Compact

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When it works, it produces great video both on DVD and Blu-Ray. The firmware issues, freezing, and very, very, very slow Network features (Netflix especially) make this a terror to use. I was expecting, at the very least, a functioning product even for an entry level blu-ray player from Panasonic. I'm a loyalist to the brand, but I don't think I'll ever buy another disc reader from Panasonic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another one stops working

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 12/24/2012


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I think this thing played about a dozen movies before it died less than a year since I purchased it. The same issue other users had that I would have to unplug it once in a while to rest it. Well now that doesnt even work, it powers up and says HELLO on the unit and thats it.. I see it still under warranty but for parts only so I can only imagine I will end up paying for a new unit one way or another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still waiting!!!!

By j from Columbus, OH on 12/14/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

bought in Oct. watched only 2 movies, quit 20 min. into 3rd movie.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Inexpensive and cheap

By texan27028 from North Carolina on 07/13/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Freezes Up And Becomes Unresponsive, Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This unit was inexpensive so I picked it up to use in my home office. As soon as I got home and installed it, I began to have problems. The main problem being that I CONSTANTLY have to unplug and plug back in the unit. I'm ok once I get a disc playing or once I get a show playing through Netflix, but if I change shows or turn the unit off and try to turn it back on, I'm taking my chances. I eventually had to place the unit where I can easily unplug/plug the unit in to reboot it. If I had to do it again, I would not buy this unit due to the inconvenience of it freezing up. I'm close to purchasing a new one and taking a sledge hammer to the one I have. Buyer beware!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cinavia Free!

By brianh from Undisclosed on 07/02/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact, Cinavia Free, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As of today, the latest firmware is still cinavia free which is a big factor for me. Netflix service works good, plays all BR&DVD movies great. DLNA is sometimes buggy, but I have not tried after latest update. It would sometimes lock up and the only way to get it going again was to unplug it and plug it back in. Overall I think it is a great player for the price with a ton of features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Connectivity

By MFL from Lancashire, England on 03/15/2012


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Connectivity, Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Beware...., this product only outputs "5.1" through HDMI (no separate SPDIF / TOSLink output). This may result in you having only 2-channel (stereo) emerging from your AV Amp if you connect this to your TV (HDMI to TV and then SPDIF Optical from TV to AV Amp). I'm still waiting for Panasonic to realise that this might be a problem (to millions of people who already have AV Amps which do not accept HDMI).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not as advertised

By dontbuythis from uk on 03/08/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Not As Advertised, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Netflix Vudu and CinemaNow not available Can I have a refund please?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

network connection does ...

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 03/06/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

network connection does not work.................... at all. just a piece junk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Viera Link" does not work as expected

By TechGeek from New Zealand on 02/16/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

DO NOT purchase this unit expecting the convenience of controlling it via your (Panasonic or other) TV remote! Despite what other online shopping/review sites may say, the Panasonic DMP-BD75 supports only HDAVI Control version 1, even with the latest firmware available at the time of writing. The minimum requirement for "Viera Link" (control player using TV remote) is HDAVI Control version 2.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth the bargain price

By Jaha from Undisclosed on 02/03/2012


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I grabbed this bargain Blu Ray player over other brands simply because I trusted the Panasonic name and still have some of their DVD players which are tanks. After 4 months I have watched 2 Blu Rays on it and maybe half a dozen Netflix films and I wish I had stayed away. The menu system is slow, cumbersome, and frustrating. The video quality is as expected but the unit freezes all the time when I turn it off or when it sits idle for a while which requires me to unplug it from the wall. Its done this probably a dozen times now in very limited use. Firmware update did nothing to correct. I regret this purchase and doubt Panasonic will correct the issue through a warranty claim seeing as so many other reviews list the same issues. I have a 4 year protection plan on it at least so we shall see if I can get something different.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

it works

By John from New York on 01/21/2012


Pros:

Compact, Attractive Unit, Inexpensive

Cons:

Remote Poor For Large Hands

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It works well. Off-timer great. Annoying remote.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

After two month will not Play

By OHIO Mike from OHIO on 01/21/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Locks up all the time so thatiI have unplug it do anything. Firmware is updated now it happens more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Freezes all the time, to ...

By S from Ohio on 12/22/2011


Cons:

Freezes All The Time, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Freezes all the time, to where i have unplug it to start over.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very good buy if . . .

By Curmudgeon from Carmel, CA on 12/22/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Convenient, Compact, Durable

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

. . . you read the product spec (which clearly states that it doesn't provide wireless connectivity!), and your broadband connection uses static DNS. If, like mine, it's dynamic, you'll need to spend 45 minutes on the phone with support while they figure out the correct manual IP and DNS settings.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Price

By TJOmf from SE Wisconsin on 12/21/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to set up, received firmware update via CAT 5 internet wire with no problems. Very fast boot up - great picture and easy to use remote and menus are intuitive. For the price, very good unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DMP-DB75 Review

By radk from California on 11/20/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Convenient, Online Streaming, Compact

Cons:

Netflix Freezes The Unit At Random Times

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this unit at a low price, and I am happy with my purchase. I wasn't looking for anything great, just as good BD/DVD player. What got me interested is the netflix and online streaming options which I tested and overall I am happy. I wish that this product would also support HULU which would make it perfect. Maybe Panasonic can update the firmware to add HULU functionality. Pros: Cheap and does the trick for blue disk playback if you are not looking for the greatest and latest. I love online streaming features! Simple to setup and as far as wireless connectivity, no issues for me since I READ THE PRODUCT DESCRIPTION BEFORE BUYING THE PRODUCT. I know, what a concept, eh! So for all the reviews that complain about wireless connectivity, don't rate the product bad because YOU don't want to take the time to review the specs before purchasing it. Cons: I did have to power cycle the unit at least twice even after I upgraded the firmware, netflix causes the unit to freeze. Am I returning the unit, no, for the price and features it offers, I am ok with a power cycle once or twice a month. I am assuming that Panasonic is going to come up with another firmware upgrade to resolve this issue. If you are looking for a inexpensive blue ray player, overall I recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bought this player about ...

By wasted time from Undisclosed on 10/30/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this player about 6 months ago and the remote and the bottons on the DVD player do not work


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Player

By Stu from Nebraska on 10/21/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

PROS: As another reviewer put it most of the complaints are that it is not wireless. My answer is READ THE BOX. I personally prefer a wired network for security reasons. Setup was a breeze. I was streaming NetFlix literally 10 minutes after opening the box!. Updating firmware took about 5 minutes. The price is also extremely attractive (my son uses his Wii to stream NetFlix). This unit replaced an older Panasonic DVD Player with out ethernet. Cons: Slightely slow in switching screens and is why I had some 4 ratings. Work Around: Use yous computer to add "Instant Queue". It's the same account.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

To stream, locate a ...

By Rod from Undisclosed on 10/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

To stream, locate a wireless bridge near the unit and wire the bridge to the player or use Powerline.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for appropriate situations

By BTinSF from San Francisco, CA on 08/20/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Compact, Convenient, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Much of the dissatisfaction with this player seems to come from people who needed a wireless network connection. IMHO they bought the wrong player. In my case, it sits right next to my ATT U-verse gateway (router) and was easily networked by ethernet cable--which works great. I did not want to pay more for a player with wireless capability I do not need whereas those others who are less than satisfied did need it and should have paid more to get it. The other thing I wanted out of a player was Vudu capability since I don't rent streaming movies often enough to warrant paying Netflix's monthly fee and, again, this inexpensive little player fills the bill perfectly (but many other brands don't have Vudu).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lacking Basic Capability

By Rick from Los Angeles, CA on 08/11/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

In this day & age, who would expect NO Wireless Network capability. Who has ethernet cables strung all over home to TV's & Disk Players?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely Satisfied

By Willettfx from United States on 05/25/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Convenient, Easy To Use, Compact, Exceeded Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Blu-ray player, easy setup!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Panasonic Blue ray player

By Sparky from Southington Ct on 04/15/2011


Pros:

Compact, Durable, Convenient, Inexpensive, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this Blue ray player from Amazon a few weeks ago. It is easy to use, it was easy to follow to install new firmware update off my wireless network. I look the big icons on the start up page I think it makes so easy to follow were to go. For the price and features it is a player I would recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ethernet Connection Does Not Work

By Anonymous from Montana on 03/28/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The troubleshooting screen says it is connected to the internet successfully. But it cannot connect. This issue in trying to setup Netflix is not addressed in the manual or in online help. We cannot find where to get the activation code.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ethernet to connect to Internet doesn't work

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 03/18/2011


Cons:

Ethernet Connection To Internet Fails

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Ethernet to connect to Internet doesn't work. At least the test connection fails and can't update firmware. Flaky Internet connection if connected. I have set up several blu-ray players in my house and this is the first one that fails.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved