Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » DMPBD77 » 15 Reviews

Panasonic DMP-BD77 Blu-ray Disc Player - BD-R, CD-R, DVD-R - BD Video, DVD Video - HDMI - DLNA Certified Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 15 reviews)

20% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Inexpensive (8), Easy To Use (4), Compact (6)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (8), Poor Documentation (6), Poor Quality (7), Difficult To Use (7)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Sub Par Product At Its Best

By Disappointed Customer from Jackson, WY on 09/08/2013


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Poor Documentation, Constant Error Codes

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have purchased several Panasonic items in the past, varying from TV's, Stereos, Car Stereos, and DVD Players. This one however, is a complete and utter failure. The company should be ashamed to put their name on such a terrible piece of equipment. From day 1 I had to unplug and plug back in. Then after multiple error codes, resets, and multiple unplugging, per the users manual, after a year it has locked up. The machine only says Hello, the TV displays Unusable Signal. Of course it locked up the exact day after the extended warranty expired. Which is simply fate. When I went to the store where it was purchased, the response was simple. "We get this all the time with that machine". I wanted and expected a simple inexpensive DVD player that had Netflix on it, so that my children could use only one TV with an easy navigation. This however, has been a complete waste of money and time. Maybe Panasonic has better products, but I'm not willing to spend my hard earned money to risk wasting it on such poor quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Short life

By Unhappy from Brooklyn, NY, USA on 07/25/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

It's Cheap For A Reason

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this player a few months ago and now it does not play. I asked a tech what could be the problem and he said it's either the video board or the power source. Either way, the device does not work and needs to be repaired in such a short period of time. I purchased a Panasonic DVD player several years ago and I'm satisfied with it's performance. Because of that, I decided to purchase a second Panasonic Blue Ray player. What a mistake!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It does the job were it is mad for

By Arnoud443 from Nederland on 06/22/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use, Compact, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Wifi Adapter Not Inculded

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The dvd/ blueray player does his job wel. I have fun with it and and can even watch youtube, connected to the internet it does wel.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy... you'll have nothing but problems

By Anonymous from Los Angeles on 03/26/2013


Cons:

Poor Quality, Freezes With Certain Blue Ray And Dvd Movies, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This player even has in its printed manual... "if you have no control with the remote or player's switches" (it freezes up) then unplug it for a minute then start again! So it's had problems from the start... Panasonic should recall this model and fix (at no charge to us) the problems!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

technology gone amuck

By never again from Undisclosed on 03/14/2013


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I cannot remember buying a worse designed product in the last 30 years. It is hard to imagine how a big company could create such a poor product, and then not recall it immediately. This is the last Panasonic product I will buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DVD Owners: DO NOT BUY THIS PLAYER

By Andrew from Undisclosed on 12/17/2012


Cons:

Poor Documentation, Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations, Randomly Labels Dvds As Wrong Region

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm infuriated. This player randomly labels DVD disks as being in the 'Wrong Region'. At first I believed it was an issue with my individual player, and after tangling with terrible customer service, I was sent a replacement player that seemed to play the disks in question fine. Until it started labeling OTHER RANDOM DVD'S as wrong region! IF YOU WANT TO PLAY DVDS ON THIS PLAYER, AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS. I will never buy a Panasonic Again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not purchase

By Meri from Cleveland, OH on 12/02/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality, Won't Turn On After 3 Months, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Has turned off after 3 months and won't turn on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awful

By melandodie from Undisclosed on 11/17/2012


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Quality, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

hard to use; wont connect to internet. Dont waste your money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

37% Failure Rate

By Frustrated from Pennsylvania on 11/01/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Cons:

Audio Problems With Blu-ray Disks, Lacking In Reliability

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased 19 new Panasonic DMP BD 77 DVD players and within six months 7 of them had developed problems with Blu-Ray disk audio or they have no stopped outputting any signal at all. These devices are used casually throughout our facility most have less than 20 hours of actual use. My concern is what will happen with the other 13 over the next year and all 19 when their warranties expire. When these players are working the picture and sound is good. They are easy to use. Their price point is very attractive. I would not purchase this model again. I would not recommend them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DMP BD77 Great Player!

By txmetal from Texas on 09/19/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, The Remote Works Well With My Panasonic Tv, Inexpensive, Convenient, Durable, Compact

Cons:

A Little Slow Initially Loading Bd At First.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No problems with my Player, didnt need the wifi player is right next to the router. I use net flix a lot, I also have the DMP BD87 model in the bedroom. I works great as well. The major and i think only difference is the BD87 has supports B,G,N wifi connections( which is better for the range and speed for wifi). The BD77 supports G,N only. Remember if you use Net Flix, You Tube, or any other streaming video, to avoid freezing and black screen you need to have a really good connection and plenty of bandwidth i would recommend a Broadband Connection of at least 10Mbits internet speed. I have 30Mbits which is very good. Also use a wireless N router for better range and speed. Yes it takes a little time for the Blue Ray Disk to Initially load, once it does all is fine. There are also settings in the router you can adjust for streaming video, that will allow it allocate more bandwidth for the device that is running video. Having a healthy wifi or LAN is essential for a good experience on any device no matter the Brand. I picked Panasonic because i own a Pana TV


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Problem Child

By CI Guy from WA State on 09/19/2012


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations, Locks Up Often

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've only had the unit for about a week but in that time it's locked up numerous times. The only way to unfreeze it is to unplug it and start over. I've done the firmware upgrade which gave me a few more features that I don't care about. Panasonic usually makes good equipment but this model doesn't seem to be one of them. Hopefully, tech support may have an answer. Also, the box says that it's wi-fi ready but not really. It needs an additional (unknown) device to attach wirelessly. When the unit does work, the picture is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Get what you pay for

By Jimmy from NZ on 09/12/2012


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The manual and website are of little use. Haven't been able to connect to folders within my computer. My smartphone doesn't detect the player on my server (but it is there), and Netflix is only available in US (they could have told us that). You tube is the only internet service I can use. I thought I would be able to display my entire computer screen on the TV, not just show photos or play music. ...but hey, it is cheap


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth the money

By Oldmn from Az on 08/10/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Will Not Hold Settings, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Unit keeps locking up, if you change any of the Factory settings. will not hold settings (keeps turning on subtitle's) after playing a BD a regular DVD will have bad distortion in the image.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By cds352 from Wisconsin, USA on 07/10/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Documentation, Poor Quality, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I would not advise anyone to purchase this product. Once I did finally get it connected to the internet it would not let me view netflix at all and had no instructions in how to find the code to activate this device on netflix. I was excited because the price was nice to me but after all of this I am extremely disappointed. If i were not so tired I would be returning this product tonight! But it for sure will be going back to the store tomorrow!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Complicated

By Anonymous from Charleston, SC on 05/26/2012


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When you buy the product they have no warning that you need an LAN adaptor. The box says wifi capable but when you go to set it up it says you have to buy a chip that isnt included. If I had known that I wouldnt have bought it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved