Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » DMPBD87 » 35 Reviews

Panasonic DMP-BD87 Blu-ray Disc Player - BD-R, DVD-R, CD-R - BD Video, DVD Video - Wi-Fi - DLNA Certified Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 35 reviews)

17% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (10), Convenient (4), Inexpensive (19), Compact (8)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (25), Poor Documentation (13), Poor Quality (17), Difficult To Use (10)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Absolute worthless piece of technology.

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/01/2014


Pros:

No Redeemable Value At All.

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Does Not Work., Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I thought this was a wise buying decision but I was wrong. To play a blue ray dvd you need to insert the dvd, wait for the system to lock up, unglug the unit (it will not turn off at this point), plug the unit back in and then you can watch a movie. To stream Netflix or Hulu Plus " good luck. 90% of the time the options for NetFlix or Hulu Plus (which came pre-loaded) are not available. In fact nothing is available except for the Settings option. Some times you can unplug the unit and then the options for NetFlix or Hulu Plus will be there but do not count on it. If you would like to see what a poorly designed piece of technology looks like " then this is the waste of money for you. You can have. Really. It's out by the dumpster.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

do not buy this product

By K from CA on 11/18/2013


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We found good reviews of this product and decided to purchase it based on low cost and good reviews. Our experience, however, was not good or consistent with those reviews. Quick lost of cons: -it freezes all the time, only option is to turn it off, wait, then turn it on again -a black box appears over half the screen and disappears again randomly -extremely slow response time -remote doesn't always work I wouldn't purchase again or recommend. The constant freezing of this unit is ridiculous.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DO NOT BUY

By Mrs. Mom from Minnesota on 09/26/2013


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I thought it was just me, until I read the other reviews. I finally decided to join the rest of the world and upgrade to HD ths past March and bought an HD TV and this Panasonic Blu Ray player with the intention of streaming netflix and getting rid of my dish service...after only a week I was having problems. I tried to return the Blu Ray but couldn't find the receipt. I googled the problem and found out a firmwarm update was needed- ok 1 for technology 0 for me... That did not resolve the issues of the picture going in/out while Netflix or a DVD was playing. Or the player being "frozen" to the point I have to unplug it and cannot use it again until the next day. This is ongoing issue. Especially frustrating when trying to watch a movie with the children or work out


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a piece of junk. I ...

By unhappy from alma, ar. on 09/08/2013


Cons:

Poor Quality, Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

What a piece of junk. I bought two of these and am going to throw them in the trash. Constant problems, won't come on (locks up#, won't shut off #locks up). When it locks all you can do is unplug it and wait. Complete waste of money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst ever

By Lees26 from Houston, TX on 08/31/2013


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Documentation, Poor Quality, Difficult To Use, Expensive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This was my first smart blu ray DVD player and it acted up from the beginning but I tolerated it. 8 months later it finally went out on me. I tried everything from trouble shooting to get it to work again but I'm done trying and will throw it away today when I purchase a new one that isn't Panasonic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible!

By Anonymous from Tucson, AZ, USA on 08/19/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have owned numerous Panasonic products, including a blu-ray player without wifi, and have always been pleased until now. This player is junk. I now need to buy another blu-ray player and will look every which way except to Panasonic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

freezes and overheats practically out of the box.

By Nick from Sacramento area, CA. on 08/18/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had to power cycle the player on average of once a week. It's very slow to respond to remote commands. The Youtube channel freezes the player 25% of the time, and leaves the player running with no means to stop it. Same with Netflix. We use it mainly for Netflix, and I like the app interface, but the hardware issues make this a bad choice. I have a feeling it's all based on overheating, and boy, does this player get hot. Just save up the extra $50 and get a better player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Happy!

By ME from Texas on 08/08/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Lasted less than 6 months! I barely used this player before it just decided to not work one day. Very upset at such poor quality. Warranty states parts are covered, but not labor and I am sure not the shipping either. Guess I have to purchase another player, what a joke!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a Disappointment

By Jan from Slippery Rock, PA 16057, USA on 07/06/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations, Broke Right Away

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After watching only two movies in this player, it suddenly decides that my blue ray movies are incompatible. I updated as suggested but it didn't help. I tried to play a movie we watched on this unit last week and now somehow that one is incompatible too. Sure wish I had read all the other reviews of this unit before I bought it. Total waste of money. Will not purchase another Panasonic blu ray player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disc Drive Stopped Working after 3 months

By pblaiser from St. Louis, MO, USA on 06/22/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This was my first Blu-Ray player. I was excited about getting home to see movies on my HDTV. I was pleased at how easy it was to set up the system and get my Netflix account linked. The unit froze up within 3 days. I didn't much mind that. I updated the firmware and thought that would do the trick. After several firmware updates and playing Blu-Ray discs and DVDs, I just kept getting the message 'Disk Not Compatible'. No worries, I purchased a Blu-Ray lens cleanner just to be sure. I was told that if the dics is inside the unit at boot up, it could fix any problems with the lens. That did not resolve the issue, the Blu-Ray drive stopped working and does not spin at all. After only 3 months. What is particularly upsetting about this is that I primarily use the player to view Netflix and seldomly played discs in the unit. I would recommend to anyone looking to purchase a Blu-Ray Player to read any and all customer reviews. I have been a long time consumer of Panasonic goods. I have a 5 disc changer AV system and a HDD Digital Video recorder system which I have owned for 7 years now. Both devices still working by the way and are in great condition.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not recommended if you want to watch Blu-Rays

By GoodWitchPA from PA on 06/08/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact

Cons:

Doesn't Work Very Well., Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I picked this up as a gift for my family at Christmas. It freezes about half the time when we play BluRay discs. Netflix works OK but is very slow and sometimes also freezes (internet is fine in the rest of the house). Overall I'm extremely disappointed with this product; I expect much better from Panasonic. This replaced an excellent Panasonic DVD player and is supposed to accompany our Panasonic flat screen. I even have a Panasonic house phone. BIG let down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

cant read

By Phil from Undisclosed on 04/28/2013


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Expensive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

limited format to read movies .. only use is to read blu-ray and dvd, the rest is bad


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk

By Frustrated from Ohio on 04/13/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Difficult To Use, Poor Quality, Freezes Up, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I can not believe Panasonic put out a product like this. It freezes up numerous times a day. I have to reset my router all the time because the player loses the IP address. I have been a Panasonic fan for years. Have purcashed many electronics from them though the years. BUT NEVER AGAIN.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wi-fi and options

By Livingston from Scottsdale, AZ on 03/07/2013


Pros:

Convenient

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The wi-fi connection is inconsistant. I'm disappointed it does not seem to allow for adding any services other than what is pre-programmed. If you can then I am not seeing any instructions how to and any software updates are not helpful. I would have bought another product for sure.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst player I have ever owned

By WorstPlayerEver from Chicago IL on 03/05/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality, Poor Documentation, Buggy, Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This player is a piece of junk. It cannot consistenly find it's own wireless adaptor, stay connected on the rare occasion it can find the adaptor, keep drives mounted, or play files. It seems like the software is only half finshed or something. Firmware upgrades as suggested by Panasonic make absolutely no differance. Retail DVD and BluRay discs have worked fine, but nothing else works correctly. Nothing! It was a gift or I would have returned this for a differant brand of player. I also will not ever buy another Panasonic product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no way!

By jennb from Undisclosed on 03/03/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this product for a christmas present to myself and and after 2 months and 5 dvds later it just stopped working. I dont know whats wrong with it ,maybe just defective. definitely will never buy a panasonic again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

TRY THIS TO SEE IF IT HELPS

By TryThisSolution from Upstate NY on 02/25/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After upgrading the firmware for this, it stopped working. It would say "Loading..." every few minutes. I was very upset. I went out and bought a different one. I got home with the new machine but decided to look for reviews for that before I opened it. Someone gave a solution for a similar issue. I tried it on the Panasonic player, and IT WORKED!!!! I was able to watch a 2 hour movie without interruption, or the "Loading..". THE SOLUTION THAT WORKED FOR ME: In the Network Setting, change the Default Gateway to 8.8.8.8 and change the Secondary Gateway to 8.8.4.4 IT IS WORTH A TRY. That default gateway is a free gateway. I was shocked that it worked.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy To Use

By Anonymous from Michigan on 02/23/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This player is easy to use. The remote has a button dedicated to Netflix which is nice if you access Netflix alot as we do. Also, this player was very easy to connect to our wireless network. And the player was not expensive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DO NOT BUY IF YOU WANT TO WATCH DVDS

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 02/15/2013


Cons:

Poor Quality, Randomly Labels Dvds As Wrong Region, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For the THIRD TIME ON 3 STRAIGHT REPLACEMENTS, my Panasonic BD87 has begun labeling random disks with "This player is incompatible with the region markings on this disk." In all of the cases, it played the disks out of the box, and then stopped working later. This third time, it did it on a brand new, bought today disk. DO NOT BUY THIS BLU RAY PLAYER. Go with a brand that works. This lifelong Panasonic user will NEVER buy a Panasonic product again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This player will not stay ...

By noflix from Undisclosed on 01/25/2013


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This player will not stay connected to netfilx at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SHOT IN LESS THAN 5 MONTHS

By bjgill17 from Vidor, Texas on 01/07/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Lan Adapter No Good, Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

LAN adapter no good from day 1


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dissapointed

By Anonymous from Colorado on 01/05/2013


Pros:

Features Would Be Great If They Worked Properly

Cons:

Slow, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Documentation, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Received this player as a Xmas gift. internet connection setup was a hassle. VERY SLOW every thing takes long time to do ex. press Netflix button Netflix comes on maybe 5 minutes latter. Very disappointed to find that advertised features ARE NOT INCLUDED NO Hulu! when a product advertises features on the box, in the manual and the website it better well be an included feature! The Blu-ray player worked fine but as far as multimedia goes this product is a piece .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very low quality

By Sadsack from Orlando, Florida on 01/05/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The menu is cluggy, it will not play divx or pm4 video files...wow what a waste


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very satisfied

By Frank from Houghton, MI on 10/19/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient, Inexpensive

Cons:

Slow

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this was cheaper than other comparable units, and, other than it being a little bit slow in the processing department, I am very happy with it. It also connects to a wireless network a little slowly, but it is never an issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor WiFi

By gary from fort worth, tx on 09/19/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Weak Wifi Signal

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Easy to setup out of the box. Menus are somewhat intuitive. Network connection was simple, however dissapointed to see only 1 to 2 bars of signal strength while my laptop, cell phones, pc only a few feet away are at 4 or more. At one point Netflix wouldn't stream due to connection speed. Moved player around some and with 2 bars seems to be streaming okay. Don't really want to relocate router and every thing else in the house to accomidate one blu-ray player. I'll see if it improves or it may be going back!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Freezes

By Iboughtone from Philadelphia MS on 09/09/2012


Pros:

Great Picture Quality

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product on 6 Sept 2012 and updated the firmware to newest version to have a fully functioning Blu ray player. Well what my family has been experiencing from this products is confusion and dismay. The player freezes up with a black screen on the TV and says bye on the display. It takse a very long time to load the blu ray disc. Other than these short comings the picture is top notch wow It almost appears 3d, the Avatar on blu ray will blow your mind with ths player. Panasonic needs to repair the frim ware update because it is a great player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worth the cost.

By Dave from Maine on 09/05/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Compact

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Poor Quality, Slow And Needs Rebooting Often

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hulu+ works with the new firmware update. Not bad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So-So

By Aaron from Somewhere, IA on 08/10/2012


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The remote is touchy and difficult to use. At this time there are no apps for Pandora (????) and Hulu +.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

RETURNED Hulu+ logo on packaging is misleading

By copperpenny from Arizona on 08/05/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Compact, Easy To Use

Cons:

Packaging Misleading, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased this product a our local department store to give our PS3 a break from streaming Netflix and Hulu+. There is a prominent space on the product's box that boasts the Netflix, and Hulu+ logos. This lead me to believe that this product supported those apps. The player was simple to hook up and we got started watching Netflix within minutes of it being out of the box. However, I did not realize until day 2 of owning the product that there is no way to watch Hulu+ (at this time). This was figured out after performing a search online for support and finding this webpage. This webpage states, "Hulu+ coming soon". There is no disclaimer stating this on the box. The Hulu+ logo on the box is misleading. I will be returning this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

mislead,deceived etc.

By birdie from ms on 07/15/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Convenient, Durable

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

loved it until we discovered no access to hulu+ returned


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

pandora

By JIMV from Hamden on 06/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This does not support Pandora like other wireless players. When will it happen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DOES NOT HAVE HULU, read the fine print

By JH from Undisclosed on 05/24/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Maybe I'd rate this higher if the sales staff didn't represent it as already capable of using HuluPlus. It seems that Panasonic has not updated this yet, and until they do, it is not as good of a product compared to what else is on the market. My concern is that Panasonic will never update it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Enough Options for Network!!!

By JohnInReno from Reno, NV on 04/22/2012


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

Only 4 On Demand Connections, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this player so I could hook it up to my wireless router without having to run a cord (it has wi-fi internet built in). While I was able to connect with relative ease, I was disappointed to see only 4 options for on demand, Netfilx, Youtube, Vudu, and Cinema Now. I have an Amazon account that I cannot use. on this so that is a waste since I use the rent it now option on amazon frequently. Also, the Netfilx is not set up the way it is on my other DVD player. I cannot find any way to easily search categories, tv series, etc. I really thought the FIRMWARE update would fix all that, but NOOOOO. You would think Panasonic could easily fix these things. Also, CNET claims to have problems with Netfilx on their highly recommended DMP player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I fell it was a good ...

By Diamon from wv on 04/17/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Compact

Cons:

At First, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I fell it was a good purcase good product the only trouble i had was not with panasonic techs they were very helpfull the problem i had was when netflix would not work not there nore panasonics fault i had to call my wirless company wont say the name they had me on the phone for 3 hours and charged 29.99 to do nothing but blame the other companys but after another hour they decided to do a refund after the locked my router up the next day hit netflix there it was worked great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Leave powered off after updates

By Pete from Undisclosed on 03/17/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Firmware Updates Are Not Smooth

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Worked great out of the box. Picture is awesome and the unit is easy to navigate around in. However, after loading the new firmware update the unit had heavy snow pixelation and the screen would blank out quite a bit. We had to leave the unit powered down for several minutes to get the issue to go away. Looking forward to watching many movies on it in the future. Not looking forward to more updates.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved