Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » DMPBDT220 » 80 Reviews

Panasonic DMP-BDT220 3D Blu-ray Disc Player - BD-R, DVD-R, CD-R - BD Video, DVD Video - Wi-Fi - DLNA Certified Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 80 reviews)

51% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Inexpensive (35), Compact (29), Easy To Use (34), Convenient (21), Exceeded Expectations (13), Durable (10)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (35), Poor Quality (16), Poor Documentation (12), Difficult To Use (17), Expensive (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

3D and 4K Pass thru

By Vetteman18361 from Visalia, CA, USA on 04/05/2015


Pros:

3d And 4k, Durable, Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this for our new 4K UHD TV, so we can watch our DVDs in an upscale 4K mode. So far, everything is perfect. I would recommend the BDT330 or the BDT360, if anyone needs a 3D and/or 4K pass thru filter for their HDTV or UHD TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Defective product

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 12/30/2014


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Where to begin...: The unit does not properly send DTS HD Master Audio signals to my receiver. Usually, there is no audio at all when the disk starts playing. Then, after switching audio tracks, pausing the movie, switching scenes, stopping the disk, starting the disk back up, or a combination of all of the above, the unit will finally, and randomly, correctly send the DTS HD Master Audio signal. Very disappointing since this is the only reason I bought this thing, i.e., to use an HDMI connection to send DTS HD Master Audio to my receiver whlile using the other HDMI to connect directly to my TV. The placement of the Netflix button is too close to the arrow buttons, thus it is very easy to accidently press the Netflix button, and then you have to sit through a few minutes of the unit launching the Netflix app before you can exit it and get on with whatever you originally set out to do. The unit freezes every once in awhile, which forces me to unplug the unit to get it to respond again. When I first set this up, the unit was able to connect via WiFi with my network but not to the internet. After I was able to increase the WiFi strength of my network, the unit was then able to connect with the internet -- so apparently this needs a really strong WiFi signal to connect to the internet even if the signal is enough for it to connect to your network.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product!!

By Ken-O from Lake Park, Ga on 11/25/2014


Pros:

Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Panasonic provides some of the highest quality blu-ray players on the market. This is no exception. The 3D looks amazing paired with my Panasonic PT-AE 7000U projector. The image quality is some of the best I have seen. I would highly recommend this blu-ray player to anyone looking to enhance their movie watching experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good Blu-Ray Player

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 11/24/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use and quick blu-ray player. Can be a little noisy at times and would freeze occasionally. I thin the latest software updates have fixed that but since I've gotten a new complete home theatre system I'm not using this one as much anymore.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DMP-BDT330

By HIVE from miami on 08/12/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Great Imafe Quality, Great Sound, Durable, Convenient

Cons:

You Will Need To Upgrde Firmware

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

superb sound a key feature for me after the 2 firmware updates everything runs clean and smooth great vale great price


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Must unplug and reset weekly.

By Joecarnivorous from Undisclosed on 05/25/2014


Pros:

Poor Button Design

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had my player for about 6 months and must unplug it and plug it back in once or twice a week (and sometimes twice in a day) because the unit stops responding to the remote or the unit buttons. The trouble shooting guide does cover this problem but I feel that my experience is excessive and will be returning this unit for a repair or exchange or possibly refund. Also, the Netflix button is in a location that is easily accidentally pressed when using the Up Down Left Right buttons taking you away from your task and causing you to start all over again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

reset player

By nickelhead from new jersey on 05/25/2014


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

you just can turn the player off,I must unplug it most of the time .and the 169 always hads black bars,if its on 4.3 i it turns my 60 inch to 32 inch,way ?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WiFi issues

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 08/01/2013


Pros:

Durable, Compact, Easy To Use, Inexpensive

Cons:

Sketchy Streaming Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Only problem I've had, and its a near dealbreaker, is the poor streaming quality. If I can get the player to connect to my 5GHz network, and it fails about 30% of the time, HD picture quality isn't guaranteed. The stream will hang, skip, or look like a videotape about 25% of the time. I have no problem streaming on my computer, tablet, or phone on the same network.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Read about it, bought it, used it, LOVE IT.

By Hank from Kazan, RF on 07/17/2013


Pros:

It Looks Really Cool, Easy To Use, Compact, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a casual TV viewer and an occasional movie watcher. I recently bought a new very upscale 32 inch LCD TV (not PANASONIC, I'm afraid) I wanted a new Blu-Ray player to feed it. Ido have a large collevtion of movies collected over many years and all on DVD so that is what I have played. I did buy one new movie on Blu-Ray disk, and frankly I do not see any great improvement over the quality of my DVDs. This player has preformed flawlessly. I find the remote to be well layed out and a good size. I have large hands so I don't care how big the buttons are, but I like some space between them so that I only push one at a time. Admittedly I am only a basic function user. I open and close the wrawer and I play and pause and stop the DVD and I use fast forward and skip forward and back. This player does all of these things quite wll. And it looks REALLY COOL. I am a retired Computer Network Engineer and I know that when you are talking about electronic equipment you should only talk about features and preformance, etc, but I still like stuff that LOOKS COOL.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brilliant

By A Nony Mouse from Yes. on 07/07/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The only issues I've had were from bad disks from Blockbuster Online. Can't expect this player to play a disk that looks like someone ran a disk sander over it, or one that is cracked from center to edge. It has a suitable selection of apps (Amazon, Netflix, Hulu, Vudu, two weather channels, Youtube, etc.). It plays well, sounds great. It doesn't make toast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no 1080p and 5.1 audio when using non 3D or DVD

By MMIGUY from WI on 06/25/2013


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use, 1080p Suport When Using 2 Hdmi's

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm convinced there is an issue with non 3D video watching when you are sending the audio using the 2nd HDMI port. Receiver (HDMI SUB) BluRay player (HDMI MAIN) TV And this happens; 1. 3D blu-ray DVD ----> 1080p/24hz, HD-MASTER 7.1 sound 2. blu-ray DVD ----> 1080i, HD-MASTER 7.1 sound. 3. Home screen ----> 1080i, FIRMWARE UPDATE NEEDED!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fairly Good But Needs Features

By Harley from Montreal, QC, Canada on 06/22/2013


Pros:

Mostly Excellent Features

Cons:

Needs A Playlist Feature, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I hate the placement of the NETFLIX button on the remote control, interefers a lot with remote usage. I hate that when playing seasons of tv shows on a dvd data disk usb stick etc, you must return home and begin the process of choosing video, usb or dvd etc, tv season folder, episode, in other words, there is no way to have a playlist. This makes for a not so pleasant user experience. I suggest they add a playlist feature or a Play ALL feature and Move The NETFLIX BUTTON on the REMOTE up away from the up / down arrows.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Upgrade

By Anonymous from Colorado Springs, CO, USA on 06/19/2013


Pros:

Fast, Convenient, Easy To Use, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Let me start off by saying that I have had many years of reliable service from my 42" px75U panasonic plasma and first generation panasonic blu-ray player. But with all of the enhancements in the new plasma tvs and faster performance of the latest blu ray players I decided to upgrade. I just received this new blu-ray player and so far it has been fantastic! Not only does it look great but performance is amazing as well. It took me less than five minutes to get it out of the box and playing The Hobbit 3D. The new interface is very simple and easy to use and online functionality worked without a single issue. It took me all of 30 seconds to sign into my vudu account and start streaming Prometheus. It buffered for about 5 seconds then played smoothly and the pictures were full of detail. So far I am very impressed!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Picture goes DIm

By KB0RAE from Pueblo, CO on 05/26/2013


Cons:

Picture Goes Dim Every 20 Minutes., Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Why am I the only one who has the problem of the picture going DIM every 20 minutes. I have the screen saver turned off but I have to click enter every 20 minutes to keep the picture looking good! This is my only complaint, but I will not buy another Panasonic product unless this gets fixed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dmt-bdt220

By tonyw from Portland. OR on 05/21/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Exceeded Expectations, Loaded, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the price paid, this machine does all that I've asked it to do. It also has many features built in that I have not got to yet. Blu-ray picture quality is excellent and DVD upscaling is as good as you'll find on any budget model. Good picture options control.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

too sensitive

By skj from Oklahoma on 05/14/2013


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Slow and rather confusing interface, no top menu button by which one can easily reach the DVD's menu, and, worst of all, its playback is too sensitive. Will not play DVDs tha are admittedly scratched rather badly but that my MacBook will play without incident. Need to build in greater tolerances.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smart Network 3D Bluray Disc Player

By merckman from Phoenix,AZ on 05/09/2013


Pros:

Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Durable

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very high quality 3D Bluray Disc Player. I encountered no problems with network setup or with playing 3D Bluray discs. I recommend this player to anyone looking for a high-quality 3D Bluray player that is easy to operate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for the price

By Ron from NC on 04/07/2013


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to hook up easy to use, bringht cleat picture from dvd, WIFI worked right out of the package. The controls could be a lot more intuitive


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By dpwrr from Undisclosed on 04/02/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Setup was easy for Netflix and streams without a glitch. Excellent product. Plays DVD's well. Havenlt tried a blu-ray yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great

By JEEP from USA on 04/01/2013


Pros:

Convenient, Durable, Compact, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I Purchased 3 of these players for xmas,all are in use in my home,easey to set up and use, Netflix works great every time unless Netflix itself is having isssues not players fault, Most negative issues can be resolved by getting help from tech support or a tech savey friend,and if you have a poor wireless network a million doller player wont work well, IF you don't know how to set up just ask for help!!!! Player dose really work well,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very buggy streaming

By Awwsammy from Undisclosed on 03/03/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Constantly reboots when trying to stream videos and is terribly buggy in all of it's streaming apps. It's fine if you are exclusively using it for a DVD player or rarely use the streaming applications for Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, etc. but if you are looking for something that you can use regularly for streaming, look elsewhere. Way more frustration than it is worth.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dont buy

By hea haw from mi on 03/02/2013


Cons:

Poor Documentation, Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations, Junk, Expensive, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

if you want to hook to internet, dont buy this unit. i'm on my third one trying to hook up. it will not work. pure junk


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great player!

By Pacman from Plano, tx on 02/10/2013


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use, Picture Quality, Inexpensive

Cons:

Wifi Starts A Little Slow.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of the best players on the market, especially in the budget marketplace. DVD up scaling leaves a little to be desired for the expert videophile, but otherwise a great picture. Bluray playback is comparable to high end players. Wifi does start slow but keeps pace once going. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this player if you're on a strict budget. Dollar for dollar the best player on the market.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible network abilities

By NoMorePanasonic from Florida on 02/03/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I do not even have enough room here to give a rev.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First Blu-Ray player

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/13/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far I like the player. initial NetFlix connection is slower than it is though our Wii, but once you get in it is faster. Have had a few Blu-Ray disc drop out a couple of times during movies for about 5 seconds, but comes back and is fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Player

By osmpony from California on 12/31/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Exceeded Expectations, Convenient

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Manual Could Be Better.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent picture quality. Nice feature set.. Quality construction.. Fast loading times.. excellent WiFi...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CANNOT PLAY OUT OF THE BOX

By Gavin from Undisclosed on 12/27/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations, Necessary Parts Not Included

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this Blu-ray Player online and gave it to my mom for Christmas. I was happy with the purchase until I opened the package and tried to set it up for her. When you open the box all that is included is the Blu-ray player, a remote, batteries, and an AV cable (to connect it to a power outlet). There is NO cable to connect the player to the TV. There is not an HDMI cable or a regular compenent cable. I repeat, you CANNOT use this Blu-ray player right out of the box! I suppose some people will already have an HDMI cable lying around, but my mom did not. This means that she cannot use her Christmas present and she has to wait until I buy a new cable in the mail. The box does not mention that you will need to buy a cable to hook the Blu-ray player to the TV, except in very small font in the corner. Very upset with this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Playing DVDs on this Device

By Anonymous from Lexington KY on 12/14/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have liked this Blu-ray Player overall, but the difficulty in returning to a root menu or submenu on a DVD is far too complicated and should be dealt with as soon as possible. There is a menu button on the remote control, so why doesn't it take you to the menu on both Blu-ray and DVD discs?!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Everything works well... ...

By Flick... from Boise on 12/04/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Everything works well... Issues with other customers is attaching to the internet...Home Theater Mag and CNET had same experience as myself...works great... I have a good signal and no issues...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

USB connection

By Rishi from Undisclosed on 11/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a 1TB Hardisk with 3 partitions done. I am not able to select the partition in this player. THe first partition is selected as default. In case anyone knows how to change partition, plz let me know


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product, lots of features that work

By Rob from Moorpark, CA on 11/21/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lots Of Features

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Every thing works as advertised. I used the wired internet connection option. Then upgraded to the new firmware. I have tested DVD & Bule-Ray playback, NetFlix, HuluPlus, VDU, YouTube & DLNA (to connect to a Windows 7 computer to play back HDV & view pictures).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Quality

By upset3d from Winston-Salem, NC on 11/17/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact

Cons:

Poor Quality, Poor Documentation, Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased to go with new 3d TV. Tried to play a brand new 3d movie and unit kept giving an error message "no disc inserted". The only dvd's it would play were old dvd. It will be going back to the store this week.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible Streaming

By C-Lo from Minnesota on 10/30/2012


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Great Blu-Ray player, but terrible media streaming. Netflix streaming is slow and quality is terrible. There is consistent black flicker. The first unit I had, the WiFi died within a week. Was replaced by the store where purchased since it was within 30 days... I wish I would have replaced it with a different brand when I had the option. Worst part... I bought 2 of these and now I'm stuck with them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CNET has been drinking the Koolaid too long.

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/19/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this based on CNET's review. I wish I had checked Panasonic's site first. I agree with most all the bad reviews. After 4 months of use the unit steadily was harder to connect to my network though I have full bars on the screen. CHAT reminded me to last week reset the unit to factory presets which I did via the remote control as they instructed. I set it up again, and temporarily it was ok. Now I cannot even do a factory preset as the B and Y button method doesn't work on my remote now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By Dunit from Sri Lanka on 10/03/2012


Pros:

Design, Easy To Use, Convenient, Inexpensive, Compact, Video Format Support, Built-in Wi-fi

Cons:

Subtitles Format Support, Viera Connect Apps

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is so great. i like the design, features, UI and also fast boot. Most of the subtitles are not working in this but in the other hand my 2010 viera lcd tv can handle almost all the srt files.I love the viera connect feature and i use it a lot. At the moment there are only a very few apps in it and i hope Panasonic is working on it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Firmware Update

By John from Bayside, NY on 09/18/2012


Pros:

Compact

Cons:

Needed To Wait For Firmware Update

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had same problems mentioned by other reviewers with Netflix. Box would lose the wireless internet connection. Had to turn off and on to reconnect to web. With this last firmware update, just days ago, problem has almost disappeared. Much improved performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Great Blu Ray player for the money.

By Justme from Greensboro, NC on 09/12/2012


Pros:

Decent Price, Easy To Use, Nice Features

Cons:

Needs More News Apps - Abc Cbs Nbc, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After reading some of the negative reviews, I'm really puzzled. If it was possible, I'd actually rate this unit at a 4.5. I'm not a High Tech guru, but in glancing at the instructions in the manual and setting the player up accordingly, then downloading and installing the firmware upgrade - I have had no problems at all. The WiFi successfully connected on the very first attempt. The unit communicated with my Panasonic plasma HDTV with no problems. The picture's great. Good sound. And not only does it play blu ray disks well, it does a great up-conversion of standard dvd's. In regards to Netflex, I was able to log into my account and start watching movies without any problem at all. I also connected to Youtube, in which the only problem I had was with Google. I had to confirm via my PC that I was going to let a new device access my account. After that - no problems. The only negatives I've seen in this purchase is: 1. The manual itself. It definitely could be written a lot clearer. However, customer support was able to answer any questions I had. 2. I wish they had an app for CBS News & NBC News - similar to what I have on my tablet. 3. When I shut off the unit, I wish it would automatically shut off my TV. I'd definitely recommend this blu ray player to anyone. It's a great unit - especially considering the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Player

By Middle Earth from Indiana on 09/03/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

None Found Yet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After reading some of these reviews, I'm mystified. First, it may be convenient, but WIFI is NOT a serious form of network communication. Use a wired connection! I've only had mine for a few days, but Netflix works perfectly, the firmware upgrade worked perfectly, and I don't see how anyone could consider this an expensive player. If I can offer any useful information, I'll report back, after more use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

disappointed

By na from Undisclosed on 08/29/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Netflix doesn't work on this player. If you are buying this to watch netflix you will be disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quirky, and WiFi Useless Ater a Month

By Don CC from Corpus Christi, TX on 08/20/2012


Pros:

Extremely Fast Disc Start, Compact

Cons:

Wifi Has Serious Issues, Poor Quality, Quirky, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Lots of cons and other quirks with the DMP-BDT220: 1. Ours ran pretty well with Netflix for about a month, then the WiFi totally died (no connectivity at all with Netflix or any other internet functions). Breaking power and performing a total reset did not help. The location didn't have ethernet cable wiring, so we eventually installed a MoCA (ethernet over coax) network and it's working again. However, the MoCA devices cost us as much as the player! 2. Sloooooowww to acquire an IP address on a wired network. Excruciatingly slow on a wireless network (when it worked). 3. Just a minor annoyance, but you can't go directly to Netflix or the internet from a disc. You have to press "Home" first. What were they thinking? 4. When you power on, if a disc is in the player, it insists on starting to play it. In my opinion, as a multi-function player it should start from Home, or better still, give you an "Auto Play" option in a menu - and default it to off! 5. When you remove a disc, it totally forgets where you were and starts from the beginning next time. Very disappointing...our old standard def player (another brand) "remembered" where we were on several discs simultaneously and would pick up right where you left off. 6. The disc menu button ("Pop-Up Menu") is inoperable on some multi-episode discs when within a minute or less of the episode end. VERY annoying! 7. We're using a standard 4:3 CRT television in this room, and the player insists on putting black bars on either side of standard 4:3 Netflix programs! Weird. 8. Remote is not programmable and can only be used to control Panasonic televisions. 9. Oddball location of "Power" and "Open/Close" buttons on top cover is inconvenient and results in inadvertent button presses when dusting or moving the unit. We really wanted to like this unit. As it is, however, we merely tolerate it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works until firmware upgrade

By jmo from Dallas, TX on 08/16/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Field Upgrade Execution, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Finally got through the arduous task of putting in our netflix information with having to guess where the cursor was. Tried to ignore the new firmware notices and just use the player. Was finally forced into doing a firmware upgrade. Sure enough after the upgrade, netflix no longer works. I am sick of this player and having deal with Panasonics poor execution of field upgrades. Again we cannot use our netflix and what use to work no longer does. This is a similar story to other firmware upgrades we have done.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I can't believe they are still selling this thing

By eb from San Diego, Ca on 08/15/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Who wants WiFi on there TV if they're not going ot use it for Netflix. I have the same problem as the rest of the people complaining about this junk box, "Unable to connect to Netflix. Please try again" I bought it based on the CNET reviews and others on the internet, but since the last the firmware update Netflix has been unavailable. Th Blu Ray player has been skipping on minor scratches and I have to finish watching movies on my PS3.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

With just a bit more this could have been great

By Samgirl from Tampa, Fla on 08/14/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Internet Connection

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Picture and sound are great playing Blu-ray, DVDs or Netflix. Typical wait on blu-ray upload (sorry panasonic the improvement you claim appears to be minimal). The real problem is the wireless internet connection. More times than it should, it will stop in the middle of a netflix movie and tell you it can't find netflix or the netflix connection is no good, etc. HMMMM but my Wii, Panasonic TV with wifi, my Roku, my desktop, my laptop and my parakeet with optional wifi (joking on that one) all get the wifi signal continuously (never a stop ever including during a hurricane) with no problem. Panasonic spend another couple of bucks and make your blu-ray great instead of just average.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible WIreless Product!

By Unhappy Purchaser from Tulsa, OK on 08/12/2012


Cons:

Do Not Buy This Product, Interest In Using Wif, Wifi Is Horrible, Difficult To Use, If You Have Any, Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

PIECE OF JUNK! DO NOT BUY. WIFI IS NONFUNCTIONAL


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lousy with Netflix

By FedUp from Undisclosed on 08/11/2012


Pros:

None

Cons:

Buttons On Remote Too Close Together, Poor Quality, Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations, Will Not Play Netflix

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this player mainly to stream Netflix to my tv. I have no problem playing Amazon Prime, but forget about playing Netflix, every time I have tried to play a movie it never fails that I receive the onscreen message "We're having problems playing this title right now....". I will never purchase Panasonic again. I don't trust their so call firmware update, as it was a firmware update that destroyed my previous player and forced me to have to purchase this piece of junk..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Firmware needs improvement

By TestDriveX from LA on 07/20/2012


Cons:

Youtube No Ff/rev

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I only wish that the youtube comes with fast forward and rewind function.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO Fwd/Rev on youtube

By Test Drive from Los Angeles on 07/19/2012


Pros:

Nice Id

Cons:

Netflix Slow Load Time, No Fwd/rev On Youtube, Firmware Needs Work

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Youtube cannot be fast forwarded or reversed, and Play and Stop buttons won't work, have to use arrow keys instead (does not make sense) Netflix load time is over 55 seconds


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Second Panasonic Blu-Ray

By djla from Los Angeles, Ca on 07/16/2012


Pros:

Convenient, Durable, Compact, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use

Cons:

Nothing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have a two yr old one that is great and so opted for the updated model for our bedroom. Bought the HDMI cable before the unit arrived so, I pluged the unit in, pluged the cable into the unit and then into the tv, (about 30 seconds), turned both on and in another minute tops the unit had found the signal and was totally operative. Can't do much better than that, I love it. Great job Panasonic!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Idea, Poor Execution

By SideRoads from Texas on 07/14/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Wifi, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I like the BDT220, however, keeps dropping the wifi signal. It has to be reset continually. You will be halfway through a movie and signal gone. It if continues I will cancel my Netflix subscription, and advise them that the inferior wifi on the Panasonic BluRay is of poor quality and unsatisfactory preventing acceptable viewing of Netlix movies. I'm not going to pay for a service I can't enjoy. The BluRay plays discs great. I'll buy the movies I want to watch instead of Netflix. I was unable to retrieve the wifi signal and followed instructions from another reviewer to reset the unit to invalidate last firmware update. Had to reset complete unit, but finally retrieved wifi signal and now viewing Netflix Movie. See what happens, now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing WIFI

By moto from Seattle, WA on 07/14/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Thought I was going to love this player based on it's CNET review, but I should have read more customer reviews before I bought it. As many others have noted, this unit plays disks quite well, but Netflix has been nothing but a big frustration. My internet signal and speed are excellent but Netflix movies freeze and rebuffer every few minutes no matter what I do. The latest firmware update did nothing. One of the main reasons I got this was for Netflix streaming and it is all but unwatchable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lots of problems with software and apps

By Jake from Fresno, Ca on 07/11/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This player has plenty of features but they do come with many problems. Slow application loading times, and random system restarts when I open an app are my two biggest problems. As a stand alone blu ray player, it works fairly well with fast loading times and good quality picture. If you are interested in a player with lots of stable apps, spend a little more and buy a better player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Apps

By Eric from Undisclosed on 07/10/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Player is a little slow loading apps, but it works. I would love if the Amazon Video App was updated with a link to my "watchlist", this is like Netflix instant que. You will want to browse for your internet video selections on your pc, as using the remote/b.r. player to browse is much slower


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

FIX YOUR NETFLIX PROBLEM

By TECfan1 from Fairfax, Virginia on 07/07/2012


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use, Great Remote, Convenient, Fast Start-up

Cons:

Can't Run Netflix, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just want to second everyone's comments. I have this device wired in to the internet and Netflix refuses to operate. It will not open Netflix. I can run any number of the other programs however I can't run the one thing I bought this DVD player for. On the plus side it does play blu-ray movies wonderfully and the start up is very fast. Nevertheless, this is the first complete bust I have purchased in a long time. I'm sure anyone reading this does their research on electronic devices. I also did my research on this device but wound up with a lemon. Bottom line: It would be a great device if Panasonic could figure out the Netflix problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Problem with wifi

By Sonasays from irving on 07/01/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact, Convenient

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations, Wifi Connectivity Problem

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Hi , I am not sure why CNET has given this blu -ray value of 2012 given that there have been so many complains for Netflix /Wifi connectivity. My problem started just after one month of use (so could not return to bestbuy ) ..while playing netflix after sometime its says cannot play this title ...try later ...to solve this you have to unplug this for few minutes and then it connect backs ... They need to do some firmware upgrade for this ....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great blu ray experience

By Anonymous from OC, California on 06/16/2012


Pros:

Compact, Durable, Picture And Sound, Inexpensive, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use

Cons:

Home Menu Can Be Confusing At First

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simply put, this the dmp-T220 gives an excellent blu ray experience. It's fast loading, the picture is superb, and the setup was quick and painless. It has both dts HD and Dolby true HD sound and you can use PCM or bitstream depending on the capabilities of your reciever to get best possible sound on your home theater. It is controllable with your iOS device through wifi. Wifi and streaming services are a nice extra perk and are very stable in my network, but blu ray is far superior to streaming when it comes to picture and sound which is why we buy blu ray to begin with.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value but not quality

By Barry from Undisclosed on 05/27/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Wireless Stopped Working, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I read several reviews before purchasing and thought the negative reviews were due to operator errors. I'm tech literate and found this unit to be difficult to set up. Once the wireless receiver found my network after several tries, in a week it dropped it and cannot find it again. I'm taking it back for a replacement. In every other way, it works well as described, but beware of the so called "easy setup".


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buyer Beware

By 6bears from Loveland, CO on 05/27/2012


Pros:

Compact

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The player does okay with BluRay discs, although I am not crazy about the auto start feature, meaning if a disc is in the player when you turn it on it automatically begins playing the disc rather than take you to the home screen. My biggest issue is with the so-called "Built in WIFI". I have a Linksys Wireless G 2.4 GHZ router and at first it worked flawlessly. However, we have owned the Panasonic DMP-BDT220 for less than two months and we can no longer use its WIFI features. We first noticed the problems with the Netflix streaming. Panasonic uses the login/password method for you to connect to Netflix instead of the activate code used with other products. Once you input your credentials, you are presented with a very nice layout of your Instant Queue, Recently Watched and Recommended. Unfortunately, YOU CANNOT WATCH THEM! When you choose ANY movie/TV show, you get the message "We're having trouble playing this title right now. Please try again later or select a different title." When I contacted Netflix about it, I was informed that this is a known issue with the T220 and they gave me Panasonic's Support phone number. Netflix also told me to ask for 2nd level support as first level would not be able to actually do anything to fix the problem. I did some Google searches and discovered that this has been a problem since early March 2011. This is now June 2012! I found that I am not the only one to have these issues. Isn't it ironic that Panasonic promotes the CNET "Best Blu-ray value for 2012" review, yet CNET had to issue an update after receiving so many complaints with the WIFI/Netflix issues?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product is good, Viera Connect is Lite

By TamPrim from Undisclosed on 03/30/2012


Pros:

Durable

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Blu-Ray disc features are great. However, Viera Connect has limited apps. Not all apps available on their TVs are available on this product. They should call it as Viera Connect LITE for this product. Giving the same name is misleading for the customers. The Support SIte is very poor, no No Direct Link to Viera Connect Apps. Have to click on one of their TVs and the link is way below.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good player, But....

By rirgross from Washington on 02/26/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Remote Contol, Cannot Use Skype, Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I like this player. I like that you can download new apps as they become available and it works well. HOWEVER, the remote control will not work with your TV (almost certainly) and you cannot navigate the menus on the DVD player without a remote. My wife changed the code on the remote (don't ask why) and we cannot reset the code because it requires a working remote to navigate the menus. I cannot believe that there are no buttons on the DVD itself to be able to navigate the menus. If your remote breaks (or the code gets changed) you are dead in the water. Also, you will NOT be able to use Skype on this DVD player. The only compatible camera is a Panasonic camera that A) costs more than the DVD player and B) is no longer sold. I would love this DVD player without these issues, but with them, I cannot recommend it to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quality Issues

By Twoegg from NIceville, FL on 01/20/2012


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Convenient

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As a Blu Ray player I am very satisfied. Excellent picture and sound quality and there are enough apps (Netflix, Pandora, etc) to satisfy me. The app interface is nicely done, but VERY SLOW! I didn't experience any issues with Netflix streaming (probably streamed 15 movies with zero hiccups!). It is very sleek and looks nice. Here's the problem. Less than a month old and the touch sensor is inop. It's not a huge issue since the open/close button still works, but less than a month old? Come on. I previously had a Panasonic player (also have a 50" Panny TV) and I've been very happy with them. Last month the Panasonic Blu Ray (2 yrs old) quit reading Blu Ray discs and now this one is having an issue after only a month. I am concerned about Panasonic quality. When I called Panasonic I was told to mail it to their service center. I figured with it being less than a month old it would be nice if they mailed me a new one and then I returned the old one. Bottom line: A lot of potential! But, seriously how hard is it in this day and age with processing power so cheap to make a product that has responsive menus and actually is quality!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect

By Bmacs from Commerce, MI on 01/20/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I read the CNET review of this model and went with it. I could not be happier. I did not have a single problem, the setup was perfect. Really enjoying some of the extra features like the Pandora radio and Amazon Videos. If you have an Android phone you can get a great app (Panasonic Blu-Ray) to control the system even better than the original remote.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost perfect buy be aware of limitations

By mike from Toronto, ON on 01/01/2012


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

Annoying Limitations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall, it's very good player and you'll enjoy many useful features (check the player manual as the specification here is not quite accurate) and outstanding quality. However, be aware of a few minor but pretty annoying limitations for such sophisticated software: - DivX and MKV: Successive play is not possible. (So if you have a list of divx on dvd or a shared network folder, you must push "Play" for each divx file. Note that somehow it can make successive play for audio files and even for Youtube videos!) - Not all USB Flash Drives are supported (e.g. it does not support my SanDisk 16Gb - no explanation why) - Does not support DVD-RW which is not finalized (all my previous cheap & simple players did it perfectly) - Does not support PAL (could be important for those who has DVDs made in Europe) This is what I found out after a week of using. Hope this is the only bad news and Panasonic will be able to fix it in the next firmware update. So far, DivX successive play is not possible is the most annoying limitation so I have to keep my old player. If it won't be fixed perhaps I will return this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Skype? but no camara available

By Chas from Texas on 12/30/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Skype Will Not Work Without Communication Camara

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

They brag about having Skype available on the blue ray player but the camera costs more than the player and now is not available for sale even through their web site. You might find one on eBay. Buy it for playing movies this is what we did. It's great for this we have enjoyed the high definition, great picture and sound. Maybe someday they will figure out how to use it for Skype, maybe with a web cam. That would be simple, and affordable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

posable geting better

By tkr from newlenox,il on 12/29/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

Working The Screen On U Tube

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

you know i look at a lot of blue ray and what get me is how slow the wifi is and the time to update and i have a wireless N roter and to look up on u tube make it hard to use the remote


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good buy

By Jimboesque from NY on 12/23/2011


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Picture Clarity

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great picture. Software is somewhat cumbersome, but not too different from the other major brands (I have 3 more BD players). Works well with my TV. Wireless works smoothly as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice product....

By Mike from Boston MA on 12/01/2011


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Easy To Use, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice product easy to use. Press red button and get right into Netflix, doesn't get much easier than that. Wireless network is a typical setup and allows for adjustment for flicker free playback. Even in high def. Optional lan connection. Audio is 100db high quality. Automatic bios updates. However Skype camera seems to be a problem (that it is not available) that should be rectifiable by Panasonic. great picture and audio quality. I use it with an av receiver 7.1 channel. asking price is fair. recommend this product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not meet expectations

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/16/2011


Cons:

Poor Documentation, Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations, Super Slow

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This blueray player has a good picture quality. unfortunately, that seems to be its only positive aspect. The software is very difficult and annoying. Navigating through this system's features is nerve wrecking. It is extremely slow, and it freezes often. If you use the search feature for netflix or youtube, be prepared to pull your hair out. there is no keyboard feature, so your keyword must be entered one.. letter.. at.. a.. time. Do yourself a favor; buy something else.. anything else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By isayitsallgood from Undisclosed on 09/27/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Great Features, Durable, Convenient

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This definitely met my expectations. I love the apps it has and more are coming soon so if it doesn't have an app that you want it will probably get it in the future, Netflix and streaming media work great, no problems in that area. The motion censer for the tray to open/close is kind of gimmicky but it works well. Of course the Blu-Rays look good but the picture quality is about the same with any player you get now a days. The only complaint I have is the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not powerful enough for the apps

By JR from Undisclosed on 09/19/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Skype Video, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This machine plays discs very well, but the included apps are sluggish and take too long to load content. Navigating in the Skype app is extremely slow and the video quality is very poor compared to that of a PC. If you need a 3D blu ray player this machine will work just fine, but if you want to use many apps then this machine has much to be desired.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOT HAPPY

By Frustrated from Florida on 09/09/2011


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the dmp bdt210 mainly because I wanted to use skype than I found out that I had to purchase a proprietary camera. I have looked for the camera and now I find out that the camera for this blue ray does not work very well. I cannot seem to find out if there is another way to access Skype using this player. This does not speak well for Panasonic Frustrated


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent player

By Mario from Canada on 08/01/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient, Exceeded Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Contrary to all the bad reviews, I found this player easy to cofigure and easy to use. Vieralink works fine with no problem with Netflix. I had no problem to bitstream movies in AVI format from my home network. This player is worth every dollar I spent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid player with apps

By Kurt from Austin, TX on 07/09/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Solid player. Boots fast. Runs well those apps which it has available. Not a large app selection, but has the basics (Netflix, Vudu, Amazon). Wish that it supported Facebook and FLICKR but oh well. Uses a lot of proprietary technology (e.g. Skype requires $250 Panasonic camera as opposed to off the shelf camera--seriously?)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed!

By jesnft from San Diego, CA on 06/18/2011


Pros:

Fast Bluray Disc Reads

Cons:

Poor Documentation, Netflix And Connectivity Problems, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Summary: From reviews here and on other sites (see CNET) for this product, it appears that you will have a 50:50 chance of having a problem with the product. Buying the product isn't worth flipping a coin. I am a highly technical guy and spent countless hours trying to understand what is wrong with the setup. I believe it runs deeper, perhaps it's an FPGA problem that affects updates and connectivity. I have has all PASSES with the network and then could still not update firmware. I manually loaded firmware and had Netflix work for a month and then the system wanted to update the firmware again...except that the firmware is current. So now Netflix nor do any of the other apps work. There are fundamental problems with the product! I am very disappointed with Panasonic...I have tried their products in the past...hoped for the best and they have failed me again. Don't waste your time with the product unless you are feeling lucky. Flip a coin! I wish you luck...you will need it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy if you plan to use for DLNA

By deedee from New York, NY on 06/08/2011


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am disappointed that Cnet gave this the Editor's Choice just because of it's supposed fast disc load speeds. I have other DLNA certified products and have been able to watch my MP4 files on them (I had to re-encode a lot that we're in that format, such as AVI). This device doesn't recognize MP4s. What a hassle for a device that's for present-day users.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Crippled and non-functional player

By Jojo from Toronto on 05/24/2011


Cons:

Poor Documentation, Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use, Does Not Do What It Promises, Very Poor File & Media Compatibility

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We're in 2011, and you would think these players would already have ironed the kinks, especially with regards to network connections. After all, one reason why you're paying up for this product is that the Wi-Fi is supposed to be built in. First off, after setting up the Wi-Fi with the encryption code, THE UNIT FORGETS ALL THE SETTINGS AFTER BEING TURNED OFF! So you have to re-key everything everytime you turn it on again! But more importantly, I have never been able to read any video file other than DVD & blu-ray discs; it would not read any AVI, DIVX or even MKV files on a network drive (DLNA NOT WORKING), DVD-R, USB key, SD Card, with the unit just giving the message "Cannot play file". How moronic is that in 2011?? THIS PRODUCT IS BADLY BUILT - DO NOT BUY!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Netflix Does not work on this player

By Texas Cop from Texas on 05/02/2011


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought a Panasonic TC-P55GT30 Plasma TV, Netflix streams fine from it. Have a Panasonic DMP-65 Bluray Player and Netflix streams fine. Just bought the Panasonic DMP-BDT110 today for 3D and tried to stream Netflix - Does not work. Everything is wired on my network. I can stream Pandora, YouTube, Amazon movies but not Netflix. I can see all my movies in my InstantPlay list, I can browse other movies but when I try to play, I get a message that your movie cannot play right now, chose another one or check back later. Netflix says it is a problem with the internal DNS to their streaming server which is different than the server you get your playlist from. Netflix connected me to Panasonic for tech support and after explaining the problem to them, they put me on hold and transferred me to Netflix. Just had to laugh at that. I would not purchase this player or the DMP-BDT210 (as it is the same player). Also, first thing I did out of the box was to perform a firmware upgrade over the internet. It loaded version 1.59.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very satisfied

By Michelle from Phoenix, AZ area on 04/04/2011


Pros:

Compact, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second Blu-Ray player; it replaced one that I had for about two weeks, and returned. The menu system took a bit of time to get used to, but once I did, it seems very natural. There are some features that I wish the manual had gone into more detail about; even with the brief explanations in the setup process, I had research some of them on line to understand what they are. I don't have a 3D TV, so the 3D features are wasted on me; it would have been nice to have a 2D equivalent of this model at a slightly lower price. I've not been able to find a source for the camera needed to use the Skype function, though. If it's on this website, I can't locate it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I've always been a ...

By Anonymous from Parker, Colorado on 03/28/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive, Convenient, Compact

Cons:

Instead Of Skype Or In Addition Of Skype Add Oovoo, Need Camera Included

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've always been a Panasonic fan forever. i keep waiting for the value and what i can get for the price i pay. this blue ray player has been great addition to all my other little digital gadgets i have. picture, sound, and ease of use are a plus. apps are limited to a few. facebook is big these days and Panasonic could have added it in this product but not a big deal for now. the only thing i am disappointed with is the fact that no camera came with this unit. i was going to be more than willing to pay a little extra, not the full amount for the camera but a bundle deal to get the camera too. of course Panasonic does not offer any discounted pricing here on this website for cameras either. so it will be a while before i get that. instead of skype, new service by the name of OOVOO is big now with great options and quality i hope i see that app soon on the product i have. wifi is easy to setup and works great. overall, i am happy and your money will not go to a waste. buy it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good and affordable

By Stick from North Carolina on 03/23/2011


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use, Wifi Built In, Inexpensive, Compact

Cons:

Need To Provide Some Cables

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Player is sleek, good design. WiFi built in works great wirelessly, why pay more for adapter and cables needed for other units. Disc playing performance is great. Panasonic's Netflix menu design is better than other dedicated Wifi player that I own. More Genre menus. The only flaw so far is that the Panasonic Net does not offer the number of channels that my other WiFi player has. Hopefully Panasonic will work with these other channels and provide an upgrade in the future. The manual is just about as simple as they can get it A lot better than the one with my Panasonic 2008 TV. Like always, the remote could have been a little bigger for my big hands . Really like the direct "hook up" button for Netflix. Sorry, have not used 3D. Do not have 3D TV. But when I do purchase one, I will look hard at Panasonic, have been very satisfied with my 2008 Panasonic 50 inch to date.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Bad for price

By Ajfisch from Undisclosed on 03/10/2011


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use

Cons:

Sound To Hdmi Fails, Slow Navigation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice little player for the price. Slow to respond when navigating through internet apps, sound through HDMI does not always work, lucky I got this model so I can at least use the Toslink Audio output. Hopefully future firmware will fix these bugs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved