Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » DMPBDT500 » 10 Reviews

Panasonic DMP-BDT500 3D Blu-ray Disc Player - Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD High Resolution Audio, DTS-HD Master Audio - BD-RE, CD-RW, DVD+RW, DVD-RW - NTSC, PAL - BD Video, DVD Video, MKV, Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 10 reviews)

60% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Difficult To Use (4), Did Not Meet Expectations (4), Expensive (4)

Pros:

Exceeded Expectations (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

great Bluray player that needs a little tweaking

By Panatechfan from USA on 08/08/2013


Pros:

Nice Looking, Outstanding Analog Audio, Excellent Video Playback, Durable, Audio Component Width, Fast Disc Loading, Excellent Build Quality, Has Disc Tray Not Slot Loader

Cons:

Cd Remote Track Access Should Be Direct, Buttons Need To Be On Front Not Top, Time Display Is Obscured By Flip Out Door, Touch Panel Remote Is Annoying

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First of all, this is a great Blu-ray player for both video and audio. I don't rate the streaming features, because the software guys keep changing what works and if you really want this, get a PC. This is not a computer. I also don't care about streaming. I want full rez, full frame rate discs. The picture quality is excellent as is the startup and navigation. Disc access is quick. The audio part is where this unit shines. Analog sound is outstanding, especially when connected to a high quality amp. CDs really sound great, much better than a conventional player or IPod. Digital is also excellent. Build quality is excellent, similar to the old Technics audio line. Solid. What could be better: 1. The time display on the unit needs to have much better viewing angle, when set above the TV. It is hard to read through the flip-up panel due to the brushed aluminum obscuring the time display. 2. Ditch the touch panel remote and use the BDT220's remote, which is good. The touch panel remote is plain annoying and more work. 3. Please, please, make all Blu-ray players' remotes have the ability to hit the number keypad and the CD track plays. No need for the TV to be on or hitting extra keys or menus. It should work just like a Technics CD player. Easy. Add CD playback features and I will pay extra. 4. This unit has a CD tray, which is one of the reasons I bought it. Ditch the slot loaders on the other models, as they scratch discs. Overall, a great player with a few annoyances, but minor and nice to see someone build quality, rather than cheap. Very happy with it. 5. No buttons on top. These should be on front, so stacking doesn't get in the way.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Great Player

By nick15 from Katy, TX on 04/12/2013


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Remote Touchpad

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had several blruray players in the past few years. Most functioning the same, but adding a feature or two here and there. I just figured that if you had a Home Theater System that what you got visually and with matching audio would just always be above the best. Sadly, after purchasing this player I was so wrong! I had no idea that Video and mostly Audio could be further enriched with this player and bottom line, it does! Oh, is there some tweaking that has to be done with the settings, why yes... Did the remote take a step backwords with the touchpad, yes. But, a good remote. I use a Harmony with my theather system so no problems for me personally here. I picked up another player for another older home theater and it did wonders for it as well. Listen, I can see why this player may not be for everyone that won't utilize it's capabilities properly. For me, it's an amazing unit that looks and sounds fantastic! The unit was well designed and is the future reference for other generations that would follow it. Hopefully not for some time to come...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Quality

By LBrize from Logan, West Virginia on 03/21/2013


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Excellent Picture, Quality, Features, Sound Quality

Cons:

A Little Not Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First, I would like to inform anyone who reads this that I did not have any prior knowledge nor real experience with Panasonic Blu-Ray players. Also, I researched, hard, to find the best player for my dollars. At the time this player was released, The Oppo 93 was out, and was only $100 more. I checked out review after review, and although many may think the Oppo would be the better player, it is, in fact, not. The BDT 500 is all around a better player. The audio outputs, D/A converters (for analogue), and audio features are top notch. The dual HDMI allows for connecting a tv and a projector simultaneously. Fantastic. Well, I won't go on and on, needless to say, I believe this player is the best deal in the current home theater market. Plenty of apps, plenty of features, and plenty of quality. Any negatives? Well, yes. I do not like the touch pad remote. Its the reason for my 4 stars on "ease of use." Similar to what is found on laptops, this slidie finger remote control thing is frustrating. If you read the reviews, they will say it is frustrating at first. Well, it continues to be frustrating, although the truth is, it is unique and it does work and, you may like it. For those who don't, download the remote control app for your smart phone and you can chose gesture based or standard type remote, so that's good. Any other negatives? Not really The audio outputs are a little tricky when using a Hi fi system and a projector, because the main HDMI will go to the projector, and the sub HDMI will go to your preamp/processor; which will then run to your tv from your processor. In MY setup (and this may be my pre/pro,) I have to use the function that turns off the video to the sub-HDMI output, and outputs audio only through that HDMI, while outputting video to the projector through the main HDMI, before I am able to get True HD, DTS HD, etc. Once you figure that out, everything works perfectly. Picture quality? Oustanding. Check out What Hi Fi magazine for a professional review on this player. Also, they tested the Oppo. they liked this one better. True statement. Before I purchased the Panasonic, I emailed What Hi-fi and asked the reviewer which one was the better player. He said he liked the Panny better. Why we haven't seen more reviews in the U.S. on this player, I don't know. One final note, this player also allows you to play your movies from an external hard drive. Many file formats are compatible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Awesome Blu ray Player

By Hector01 from Sterling Heights, MI on 02/08/2013


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Durable, Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best blu ray player I have owned from panasonic. Instructions are not that difficult to understand and very easy to hook up and get going. The negative reviews I have read are from non Tech savy people and their is nothing wrong with that...but don't bash a very good product and turn others away. As far as the streaming goes Netflix never looked so good and was excellent and when it comes to wifi there are variables that factor in. It is not the fault of the blu ray player it is normaly internet speed or how many devices is using the internet at the same time slowing down the speeds. This I know cause I work in the Telecommunications.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good features, not brilliant implementation

By grooveRegulator from London on 12/29/2012


Pros:

Direct Samba Drive Access

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this purely because I needed analogue outputs and I needed network ability. The good : Picture and Audio quality are excellent. Ethernet port is useful (my home network is all cat5e wired only). The rest : Remote control is a headache but usable. The DLNA streaming (using this unit as a client) is fine for audio, but a complete non-starter for video. I don't believe I have managed to play any video files from any DLNA server (I have a few DLNA servers on my home network, XBMC, Twonky on QNAP none work. This is widely reported in other reviews). The Direct (SAMBA) network drive access is good for SD and lower bitrate HD movie files. I think the maximum workable bitrate this unit can manage for combined audio and video across a wired network is approx 9 Megabits. Full bitrate bluray files can be up to 40 megabits per sec so generally only "compressed" blu ray rips will be playable from the network. Playing full bitrate blurays from a local USB connected drive works fine. Some "features" such as 24p etc are only available when playing actual discs. User Interface is OK, I don't have any other bluray players to compare it with but I suspect its about average. If all the features worked as they should, eg full bitrate bluray via DLNA and/or SAMBA then it would be the best bluray player on the planet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

don't buy if....

By dissatisfied from Undisclosed on 12/26/2012


Cons:

Poor Documentation, Difficult To Use, Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations, Expensive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Do not buy this unit if you want reliable networking. Do not buy this unit if you want a remote control that actually works. Do not buy this unit if you want a menu structure that is clear and easy to navigate. DO buy this unit if you only desire good quality disc playback, and are willing to pay for many other features that are very poorly implemented.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DNLA Networking Functions Poor..

By fotobug from Madison, Wi on 11/26/2012


Pros:

Good Sound Quality

Cons:

Expensive, Did Not Meet Expectations, Unable To Stream Mp4 Or Mpeg2 Video From My Pc.

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

One of the primary uses for this player for me was to access my music/photo/video files on my PC thru the DNLA home networking function. To my regret, this unit and all other Panasonic units will NOT stream MP4 or Mpeg2 video formats from the PC. "They" say you can do that from a memory stick or attached HDD. So, if they can read those files from a directly attached Stick/HDD, why cant they read it wirelessly streamed?? Come on Panasonic, get with the program!! The other manufacturers do this easily, even with their entry level units.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Last Pasansonic

By Dissatisfied from Undisclosed on 11/20/2012


Cons:

Expensive, Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use, Poor Quality, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This will be the last Pasasonic product I will purchase. The streaming is unreliable at best. Unfortunately, I am 2 weeks out of the warranty period for the retailer where I purchased this unit. Had I anticipated such a bad streaming device, I'd have saved a lot of money on a cheaper Blu Ray player and purchased an A TV instead. Also, the menu interface is simply not good. The remote is the worst joke I think I have seen. A touchpad remote that doesn't sense when you touch it? Or give any feedback so that you know that you did indeed enter a command? Really Panasonic??? I should have believed all the reviews I read. Well at least I won't be making the mistake of buying a Panasonic product again. This review will probably never be seen by the public, but at least the censorers will hear my rant.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad read files from USB. ...

By Alex from Ukrenian on 10/07/2012


Pros:

Convenient

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations, Bad To Use Usb

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bad read files from USB. Bad USB port to use. Not read meny Disk witht USB.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Player

By ASH from Holliston, MA on 05/13/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Vudu 3d Compatible, Netflix Dd Sound, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just upgraded from the DMP-BDT350, another excellent player. The new player has an improved interface and a better integration with Panasonic TVs. The best feature is it's excellent high quality 7.1 analog feature for people who have non HDMI Legacy receivers. The other great advantage is it can play VUDU 3D movies unlike the 350 and Netflix plays with DD sound. Overall an excellent and highly recommended player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved