Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » DMREZ28K » 21 Reviews

Panasonic Dmr-ez28k Dvd Recorder Atsc Tuner Hdmi 1080p Up-convert Sd & Usb Slot Black (dmrez28k) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 21 reviews)

61% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (9), Difficult To Use (4), Poor Quality (3)

Pros:

Easy To Use (4), Inexpensive (10), Compact (7), Exceeded Expectations (4), Durable (4), Convenient (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Beautiful Playback

By EZ Bob from California on 12/14/2010


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Occasional Power Down Required

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had this for about a year, gorgeous playback, reliable recording, lots of nice functions. Very happy with this unit, was just searching to see if they still made this, because I was thinking of buying another. There are some minor bugs, can't get the usb to work, tried several thumb drives, not important to me. About every week or two it locks up and I have to turn the power off at the plug and re-boot. There is a bit of a learning curve, but that is to be expected in such a piece of equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great price, [...]

By Bobh Verified Reviewer from NY. NY on 09/07/2010


Pros:

Simple Controls, Fast Setup

Was this a gift?:

No

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Best Uses:

Home, Archiving Tv Shows

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have used for over two weeks and have not had any problems. Works flawlessly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Bad But Needs Improvement

By Hedgeclippers from College Park, MD on 08/05/2010


Pros:

Convenient

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This isn't too bad a dvd recorder and I actually have three of the same model. One works just fine and has only had to be reset once. The other two had various issues like one with the door that wouldn't open and before that needing to reset the machine fairly often. The other machine that I bought used and I think was damaged during a storm wouldn't recognize the tuner on the unit and you couldn't see anything on it at all. I thought I might buy some parts from Panasonic to repair the units but was hit with too high a price tag for just a little board. So if it goes bad unless you really love the unit it is better to throw it away than keep it too bad too as they were nice units,hopefully the part price will go down. As for other issues I too have had problems with the disks becoming unusable after a while but have also found that these disks are very easy to scratch so it may not be entirely the fault of the unit. Ever since I have had the disks and noticed how easy the were to scratch I have been very careful with them. I also wish that there were an eject button as my Panasonic DVD player does but really need the exercise anyway so that really isn't a big issue. The channels being slow to go from one channel to the next though is very annoying especially when you are in a hurry trying to do a last minute recording. Also it could come on a bit faster and as someone has already pointed out it is slow to start up and again an issue when you only have limited time. Even with the little annoyances though I still like this unit and would buy it again as I like how it records.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jury's still out

By Hector from Central PA on 05/31/2010


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had an ES30V since 2005 and it's performed flawlessly. Setup on this new unit was simple as the basic steps were the same. HOWEVER -- the EZ28K won't recognize all my digital channels I can see on my TV, even though I've scanned several times. No idea why. The lockups are frequent -- so much so that I often record the same show on both units as insurance. The HD recording on DVD-RAM is great, though. Picture and sound are both done well. I just can't give this unit high marks due to the frequent lockups. If you're patient with reading the manual it will serve fairly well as a everyday recorder but the software needs an upgrade.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reliable, Great Up-Scaled Playback

By Steve from Harrisburg, PA on 05/07/2010


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Durable, Convenient

Cons:

My Wife Is Too Impatient For The Power-up =)

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Power up is a little slow and the menus are not the easiest to navigate, but once you've learned your way around the player it is GREAT. It is reliable. Recording and playback quality are fantanstic. I've compared upscaled dvd playback to cable HD programming on my 1080p television and there is no discerable difference between the two.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor editing capabilities

By BW from Texas on 04/21/2010


Cons:

Expensive, Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had an old unit that died so I purchased this one to replace the old unit. However, this unit does not really offer any kind of editing capabilities. This is the number one feature we want to have for this kind of recorder so people can record then edit the recording such as shortern the segment, get rid off the commercials, etc. Sometime, the unit will freeze for no reason and I have to reset the unit. When fast forward or rewind the programming, it does not show the time on the display. Panasonic was one my favor brand and please put back these features on the new unit through some kind of software or firmware update.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor recording capabilities

By Ron from Brooklyn,NY on 04/20/2010


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this unit as a replacement for a Panasonic DVD recorder I simply wore out.I enjoyed editing & recording TV shows & movies.This machine is definitely inferior to the old one.It is slower in its responce,it doesn't allow you to edit a recording.(On the navigator-sub menu it says "edit recording but when you go there it will only allow you to edit the title. You can DIVIDE the recording,but you can't edit it.Misleading info.On the Edit Name function,it just gives you ability to print across one long line of 42 characters.The previous units allowed you to see how it would look in the final rectagular box.(Or Panasonic would send you software to update for this.)You can't do it with this unit.And finally,it has a tendency to freeze up when you're entering data.You must disconnect the unit from the power source and wait about 30 seconds to reboot & start over.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs an up-grade

By pilotga from California on 03/19/2010


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Tuner Is Slow With Channal Selection

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product works well when it works. The issue I have with this unit is why have a Digital Tuner that can receive HD channels when avaliable, but you have to deal with the old Analog inputs and if you bypass the analog inputs and go RF-in to HDMI-out, the Digital Tuner only can capture some HD broadcast. I understand now that's not the fault of Panasonic. I do have a suggestion, provide a HDMI-in for recording, sence most cable boxes have HDMI-out, and the upconverting to 1080p works best for pre-recorded DVDs and if you record in HD contect .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not As Good As My Old E20

By Bill from Undisclosed on 02/14/2010


Pros:

Durable

Cons:

Display Is Poorly Designed, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

***Note: It was difficult for me to give an accurate number rating so don't look at it without reading this review.*** I rarely write reviews for products but I felt this time it was necessary. I have a Panasonic DMR-E20 I bought many years ago. It has worked very well and I was very satisfied with it. When it finally died and was time to get a new DVD recorder I had no doubt about buying Panasonic again. Unfortunately, the EZ28 fails to live up to the E20 and it was made EIGHT years ago! First of all, there is no 'menu' button on the remote. If you want to get to the menu of a disc you have to press a 'sub menu' button and then scroll down to menu and then press 'OK.' That's too much tinkering. But I can live with that. A bigger gripe is the display. For one, there is no audio level. The E20 had right and left levels. I miss them. But even a bigger let down is when you FF, the counter disappears! It displays T2 or T10, or how ever much you're fast-forwarding instead of showing the hour and minute. When you use the still mode the word STILL replaces the counter. Why they chose to do this is beyond me. It makes no sense. And another thing about the display..... the chapter number is not indicated. All of these were present on the E20. Now, the video quality is great, as it was on the E20. But had I known these other changes were made I would not have bought this unit, so I cannot recommend it. Unless they will not matter to you, then go for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

big step down from DMR-ES25

By belwayne from Undisclosed on 12/15/2009


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the EZ28 after my ES25 drive crashed. I was so disappointed that I bought a new drive for the ES25. Does not maintain original channel after scheduled recording. The ES25 put scheduled recordings on first priority. The EZ28 will take any excuse not to record. God forbid that you leave the recorder on when a recording is scheduled to take place. I use both recorders with a sliding door to enable remote to work on one at a time. I leave the door closed to the EZ28 so that my scheduled recording might hopefully work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Affordable DVD recorder that works

By sjkc from San Diego, CA on 11/15/2009


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Needs Some More Features

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This device works as a DVD recorder as an upgrade from the VCR with the successful transition to digital TV from analog TV. The benefit of this recorder includes a digital tuner for the price, has many input capabilities, HDMI output for ease of connection, fairly good upconversion to 1080p, records onto many DVD formats, and fairly easy to understand. This device is NOT intended as a digital tuner upgrade for analog TVs as it is EXTREMELY slow to switch between channels. The issues I have with this device includes the fact that the remote lacks an eject button, the remote lacks extensive control of the TV making it fairly useless as a multi-device remote, the DVD recorder freezes once in a while when faced with unsupported video formats with few user friendly remedies to reset the recorder (ie hold the ON button for 30+ seconds, hit the reset button with a paper clip, or unplugging the device completely), the player doesn't play MPEG format files, the SD drive and USB drive doesn't read media files ( only JPEGs ), runs hot and with quite a bit of noise during operation from the weak single fan that is mostly exposed at the back of the machine, utilizes quite a bit of power while in standby thus making it warmer than usual and should not be in close contact with other electronics, and slow start-up time. Overall the machine works well as a simple replacement for the VCR in this digital age and not a DVR (ie TiVo). There are a couple of upgrades that I hope Panasonic could have made to make this device even better. 1-having multi (5) disk loading/storage capability to increase the memory available to make the machine more similar to a DVR and reduce the need to ever having to exchange discs, 2- a better scheduling menu/software, 3-a better remote.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The one thing that I find ...

By whazuh from Undisclosed on 10/29/2009


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The one thing that I find is that they shutdown a lot, we have several machines doing recording. Other than that it works just fine for the use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good recorder, but has quirks

By Santone from San Antonio, Texas on 10/12/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

1) If it is recording two programs back-to-back on different channels, the begining of the second program will not be recorded. 2) When the unit is on, the time is not displayed on the front panel. 3) DVD-RAM is the most versatile format to use, but I can't seem to find blank discs locally. (Granted, this is not the fault of the recorder, but it's a hassle nevertheless.) Otherwise, the unit works well and seems a good investment. It was easy to install and there have been no technical problems with the recorder so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I HATE THIS THING

By MATT from HIGH POINT NC on 10/07/2009


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I HATE THIS THING. IT IS ALWAYS MESSING UP. WE HAVE HAD PROBLEMS SINCE DAY ONE OF BUYINGING IT. IF YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT BUYING THING DONT DO IT SAVE YOUR MONEY!!! JUNK JUNK JUNK


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By Chris from Kansas City, Mo on 09/14/2009


Pros:

Durable, Convenient, Easy To Use, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have had no problems with this product. It's does what I bought it to do. I use the timer recorder for tv series every day that is for my husband to watch when he is on the road as a truck driver. Found no bad issues with this product. I absolutely love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Freezes many times

By SE from Florida on 05/22/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Sometimes it is slow to change channels, especially when going from digital channel to analog channel. (but we won't have to worry about that for very long) Still it will freeze, give me disc errors and lock up to the point that I have to unplug the unit and/or reset the unit with a paper clip. I've owned other Panasonic units and have been fine. This one for some reason has flaws. If it didn't lock up on a regualr basis this would be a great unit. I'd buy more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Ready for Prime Time

By Jeff from Salem, OR on 04/11/2009


Pros:

Compact, Looks Good, Dvd-ram Media Is A Bargain On Web Site, With Price Discount Code From The User's Manual., Handsome Remote

Cons:

No Output Volume Control!, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The picture is great and DVD upconvert looks fantastic as does record. Electronic Program Guide is useless, only works for next show on current channel. My DTV converter box has a much better EPG for cheap. Display defaults to time remaining on disk, not current channel! I use this unit for my 32" LCD TV that lost its sound (bad EPROM), so I also use a 2.1 PC subwoofer & speaker set. There is no output volume control on the remote, just for TV, but mine does not work! So if you have only a monitor, you must get up to change the volume or buy an expensive home theater receiver and add another remote! PANASONIC - PUT OUTPUT VOLUME CONTROL BACK! It will add less than $1.00 to unit cost. My vintage VCRs and a 5 year old DVD-DTV Tuner from another maker all have output volume control. Power button is above DVD tray and eject button is on opposite side! No eject on remote! You must eject movie to watch TV too. On screen channel display comes on randomly during TV or movie. Channel up/down is slow and unpredictable. I wanted a single unit to provide a Hi-Def ATSC broadcast TV source with recording, but this unit needs to be part of an entertainment center stack. So I am building a Media Center PC to be my single entertainment source. If all you want is a DVD player that can record your favorite show, you will be very happy with this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to Use

By Engineer from Springfield, OH on 04/10/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Convenient

Cons:

Channel Display Flips

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Features intuitive. A joy to operate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awful

By SMR from Jacksonville, FL on 03/25/2009


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This machine freezes on a regular basis. This then requires you to reset the machine and wait. It also take a long time to turn on and switch channels.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GOOD DVD RECORDER

By FASV from MIAMI on 02/28/2009


Pros:

Compact, Durable

Cons:

Freeze Frequently

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I OWN TWO DIFFERENT DVD RECORDERS FROM PANASONIC. I WOULD CALL THEM " PERFECT" EXCEPT FOR THE BAD HABIT OF FREEZING AT THE MOST INCONVENIENT TIMES. A LITTLE ALMOST INVISIBLE BUTTON MUST BE PRESSED WITH A FINE PEN OR PENCIL. ANNOYING.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice product loaded to the gills with feature

By Steve from Wichita Falls, TX on 10/09/2008


Pros:

Compact, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive

Cons:

None Yet

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I still own two panasonic VCRs from the early 1980s and the will not die. I owned several Panasonic sterios with the Panasonic Thruster speakers and would give anything to find a set of them again. Thanks for the fine products I've never been unhappy with any purchases!! I don't think I'll be unhappy with this DVD Recorder and the up-conversion is ggrreeaatt!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved