Home » DMREZ47VK » 79 Reviews

Panasonic Dmr-ez47vk Dvd Hdmi Recorder / Vcr Combo Hdmi 1080p (panasonic Dmrez47vk) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 79 reviews)

30% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (20), Convenient (20), Inexpensive (11), Exceeded Expectations (10), Durable (9), Compact (10)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (39), Difficult To Use (28), Poor Documentation (16), Expensive (22), Poor Quality (27)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Don't waste your money

By Tampa from Tampa, FL, USA on 05/30/2015


Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I spent over 6 months reviewing various devices that would play DVDs and VHS tapes and had the ability to record. I liked all the features of the DMR-EZ47 and finally purchased it. I have never been able to use the remote control meaning that with fresh batteries in the remote control the LED never has lit up. I was having to press the limited amount of controls on the device itself. I did do the firmware update and there were no changes in the remote control functionality still did not work. The DMR-EZ47is just being used as a VHS and DVD player that I have to get up to start and stop a movie.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Panasonic Needs to Improve

By sam from Leimert Park on 03/28/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Requires Frequent Resets, Requires Clock Resets, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have a new and a refurb model They don't recognize RAM discs any longer and both units have to be reset several times a month, sometimes several times in a week. They both lose time and I have to reset the clock at least twice a month. I don't have cable. The recording quality is ok. Fortunately my remotes still work fine. As for Panasonic, I am amazed that they have done nothing to improve upon the 'brains' of this model so that these frequent failures become less frequent. For this reason alone, I will not buy another Panasonic product. I don't trust their engineering or quality control.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Second Purchase - Poor Choice !!??

By JWR from Gloucester VA on 03/26/2012


Pros:

Convenient

Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My DMR-EZ48V is the SECOND Panasonic dual VHS/DVD recorder I've purchased. The first (nearly identical DMR-35V) stopped recording DVDs and wouldn't recognize any format of DVD recordable discs and sometimes wouldn't answer the remote or even open the drive to retreave discs. We ended up buying a new model (EX48VS) that turned out to be just a newer model of what looks and acts like the older model - mainly because of price and the very few choices of VHS/DVD recorders of any brand. After ONLY 4-months (bought before Christmas) the new model stopped recording DVDs in nearly the same manner as the other. Won't recognize a new disc and once it can't find or format a disc, the disc functions cease to work at all. Just now starting the process to seek repair / replacement for the new one! Spend a little more and get something that'll last longer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bOUGHT TWO UNITS AND BOTH ...

By TAKEN from HONOLULU on 03/23/2012


Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

bOUGHT TWO UNITS AND BOTH ARE DEFECTIVE. NO CONVENIENT REPAIR SHOP. NOT SATISFIED WITH PANASONIC QUALITY OF PRODUCT


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like it

By Eustis from New Mexico on 03/08/2012


Pros:

Durable, Convenient

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased mine in 2006, so it looks like the newer model and probably has been updated/upgraded. It works well, records well from tv. I have yet to transfer a vhs tape to dvd, which is why I bought it so I could get rid of the vcr tapes, but still plan on doing so. Up until about 6 weeks ago, it worked great but now the remote control doesn't work the machine. I got another one and it doesn't work either so I suspect it is the machine and not the remote. Have had several Panasonic items including a Lumix camera that I really really like.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Read the fine print before purchasing.

By Jimmer from Portland, OR on 03/06/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Quality, Expensive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have to admit, i'm not the most savvy when it comes to electronics, so i did a lot of research. I guess i didn't do enough because it may say HDMI, but it doesn't record in HDMI. My recordings look fuzzy. If you are into sports, you can't read the letters on the back of their jerseys.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Performance

By DLS from Oklahoma on 02/16/2012


Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations, Expensive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The unit only lasted 5.5 months before a complete failure. The unit just sit in constant diagnostics all the time. Cannot remove tape or DVD. I will never purchase a Panasonic item again after this experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best of the DVD Recorders and many Extras !

By Gman from Los Angeles on 02/07/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Pass Through Technology, Convenient, Better Quality Recordings, Ez Settings And Adjustments, Exceeded Expectations, Sd And Usb Inputs, Durable, Ez To Set Up Recordings, Large Buttons On Remote

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned many DVD recorders since first on the market back in 2002. The Panasonic offers a few smart things to the mix. I do like the superior quality of the unit, its clear, crisp images, ability to record on all formats of discs, flexibiity to record, and a great remote control. The only unexpected missing item was the eject button not on the remote. But after using the unit and remote, I guess Panasonic was concerned that while the recorder was still in use, there could be malfuntions if eject were accidentally on the remote. The inputs for camcorders, USB input, SD reader, many outputs are great to have for a variety of devices. Having the built in tuner also is important and vital in todays ever changing technology. There is pass through ability as well, when the unit is shut off, the signal continues to go to the TV. Im quite happy with this well thought out product and when I read dismay from some users I immediately understand that they may not be as tech savy or may not have read the instructions. I am glad to have made this purchase with yet another fine product from Panasonic. Lastly, its great to have the ability to copy VHS tapes to DVD with ease. Thanks Panasonic !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Subpar when compared with other Panasonic products

By Say no to soda from California on 01/14/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Unreliable Recorder, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I like Panasonic and I have lots of Panasonic products at home, and no doubt this one is disappointing. I'm not happy with the picture quality. I haven't yet figured out how to get it to pick up time from cable signal. But the worst of all is its lack of reliability - it could freeze! I bought it for my wife to record evening news. She hates it. Now I turned to Media Center in Win7. It's much more flexible and capable. But reliability is still not perfect. Sometimes the PC could still fail to wake up to perform recording.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs a hard drive

By Bee from St. Louis, MO on 01/03/2012


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, No Hard Drive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

A Blu-ray recorder-player with a hard drive, cable-card slot, and internet-connected capacity would be ideal, but the HARD DRIVE is what this recorder-player is sorely lacking.We want to be able to record tv shows and delete them routinely as well as have the option to record on dvd disc. We want a stand-alone machine that both play and record, access the internet, and can record cable and OTA programs on both hard drive and on physical dvd disc. Why is this offered everywhere but the US?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs Updated Codec

By Kaicanoe from Kailua, Hi on 12/28/2011


Pros:

Gr8 For Watching Avi From Thumbdrive, Convenient

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the unit because I use it mostly to view DivX, Xvid, & Avi movies from the USB thumb drive that I plug in. The picture & sound leave something to be desired, but, is viewable & listenable. However with flv, mpeg4, and the like available, I cannot play these on the unit & enjoy them on my TV, Panasonic should be able to set up a firmware to install that will read these files. I've asked, with no response. For that, I gave it a 1 for Customer Service. The newBluRay players show a full picture & very good sound on the TV from the avi files. Complaints about not keeping time can be solved by hooking up the TV input jack on the back to cable, & setting the VHS channel to PBS. Mine is Channel 10. It now keeps time within a minute of my DVR Atlantic settop. Original usage was to transfer VHS tapes to DVD's. Also to copy TV shows to DVD. Now, the main game is watching internet downloaded movies from my thumb drive on the USB slot. Come on Panasonic, get some better usage out of your products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

purchased two recorders. ...

By tommy from denver colorado on 12/20/2011


Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

purchased two recorders. both failed in the same manner. while using the remote the unit froze and would not respond to any commands. could only power down by unplugging from the power source. after plugging it back in the unit would cycle through an initial start-up and then power down. also, while stepping through the channels, the video would terminate mid-range. ugly !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SET UP

By JOHN from Undisclosed on 12/12/2011


Cons:

Poor Documentation, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought a DVD Recorder DMR-EZ485Vquick setup guide look at the connection A,B or C did not mention about HDMI cables w/ cable box call 3 times i was told 3 difrent ways to set it up i will return it real soon i did just bought a great Panasonic TC-PS DO NOT BUY the DVD RECORDER!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad clock and sound

By sm from Undisclosed on 12/09/2011


Pros:

Features

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations, Expensive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Needs a better clock (loses 30 seconds a week). As far as the sound goes, I have to turn the volume way up to hear anything. The clock problem is inexcusable, and because of this I mostly do not use it unless I want to record a DVD or if my other VCRs (both of which are Panasonics, considerably older, and have none of these problems) are busy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DMR-EZ48V

By Fed up with digital t.v. from Undisclosed on 12/02/2011


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Turn It On It Takes Forever B4 U Can Do Anything, Expensive, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For the price, I expected a better piece of equipment. You turn the recorder on, and it takes forever for it to boot up to where you can do anything. It doesn't even show you how much time is left on dvd's when you're watching them. My pre digital t.v. units booted up quickly and they would show how much time was left on vhs tapes or dvds. While watching dvd's, the unit will flash up a little box showing you that you're watching a dvd - duh! Sometimes, it will pop up repeatedly. Is not very user friendly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Older models are better

By frabrit from Austin Texas on 12/01/2011


Cons:

Atsc Tuner Does Not Work Well, Worse Than Older Models, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have an earlier version of this item but it only has a ntsc tuner, so I bought this one because it has a atsc tuner. The atsc tuner on my Panasonic Viera TV gets 16 beautiful HD channels. Imagine my consternation when I found that the atsc tuner on this new version recorder will only pick up two channels. The tuner is terrible. Also the new item is "tinny" versus the older solid one. It takes a long time to start and it clunks like a 1928 ford pick-up while starting. The older one was so very smooth and really terrific. I would still keep this new one IF it had a decent tuner, but it does not. Panasonic, try harder please.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ease of Use

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 12/01/2011


Cons:

Poor Documentation, Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Let's just say I am taking this unit back and getting an EASIER one to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gets a lot of use

By cjs from Hagerstown, MD on 11/22/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient, Compact

Cons:

Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this because I still do a ton of taping - usually 10-20 hours a week from Turner Classic Movies. I tape on VHS and this machine works great for that. It still has the tuner which few machines have any more. I use it to play dvd's but it has problems with some - such as the Warner Archive dvd's that TCM advertises. I recorded just one dvd and that worked fine. I have not used the usb or sd card portions. I actually bought 3 of these so if something happened, I would have spares but so far (knock on wood) I've been using it heavily for over 2 1/2 years and no problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not a hope

By rob from canada on 11/10/2011


Cons:

Poor Quality, Expensive, Poor Documentation, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

bought not even 2 years ago have to cross fingers if it will even play a dvd have gone thru one mother board before 6 months were up lucky had warranty for year. after repair worked great but this time think im looking somewhere else sick of freezing up half time cant rely on it to do anything Unless u like stills off your movie will never bye again


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3 Years of Finger crossing

By Pete from Philadelphia Area on 10/12/2011


Pros:

When It Worksit Does Well.

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Well, I've had mine for 3 yrs now and still can't get it to work at all with Dual Layer DVD's. I never know when it will hang-up, fail to format, go into self-check mode, etc. It will not read (or format) new, pristine, Verbatium DVD+RW. Worst manual I've ever seen. Tried to install firmware up-grade...you guessed it! Still don't know if its because of CD-R I burned up-grade to or what. That being said, I will give-in and request an RMA # and SEND IT BACK, and MAYBE PANASONIC WILL MAKE IT WORK!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A improved Panasonic recorder

By olmanmoz from Largo FL on 09/24/2011


Pros:

Is Compatible With Majority -/+ R & Rw Blank Discs, Can Record Up To 8 Hours, Inexpensive, Major Improvement Of Stability On Vhs Deck., Easy To Use

Cons:

Still No Eject Button, Remote Buttons Are Oddly Placed Like On Dmrez37vk., Still Can't Record In 16:9 Like My Old Jvc Dr-mv1.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having prior experience with [1] new and [1] refurbished DMR-EZ37VK this latest model is a definite improvement with the added SD card slot & USB port which are the features I haven't tried. It finalizes and formats a bit faster, some new settings, quiet operation compared to the previous models I've owned, the VHS part is much more stable then before and the dvd loading tray makes a bit of noise upon opening/closing but not as much as the previous DMR-EZ37VK. Ease of operation makes for pleasant recording experience. Highly recommend for the recording enthusiast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bring back the hard-drive

By Nick-san from San Bruno California on 07/27/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have a Panasonic VHS/Recorder (DMR-EH75VP-S) that I've been using for over 5 Years with no problem at all. I've been looking to upgrade but after reading all these bad reviews I think I'm going to stay with this recorder until Panasonic starts making one with a hard-drive. The Panasonic hard-drive recorders are the best and it's a shame they are no longer available. Thanks to the people who wrote the reviews for passing on the problems with the new recorders.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bought two of these units

By Samantha from Los Angeles CA on 07/26/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought 2 of these units, one new and one as a refurb. I bought both the year that we went 'digital'. There are annoyances with both units, most of which have already been mentioned in the other reviews. I basically have to use the 'reset' button on each unit at least once if not twice a month. I have missed shows because the units failed to record or did not turn off after the last recording. I don't have cable so everything is via broadcast and the reception for the most part is satisfactory. The manual is very detailed and explains most everything if you just take the time to read it. The biggest annoyance is that neither machine will read RAM discs any more and that was my primary reason for purchasing these units. However, I have learned to live with that annoyance as well. Eventually however I will move up to a DVR with a hard drive and call it a day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Dog Ever

By Bamagator from Undisclosed on 07/26/2011


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Difficult To Use, Junk

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

People the critics on here are so right sorry I bought this dog it is slow can't copy disc correctly poor quality cheap garbage pass this dog up


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

junk recorder

By kaijuverse from michigan on 06/21/2011


Pros:

Compact

Cons:

Expensive, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

the 1st unit i bought was way over priced but the only thing available to do what i wanted to do . after a few months most of the functions stopped working and nothing i could think of would fix the problem . finally i went looking to replace it and wouldn't you know it , i get another panasonic dmr-ez48v and at 1st , everything worked that i needed to work until a few months later . the problem being that the only cable tv channel that can be recorded manually or threw scheduled timer recording in Mtv . i don't even watch Mtv so why is it stuck there ? i change the channels and the numbers change but the only thing i see is Mtv . is this even fixable ?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Totally Frustrated

By Fanatic-Recorder from New York on 04/03/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Convenient

Cons:

Always Has Problems Reading Discs, Expensive, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just purchased my 4th recorder and only because I need a recorder that comes with a TV Tuner. For the most part I do like the product but I have expierenced the same problem on all three units. After a year or two the unit will not reconize any disc. I have tried re-setting it numerous times and the player is claen. However it still says Can't read disc or No Disc. I record TV programs basically everyday and maybe that's part of the problem. But the main reason I bought a dvd recorder is so I don't miss my favorite programs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Purchase Ever.

By Mike from California on 03/21/2011


Pros:

Prograsive Recording, Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Durable, Inexpensive, Easy To Use, Compact

Cons:

Clock Is Working Slow

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased 2 years ago, still working great, Recentely purchased same refurbished model to keep as spare one. Also Purchased from web site DMR_EH 69 with 325HDD has lot of features too. (NTSC/PAL) Both are easy to use and also yu can record on double layer disc too.Panasonic Products are great rearly needs service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sporadic Reliability

By Engineer in Kansas from Wichita,KS on 03/18/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient

Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This recorder was purchased in Aug of 2009. Initially the unit played and recorded DVD-RW very well. It's a little slow on start-up, but other than that easy enough to use. After 18 months it has become erratic with recordable media. The recorder makes a grinding noise and does not recognize discs half the time. Sometimes ejecting the disc and reloading it will resolve the issue temporarily. Even brand new DVD-RW cause issues. Since the item was out of warranty I opened it and inspected the DVD recorder unit and found it clean with no obvious wear or other degradation of the mechanisms. The unit appears well designed and built so the problem is a bit of a surprise. Purchase with caution and consider the extended warranty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

more aggravations than with other units

By South Jersey from kansas city, mo on 03/14/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Channel Changer Has A Mind Of Its Own, Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use, Timed Recording Not Reliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i have been video recording since Feb., 1981, I have used 25 recording units (VCR or dual deck) before I bought this one. I would say: Does not have finalize option on remote or screen Finalize given as an option when the disk is about to be ejected - under certain conditions. Forces chapter break at about 8 minutes, not able to turn off or adjust this feature Uncanny ability to lose a new time recording entry just after youve set up all the information Cannot un-finalize a recording Takes WAY to long to power up or turn off, and whats with all those 00000 displays? Cannot simply eject a disk, got to do all sorts of foolin around in the background Powers itself on and turns itself off at various times for reasons unknown. Has tendency to take a disk recorded on another device (including finalized ones) and make them not playable. If a time recording has a problem, shuts down without recording any portion of it. If unit is on and its time for a scheduled event, does not automatically start recording, nor does it warn you of the timed event Scheduling timed recordings is a hit or miss, usually works but not guaranteed first time/every time. Drive select takes way too long to pass thru a whole lot of silly options youll never use, and too bad if you fly by the option you want cause you got to work your way thru all of them once again. Goes in to unit self check for silly and unnecessary reasons, and takes forever As to the remote: Does not have eject button on remote Buttons too close together, particularly the directional arrows are way too close to direct navigator, schedule, and functions and skip/index, rewind, and forward Buttons not laid out logically. Should have reverse, play, forward in one and the same row Channel change arrow up or arrow down unreliable, unit may decide to head for a channel that you passed on the way to the channel that you want.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustration from day one

By Ainu from Salem OR on 03/02/2011


Cons:

Poor Documentation, Did Not Meet Expectations, Terrible Clock, Expensive, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Who can make a modern machine with a digital clock that cannot keep time?Panasonic. Unit comes on to record at preset time but counter stays at zero and nothing is recorded. Manual is totally user unfriendly. Why did I keep it? I purchased two (man cave and family room) and one still keeps plugging along. Often have to RESET to get a timer recording set .. then don't know if it is going to be on the disc or not. Do like being able to title recordings even with it being a time consuming drill.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Creates a DVD chapter every 1 min & 15 sec

By Jeff from Undisclosed on 02/28/2011


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I own several Panasonic DMR-ES46V units, a predecessor of this unit. I bought and returned this unit, they cheapened it up. The deal breaker for me was it created a chapter every minute and 15 seconds in the DVD Flexible Record mode vs. every five minutes. It's ridiculous and annoying to have 48 chapters an hour. Deal breaker for me -- long after the machine's history I've have annoying mega chapter DVDs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DMR-EZ48V

By PR from So. Calif. on 02/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have this one: DMR-EZ48V which I use just for copying video from my Dish DVR. I also burn DVD's from the VHS feature. Both features work just fine. Like any 'computer' you have to get comfortable with it and how it works. It is not a 'point and shoot camera'... it takes some getting used to. Yes the manual also takes some serious studying.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I"m happy

By Ollie from NH on 01/29/2011


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Generally happy with product for my purposes - easy to copy my old personal VHS recordings to DVDs and enjoy scheduled recordings to watch when convient for me. Wish there was more detailed info in the manual, although what is presented guides me thru most things I want to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

F-60 Error Correction

By Dave from Olathe, KS on 01/28/2011


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Found if press up & down channel buttons at the same time and hold for 15-20 seconds, it will reboot the software and start the unit over "like new" again. That action corrected my F-60 error code & I hope it helps yours!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best there is!

By Ray from Huntsville, TX on 01/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have an older version of this unit and it has been the best and longest lasting unit I have ever owned. I have wanted to purchase the update unit but it has been on back order for over 5 months now and really would love to purchase one. My current unit is showing a F60 error and if I can't get this new unit I will have my old one repaired.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have had this unit for ...

By Jimmy from Utah on 01/23/2011


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this unit for quite sometime now and love it. It records great digital over the air programs which when played back are unconverted and are near HD quality. I have had the same problems listed as others but since I've learned how to use it, I wouldn't give it up. Its a great unit but takes a while to learn what it can do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I PURCHASED AN EARLIER ...

By RON from TONAWANDA NY on 01/19/2011


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I PURCHASED AN EARLIER VERSION OF THIS RECORDER & LIKED THE EASE OF USING IT.I PURCHASED MODEL DMR-EZ48VK TO REPLACE A JVK THAT I WAS NOT SATISFIED WITH & DEFICULT TO USE & SET UP .I LIKE BOTH MY PANASONIC DVD RECORDERS & AM TRYING TO GET ONE FOR MY BROTHER TONIGHT . I USE BOTH UNITS DAILY RCORDING TWO DIFFERENT CABLE CHANNELS PROGRAMS THAT ARE ON @ THE SAME TIME OF DAY ; WORKS OUT AOKAY. RON


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very poor design. Unit ...

By Chief from Philadelphia, Pa on 01/04/2011


Cons:

Expensive, Very Poor Design, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very poor design. Unit freezes up and has to be reset by unplugging. Very slow to boot up. Tuner has very poor sensitivity, must have strong RF input to function properly. I would not buy from Panasonic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extremely dissatisfied. ...

By Frank from Bronx, New York on 01/02/2011


Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations, Unpredictable, Very Tempermental, Grinding Of Gears

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Extremely dissatisfied. Constant malfunction. Constantly shows 'disk incompatible' even when I reset everything or when the unit freezes. Very disappointed. I expected more. Recording when it does happen is good. But too unpredictable. Unit is less than nine months old. I will not buy a Panasonic again. Also, when I record or finalize there is a constant grinding in the unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor written instructions

By Me from Toms River, NJ on 12/24/2010


Cons:

Poor Documentation, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had a perfectly fine VCR but had to switch to DVD-R due to national digitalization. I have an HD TV but was told by my cable company that I will lose all reception soon unless I get a converter box. VCRs cannot record digital programs from the converter box. Had no trouble hooking up the unit but written instructions were no help to program Set Up to function with my converter box. Tech support was very competent and explained things in a way I could understand. Turning the unit on is very slow. I just purchased the unit, but, it appears by the instructions that I will not be able to record one program after another on two different channels without losing the beginning part of the second program. It takes alot of time just to schedule recordings. I have to program my tv to change the input to video 1, then program the DVD-R. When I want to watch the tv I have to reprogram input back to cable. So unlike my simple VCR.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustrating/

By JW from Madison WI on 12/19/2010


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have two of these units, both are extremely slow to tune in a channel. They get "lost" if you change If I change channels too quickly. Units freeze up constantly. On numerous occasions timer recording has inexplicably failed. Now on one unit "no read" displays constantly and dvds are unusable. (record and playback) No mute or previous channel buttons on the remote. This thing is mediocre at best. Save your money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Many Problems

By NotHappy from Undisclosed on 11/24/2010


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This Player has many issues including loss of audio that requires unplugging the unit to get it to work again, Does not handle scratched DVD's at all, Locks up, which requires the unit to be unplugged, Gets lost in channel changing at times,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharpness Issue

By Al from Undisclosed on 11/22/2010


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased two of these units and neither has the sharpness I expect of a high definition product. It is as if there is a missing sharpness control.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very frustrated

By Anonymous from Foristell, MO on 11/07/2010


Cons:

Frequent Lock-ups, Difficult To Use, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The software in this unit is extremely buggy. It freezes frequently requiring resetting by holding the power button down or unplugging. Changing channels can be challenging at times. It is also very intolerant of weak TV signals. A weak signal on our PBS station is especially apt to make the unit freeze. Very frustrating!! There is not enough space here for more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Bad Product

By RD from Oxford, MS on 10/27/2010


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Has Operational Bugs, Difficult To Use, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've been through an original unit and THREE replacement units and they do not work properly. After one or two times recording they freeze up, won't operate, and the DVD drawer will not open. This product has serious bugs. Don't buy it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad dvd recorder

By rey16 from Undisclosed on 08/08/2010


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Documentation, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

the unit was working slowly, i updated the firmware & bingo stoped working, not the best panasonic product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Buy

By Never Again from New Jersey on 07/28/2010


Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After almost 1 year this product stopped working and was repaired under warranty. 1 year later it stopped working again. This is unacceptable to me and I wouldn't buy from Panasonic again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good VCR/DVD Recorder

By Chotu from Tampa, Florida on 07/11/2010


Pros:

Compact, Dvd Always Records Good, Convenient, Durable

Cons:

Expensive, All Features Work Only With Ram Disk., Difficult To Use, Software Problems Had To Update It.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love it , but I wish all features would work with all disks and not only with RAM Disk. Nobody sells RAM Disk and most people dont even understand it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Concept, Poor Implementation

By Dual from Denver, CO on 06/15/2010


Pros:

Inexpensive, Great Input Selection

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Panasonic really hit the nail with this one. It has all the inputs that I needed to convert everything I have and it translates digital tv. I have an older tv and vhs tapes, and Hi8 video. This DVD Recorder does the trick! But the menus are tough to navigate, scheduling is bear, and the recorder just freezes periodically - as if the software gets confused. I have to pull the plug! in order to reset it. Oh, ...And changing channels takes a long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very disappointed

By Unhappy from Chicago, IL on 06/13/2010


Cons:

Expensive, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

System freezes often which requires it to be unplugged. Very slow operation. Menus are not user-friendly. For the price, I expected a lot better performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Crashes a lot, more as time goes by

By Mort from Portland, Oregon USA on 04/16/2010


Pros:

Convenient

Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It was a good idea but from the beginning this thing would become completely unresponsive and only pressing the "reset" button would restore any operation. As time goes by, this "crashing" happens more and more often -- often twice in a single evening. It can't be used to record anymore as it will nearly always mess up, crash and leave an unusable disk. Tried a newer firmware but that has not helped.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good hardware, bad software

By bousozoku from Richmond, IN on 03/12/2010


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use, Broken Software

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit mostly because of over the air DTV broadcasts and to record tv shows for later viewing. Setup was simple and the quality of audio and video are both quite good, including the recordings it can make with DVD-RAM. The remote control seems to work fine, though response is sluggish. From here, it goes downhill. Some combination of keys on the remote control causes it to power off. Certain behaviours cause it to think that the DVD is damaged and it's far too helpful, wasting 5 or more minutes while it "recovers" from the problem. I suspect that the device's software was tested in the most minimal circumstances. Does it play a DVD or VHS tape? Yes, but don't ask for anything unusual.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

slow, can't read dvd's,& turns off all the time

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 03/02/2010


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Won't Play Dvd's, Difficult To Use, Expensive, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Don't buy this! This is the worst electronic device I have ever bought. It is extremely touchy and won't play half of the dvd's put in it, that my other dvd player will. Shuts off constantly by itself. Turns on extremely slow and channel changing is a nightmare! My husband and I have wanted to throw this out the window so many times; but we paid a arm and a leg for it and can't afford to get a new one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Device I Ever Purchased

By EddieTheTech from Perth Amboy, NJ on 02/18/2010


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations, Expensive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this device because I wanted a VCR/DVD combo device that could record digital TV and also transcribe my old VCR tapes to DVD. Well, when it works, it seems to work just okay. The main problems are 1) it CONSTANTLY freezes up even when it is OFF. I know it is frozen because the clock time does not advance. Pushing any of the buttons on the front does nothing. I need to pull the power plug out of it almost any time I want to use it just to get it to power on. 2) the digital tuner is EXTREMELY SLOW at bringing in the selected channel, and you can not advance the tuner quickly or it might POWER CYCLE the unit on you. 3) Start up time is not quick, so if you want to record anything, allow almost a minute from the time you press the power button to the time the unit is actually ready to do anything. 4) The unit refuses to open the DVD/CD tray at times. Need to power cycle, or worse, pull the power plug out. This is actually my SECOND unit, and both units do the exact same thing. I have updated the firmware and still the problems exist. As someone who holds an advanced degree in my field expertise, I suspect the issues stem from either a processor that is to slow, defective or slow internal memory, a bad implementation of Linux (if that is what it is using), or just a really poor internal design. And no amount of firmware updates will fix any of that. My advice, stay away from this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Purchase Ever

By Chris from Clevealnd, OH on 02/18/2010


Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I trusted the Panasonic name and thought that this unit would be well made. It stopped working after six months. I am extremely disapointed. I would not recommend this unit to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It does its job

By tlc from Toledo, OH on 02/12/2010


Pros:

Excellent Quality Of Recording, Durable

Cons:

Expensive, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My reason for purchase is limited. I intend to use it as a DVD player, and VHS to DVD copier. The pictures of the result of said copying is very good. Old home movies recorded 20 years ago look almost as good as original - even without using XP quality record. A T-120 tape recorded at 2 hrs. will contain on one DVD with almost same quality as tape (maybe even slightly better). There are two problems. The first is the manual. It is very confusing to understand. I can understand the reviews complaining about the TV copying to DVD as I would guess the problem is in the instructions. The second problem is the claim of DVD to VHS copying. That is not always true. A DVD copy that has been 'finalized' in this machine cannot then be copied back to the VHS. I discovered this when making a 1 minute erasure in my original VHS tape. I then tried to transfer back the missing video and was not able to do so. Their help line is very good and responsive to questions. They identified the error 'this disc is not available for one-touch recording'. Even though I haven't tried this... a disc recorded that has not been 'finalized' probably could be written back to the tape. But then again, it makes you wonder how other DVD recorded material could be transferred to VHS tape.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DMR-EZ485VK DVD Recorder

By vyau from Florida on 01/22/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Convenient

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The unit is easy to use. Connection is easy too. Quality is excellent. One problem, cannot watch TV while recording, needs to shut off the recorder for recording and there is no reminder while you watching TV. Only enable single recording, cannot record multi channels at the same time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very disappointing

By Lucy from Central New Jersey on 12/28/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We purchased this unit because it had all the features we were looking for: digital tuner, DVD recorder, VCR to DVD recording, and DVD scheduled recording. The functions are great, the system stinks. The unit hangs from time to time and needs to be rebooted. When analog signal changed over to digital signal, it worked for a while, but slowly stopped receiving channels over our antenna. Now tonight the unit is DEAD. Won't power on, no matter what I do. I'm packing it up and shipping it back to Panasonic while it is still under warranty. Maybe I'll get one of those units that the other reviewers say work so well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ouch!

By drknow from NYC, NY on 11/12/2009


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation, Expensive, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

An incredible amount of my life has been wasted on this poorly designed, ill conceived, troublesome unit. It has frozen 7 times in 10 months. Needs to be reset to factory defaults to restore functionality which then requires more time for reprogramming. Manual is poorly written. Clock /timer loses about 1 minute per week and needs to be reset-even the "let time be set automatically " function is faulty. What's that about? I can't really speak of the quality of recording or tuning or up-scaling because I am so frustrated that I haven't had extra time to actually use the unit after so much troubleshooting. Today it goes to factory repair, and if it returns with the same problems, I will demand my money be refunded.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor reliability

By Maxey from Las Vegas on 11/03/2009


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Expensive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased *two* of these units (I do a lot of recording), and *both* died within a matter of months, exhibiting the same failure: When the unit powered on, the machine tried to read a disc in the drawer (there wasn't one), then the machine's display went black and nothing happened. Neither unit could be reset, using the "pinhole" or the power button, totally DEAD. I have purchased Panasonic video recorders since 1979, and they always performed well and over several years. The last one I bought was at least six or seven years ago, and STILL WORKS WELL. For TWO recorders of the same model to fail in the same way after only a few months' use indicates a serious problem. HIGHLY DISAPPOINTING.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

it great

By great thing from new york city on 10/25/2009


Pros:

Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Convenient, Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i love this thing start up time is so fast i get it to play divx movies free just download divx movie to usb memory card no divx movies to buy it has a good pictures


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

VCR Frustration

By The Old Man from Fort Worth, Texas on 10/14/2009


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The VCR will not record a digital signal, so why have it? With basic cable, some kind of converter box for digital to analog is required only for the VCR, but not for the digital DVD recorder. This complicates the setting up process. Why can't you build in a digital to analog converter in the VCR part of the unit?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nuts

By harry from Undisclosed on 10/11/2009


Cons:

Difficult To Use, Expensive, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

at first recording was tough but finally worked. now no matter what disk used , it will not record.. soon i will take a hammer to it and never purchase a panasonic product again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Purchase Ever

By littlegrandma from WI on 09/18/2009


Cons:

Expensive, Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased a new Panasonic DVD Recorder DMR-EZ485V, I am finding that I can not always record to a DVD, have tried several different dvd's and the recorder doesn't always work. Cannot format the disks because I can't get to the menu to format. Certainly wouldn't recomment this unit to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DVD+R not letterboxed

By Ronholog from Scranton PA on 09/02/2009


Pros:

Compact

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Of all the good things this unit provides, the one totally wacko part is that Widescreen conversion to the 4:3 480i for DVD recording (not DVD-RAM) is horizontally compressed instead of Letterboxed. I'm pleased to have DL recording capability - though I'd have to check with some DVD Geeks to see what the Layer 2 signal looks like - I'm glad to have the extra capacity without extra compression. I also do dubbing from VHS via a Proc-amp to clean up tape noise, so the longer documents will fit without changing to LP or XP. I'm looking forward to transfering DV from a couple of video cameras in the Raw format.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DVD

By Ezra from Howell, Michigan on 09/01/2009


Pros:

Convenient

Cons:

No Off The Air To Vcr, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Outside of big holes in the manual. The fact that recording off the air to tape is not possible! We are happy so far... I have called for support twice and they are very helpful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love This Product

By Anthem from Henderson, Nevada on 05/27/2009


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Durable, Inexpensive, Easy To Use, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second one I have bought over the last 3 years. I now have both the old one and new one. My older one is still in great working condition and we hooked up the new one with our new Panasonic TV. I love the ease in working it, the on screen directions, and the wonderful tech people at Panasonic. I have recommended this products to several friends and they love it as much as I do. Thanks for producing such a great product at an affordable price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What I Expected

By Russ from San Diego, Ca on 04/16/2009


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit to replace a VCR. I use DVD+RW disc and record at the LP setting which gives me 4 hours. Using the DVD+RW allows me to reuse the disc as a VHS tape, but the quality of recording is much better than a VHS. No tracking to deal with as you do with a tape. The set up was easy. Programming is as easy as a VCR. The reviewer that complained that the unit did not have a hard drive should have looked at the specs. I knew what I was buying (no hard drive). Quality play back of DVD movies is excellent. I've had no freeze up issues, but I have recieved the U99 error. If I shut the unit off and than back on it goes away. With my old DVD player there were occasions when I had to reinsert the disk to get the player to read the disk, so the U99 error is no different. Overall it's everything I wanted and works flawlessly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works well with verizon Fios

By Lee from Landsdale, PA on 03/21/2009


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Slow To Start

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This unit works well when directly connect to the Verizons Fiios. I can pick up tv and music channels.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Clock Problen

By Clock Problem from Houston on 03/07/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient

Cons:

Bad Clock

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the second one I've purchased in a year. Both have an unusual (minor) problem. The digital clock loses time, about 1 minute a week. Digital clocks are bullet proof, go figure. I really like the usb connection. It recognizes Fat 32 format. I can connect an external hard drive and watch 200 different avi movies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No room to store recordings

By theslamdunkking from Illinois on 02/24/2009


Cons:

Poor Documentation, Did Not Meet Expectations, Expensive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this thinking I could record to a "hard drive" of sorts and then either delete or record them to dvd. I would only record a few hours worth of recordings and not numberous shows as I had hoped. I would not have bought this item if I knew that was the case. Also, when turning it on, it takes forever to load up and a long time to put in info.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Freezes Up

By Frustrated Reviewer from Undisclosed on 02/20/2009


Cons:

Reset Regularly, Slow Selection Response Time, Bad Software -freezes Up, Difficult To Use, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The low ratings are low due to the units slow selection response time and continued freezing up. Unit must be unplugged to reset. I've had the unit 7 months. I would not recommend the unit at $0! A unit w/ all the features is useless if the unit doesn't work properly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So easy to setup

By Ronnie from Southport, NC on 02/09/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

None So Far

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This will be the first DVD/VCR that I have ever owned that the clock is not blinking 12:00 and the channels are all auto programed. Thanks Panasonic for the included HDMI cable that was included. It sure made things easier for me :-) I'm a senior citizen and not real high tech


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Fix for Reset! Reset! Reset!

By TV Truck Fanatic from Orlando, Florida on 02/06/2009


Pros:

Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I first set up this product, it did the same things that "Reset! Reset! Reset!" spoke of in his review. I was ready to pitch the machine in the trash. Then I decided to go back to formating 6 hour discs instead of 8 hour, and the machine has worked OK, so far. For all of those having Freeze Up problems, try going back to formating your DVD-RAM discs at 6 hours. Two things I do not like: 1) Editing is slow (you must wait for the chapter pictures to appear) and 2) the "Phrase List" is gone from the editing area. The Digital Tuner is the best feature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

return

By azn from sacramento, California on 12/21/2008


Pros:

Good Price, Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

play back of DVD was good. When powering the unit on, it took more than 30 seconds before the DVD door open, you will have to wait for the flashing of the HELLO display to stop. Did not play my DVD-R.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't be Panasonic

By Wilco from Lakewood, CO on 11/26/2008


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very poor functionality - frustratingly slow to respond to commands, making simple operations difficult (occasionally even power up, power off!) System sometimes hangs. Clock is inaccurate -- needs resetting weekly. WON'T record digital TV channels to VHS -- only analog (analog or digital okay to DVD). Occasionally forgets to record scheduled programs. Fairly nice scheduler interface. Picture quality is good. I like the DVD RAM capabilities. Probably okay if you ready to tolerate its many flaws. Bottom line: Very unlike any other Panasonic product I've ever owned. A poorly executed design.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reset!Reset!Reset!

By indymac from Southern Oregon on 11/17/2008


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use, Compact

Cons:

Isn't A Reliable Recording Device.

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this for five months and can't begin to tell you how many times it has frozen-up. I've been unplugging the unit to reset it but finally found the instructions to reset it on the main unit. It's frustrating because I have an older Panasonic DVD recorder and it has been a work horse so that's why I bought the newer one for my wife. If this resetting continues it's going back! I'm tired of losing my recordings. After it finally reset this afternoon, went back to check the recording and discovered it wasn't recording. Turned it on and then off and it began recording. Do appreciate the direct link with my Panasonic Plasma TV, when the recorder is working.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great but temporary

By Niagara Photographer from WesternPennsylvania on 11/06/2008


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

SOME DAY we will all be recording HI DEF for everything. Until then, this unit gets your old VHS tapes onto GOOD disks and records digital TV programs on disk. Panasonic always uses GOOD tech writers and the intructions are quite good. On Screen prompts are also great - they know in advance what wrong stuff we will try!! Finally, the choice of input media is complete - something most units lack. Even a DV and USB option.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What, were you thinking?

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/24/2008


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This unit has some wonderful features, a well thought out remote and produces excellent quality recordings, but you will have to get up at 3 AM or ??? to change the satellite channel if you record more than one program and they are on separate channels. NO IR BLASTER!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved