Home » Photography » Camcorders » HCV550K » 9 Reviews

Panasonic Hc-v550 Digital Camcorder - 3" Lcd - Bsi Mos - Full Hd - Black - 16:9 - 2.2 Megapixel Image - 2.2 Megapixel Video - H.264/mpeg-4 Avc, Mp4, Avchd - 50x Optical Zoom - 150x Digital (hc-v550k) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 9 reviews)

88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Exceeded Expectations (4), Compact (5), Convenient (3), Inexpensive (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

viewfinder and ext controls

By Sean (PI Guy) from California, USA on 06/25/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact

Cons:

Difficult To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

An eyepiece (viewfinder) and most especially external focus ring (control knob) would have raised the bar and allowed me to shoot through obstruction without the lens trying to focus at a random depth of field, but the zoom is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Far I'm liking the New ...

By Anonymous from Destin, FL, USA on 06/19/2015


Cons:

None So Far !

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So Far I'm liking the New Camcorder.. Like how I can still have Shaky Hands and not see the effects from it in my Video like with my Older JVC that I needed a Tripod for if wanted none Shaky Videos..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible zoom HD 50 optical/ 40 digital =90x!!!

By Dave from Ogden, UT, USA on 05/27/2015


Pros:

Compact, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Convenient, Best Zoom, Easy To Use, Durable

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camcorder has the best Zoom capability of any camcorder i am aware of. I love being able to pulls stuff in and get a extreme closeup . Panasonic please keep making these camcorders with this quality of zoom capability Or this camcorder! 90x really comes in handy! I'm real happy with the MP4 convenience as well being that i have my own YouTube channel makes uploading files to YouTube as easy as it could be!About the only thing i would want to make this camcorder better is MP4 24p cinematic mode in HD or 4K with this kind of zoom. Are you listening Panasonic i want 4K with 90 x zoom?! And if you made camcorder with interchangeable lenses in this price range now that would be sweet ! If you want the best camcorder in its price range then you need to buy this you will not be disappointed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Camera For The Creative Video Maker

By Hunter Hale from Salt Lake City, UT on 03/26/2015


Pros:

Compact, Convenient, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There are a lot of useful features packed into this little camera that will let you capture not only great family moments but also see your world in a new and exciting way. The camera features a lens with an excellent range from wide angle to telephoto with the ability to take steady shots over a large range. Of course a tripod should be used if using the zoom in its upper range. One of the nicest features on this camera is the ability to take time lapse shots very easily. You can capture the world of nature in a new way. I have photographed flowers opening and closing as well as clouds moving over a scene in a way that lets the viewer experience the changing light of several hours in less than a minute. [This requires plugging the camera into a power source as the camera battery itself will provide juice for only a couple of hours.] The camera battery provides plenty of length for taking a time lapse of a sun set or sunrise. The camera has the ability to take great macro (close-up) pictures of things in nature or to fill the frame with a full shot of the moon. For most families the use of the camera will be for capturing precious moments of the family and this is where this camera shines. The sound that it records is excellent and natural. The wide angle of the lens allows for capturing moments inside at home or the ability to handhold and record programs at school or dance using the zoom. If you really want to get the most out of this camera then print out the in depth instruction book included on the cd and spend some time exploring all the things that this camera is capable of doing. This camera has a lot of features that are found on professional models that will let your creative side do more than just shoot ordinary videos. I have had this camera for several months and have taken many hours of footage including some that has been screened on a theater sized screen so I know that it is capable of recordings beautiful images and excellent sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

super camcorder

By Dr. V from Queens, NY, USA on 03/24/2015


Pros:

Compact, Exceeded Expectations, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the zoom feature on this camcorder is phenomenal- I was able to see people on a building rooftop about ten miles away, and see the crew on a ship that was anchored miles off shore. The feature with the smartphone is giving me a lot of ideas to use to entertain my grandson with the model railroad that he has. Now if you had a Blue Ray DVD recorder to go along with this I would be first in line to get it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb quality video's

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 12/31/2014


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Software Missing One Item

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good quality video's. This is my 2nd Panasonic camcorder & will not be my last!!!. Software cannot shrink the file size to acceptable size to fit on a blank dvd. If i shoot my grandsons highschool basketball game at 1080i & shut camcoder off at timeouts & halftime the file size is still to big for a blank dvd. (Bluray discs would be fine if you want to pay the price for them). You could shot at 480i but video is not as sharp as 1080i. (Have talked with customer care about this). The last generation of software had this option in it. There is free software out there that will reduce the file size so it's not that big of a problem for me. If you put a price on the quality of video's this camcoder produces- it make's the price very pleasing to pay!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Trixter from Idaho on 09/15/2014


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera has all the features we expected....and more. Now we have two of them!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NFC image app does not work!!

By cloister from Undisclosed on 06/21/2014


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Camera OK, but many, many reviewers of Image App say it doesn't work. I have tried everything but also cannot get it to work!! Why is Panasonic software so terrible??


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing camera.

By Hunter Hale from Salt Lake City, UT on 05/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my third Panasonic video camera over the years. I was interested in this particular one because it could do things the other two couldn't. The zoom range is incredible having a range of 50X optically and a very usable 90X digitally. Having Time Lapse as well as a frame at a time for step motion is exciting. The camera is easy to use after reading the very basic printed instruction that come with the camera. But to really appreciate what it can do will require studying the instruction included in the pdf file included (I printed all 200 plus pages out and had them bound for easy referencing.) The first evening using the camera I did full frame shot of a half moon that was beautifully exposed and in which I could see the craters on the moon's surface. The following morning (following a rainstorm) I got some lovely images of flowers with rain droplets. The camera is able to take close up shots better then my others with macro attachments on them. A little later I was shooting my 3 year grand daughter at her pre-school with a mixture of hanging lights and daylight coming in through the windows. The automatic setting on the camera did a first rate job of balancing two different light sources and the zoom let me capture stunning close-ups of her face easily. This afternoon, with rain coming down, I put the camera on a mono-pod and shooting from the kitchen door was able to take some nice close shots of blossoms a good distance from the spot I was shooting from. This is an excellent medium priced camera that will do a great job for the beginner all the way through an advanced photographer. The one thing I'm not happy about is that the guarantee in the U.S. for labor if repairs are needed is only for 90 days while in Canada it matches the full year of the parts. That's not fair. As to durability only time will tell, but based on my two previous Panasonic video cameras it hopefully will hold up well. I've shot over 2000 hours between those two cameras. I'm a Panasonic fan that also very much likes their televisions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved