Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Kitchen Utensils » Ovens » NNCD989S » 11 Reviews

Panasonic Nncd989s Microwave Oven Single - 11.22 Gal - Stainless Steel Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 11 reviews)

81% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (9), Convenient (8), Durable (4), Exceeded Expectations (3)

Cons:

Expensive (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Pleasantly surprised with ...

By Liz from Illinois, USA on 07/02/2015


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pleasantly surprised with appearance, ease of use, inside space and the quietness of the product when functioning. Great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Replacement

By Ken from Tampa, FL, USA on 05/18/2015


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second purchase of an NN-989. After 4 years, the first one I owned, had a major malfunction. Initially tried replacing the original, however, there were none available anywhere in the USA, so I ended up purchasing another brand which was not as user friendly. As soon as the NN-989 became available again I made the purchase. Great oven! Ease of use is the key reason why I to have this Convection Microwave oven and no other.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!!!

By jackrabbit from Columbiana, AL 35051, USA on 04/07/2015


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have only had my microwave/convection oven for a month, so far so good. My favorite features are the Sensor Reheat, Popcorn & Quick minute. The bagged popcorn comes out perfect, 3.5 for the larger bag. I also like the inverter defrost, sometimes you have to guess at the weight but it does a very good job of defrosting quickly without cooking. My last Panasonic micro/conv, oven lasted 29 years, before it gave up the ghost. This is a replacement for that one, 29 year later upgrade from my original. If this one lasts half as long as the other one, I will be pleased. Will reserve more judgment for later.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good micorwave

By trustory from ny on 03/23/2015


Pros:

Convenient

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a nice puchase. a little more than i expected to pau but it gets the job done. family loves it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleasantly surprised

By Happy in Houston from Houston, TX on 07/30/2014


Pros:

Convenient, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Smooth Quiet Controls, Durable

Cons:

Pricey But Good Value For This Type Of Microwave

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a successor model to our previous Panasonic convection microwave. Changes in technology since we purchased the original unit had us concerned about our ability to use it effectively, but we decided to stay with Panasonic and quickly discovered it was a wise choice. It is well constructed, works very well, reliable time, temperature and ancillary data, automatic functions are perfect and the unit is easier to use than our previous one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not only is it a microwave, but its also an oven!

By Alan from San Francisco, CA, USA on 02/06/2014


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This microwave / convection oven is very easy to use. For most of the features, all it takes is three easy steps. 1. Push the function (microwave, broil, bake, sensor reheat, combination, defrost, etc.). 2. Turn the knob for temperature or time / weight. 3. Push start The most convenient feature is their one-touch sensor cooking and reheat. Ive reheated multiple items and found it to be fairly accurate. This feature was able to consistently reheat items to an acceptably warm but not hot temperature. Only thing a bit strange is that the fan stays on for a bit after the microwave is done. However, thats only a minor nit. For the microwave, broil, bake features, it works just as well as any microwave and convection oven. Very simple to use. What really stands out is the combination feature. This feature does indeed speed up the baking process without overly drying out the food. Only bad thing on this feature is that you can only select 4 predetermined oven temperatures (275F, 300F, 325F, and 375F). For most of the items I want to bake, the temperatures are close enough. However, just beware of these preset temperatures...and it doesn't specify the temperatures on the oven...only in the user manual. Also, its tough to guess how much shorter to reduce the oven time. I been reducing the cook time by 1/3 and seem to overcook items a bit. A few other features that I rarely use but have found that they perform well: defrost and keep warm functions. Ive defrosted a few items and found that the items become less frozen but are not completely thawed out yet - just enough. In addition, Ive found the keep warm function an interesting feature. It seems to microwave the items for a long period of time (at a low setting?) to keep the food warm. Overall, the microwave / convection oven seems sturdy and well bit with nice stainless steel surface and solid buttons. I havent had this long enough to attest to the durability over the long term. Besides a few shortcomings Ive mentioned, this unit seems to work as advertised. I would recommend this device to anyone that is looking for a dual microwave / oven (or want a microware and a second oven). Just be aware that this unit is a pretty large and will take up quite a bit of counter space - make sure you measure out the space before ordering.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great easy to use microwave

By Eliza from New York, NY, USA on 02/06/2014


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This microwave makes things easier and faster in the kitchen. It's super easy to use. It's sleek elegant appearance matches my appliances in the kitchen. I really like that it's a convection oven and microwave in one. I broil my food now and my pizza and pies taste delicious as it would be done in the oven except now it's easier and faster. Heats up and defrosts my food in to time especially when I am in a rush. My favorite option is the keep warm option which let's me keep my food warm until the moment I serve it. The menu option is also pretty useful, gives me instructions on how to cook what I need.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Convection/Microwave

By Cold in Detroit from Detroit, MI, USA on 09/07/2013


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Durable, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Read the instructions or use the onscreen display directions (that can be turned off)....broils nicely and perfectly. Convection bakes great~Combination cooking is perfection. I had another brand (expensive, well known one) that only lasted 4 years and this Panasonic is much better quality. It even cleans up better after use than my old one. The unit does build up a lot of heat on top, so my cabinet above does get hot, but it did with our old unit, too. The door does not get so hot you can't touch it like another review said though. All in all this is a great design and works as stated by Panasonic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Door won't open, common problem, limited combi set

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 07/15/2013


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Expensive, Difficult To Use, Poor Documentation, Poor Quality Controlservic

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Quite dissapointing. I thought the inverter would make a difference in the combination mode since the microwave is only at 30% power which is where the inverter technology should shine. But there is no adjustment for microwave power in combination mode, it is always at 30% power and there are only 4 temperature adjustments from 275 to 375. This makes it difficult to follow the usual 1/2 time rule for converting recipies, i.e. set the oven temp the same as for a regular oven and set the time at 1//2 the time. But if the recipe is for 400 or above you can't use the rule. Other combination ovens I own let you set any temperature up to 450 and also vary the microwave power depending on baking or roasting. I may have liked it but with the door unable to open (ironically the warrenty is inside the oven) I sent it back.Reading reviews this is a common problem. I hope someone else comes out with inverter (AC to DC) power for a combination oven.I called the service center and they said it would be easier and better to just return it since the warrenty did not cover labor anyway. So back it goes.uite dissapointing. I thought the inverter would make a difference in the combination mode since the microwave is only at 30% power which is where the inverter technology should shine. But there is no adjustment for microwave power in combination mode, it is always at 30% power and there are only 4 temperature adjustments from 275 to 375. This makes it difficult to follow the usual 1/2 time rule for converting recipies, i.e. set the oven temp the same as for a regular oven and set the time at 1//2 the time. But if the recipe is for 400 or above you can't use the rule. Other combination ovens I own let you set any temperature up to 450 and also vary the microwave power depending on baking or roasting. I may have liked it but with the door unable to open (ironically the warrenty is inside the oven) I sent it back.Reading reviews this is a common problem. I hope someone else comes out with inverter (AC to DC) power for a combination oven.I called the service center and they said it would be easier and better to just return it since the warrenty did not cover labor anyway. So back it goes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brokedown in after exactly 18 months.

By yelem from New Jersey on 01/02/2013


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Expensive, Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This expensive microwave throws error code h97 soon after it is out of warranty! Now I have to spend time and money to either fix it or buy a new one (I am definitely not buying Panasonic anything anymore!)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this is a great ...

By Fred from Toronto on 09/28/2011


Pros:

Easy To Use, Convenient, Durable

Cons:

Hot During Normal Use As Aconvection Oven

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a great microwave/convection oven. The only drawback is that the oven body becomes very hot when used as a convection oven.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved