Home » SDRH40 » 13 Reviews

Panasonic Sdr-h40 40gb Hard Disk Drive/sd Hybrid Camcorder (panasonic Sdrh40) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 13 reviews)

69% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (5), Poor Documentation (3), Expensive (3)

Pros:

Durable (5), Easy To Use (7), Convenient (6), Compact (7), Inexpensive (5), Exceeded Expectations (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Can't download to the computer

By Dud from CO on 07/19/2009


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I installed the program VideoCam Suite only to discover that I cannot get the video to download to my computers. This is very disappointing. User manual, page 86, 6th bullet point excludes Vista Business. My other lap top is Vista Home edition, but it is 64 bit which also is excluded. Thus, 2 relatively new and standard laptops that are rendered impossible at this time for use with the required software for downloading the video from this SDR-H40P. Beyond this situation, it's a great camera which I would highly recommend. Just wish I could get the video footage into my computer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor software, Excelent camera

By Nels-64 from DL, Minnesota on 06/20/2009


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, Convenient

Cons:

Slow Software, Still Shots Are Blurry

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For an ameture Cameraman like myself, it is a great camera to use. uber simple, great quality, and has every thing I need. i bought this camera for mainly one reason, and that was Snowmobile Videos. It runs great even in -20 temps (i doubt its supposed to, but I did it). the software is junk; too slow and really difficult, but ive pushed past that just draging and dropping clips from "MY Computer" and into "MY Videos" and then into an editor. Overall, great Camera


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice for a Beginner

By AJ from La Grange, IL on 03/15/2009


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact, Convenient, Easy To Use, Sound Qualit Is Very Good.

Cons:

No Back Light, Can Not Seem To Copy To Cd., Software Difficult To Use!, Poor Documentation, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you are like me and have not used a movie camera in a long-time, this is a nice piece of equipment. It is very easy to use. Fits nice in your hand even in a small hand like my wifes. The color balance is not terrific. We have used it twice for our childrens band concerts in the school gym. Maybe wasthe lighting, but the red curtains came out orangy in playback. Even after I used the Auto button. Sound quality is very good. No light in camera? Needs a light for low lighting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

easy to use. until ..........

By John from Nashville, TN on 03/07/2009


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

easy to use until you want to burn discs. The "older, cheaper" digital cameras that I've owned have had a user friendly way to burn on to cd-r's or dvd-r's. Not so with this camera system. Not only is the software a little slow but there is absolutely no "burn" option on the menu. VERY disappointed with this purchase


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera!

By Aly from Harrisburg, PA on 03/03/2009


Pros:

Durable, Convenient, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this camera about 7 months ago & have already used it at many family get-togethers & such. It takes GREAT pictures & has some pretty neat features, AND it's small enough to carry in my purse (and I am not the type of person to buy those huge honkin purses :).I really like the incredible zoom feature. I used it to get to some great pictures of animals from a far distance. It also takes very good pictures while driving/moving at fast speeds. I recently got a good photo while my sister was driving and the result was, it looked like I was standing still taking the picture. It picks up sound really well while you are videotaping I've called their customer service center a couple times now (when I was learning how to transfer pictures to a computer and such) and they were very helpful and courteous people (and it doesn't take long to get a real person!). All-in-all it's a really good camera. :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera and seamless with iMovie!

By MattyMatt from La Selva Beach, CA on 02/27/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Seamless With Imovie!, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Convenient, Compact, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just brought this camcorder home about an hour ago. I don't know why other reviewers said that this camera isn't compatible with mac. I plugged the usb and opened my iMovie program, clicked on the video camera icon and voila!!!! There was my recording, ready to be imported and then edited to my hearts delight! And it looked and sounded great! I am new to this camera so I am still learning about all of it's features, but my biggest concern was the compatibility with mac...and without having to do anything but plug it into the usb port and opening it up in iMovie, I have NO IDEA why anyone could say that it isn't.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buyers Remorse

By jdog from Columbus, OH on 02/22/2009


Pros:

Compact, Easy To Use

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This seemed like a good purchase at the time, but I've done nothing but run into problems since I've bought it. From how this unit recharges the batter and you can't use the unit plugged in while charging, to you can't connect via USB and download the videos off the unit without it being connected to charger/power unit. Now I'm finding after reinstalling xp on my laptop, the video app doesn't support the xp service pack level (which is the latest release from microsoft). I just used this on my Disney trip and had several problems with the Focus not working or keeping up with the zooming in or out of things. Also had some issues with capturing images in focus when it got dark out. For the $$$ spent on the unit, I'm just not happy with the unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Camera for the price!

By Dennis from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 02/21/2009


Pros:

Inexpensive, Easy To Use, Convenient, Compact, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Missing A Couple Minor Features, No Firewire Just Usb

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I run a local community video magazine on the internet. In a bind to replace one of my cameras, I found an awesome price on this camera and took a chance! SUPER easy to use. Better quality than my MiniDV cameras. Ultra light! Love it, love it, love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not For Mac's

By Angry Dad from Undisclosed on 02/14/2009


Cons:

Expensive, Did Not Meet Expectations, Not For Mac, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this camera to record my son's music shows. Hard drive kept shutting off when close to the PA speakers. Box says compatible with MAC, but only for still photo's, not for video.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this Camera!

By 4mb from Elk Grove, California on 01/26/2009


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, Compact

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The capacity & quality of this camera is awesome. I've used this for personal use, for work & for my own personal small business use. The videos are great quality & turn up great on DVD copies as well as on YouTube!! I've owned this for just about a year. I'm on here now to get data & specs for my employer to purchase one! I never thought to add a review until now!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Transfer Video To MPG Is Simple

By FrankP from Simi Valley, CA on 12/14/2008


Pros:

Convenient, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a beginner when it comes to movie editing. I began my hobby some months ago with Windows Movie Maker. I really didn't like the program so I purchased Magix Movie Edit Pro. This program and my new SDR-H40 go together like peaches and cream! I have NO PROBLEM bringing my video into the Video Cam Suite, which is supplied with the camcorder, dropping it into a folder of my choice, and then importing the video into Magix Movie Edit Pro. Once there I can delete the scenes I don't want and edit the rest. It's very cool! LOL...I'm not sure if I'm writing this review for the SDR-H40 or Magix Movie Edit Pro!! In any event, I love this camcorder and highly recommend it to anyone wishing to play around with editing their videos.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

no built in light

By Teddy from Ontario,CA on 12/13/2008


Pros:

Durable

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The only bad thing that i did not like about this camara is that it doesn't have a built in light. you have to buy the light on the side.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DON'T BUY STAY AWAY

By Flynmonkey from San Jose, CA on 10/23/2008


Pros:

Compact, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This Video camera is just alright. I would not recommend it and I am going to return it. If you want to use iMovie or Windows Movie Maker you don't want this camera as you will have to covert your video then import it to edit it (this is not easy). iMovie does not support mpg and Windows Media Player says it supports it but it did not play the video or audio. So at this point the camera is useless as the only way to edit is the include software that is not very good. It does not let you export the video to another format. IF all you don't plan on editing the video it is easy to use and works well, but if you want to edit your videos then STAY AWAY.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved