Home » sdrsw20r » 12 Reviews

Panasonic Sdr-sw20r Red Sd Camcorder 10x Optical Zoom Waterproof Shock Resistant Usb 2.0 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 12 reviews)

66% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (3)

Pros:

Durable (6), Easy To Use (9), Exceeded Expectations (3), Compact (9), Convenient (8)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Amazed!

By Jan from Undisclosed on 05/08/2010


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, Convenient, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just put my survival suit through 100 mins on hot in my washer & my Panasonic SDR-SW20 was in the pocket, I removed it & hooked it to my laptop & uploaded my photo's, it work like a charm, I'm amazed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for the youtube generation

By Anovice from Undisclosed on 01/19/2010


Pros:

Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Perfect For Youtube, Compact, Convenient

Cons:

30 Minute Battery

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is perfect for creating good quality films of everyday life. It's compact size means you can take it anywhere without inconvienence. The battery only last about 30 mins before it runs out so it can be a bit difficult in remote locations. I use solar panel rechargers to get over that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not compatible with...

By Macgirl from Hickory, NC on 10/27/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you are a Mac user , this camera won't work for you. I have an IMac that has everything brand new. everytime I try to download or conect the camera with the usb , it will only transfer pictures but no video at all. Imovie wont recognize the camera...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Opinion on this Camera - Meh.

By jmatstjb from Undisclosed on 07/04/2009


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Has no AV IN, so if you want a fully useful camera buy something else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

it not the best but its okay

By snobord94 from Coneticut on 06/24/2009


Pros:

Convenient, Easy To Use, Durable, Compact

Cons:

Expensive, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I use my camcorder when i go snowboarding to get videos of my friends going of jumps and doing tricks and stuff but it ran out of battery quikly and it wasnt the best picture that came from it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works on a Mac

By sonjasays from San Francisco, CA on 02/04/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

By the way, I noticed another user couldn't use this with their Mac. I, however, had no problem whatsoever hooking this up to my Mac, which is a Powerbook.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By sonjasays from San Francisco, CA on 02/03/2009


Pros:

Compact, Durable, Convenient, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations

Cons:

Hard To Adjust Settings, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this little camera. I chose it online and had no idea it was so small. The video quality is really good. It's amazingly light and compact. So far I'm really happy with it. But I do have a couple gripes... It's hard to quickly adjust the settings, like setting it for under a fluorescent light or in bright sun. Changing the settings is not intuitive so I have to keep a cheat sheet with me. I also wish the manual was written better and provided more detail. I'm trying to figure out if I can hook up a wireless mic. But so far I can't see an input for one. I'm really hoping that's not the case.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice SD Camera

By herr_howard from Leesburg, VA on 01/20/2009


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Compact, Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

So-so Low Light Quality, Poor Software, Poor Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I picked this camera over competition from Canon and JVC. For me, the form factor was a key concern, but I was also on a mission. I have a Super-8 camcorder by Sony that works well but is cumbersome. My wife and I wanted to take more spontaneous videos so we needed something smaller. The SDR-S7K seemed to fit the bill, but there are other small form-factor cameras from companies like Aiptek that seemed pretty popular as well. Three things sealed the deal for me with this camcorder: -Optical Zoom Not too many small 'lesser-name' cameras came with optical zoom. This camcorder has 10X optical which is plenty considering many digital cameras today only have somewhere in the 3-10X zoom range. Anything more than this and you'll need to use a tripod or monopod for image stability -Sound I like the fact that I can link the zoom feature to the mic, and the mic provides stereo sound capture. Everything I've captured has been crisp, clean, and in sync with the video -SD Memory I'm starting to dabble a little in editing my movies to create DVDs and I was going crazy trying to import all of my Super-8 film in real-time (i.e. 2 hr film takes 2 hrs to archive). Now I can download my clips in minutes and have them edited just as quickly. There are some cons that I must point out as well: -Low Light Even though this camera has the 'Magic-Pixel' option of capturing images in low light, it will leave horrible 'ghost' images if you pan the camera at all! This mode must be used with a stationary object and a stationary mount like a tripod or else the images look terrible! Regular low-light produces some video artifacts (a.k.a. noise), so don't expect great capture in those situations -MotionSD Software Designed to pull data off of the camera and provide video editing capabilities, the software package has a clumsy user interface and non-intuitive controls. I already have 3rd-party software I use for editing so I only use MotionSD to pull the data off the card so I can store it in a logical fashion. -Battery Life The included VW-VBJ10 battery will only give you about 35-40 minutes of consecutive recording time. Found this out the hard way the first time I filmed something away from home. Make sure to purchase an extra. All in all, for the purpose I'm using it for it is doing a fine job so far (only 3 weeks into my purchase). I would highly recommend it for anyone who wants to have a small, lightweight camcorder for capturing life's spontaneous moments. I carry it with me everywhere and I look forward to using it for a long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor transferbility

By Rose from Undisclosed on 12/25/2008


Pros:

Easy To Use, Compact

Cons:

Not Mac Compatible, Expensive, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It will only transfer the video files to a PC, NOT a mac. You can only transfer the still photos to a mac. (I use an IMAC.) The still photos are poor. It's easy to use, and the video is average quality. Overpriced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera

By Patrick from Alabama on 12/25/2008


Pros:

Compact, Durable, Easy To Use, Convenient

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an awesome camera. Its great for a runner or a skateboarder, because of its light weight and compact size, but it still has nice picture quality and sound quality. Also, the tiny size of the memory cards don't effect the memory space or quality of the picture. This is a camera for the out-going person who wants to run or jump or ride.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just right!

By Manfish from Undisclosed on 12/02/2008


Pros:

Inexpensive, Compact, Convenient, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this camera underwater, as a helmet cam and I've mounted it onto the mast of my Windsurfing sail for some unique photography and I'm very pleased with the results. It's simple, light and I can keep it in a pocket. I didn't give it 5 stars because I experienced some disappointing fogging on the lens cover but I was able to remove the cover and clean it and that seems to have corrected the problem. Otherwise, I have an 8GB card installed because the battery will last longer than the time it takes to record 4GB of video and it's good enough to watch on a big screen. I'm impressed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all rounder

By Skip from United Kingdom on 11/06/2008


Pros:

Easy To Use, Compact, Durable, Convenient

Cons:

Battery Does Not Last

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent camcorder, easy to use, small enough to fit into your pocket and lightweight. only fault I can find is the battery does not last too long about an hour from full charge. Need to buy a spare one if using for a day trip or the battery will run out. SDHC a bit on the expensive side for the larger 16gb size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved