Home » Video » Televisions » TCP55GT50 » 8 Reviews

Panasonic TC-P55GT50 55"plasma Hdtv 1080p Thx 3d 4-hdmi 3-usb Sd Pc 1-ether 1-comp Wifi Skype Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 8 reviews)

75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Easy To Use (4), Exceeded Expectations (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Nice TV

By Anonymous from Michigan on 03/18/2013


Pros:

Wonderful Picture

Cons:

Average Sound Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wonderful picure. Screen puts off some heat, but if I wanted cool running I would have bought an LED TV with its lesser picture quality. My only regret is that the sound isn't a little better than only average.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

55 in GT50 Plasma

By Happy Illini from Central Illinois on 01/09/2013


Pros:

Great Picture, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have waited 6 months to review . Can't find any fault with this TV or it's performance . Yes it put out some heat but haven't found this to be a problem . Replaced a 2008 Panasonic Plasma that is still being used by a friend , just wanted bigger screen and Smart TV function . Haven't tried a 3D DVD because I don't have a player . Have tried the 2D to 3D function and don't like . It gives me a headache . Couldn't get functions I wanted without getting 3D . If you like the bright Neon colors on most LCD TV's don't buy a Plasma . But if you like realistic color , contrast , and sutle graduation of blacks in shadows this TV is for you . If your into movies you will like the THX Cinema setting . If you have a bright room the THX Brightroom setting works great with no reflection . For the brave at heart there are many advance settings you can use , but I think you should do a lot of research before using . There are a couple bad reviews here , but they must have to high of expectations . I would put this TV up against any out there . If you are looking for a new TV this 2012 would be a great choice and will be much cheaper than I paid in June of 2012 . If you Think this TV is too big for your room , I'm sitting 9 feet away and it's just fine . You could probably sit 2 feet closer before the picture gets grainey . Hope this has been helpful . Almost forgot but the Train Speaker System has very good quality sound . Not studio quality but will be very acceptable to most everyone but the audio snobs . I have my HT hooked up but very rarely use it . The HT is a Panasonic and the sound quality isn't that much better except for the Bass . Unless you want window rattling Bass the TV speakers are just fine .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An Exceptional TV At A More Than Fair Price

By et from So CA on 12/25/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Being a former graphic artist and photographer, I have developed a very critical eye when it comes to imaging reproduction of any kind. I will have to agree with avforums.com in that this model is "reference" in nearly all areas of imagery. When I do my comparisons, I view live sports, I find this to be the most neutral testing; with no televised nor recorded enhancing one can see if there is any fast-moving pixillation which this unit had none. The skin tones are the best of any television that I have compared it against; I find myself critiquing the tint with no noticeable green nor red undertones. The detail is so clear you can see the pores in skin as well as the characters' unkept teeth, in reality programming. Although the blacks are rich and have no glow in off seems, the shadow detail could be a little better. However, remember I am being critical. In a brightly lit room, the picture can be adjusted to carrying a bright contrast seen without looking washed out. I have watched several letter boxed movies without any image retention, which is a pleasant surprise. What was most impressive, all the above comments were based on the television being set in just the two factory THX modes, one can only wonder what it can accomplish when the pro settings are accurately adjusted? Additionally, I could not see any really noticeable difference between this model and the VT, (maybe a slight black level improvement on the VT but not enough for the extra money). Coupled with a good sound system, I do not think you can ask for a better value. If I was to have only one beef, I hate the advertising on the volume display.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

High Expectations

By Electronic Enthusiast from CIncinnati, Ohio on 12/24/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the GT50 with the expectation of this model being the second best TV available next to the VT50. Recommended by some serious Tech Guys. So when I received my GT50 I was to say the least amazed that this TV came so highly recommended. The Black levels were great but the picture quality was pethetic on HD channels, the Blue Ray was good not great, and the OTA was not very good as well. After having it professionaly calibrated the picture quality was still at an unaceptable level. PQ appeared grainy with some compression artifacts, and since most of my viewing on this TV is at night, any light near that area was reflected in the screen due to the layering and gaps in the screen itself. This is not a horrible TV, it offers great value for someone who has a less critical viewing pleasure, but as I have multiple TV's and projectors this is not a must have for me. I have many devices that I use for internet sources so that feature works, but not a concern for me as well. But as I said being this TV rated 1st for a 2012 model and the VT50 ranking #1 for 2013 I may take a look at it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Blu-Ray PQ

By AFA from Chicago on 08/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It has been a week and so far I'm more than satisfied. I estimate I have 100+ hours on it including some overnight running of HBO movies to "age" it. No slides. I have not noticed any buzzing, maybe because I usually have the volume ON when I use the TV. It does get quite warm which should come in handy come winter :). I use the THX settings and the CNET ST recommended settings. The oil paint effect (faces look like they were painted in oil) is there on some 720p material but only noticeable by me from closer than 6 feet. Not a huge deal to me and I would hope that Panasonic does something in a future SW update to address it. Avatar and John Carter on Blu-Ray looks fantastic. HBO in HD looks outstanding as well. From a design stand point it definitely looks nicer than the ST50, more of a high end look to it. Not that the ST is ugly but the GT looks sharper. The sound is absolutely acceptable, no complaints at all. I have not even bothered to hook up my sound bar yet so I'm quite satisfied. Overall happy with purchase!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Suitable For Most Use

By RealityEndsHere from Los Angeles, CA on 08/04/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Severe Image Retention, Poor Documentation

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I scoured the web for information about the best HDTV options before I committed to buying a Panasonic TC-P55GT50 on June 28. I selected the Panasonic GT50 because it received high praise from a handful of professional tech review sites like CNET for its outstanding black levels and picture quality. In my research, I stumbled across online forum posts implying that some owners experienced stubborn image retention or burn in issues. But for every incidence of burn in reported on a forum, some professional reviewer would insist burn in on plasma panels was an artifact of history. Average users should not worry about it. I walked into a store and purchased the TV directly from a living, breathing, honest-to-goodness human being. Never did the salesperson warn me about static images being potentially hazardous to the television. Yet, after the first few hours of use, dark blemishes from a video game UI and a cable network logo appeared that have been stuck on the panel for over 200 hours. Once it was clear the dark spots were not going away, I returned to the store to complain about the problem. All four sales people said the issue of burn in was so rare they didn't even warn customers about the possibility anymore. They pointed out the dozens of big screens mounted on the walls around the sales floor --- the store specializes in televisions --- and none of them had any lasting image retention or burn in despite being on all day displaying content with static network logos! (Then, they did an about face and categorized the dark blemishes on my TV as abuse and refused to authorize a return or exchange.) The instruction manual supposedly says static images may cause permanent damage to the screen. A reasonable person would interpret that to mean a paused DVD menu or the arrivals listing at an airport --- the "oops-I-fell-asleep-with-the-TV-on" accident that some plasma owners wake up in cold sweats about. Permanent damage should not be possible with a few hours of normal usage. The dark spots appeared from watching cable TV at 50% brightness and contrast with the pixel orbiter enabled --- pesky network logos --- and from playing video games for just a few hours with UI that would appear and disappear every few minutes between levels. I am a big American football fan, as well. So, if I can cause lasting (more than a month to remedy) or permanent damage with a video game in a few hours, then what will the ESPN Bottom Line do after a weekend of college football games? It strikes me as Panasonic's responsibility to conspicuously notify its customers if there's a sizable risk of damage from what reasonable people would consider normal use or choose to build panels that are as resistant to severe image retention as advertised. Caveat emptor, shoppers! Unless you plan to only watch content that fills the screen and has no network identification, the Panasonic TC-P55GT50 is not practically suitable for any type of normal use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great tv with alot of heat

By mikem from Undisclosed on 06/19/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I found this tv through the review at CNET. I think overall the video quality looks amazing. However the screen puts off so much heat that it heats my living room 3-4 degrees. The web browser works ok. It does not have adobe so you cant watch a lot of the videos that you normally could from your computer. I


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Deal

By Rayg5102 from New Market MD on 04/27/2012


Pros:

Exceeded Expectations, Convenient, Easy To Use

Cons:

Sound A Little Muffled Using My Home Theater Inst

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just installed my new 55 inch GT50. Free skype and glasses GREAT TV


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved