Home » DVDR3575H/37 » 18 Reviews

Philips Dvdr3575h/37 160 Gb Dvd Recorder Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 18 reviews)

94% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:

Professional (4), Tech Savvy (13), Practical (4)

Pros:

Easy To Use (13), Easy To Set Up (14), High Capacity (13), Reliable (6), Sleek Design (7)

Best Uses:

Office (3), Movies (9), Home (14), Television (11)

How long have you owned it:

One-to-three Months (5), A Month Or Less (3)

Cons:

Difficult To Use (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Can't say enough about this product...

By Southern Shopper Verified Purchaser from Chattanooga, TN on 12/12/2007


Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy, Practical

How long have you owned it:

One-to-three Months

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

***PLEASE KEEP THE MANUAL HANDY*** (there are so many features that more than likely you will need to refer to it) I use the recorder primarily to tape daily shows while I am at work. After a bit of experimenting AND reading the instruction manual, I have learned how to delete scenes (those I do not wish to keep plus commercials) before dubbing to a DVD. I have not even begun to take advantage of all of the features available with this DVDR. It is the best recorder that I have ever owned! In fact, after using it for about a month, I ordered a second one to have on hand in case something should happen to the one that I am using. That is extreme, I know, but that is how much I love this machine!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Recorder, Good Tuner, Good Deal!

By TheStout Verified Purchaser from Idaho on 12/04/2007


Cons:

Difficult To Use

Describe Yourself:

Gearhead, Tech Savvy

Pros:

High Capacity, Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use

How long have you owned it:

A Month Or Less

Best Uses:

Movies, Television, Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The remote is a little cryptic, but has good manuals. Am thrilled recording to the HDD and using the Pause Live TV feature is very easy. Wish the remote was a little bigger and the buttons glowed, as it's a little small for me. The tuner is clear, and the unit ahs al the bells and whistles I'd expected. I am very satisfied!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works fine so far

By Jazzbo Verified Purchaser from Pennsylvania on 12/03/2007


Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

High Capacity, Sleek Design

How long have you owned it:

Three-to-six Months

Best Uses:

Movies, Television, Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Requires significant readin of the manual to access all the features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good product!

By MissMary Verified Purchaser from Torrance, CA on 11/30/2007


Cons:

Remote Buttons Too Small

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Capacity, Sleek Design

How long have you owned it:

One-to-three Months

Best Uses:

Movies, Television, Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A very practical and easy-to-use unit; it's almost impossible to make a mistake. Great for transferring movies (personal and from tape) to DVD. Was able to hook up my VCR and can now record excess shows to tape at the same time as recording to the hard drive or DVD (guess I like to record shows to watch later!) Can also use the TV's PIP while watching programs from the hard drive or DVD. I'm transferring movies from VHS to the hard drive and can watch TV programs through the PIP (I don't particularly want to watch what I'm transferring) while doing this. Then I tranfer the movie to DVD using a great little feature that takes less than one-half hour to transfer to DVD and, again, I don't have to watch the movie I'm transferring. This Philips unit was easy to set up and use. If they'd only make the buttons on the remote a bit larger, it would be terrific.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Meets needs

By BR Verified Purchaser from Bay City MI on 11/29/2007


Describe Yourself:

Practical, Tech Savvy

Pros:

High Capacity, Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use

How long have you owned it:

A Month Or Less

Best Uses:

Television, Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product was easy to set up, good quality recordings and lots of storage space.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great, well designed, reasonably price

By pacific navy Verified Purchaser from Ardmore, PA on 11/19/2007


Describe Yourself:

Professional

Pros:

Reliable, Sleek Design, Easy To Use, High Capacity, Easy To Set Up

How long have you owned it:

More Than Six Months

Best Uses:

Home, Movies, Television

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have two units. One in a family room and the other in an exercise room. Both used for time shift TV viewing. One is connected to a VCR for transferring old VCR family pictures onto DVD. The units are very easy to use. Picture and sound are clear. Well designed unit. No complaints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very pleased with product.

By tvaddictforever Verified Purchaser from FL on 11/12/2007


Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy To Set Up, High Capacity

How long have you owned it:

One-to-three Months

Best Uses:

Movies, Recording, Home, Dorm Room, Television

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use my Phillips DVDR to program and record television shows. So far, all of my programs have turned out wonderfully. I have not yet used the DVD recorder, but the HDD and DVD player functions work beautifully. I did a lot of research before purchasing this product, and I am happy to say that I am very pleased with my decision.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

it does it all, but its no tivo

By JimmyRichards Verified Purchaser from San Francisco on 10/22/2007


Cons:

Unattractive Design, Difficult To Set Up, Difficult To Use

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy, Practical

Pros:

High Capacity

How long have you owned it:

One-to-three Months

Best Uses:

Television, Movies, Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this because I wanted Tivo for my broadcast tv programs and I didnt want to buy the really expensive one. The digital tuner didnt work for my PBS channel-but it was fine on all the others, weird, so I sent it back and am awaiting a new one. I am excited that I can set it to record Seinfeld every night or 30Rock every week-things like that, easier than finding a tape and setting a VCR-and better quality as well. It is a little harder to figure out than tivo though, but thats ok with me. I havent tried the DVD recorder yet, but thats a bonus for this one of a kind product out there. Too bad that you cant watch or record in HD though-that would just make it awesome-but then I guess thats why its cheaper than the tivo. I dont care to record necessarily in HD, but I wish the signal would pass through in HD at least. Also, you can watch a program while you're recording it, but you cant rewind or pause it. If you want to do that you have to put it on "pause live tv" mode, and then you can pause, rewind, etc...but then its not recording it for a later viewing!! arrrghhh-that is annoying for sure-tivo's got it beat on that for sure. The remote is a little akward too, but we always mention the bad things dont we? At least it can record my broadcast shows in SD and it works and i can burn it to DVD if I so desire-not too bad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Locals clear with ATSC tuner

By jkyates Verified Purchaser from Columbus Ga on 10/09/2007


Cons:

Small Buttons On Remote

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Sleek Design, Reliable, Easy To Use, High Capacity, Easy To Set Up

How long have you owned it:

One-to-three Months

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to setup and use. Buttons are small on the remote but the remote is designed well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Record 1-2-3

By Mooch Verified Purchaser from Springfield, MA on 10/02/2007


Describe Yourself:

Professional

Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy To Set Up, Sleek Design

How long have you owned it:

A Month Or Less

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is TiVo without the monthly fee. I set it up to record everything that I watch and then I browse through the directory when I have time. This was the only DVR that I found without the fees (like cable DVR's and TiVo's). For anyone looking to replace the functionality of a VCR, this is the product to get, and there are very few choices available at a reasonable price.I don't know where the DVR/DVD/HD technology is going but this is a very good device to hold you over until the technology settles out. I showed it to a friend and ended up ordering another one for him. It does what it is designed for very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A straightforward DVR/DVD recorder

By Frankenbike Verified Purchaser from Mar Vista, CA on 09/26/2007


Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy, Gearhead

Pros:

High Capacity, Easy To Use, Easy To Set Up, Sleek Design

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for simple recording. I didn't need something that figures out what programs I want to watch. Just hit the record button, or set the timer, and it records the show I want. The image quality is good at the more economical settings. I don't have an HDTV monitor, and I get my channels through a cable box, so I haven't tested the ATSC receiver. Watching, being able to pause or rewind what I'm recording is convenient. If I see something I'm watching and want to record it, it begins recording with only about a 1 second delay. It's hard to find a DVR now, that is just a DVR, and with DVD recording and dubbing, this machine was economical. I've only had it a short time, so I can't vouch for reliability. But I do recommend this for people looking for something to replace that VHS or DVD recorder, and I'm very happy with it. The only downside is that it doesn't seem like there are any codes for it to use on universal remotes. I have a learning remote, so I trained it manually.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Performs well, easy to use

By Miss Piggy Verified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 09/13/2007


Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use, Reliable

Best Uses:

Home, Office, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We use this as part of a large office videoconferencing-video transfer system so it is used almost all the time. So far it does everything we need it to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

These work GREAT

By AV Guy Verified Purchaser from Phoenix on 09/07/2007


Cons:

None

Describe Yourself:

Professional

Pros:

Reliable, Easy To Use, High Capacity, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Office, Public Relation Dept.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We new have 5 of these units and will be picking up another 10 in the soon. We were using the Panasonic unit but can no longer get them. These work better and cost less then the Panasonic. Panasonic loss and Phlips gain. Even if Panasonic came back with one, we like the Phlips better!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New IS NOT always Improved!!

By Doug Verified Purchaser from Fort Lauderdale, FL. on 08/31/2007


Cons:

It Should Be In Greek, Difficult To Use, Difficult To Set Up, Oh Wait It Is

Describe Yourself:

I Love Puzzles But, Tech Savvy

Best Uses:

Television, Movies, Take Up Space

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

[...] Very disappointed in the new model. The old one was so easy to use. [...]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It just what we needed

By Av guy Verified Purchaser from Phoenix,AZ on 08/29/2007


Cons:

None

Describe Yourself:

Professional

Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

News Programs Recording, Office

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It works great and we use it 24/7 for our inhouse news monitoring survice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Good

By goalie Verified Purchaser from Lawrence, KS on 08/28/2007


Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

Reliable, High Capacity, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Convert Laserdiscs To Dvd, Television, Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The major drawback is that this device (and presuably others like it) cannot work as desired when connected to a TV that is connected to and controlled by a cable digital box. You cannot record one thing while watching another and you cannot set up multiple timed recordings since this device cannot control channel settings. The TV, in my case, has to be on channel 3, so only the current channel selected via the cable box is available to the recorder. But other than that, it works fine. I've also come up with a way to easily switch back and forth between going through the cable box and not going through it (with a coaxial A/B switch) so I can set up multiple recordings or tape while watching in some cases, as long as I'm willing to do without the advantages of the digital cable box.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best bang for the money

By Santila Verified Purchaser from Winthrop, Washington on 08/25/2007


Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use, High Capacity

Best Uses:

Television

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Timeshift recording tv programs. Easy to use the HD rather then DVD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to Use and Great Upscale picture

By Tony The Tiger Verified Purchaser from Spokane, WA on 07/30/2007


Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy

Pros:

Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use, Sleek Design, High Capacity

Best Uses:

Television, Home, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great machine. Easy to set up with the exception of being able to record a show on one channel and watch a program on another. Must be creative in wiring to get to do that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved