Home » Audio » Headsets/earsets » GAMECOM777 » 19 Reviews

Plantronics 79733-01 Gamecom 777 Surround Sound Gam (plantronics 7973301) (gamecom777) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 19 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

High Quality (3), Good Value (3), Comfortable (14), Quality Microphone (13), Great Sound Quality (15), Easy To Use (14), Added Features (5)

Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented (15)

Best Uses:

Typing & Talking (7)

Primary use:

Personal (16)

Cons:

Bulky Design (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Best Headset I've Ever Owned

By Arcke Verified Reviewer from Ashburn VA on 05/10/2010


Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Being a gamer, I go through a lot of headsets. Unfortunately I don't exactly treat them with care either, I used to go through a headset or two a month. Once I found Plantronics brand headsets I found a definite change in how long they lasted. I have only had one other headset than this Gamecom 777 and it was also a Plantronics that I used for a little over a year. Even still that headset still works but I felt it was time for an upgrade, and this sure was an upgrade. The sound/mic quality on this headset are amazing for picking up sound clearly as well as recording clearly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really like this headset

By NickG Verified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 12/13/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Comfortable, Quality Microphone, Great Sound Quality

Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Typing & Talking

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This headset has great sound quality and makes the time spent gaming even better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome product!!

By Matt Verified Purchaser from san diego, ca on 09/10/2009


Pros:

Great Sound Quality, Quality Microphone, Easy To Use, Added Features, Comfortable

Cons:

None

Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Best Uses:

Great For Gaming

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great product,[...]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

unexpected surprise

By crypto7 from Ohio on 07/14/2009


Pros:

Great Sound Quality, Comfortable

Cons:

Bulky Design

Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Well BeachAudio shipped this thing a LOT faster than [...] said, and faster than I ever expected, so that was definitely a plus. I didn't like the picture of the square-eared monstrosity as I was using a Plantronics DSP-500 up until now. But the right channel went bye-bye on the DSP-500... not sure if it was in Windows XP or Mac OS on my Mac Pro, but it was shot. I got a good 3 years (at least) out of the DSP-500. So, I switched to my other headset, a Logitech USB model. The sound quality and comfort of the DSP-500 was so much better than the Logitech that I looked for a Plantronics model again but the DSP-500 was hard to find as it is out of production it appears, esp. when I had gotten it at like $20 on a special from buy.com back in the day. So this huge square-eared thing arrived and I tried it, and I have to say it's MUCH more comfortable than even the DSP-500 and due to the big square cups the external noise cancellation is better. It's super comfortable, and the surround sound is simply the best. I hope it lasts more than the years the DSP-500 did. I'm extraordinarily happy with it and Beach Audio came through for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a true sleeper

By bmdenn Verified Purchaser from NJ on 06/30/2009


Pros:

The Hidden Mic Is Great, Added Features, Easy To Use, Great Sound Quality, Comfortable

Cons:

Poor Sound Quality, Not A True 51

Describe Yourself:

Value Oriented

Best Uses:

Great For Games

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

it really is a great headset, the mic is a decent quality and sounds great on games and decent on music and movies


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Gaming Set

By seskier Verified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 06/20/2009


Pros:

Compact Design, Comfortable, Quality Microphone, Easy To Use, Great Sound Quality

Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

These are a great set of gaming headphones. The sound quality is exceptional and the mic was reported to me to be very clear by the individuals hearing my voice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Headset for the Price

By blankb from huntington, wv on 06/02/2009


Pros:

Great Sound Quality, Comfortable, Quality Microphone, Easy To Use

Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Best Uses:

Typing & Talking

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Haven't had much experience w/headsets. Only other one was a 20$ [...] set that was uncomfortable and a bad mic. Got this set for [$]after shipping and I'm very satisfied. Mic is great, sound is actually somewhat surround and very clear. My only downside would be that after long periods of use they started to be uncomfortable, but it took a while before that happened. Excellent product though


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best headphones I've ever had!@#

By lei Verified Purchaser from Apple Valley, CA on 04/17/2009


Pros:

Comfortable, Quality Microphone, Great Sound Quality, Added Features, Easy To Use

Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The quality of these headphones is outstanding. Everyone I talk to on vent say that I'm extra clear.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pure Awesome

By Josh Verified Purchaser from Worcester, MA on 03/03/2009


Pros:

Quality Microphone, Great Sound Quality, Easy To Use, Comfortable

Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Best Uses:

Gaming, Voip, Typing & Talking

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use the product to communicate via Ventrilo and Teamspeak, as well as in game communication devices. This headset works flawlessly, the sound is so awesome its hard to believe you are wearing headphones. The 5.1 surround sound feature alone makes this a worthwhile purchase. This headset performs better than many 5.1 speaker systems in my opinion, and I can't believe the awesome price for such a great quality product! The microphone can be concealed in the headset when not in use, which is just another awesome feature. Yes, it has a somewhat bulky design, but who cares, if you buy a headset like this its likely you aren't going to be using them to listen to your ipod in public. Get this headset, it is totally worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great headphones!

By Payton from Houston, TX on 02/27/2009


Pros:

Quality Microphone, Comfortable, Easy To Use, Great Sound Quality

Cons:

Bulky Design

Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Typing & Talking

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a new gaming headset, and this brand was recommended to me by a friend. Quite simply, I've never seen a better quality surround sound headphone unit for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

[...]

By Jinny Verified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 02/19/2009


Pros:

Hidden Mic, Easy To Use, Great Sound Quality, Quality Microphone, Comfortable

Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Best Uses:

Typing & Talking

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this headset mainly for using Ventrilo when playing World of Warcraft. I love the way you can hide the mic when its not in use and you could techincally use it as a headphone. The usb adaptor that came with it is amazing. If you do not have a dedicated sound card, plugging the headset into the usb adaptor will allow you to hear things you were missing out on (if you are an audiophile, otherwise you might not notice the difference). Your head will be nice and warm from wearing the headset, but other than that, I have no complaints. I would recommend getting this headset if you do not have a dedicated sound card. Otherwise, the other Plantronics Gamecom model would suffice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Sound!

By Fire At Will Verified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 02/11/2009


Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Pros:

Great Sound Quality, Quality Microphone, Easy To Use, Comfortable

Best Uses:

Gaming

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy set-up and 5.1 sound out of the box! They work really well and for the money give great sound and comfort.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product!!!

By dc2112fan Verified Purchaser from oklahoma city, OK on 02/10/2009


Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Pros:

Comfortable, Quality Microphone, Great Sound Quality, Easy To Use

Best Uses:

Typing & Talking

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use these mainly to talk on ventrilo while playing world of warcraft. i typically wear them for a few hours at a time and i've found these to be the most comfortable headphones i've ever worn. nothing really to install. plugged them into my 64 bit windows xp machine and away i went. no complaints thus far. great headphones at a great price!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just a solid headset

By T Verified Purchaser from Alexandria VA on 02/10/2009


Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Pros:

Quality Microphone, Easy To Use, Great Sound Quality

Best Uses:

Typing & Talking

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this headset for use as a gaming headset. Plantronics has a great reputation with me, and I've had no cause to complain in terms of sound quality in or out of this headset. The Dolby 5.1 is simulated by the USB dongle as near as I can tell, but it sounds pretty good. I have a big head, but it seems to fit pretty well, but I do get tired of wearing it after a couple hours. It is a bulkier headset, but that's exactly what I ordered with the open ear style and large padded earpieces, so no complaints.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

enjoyable

By EDDnorris Verified Purchaser from Austin, TX on 02/10/2009


Cons:

Bulky Design

Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Pros:

Comfortable, Quality Microphone, Great Sound Quality, Easy To Use, Added Features

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i use it for online gaming and listening to music at work. it is great for those 2 things, but the bulkiness of this headset makes my girlfriend tell me to take them off if she's around ("cause they look too geeky")


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Kinda Weird

By SkyMantis Verified Purchaser from Mead, WA on 02/10/2009


Describe Yourself:

Quality Oriented

Pros:

Quality Microphone, Comfortable, Added Features, Easy To Use, Great Sound Quality

Best Uses:

Music Or Games

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The only reason I rated this as 3 stars is because I have problems when I plug it directly into my desktop motherboard. I think it must be a power issue (so it could be the motherboards fault) because when I plug it into a powered usb hub, it works great. It also might have some issues with the microsoft gaming mouse I use but I am not sure of that yet (weird things like left click every once in a while that was not initiated by me). However, I will check into new drivers for the mouse. All in all it is very comfortable. The folding mic idea works great, I love it, and the sound quality is great when plugged into the usb hub.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Headphones

By RG from TX on 01/23/2009


Pros:

Good Value, High Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works with both my gaming computer and HDTV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gaming Like The Pros

By WarMachine03 Verified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 01/18/2009


Pros:

Good Value, High Quality, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use it everytime I play FPS games... and being able to know where my enemies are. Its making me play the game better, able to hear footsteps... it works so well that ive been called hackers in games. thanks, its so worth it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great gaming headset, great music sound

By vanisher from chicago, il on 01/14/2009


Pros:

High Quality, Durable, Good Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

None


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved