Home » Accessories » Wireless Accessories » Antennas » ANTOMNI15DBI » 114 Reviews

Premiertek Omnidirectional Antenna Omni-directional - 14.5 Dbi - N-type - Premier Technologies Ant-omni-15dbi (antomni15dbi) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 114 reviews)

71% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Very Good, Not Perfect

By TaiChi from California Bay Area on 05/28/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love having a color laser MP printer. This was a great value for the money. Of course, the cost of expendables adds up. The one complaint I have is that the Brother toner cartridges have a bad habit of leaking blotches of toner on the output print when they get close to their end of life. I'm too cheap the jettison them early, so I put up with the blotches.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Painless Linux compatibility

By iaaipjcm from Payson, UT on 04/18/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for an Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (Lucid Lynx) Linux compatible color laser multifunction printer/fax/scanner with full duplex printing and wireless network capability. This printer fit the bill perfectly. To my surprise, everything was so easy that I didn't have to download anything or even open the manual. It was a so nice to be able to program the wireless settings from the printer itself. It's also a bonus that the included toner cartridges were the standard capacity and not merely a starter size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer for me yet

By jdtz from Mississippi on 04/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After suffering for some time with top-of-the-line inkjet printers from the major company, including supply costs and most of all crashes with large print jobs (forcing me to restart at an uncertain state), I paid the extra amount for the color laser MFC-9840CDW. I have never suffered any crashes with even longer print jobs and never have had a software problem. My only complaint resides with the supply costs. Perhaps, because printing is so easy, I use it rather extensively. I recently reacted to the Brother suggestion of using black and white as the default. It really helps since I was needlessly using color all of the time, even when not essential. I wish there were a better way of determining the actual toner usage besides counting pages or allowing me to make adjustments, accepting a gradual decline in quality. Further, if a color toner is out, it still will not print - even if that color is not important in the print. However, using B/W as the default has really helped this problem. Relative to service, I have found Brother service to be quicker and better quality than from the competition ( a pleasant surprise).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing Product

By Peter from Philadelphia, PA on 04/13/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have used Brother AIO printers for 6 or 7 years now. Until now, they have always been dependable workhorse printers. I even have 2 MFC-9840CDWs based on my prior experiences with Borther products. However, now I am very disappointed in the dependability of this model. My original purchase of the MFC-9840CDW was 18 months ago. The printer is not used hard. Since November 2010, I have had the printer to the local Brother authorized service center 4 times. The density sensor was reseated on 11/3/10. The paper was not feeding properly on 3/24/10 so I had to have the tray 2 roller and the cassette tray replaced. Upon getting the printer back from the repair shop, the printer would periodically give me the "PRINT UNABLE 2A" message. I then had to replace the waster toner cartridge. That did not fix the problem and back to the repair shop the printer went. Finally the drive frame assembly was replaced upon recommendation by Brother Technical Support. Apparantly Brother technical service update F1294 highlighted this problem. I have now put more money into repairing the printer than the initial purchase price. What scares me is that I am looking at potentially the same set problems for my new MFC-9840CDW that was purchased at the beginning of the year. I would have considered other competitive products had I been aware of the future issues.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid Machine

By Roger from Leominster, MA on 04/11/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My machine has been in service for several months and has performed as advertised. Scanning to PDF is essential in my tax practice. This machine handled the task without fault. Consumables are easy to change, albiet a little on the high price side. The duplexing function is the real high light of this machine. Saves on the cost of consumables which is never a bad thing. The added paper tray is a must if you're planning on using the machine in a small office environment. The MP tray is a little tempremental when printing envenlopes - it eats them! Overall this is a very good starter machine for a home based business or an excellent machine for a college student (who has a little deep pocket at home to pay for the toner and drum).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best MFP I've Ever Owned

By rtibbitts from San Diego, CA on 04/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What doesn't this multi-function printer do well? In my opinion nothing - as long as you use OEM toner that is. I've tried a couple of off-brand toner cartridges and they just don't hold up to the pricey but high quality Brother cartridges. Aside from the high expense of these cartridges I love everything about this printer. I'm a Realtor so I'm constantly scanning single and double sided documents. The document feeder works almost flawlessly (ocasional jams but not many). I also do lots of duplex printing and love this feature. And having a wireless connection allows the rest of the family from anywhere in the house to access the printer too. I've had this printer three years. When it breaks down I'm sure I'll research what's out there, but expect I'll buy another MFC-9840 CDW!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Some good things, some bad things

By DaveA from Miami on 04/06/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The machine works fine, except in two areas. The paper loader in scanning mode does not consistently take 20lb paper one page at a time. It often will take 2 or sometimes 3 pages at once. I have changed to using 24lb paper for documents I will need to scan, and that seems to work consistently. The other item is the very short life of the color toner cartridges, which are quite expensive. I have used two full sets of the color cartridges and still have not reached 5000 total pages printed, and the machine has told me to replace them. And MOST of my pages are black and white. In addition, it says that all 3 color cartidges have to be replaced, not just the one which is empty. It makes no sense to think that all 3 run out at exactly the same time. Decent quality of printed product, but I wouldn't buy it again, since the toner cost in less than a year are greater than the cost of the machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer with one major flaw

By Absolute from Texas on 04/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this printer to about 5 years. The print quality and speed are exceptional. The consumable cost is reasonable. The mechanism is very good. I use it to print mailings and the tray accommodates and feeds envelopes very well. I have had very few problems with the unit. I do however have two negative comments - one minor and one major. Minor: The output tray is not that well designed. If you print larger runs the output stack is a mess. Even using the little tab does not really help. The brand I had before this had a steeper receiving tray which worked better. But overall this is a very minor complaint and causes no real problems. Major: I discovered via some online research about 3 years into owning this unit that it calls for toner replacement (by calls for I mean it turns off and forces replacement of toner or reseting of counter) when your cartridges are somewhere between 40 and 60 percent full. This probably cost me 2 - 3 K over that time consumables. There is a way to work around this that I will not get into here. Since learning this method I am getting a significant higher number of copies from my toners without losing print quality. I find this practice (which I can only believe is intentional) to be almost criminal. I buy onlly OEM products for quality. Buying toner is part of the deal. But the this is ridiculous. While the work around I mentioned does allow me to get the actual full life out of the toners, it does not allow me to know when I am running low, other than seeing the print quality degrade. They should be able to manage this monitoring better. Causing consumers to throw away toner cartridges that are still half full is stupid, bad for the environment and poor quality in every way. This may be a Brother issue on more models than this unit. It is too bad, because in almost every other way this is a absolutely great printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Capable System

By lrwalker from Little Rock, AR on 04/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this system for my wife's new business over a year ago and it has been the workhorse for her ever since. The system itself was easy to set up. The software was a small issue because of Windows 7 I required a new version of the Brother software but their support team was great in troubleshooting that. I would recommend this device to any small office.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have been disappointed ...

By BobS from Undisclosed on 04/06/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been disappointed in the color quality when copying. Under default settings its muddy. When calling support they were not helpful. It was not until I sent them a sample that they acknowledge there was a problem. I had to set it to extreme settings to get copies that were barely acceptable. I still think the machine was out of specs. They would not send out a service person to check it out, I also have not been able to get what I would call a vivid print. There is not much difference between regular and vivid. I think this is also a machine problem as every once in a long while it would print a vivid copy. I basically like the machine and would rate it 4 stars if I did not have what I consider very poor experience with your tech support and customer service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Be prepared to spend money.

By JWvrod from GA on 04/06/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I thought my home work was complete. I was wrong. The first month was great. Fast printing time, quality etc. No complaints. After the home the honeymoon was over, the machine required way more maintenance than I was prepared to spend. I was able to save a little money by replacing some parts myself. Another issue was that I called the service center that was provided by Brother three times and no one ever returned my calls. I have decided it would be cheaper to by an inkjet and replace it every eighteen months. Sorry, it wasnt a Brother.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Ellie from Idaho on 04/05/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After careful research of all available products in our price range this machine seemed to fit our needs. Wrong decision. I love my Brother printers - cheap, fast, dependable. This MFC is slow to warm up, gives a "no paper" signal when paper is still in tray (although low), and the color reproduction as to be adjusted every single time we print from Quark or Pagemaker, and even then the colors are not as they should be. On the plus side, B&W prints are clear and very fine and cost per piece is excellent. We purchased it mostly for color printing/copying and would not recommend to anyone for that purpose. Unfortunately as a small nonprofit, we don't have the funds to buy a replacement machine and are stuck. Final note: we brought IT folks in from a research center and they had no success figuring out how to setup the wireless connection with one of our Apple computers, our other Apple is connected by hardwire. The PCs all connected effortlessly when these experts arrived. We have only three staff members and don't have the time to go through the hoops with Brother support to try to get it all straightened out. We bought it because it was presented as basically a machine anyone could network and get to perform as advertised. As I said: Disappointed Disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent for Business

By Alain from Southwestern Michigan on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this for my new office. It was extremely easy to set up the network including the wireless. I recently printed a brochure on glossy laser paper and the results where great. Only minor irritation is the time to first copy and the lamp warmup time to make a copy. I plan to purchase one for my home and would recommend it to anyone wanting a low cost full featured multi-purpose machine. By the way I already own 2 black and white Brother multi-purpose laser machines that have also been excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic printer!

By Fading from Cincinnati, OH on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I work for a small company, and I purchased this printer for our office. We do a lot of printing for every day use. This includes inner office paperwork, faxes, order confirmations for customers, etc. It has held up so far with our heavy usage, including lots of stamps.com printing, mass print jobs of 100+, duplexing, etc. The only downside to this printer is that the color printing is not great for any kind of publications, photos, etc. This is not an issue for us as we use a professional printing company for things such as color flyers, business cards, etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good color laser printer, but could be better!

By clwrocks from Undisclosed on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

While I like this printer there are many details that could be made better. It takes a while to warm up and since I am a home user I do not use it as frequently as an office user so when I need to print something and go this is inconvenient. The color print quality could also be better. I have an issue with the way that Brother handles the toner cartridge when it is suppose to be empty. It is based on the number of uses and not of the fact that the cartridge is actually empty. There are ways around this which are posted elsewhere but I just wish they were more honest in their approach with an empty toner cartridge, it shows the integrity of a company. I have had some problem when using Windows 7 with the printer being offline. I just checked my status monitor and it is offline right now. It may be attributable to a firewall but I don't think so as I have had the same security software for a while and the problem has been intermittent for a couple months now. Yes I have called tech support but still have the issue. For the most part it has been reliable and that is appreciated. If they could work on some of the details this would be a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Most of our printing ...

By city from Undisclosed on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Most of our printing needs are met with this machine. I am disappointed in the color quality and the fact the scanner will not work properly with our Mac. It shows on the screen it scanned, but when you open the document or try to print it-it is in landscape orientation. I have reviewed all material on this and can find that I have any of the setting wrong.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional, Hardworking piece of office equipment

By Beckerlady from Birmingham, AL on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As a basic piece of equipment, this is hands down the best wireless AIO I have used. However there are several problems that need to be addressed with any future improvement decisions. 1. I kill envelopes. It isn't worth trying to turn the equipment around to make the adjustment for envelopes. Even when I try that, the envelope comes out looking like it went through a wringer. This is an essential part of efficiency for our office that is totally missing. I end up using labels. Was that your plan? 2. I always use Brother toners. I always use the high-yield toners. This equipment does double duty in an office of 5 people. The unfortunate thing that occurs is that the toners frequently don't hold their ink powder. This creates blobs on fine stationery. It eventually requires that I throw out a toner cartridge that is still nearly full. It isn't that these things are quite expensive - and yes, that matters. But it requires me to pull out the vacuum, put the garbage can under the equipment, and try to remove as much flakiness as I can. If I could use another brand, that might be helpful, but I always try to keep my manufactured units - both equipment and toner - within the same company. This AIO needs to last us for some time. If Brother could solve these problems, I would be ecstatic!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleased So Far

By KristieBusOwner from NC on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In the 60 days I have had it, I have been very pleased. It has produced very good copies and has simplified tasks. Overall, I am very pleased. It's easy to set up, just heavy. The packing materials made it easy for two people to transport it up a flight of stairs. I would recommend it highly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mostly Happy with the Work Horse

By Matthew from Cleveland, Ohio on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We're mostly happy with our selection of the Brother MFC-9840CDW to service our small office of five people. During the first year we have printed 16-K documents. It had replaced a different brand ink jet multi-function machine which was less that was 9-months old when it died and was cheaper to replace than fix. The issues I have are envelope printing and color reproduction. Envelopes get wrinkled when being fed thru the machine. The color reproduction is not as vibrant as I would like it to be. It takes several attempts and adjustments to get close to what I want. Scanning a document also has a tendency to wash out color as well. Despite the issues mentioned above I would purchase this machine again and have no problems recommending it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother MFC-9840CDW

By Hortman from Brookings, SD on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had this printer now for about 2 years during which time it has printed nearly 23,000 pages. It was a big improvement from our old HP printer and seems to use much less toner. Color reproduction in regular document is very good and images print OK too. However, we have had worsening problems with paper jams from the main feed tray and have had a repairman here a couple times. So, up until the last few months, it was great but now there has been a lot of frustration with the paper jams.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By Anonymous from St. Louis, MO on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The copies (when used as a copier) are too light and unable to darken. We also get "false" and inconistent empty cartridge readings. The cost of NON cartridge "consumables" are very costly. Last but not least, Brother does NOT stand behind their color or black cartridges which have a high failure rate. We now use other cartridge venders that understand customer service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sub-par for purchase price

By RockyMountain from California on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you are looking for a good black and white printer, this one is decent. However, I have not been satisfied with its performance as a top-end "prosumer" model. My issues: 1. Operating costs. They are extremely high. The machine says toner runs out prematurely even though there is plenty left. 2. Color output. I cannot accurately reproduce colors, but more importantly I cannot print solid colors without some type of banding or shadowing. 3. Brother software is sub-par. I am constantly frustrated by the Brother Software locking up. Especially on the Mac it really needs some help. 4. Tray selection. This may or may not be a printer/driver issue, but it is constantly frustrating. Some programs will default to the manual tray with paper loaded there; others will ignore the manual tray with paper loaded unless it is specifically selected. Mostly switching between Word/Excel exhibits this behavior.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

solid little machine

By miker from West Linn, OR on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I primarily use the scanning and printing functions. The printer needs occassional cleaning of the paper feed, otherwise it works like a champ.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has met nearly all of my home printing needs

By Anonymous from Chicago area, IL on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The MFC-9840CDW is a Swiss Knife of laser printers, doing duplex printing, copying, faxing, and scanning- all of them well. One negative I have run into so far is that I have had problems with the printer cartridges starting to leak print powder before they are empty. The spilled powder gets on documents, causing spots and smudges. This has been especially bad on the black, hi-capacity OEM cartridges (both of the last two I bought have had this problem; my magenta unit is also leaking and putting a magenta stripe on one side of some documents). They also do not use up nearly all of the print powder they contain, leaving about 2 or 3 ounces in the cartridge after starting to leak or when the display says it is time to replace them. Another problem has been occuring lately- a squealing sound like a bad bearing somewhere that is running out of lubrication. If it gets any worse, I will need to call for service and hope that I read the warranty correctly and that it is fully covered for on-site repairs for one year after purchase. Tip #1: If you are going to print envelopes, I recommend making the proper settings on the levers under the back panel. When set for envelopes, they print properly, and it doesn't seem to affect printing on other media. Tip #2: If the printing starts to get white shadows around the characters printed on a colored background, running an auto registration procedure will get you back to crisp printing again. Other than the problems noted above (unusable print powder, leaking cartridges, and squealing noise), I am fairly satisfied with the performance of my unit, which I have had for about 10 months now. Even though I use it at home only, I use it a lot (about 14,000 pages already), and, based on my experience so far, would recommend it to others who need a reliable, multi-function, duplexing, color laser printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good in the short term

By Anonymous from Farmingville, NY on 04/04/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This all in one has been a work horse for me and I love the wireless features. But it is kind of high maintenance. It requires a lot of attention with replacing drums to cleaning, etc. I guess it's because I use it so much, but I'd love to get the same productivity without all of the attention. Overall it produces good quality copies and scans.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lots of capabilities; reasonably competant on all.

By HuronS from Milwaukee, WI on 04/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Duplex scanning, duplex printing are great capabilities. I guess the only other thing I would ever want would be 11x17" paper handling capacity--but that would be a much larger machine!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Potential, Disappointing Performance

By Anonymous from Cleveland, OH on 04/03/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Placed in our HR/Executive suite - one of the few medium duty (K toner rated @ 5k pages) color MFPs available. This is a great printer for people that like to WORK on printers. As there are many consumable components the printer is frequently warning and whining about one part or another. It doesn't help planning parts inventory when the status page only shows page counts rather than a % used or remaining stat - like every other printer. Unfortunately the quality of replacement components is inconsistent at best. We've had toner carts that start dumping toner soon after installation. Now at 2yrs the printer needs replacement as we can't keep the blotches off the paper. The tone was set for this machine when the Prez got a doc jammed in the ADF that we couldn't clear (bad design there) the 1st week of ownership.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for the money

By PianistTony from Palmdale, California on 04/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this machine for about 4 years. I use all of the features it provides. One of the primary features that induced me to buy it is that it can print, scan, fax, and copy in B&W or Color on either one or both sides. I especially like it for its versatility. I don't consider it to be particularly fast, but it serves my purpose for moderate use. I rate the print quality as very good with B&W and fairly good with Color. It's noisy, but that's not a problem for me. I like the drop down door feature which allows me to insert a single sheet of paper if I need to print only one page on particular (different from what is in the main paper tray) type of paper. The main paper tray holds about 200 to 250 sheets of paper which allows for a considerable amount of printing or copying without the need of frequent reloading. I particularly like that I'm able to use various sizes and types of paper for the printing, copying, faxing, and continuous scanning. There are numerous selections available with the printing, copying, faxing, and scanning that makes this machine especially handy and versatile. I've had no difficulty printing labels (either single or double sided) which has been a particularly useful feature to me. Paper jams with either single side or double sided printing has been occasional. But jams are easy to remove, and the machine remembers where the jam occured during your printing cycle so that you don't have to start over or reset the machine from where you left off. I've had occasional problems with streaks, splotches, or dots on the printed pages, but I've found that after a few repeated trys, this problem generally clears up. I have found it to be relatively easy to set up and to use, and to become familiar with all of its features should take no more than an hour. The major drawback for me is the very expensive toner cartriges (4 altogether) and occasional replacement of other wearable parts. I do not consider this machine to be economical, and I would not recommend it to the budget minded. But for available features, I believe it can't be beat. This machine does do it all! Brother support has always been excellent. Overall, between a 1 to 5, I would give it a rating of 4. I hope that what I've written will be helpful to you in making a selection.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good MFC printer for general use.

By Anonymous from San Diego, CA on 04/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall, the MFC-9840 is a very good and reliable printer. I use it in a small business network office environment. Print quality is great for basic b/w and color documents but not good enough for photo quality. The time it takes to first page printed seems exceptionally long compared to other similar printers I've used. It's biggest flaw is it wrinkles envelopes. I don't know how it ever got out of initial design and development with such a flaw. So far I have not experienced issues with short toner life. Regardless of these limitations, overall, it is a very good value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Generally a Great All-Around Deal

By PhilvH from Morrison (SW Denver), Colorado on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've generally been very happy with this printer. Setting up the wireless networking and fax capabilities required some hand-holding by tech support, but they're rock-solid once set up. We were shocked to have to pay almost as much as for the original printer when replacing all four toner cartridges(!), but getting the High-Capacity versions will hopefully make that less painful and further down the road next time. Having to reset the Date & Time every time we turn the unit back on is a minor annoyance, but a good reminder of working through the menus. Otherwise, the color prints usually come out great, and we're glad we got it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Multi-Function printer

By NGail from Peoria, Il on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer does everything well. I wish it were not so big and heavy, but if that is what it takes to get all the features, so be it. It prints quickly and with good quality, both in color and mono. Envelopes take a beating, but they can still be used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dissappointed

By Anonymous from Knoxville, TN on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am dissappointed that the MFC-9840CDW will not print from a stack of envelopes in the main media tray, and will accept only 3 at a time from the special tray. I like to mail-merge about 30 envelopes with Microsoft Word and print "All" with one click. I could do it with my previous HP 3380. Also, the MCF-9840, and my Brother HL-5370DW, too, always crinkle/crease #10 envelopes in printing them. On top of that, neither Brother machine will print a mail-merged sheet of address lables. They print only the first address, in the top left hand corner. Other than the envelope and lable issues, the machine has been fine, so far (I haven't had it long).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Multi-Function Copier

By Michael3 from Surprise, AZ on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Absolutely the best color copier, scanner, general copier. One complaint: cost of toner vs amount of copies per toner cartridge. Work on that! Easy to maintain and replace parts. BEST technical support.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great All-in-One

By Rich61 from Bucks County, PA on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with this printer/copier/scanner. It is very easy to use and works very well, although it is a little slower than I would have liked. The costs for the toner are a little high, but print quality is amazing. All in all I would highly recommend this All-in-One for a small office.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this printer

By michaels from Undisclosed on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my Brother 9840. it is very easy to use. I spend much less in ink than when I had a inkjet. I love that I can be anywhere in the house and just hit print and it prints in the other room. I will by brother from now on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic product! Was worth every penny spent!

By Nehanda from Fairburn, GA on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this Brother MFC after having my other one for 8 years. I gave that to my Dad for his office and it's still working. I've now had this one since 2008. Still working well and I'm just now having to replace parts - believe me, I've worked it! I'm an editor/information designer, which means I print and review a lot of documents. A word of caution - be careful of the gold foil labels - they mess up the rollers. I haven't had any problems and Brother Service has always helped me whenever I've had to change my technology. Absolutely great product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

convenient, good value

By DuplexAdmirer from FL on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really love the duplex function and laser color as opposed to ink jet. Although toner cartridges are expensive, they are less than ink. Laser also looks better, does not smear, and is not damp when colors are intense. I have had this printer for over two years and it does a good job for home office purposes. It does have a few annoying quirks. It will not print in black and white if one of the color cartridges is empty. The fax is very cranky about answering machines, and so I am actually continuing to use an old Brother fax that must be 10-15 years old now. Although this printer remembers where it was in a print job if there is a paper jam or you run out of paper, it forgets in a copying job, so you have to load all the pages again. When toner runs low, you sometimes get a little spillage. Overall, however, I really enjoy the quality of the output and ease of use. I don't scan much, but it works well, as does the ability to alter image size.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does good enough

By wheezer from OKC, OK on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Takes a long time to warm up. A Brother magenta cartridge went bad about two weeks after installing it and bled red dots and smears on every page that had ANY color involved. When I printed in monotone only there was no problem. (The previous three magenta cartridges were fine). After finally buying a new magenta cartridge and installing it it cleared up in three copies. My Samsung CLX-3160FN warms up in a few seconds, prints the first copy way faster, and prints a little faster in multiple page jobs. The Brother's color output is very good and doesn't need much maintenance - if the cartridges aren't faulty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This loyal customer was disappointed

By Drymar from North-central Pennsylvania on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The color quality is terrible. I replaced the drum early on to try to cure it, but no joy. Have replaced toner way too often. Sensor system is designed to waste toner and force replacement of consumables. I chose this model because it promised ease of toner replacement and because it duplexes. And those attributes are present. I did not realize how much practice I would get, replacing toner. Previous color laser printers by another maker with a hyphenated name cost far less and produced magazine-quality prints. They did not duplex. I have four Brother multi-function printers in my office. The MFC-8820D is still working after many years and many cases of paper, still handling paper beautifully. The two inkjets are doing well too. The MFC-6490CW's ability to scan and copy and print in wide format is marvelous. But the MFC-9840CDW should be replaced by Brother whenever a consumer has received one of the many duds it appears have been sold to us. As a consultant, I could not possibly recommend that a client take a chance on this. As an owner whose business does a lot of color printing, including photos and short-run books and publications, I can't trust this machine to produce good quality, and find the costs of consumables prohibitive. What good is superior paper handling (but not envelopes!) when the print quality is poor? I still stand by the quality of Brother sewing machines, though! My two have never let me down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Printer!!!

By JRedd1291 from Texas on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Although this printer was a little difficult to set up, it has turned out to be the best printer that I have owned! It has great quality prints, and I love the wireless scans. This unit is extremely fast. I would like to have more paper in the unit, but this may be an option that I have not checked into. Right out of the box, the MFC-9840CDW has been absolutely fantastic!!! My only complaint would be that I would like to have more detailed instructions for use, and set-up with specifics for each of the features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ink cost is Very Expensive

By HPuser from Houston on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the machine and have had no problems with it. The print quality is just okay, but my old HP printer print quality is better. The ink is very expensive. Currently, I basically use the machine to scan, fax and make copies. The multi page feeder is great. My papers don't get stuck together while faxing, copying or scanning like my HP printer. The drawbacks are the cost of the inks and the average print quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'm glad I don't get emotional about appliances

By mollusk from Undisclosed on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this because A Noted Competitor's products just wouldn't scan to Macs - which is all my office runs on, and because the color functionality would be nice. Setup was dead simple. Once it's warmed up, it does a good job of spitting out B&W prints, both single sided and duplex. Color, not so much. And the time to first copy is a bit, shall we say, stately. Our unit has a dead ethernet connector, which we didn't find out about until we had an issue with our wireless network - well after the warranty period. But the wireless works well. The thing that drives me the most crazy, however, is using page counts and page counts only as the method of determining when expendables are needed - and it will flat shut down on you if you ignore it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value

By SouthernIllinois from Harrisburg, IL on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We use this in a home/office environment with plenty of copying and faxing to our central office. The quality (color and b/w) is exceptional. Initial setup was easy, although we don't use the internal wireless capabilities, since our hub is located directly below the printer. We love the double sided printing feature and use much less paper with it. Document feeder and large capacity paper trays are big pluses. Cons - fairly large footprint and quite heavy, but it seems to be built to last, unlike the multiple inkjet machines it has now replaced. At this point, we would purchase again and certainly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the MFC-9840CDW

By EvaJ from San Francisco, CA on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best quality printer that I have ever purchased. Besides having multiple functional features, it is also reliable and an excellent printer to have. Very low maintenance and I do it myself. I would buy MFC-9840CDW over and over again. I highly recommend this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We Own Two

By JonBoy1956 from Metamora, MI on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We own two of the Brothers MFC-7840W, one for home use one for the office. We purchased the first because of great reviews and decent price and was so very pleased we bought another. Easy to use, functions great, easy set-up. Very cost efficient per page with the laser toner. If you print a lot of black and white this is the multi-function printer for you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

happy with purchase

By dc10bill from Los Angeles, ca area on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having had the machine well over a year As per most, the toner cartridges don't last very long even the TN-115 ones, being a home machine that is shut off when not in use so the clock function is of no use and the "power up" is rather slow compared to the HP 2015d laser that this replaced, I have run through approx 4-5 blacks and 3 color cartridges, keep on mono in the soft ware, do very little color, I don't expect this machine to take the place of my color photo printer For me a good all in one MF as no longer need legal sized seperate scanner


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Try This At Home - Great Product

By baysidemk from Bayside, NY on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Color multi-function lasers with duplex and networking are a rare breed and a tough product to get right. The same goes for their inkjet brethren, because they try to do so much and it's really hard to get the user interface (on the unit itself and on the client computers) right. This unit is a big improvement over the ones I'd owned in the past from Canon (a laser) and HP (an inkjet). It has a very usable set of controls and shortcuts on the unit itself for scanning, faxing and emailing documents, as well as scanning directly to a server file folder. Like most of these units, the more complicated functions like setting up phone books and setting the preferences are best done using the included browser interface and working from your computer. Trying to do this stuff using the buttons on the unit is like building a ship in a bottle. The unit is reasonably compact, looking like a beefy laser, rather than a refrigerator. The hardware has performed well, very few problems with jams in paper trays or document feeder, which was the downfall of the Canon and HP models I tried. I've had trouble getting the unit to handle non-standard paper sizes. The interface/controls for this seem really difficult and don't act in a predictable/intuitive fashion. All in all, a great option in a product space that does not have lots of great options.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all-in-one

By LABob from Shreveport, LA on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really enjoy using this product. I have had my unit for over three years, and it has NEVER had a jam. The only hiccup I have ever had is that occasionally the printer inexpicably goes "off line," and I have to reboot, but it always comes right back up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good enough

By Anonymous from Lawrence, KS on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this printer sine 03/09. I do not utilize it heavily, but it is used frequently. The print quality is fine for text and color prints. It is average at best for printing color pictures. So for personal moderate use it is quite adequate. If you wish to make prints of photos, I don't recommend it. So far, I have not had problems with the duplexer jamming, and that is good. the print speed is fine, and scanning speed is fine. It does take a while for it to warm up, and yes, the lights dim.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Printer Ever!!

By Xavier from Undisclosed on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best MFC wireless printer ever. Amazing quality of build. Works perfectly all the time. Great piece!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

superb support

By mtymsi from metro Detroit, MI on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the most part I have been satisfied with my MFC 9840CDW. The only disappointing process I have encountered is duplex printing through the unit itself (i.e. not duplex printing from the computer). This feature is completely unsatisfactory as the bottom of the page always is much lighter. This doesn't happen when duplex printing through the computer. The drawback is the extra time involved in scanning the material in to the computer. I have also read a number of reviews that say envelope printing is very poor but since I don't use mine for that purpose I can't comment. The only other drawback I have encountered is that you can not use premium paper which would give the highest quality results because the weight of premium paper exceeds the machine's paper handling capacity. So if you want premium brochure quality results or to print envelopes the MFC 9840CDW is not the right machine for those tasks. The most outstanding feature I have encountered is Brother's telephonic support. It is far and away the best support I have ever experienced. For this reason I will remain a loyal Brother customer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product

By Will from Valley Springs CA on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product works as advertised. We have has little to no trouble with it. Two things the company needs to fix. 1. Tech Support. Wait time too long and need to go to a second group for good technical support. 2. We use the printer for mostly black printing. It told us the color laxer cartridges needed replacing. I did that and found that there was a lot of toner left in the toner cartridge. Still haven't been able to talk to a technical person about it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well worth the money

By Smbusowner from Dickinson, ND on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this printer to replace a black and white laser and a colored ink jet. Best investment we ever made. My ONLY complaint is that the toner is rather expensive and "compatible" cartridges do not work well in this printer (buy ONLY genuine Brother toners). For a small office, this printer does the trick!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

have had better

By srac from East Coast on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We replaced anothewr brotheer machine with this one. the first one used much less toner. At 6400 preints we are on our 4th black toner and have replaced all color cartriges (all failed on same day), with less than 1200 color prints. This is a very expensive machine to operate. Our print costs have never been so high. Machine is set to the most conservative settings for toner usage also. The prints (fax, copy or print) are "ok" but we had a Xerox techtronics that was much better in all catagories listed. The other brother machine was also better but not as good as the Xerox. We most likely may not use another like this one, costs are too high.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By Anonymous from Charlotte, NC on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this printer for about 2 years now and have used it everyday for business since. At first it positively mangled envelopes and I thought I would need to return it. Brother Customer Support explained how to move the toggles in the rear of the machine which instantly fixed the problem. We print brochures, letters, presentations, envelopes, etc. Great scanner. Anytime I've had an issue, Brother Customer Support gets me fixed up right away. The first output can take up to three minutes from the time the machine is turned on. After that they print very quickly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Expensive purchase ever

By masterarchitect from Burbank, California on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Good Duplex in Black & White. Good size auto feeder. Color print was average with the first set of cartridges. Very bad with the 2nd set of original Brother cartridges. I had to change first set while there were about 50% toner left inside. I had to put the 3rd set at 7,150 pages. Color scanning, printing and copying are poor. Brother was unable to calibrate the color reading. Clock memory is lost after 24 hours. After that I have to put the date & time again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would recommend this product

By NickDTW from Rochester, MI on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Quality has been very good thus far. It seems to be a solid buy. Features that could be improved: 1. Noise. 2. Excessive time from sending the print command to receiving the copy. 3. If machine is turned off, the personalized seetings, including date and time, dissapear. (this is stupid).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Would not buy again

By MiamiCPA from Miami Beach, FL on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This printer has caused our office nothing but problems. It seems every week there is something else to replace. The replacement parts are expensive and when you call Brother International you get the worst customer service imaginable. I price to operate this machine is my main problem. My other problem is when something breaks, you cant replace the parts yourself. Brother has made it so you have to get an affiliated printer repair company to come and fix the printer (or in our case we had to bring our printer to them). Our office can not afford to go without a printer for even a day so this printer is just not practical for us. I definitely would not recommend this product, or any other brother product for that matter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NICE MACHINE FOR THE OFFICE

By mtngarden from Alma, CO on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall the machine is very, very good. The color quality is the only thing I am a little less than impressed with though. As a real estate office I print alot of color brochures and the color is very dull. Sadly, I will probably need to get another printer just for the brochures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fine Multifunction Printer

By Denver from Undisclosed on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this printer for more than a year. It has performed very well for printing, scanning, and faxing. My only issues are - The toner warning comes on way before the cartridge is exhausted. Be careful or you'll waste toner. - Toner cartridges no longer come with a recycling mailing label.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Color Print Quality

By Aurel from Undisclosed on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The colored print outputs are very very bad! They are dull, not as brigh and as crisp as HP's. I have tried so many times modifying the settings, to no success. Is there anything the company can do to fix this?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Meets Expectations

By bassclef from Union Mills, N.C. on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This MFC has been in service at my home for just under two years. This machine replaced a multi-function inkjet unit that presented serious quality issues within six months of entering service. The only maintenance issue that has presented itself with this unit was toner replacement, which I think is expensive. Scanning, copying, wireless/wired connection and faxing have all functioned nominally. I, like at least one other reviewer, would like to see the date/time function not lose its memory after just a few days. It seems to me that if the unit is plugged into AC it should retain the date/time. I also wish the scanner included the capacity to scan slides/negatives. For that I bought an additional scanner. It is a heavy beast, but I mounted it on a reinforced, wheeled cart for those few times it must be moved. I am satisfied with this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well made but expensive to operate

By starlite from TN on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have used this printer for 4916 copies mostly black print. It does a great job with no paper jams. HOWEVER be prepared to spend a lot of money for toner carts. I am on my third set of 110 colors and 115 black. Also these carts are VERY expensive to purchase and rebuiltn units are not recommended by Brother THis machine prints from the color carts even to make black copies unless you use you print driver to force it to use black toner. I have not found a way to make it use the black for copies made from the machine. Brother service was no help on this issue. If you want high quality color I would recimmend that you use a mono MFC unit (MFC 8890) for your black printer and use a inkjet for your color


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-9840CDW

By Bigdagwood from Nashville on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this for business purposes mainly for three years and has worked great for most of the time. In the last three months the color toner has started "leaking" to where is shows up on all prints I make on the sides of the paper. I have replaced, cleaned, replaced, and cleaned everything to no avail it just continues to be there. I am sure it something to do with a part or parts in the unit but just cannot determine what that part is to replace or adjust. I does a great job and give great prints and copies otherwise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Purchase

By Gerald from Richardson TX on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good machine but heavy as a tank when you want to move it. Fax will not work with VOIP phone systems. Navigating Menu settings is a little cumbersome.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not worth it over the long time

By CCSinc from NY on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

when I first got the printer, I was fairly satisfied with it. We do not do much printing and didn't require the machine to do a lot. After a while the colors started going and the sides started cutting off, nothing to do with the toner since we changed all of them just in case.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MFC-9840CDW

By MaryK from Undisclosed on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very easy to print from my wireless. Was a little hard to setup but with tech support, no problem. Love the Control Panel that shows up on all my computers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EVERYTHING I NEEDED AND MORE

By SISI1NC from COLUMBUS,OH on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

VERY SATISFIED WITH USE.dOES EVERYTHING THEY SAID IT WILL DO. NO PROBLEMS WITH FUNCTION. ALL THE FUNCTIONS I NEEDED IN ONE MACHINE.NICE! BEST OF ALL I LOVE THAT IT IS WI-FI


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

colors and paper

By Korongo from Vermont on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this printer has some highs and some lows. It's fast enough for the kind of jobs I ask it to handle, the problems i have have to deal with is 1: the reproduction of colors; as a graphic designer, I need a perfect accuracy in that field, I can't have my greens right, they stay mostly blue! 2: another problem is the ability to handle different papers; the printer jams every time I use anything other than a regular copy paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Expensive to operate

By 1952 from West Bloomfield, MI on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer works wonderful. My problem is with the operating costs. The Ink runs out based on # of prints, not how much of the ink you used. I don't know if all color laser machines are just as expensive. My Inkjet pro printer just uses the color cartridge it needs, and it does not matter how many images I print.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Printer in the World

By DrMark from Simi Valley, CA on 04/02/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have never been more disappointed in a purchase. This printer is terrible and so is Brother's customer service. The color is substandard compared the the HP I own and so is the registration. The printer takes an enormous amount of time to print the first page after being idle. My patients complain how long they have to wait to get a receipt. It uses a ton of toner and tells you when to replace the toner even when there is still toner in the cartridge. The machine jams more than any machine I have ever owned. The machine is a piece of junk and a waste of money. If you want a good price but don't care if the machine work or not then this is the machine for you. I wish I had the option to give it less then a 1 star rating. This is my first and last Brother printer I will ever own.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stay away from this printer

By middlejk from Dayton, OH on 02/19/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Total prints so far 5527. 3rd set of TN115 high yield cartridges- and I would be the 5% yield. They lied badly about this. Also, it appears toner must be replaced not when expended, but by copies. Toner cartridge waste unit is ridiculous. I cleaned mine out manually, but it won't reset. So my printer is down. This printer is a huge disappointment. The color quality is not good enough for brochures to send to customers no matter what you do. Disappointed that Brother sticks it to you on supplies and the electronics that determine what you need and when. Would not provide me a repair manual either, which is a joke. It should be online. This is the most expensive laser printer to operate. I have now paid the cost of the machine again in toner cartridges alone,and only 5500 prints. Stay away from this unit and Brother, they obviously didn't make this for commercial use. It is a ripoff.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The good and the bad

By SteveH from Seattle Washington on 12/11/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this MF printer for our small business when we transitioned away from Windows machines to Macs because I needed to replace another MF machine by a company that appears to be Mac-phobic (driver wise). The set up and configuration went smoothy and all seemed to be OK until I needed to print an envelope. The machine severely wrinkled, then "ironed in" the wrinkles resulting in an envelope that was unacceptable to send to our clients. Discussions with Brother tech support revealed that the procedure was to move this 80+ pound beast away from the wall, drop the back panel, find and reset two tensioning levers, replace the rear panel then move the 80+ pound unit back into place, then print the envelope. After envelope printing is complete, the technician insisted that the procedure be repeated and the tensioning levers returned to their original position prior to printing regular letter paper. Seriously? Move an 80+ pound machine twice to shift from printing envelopes to printing the paper that goes in them?? And this passed Brother's Engineering Design Reviews??? After struggling with this for a SHORT time, I discovered that leaving the tensioning levers in the "envelope" position would indeed (contrary to 2 different technician's instructions) print both envelopes and regular 20 or 24 Lb. bond. Then the MP tray would jam after a random number of envelopes. BTW, this machine (although specs indicate otherwise) will only accept envelopes (standard issue #10- Security) if very gently fed ONE at a TIME. Many calls to the tech support between June and December FINALLY convinced Brother that this was an issue warranting their attention. By this time (2-1/2 hours to print 30 envelopes - over 4 hours total on hold and over three and a half hours in conversation with a tech and testing theories!) my lost time and productivity had cost me more than the price of a new printer. The result is that the retailer from whom I purchased this piece of equipment agreed to take it back for a nearly full credit on a different machine. This indicates the bonus of a long standing business relationship, which, alas, Brother will never experience with our firm. This is an OK machine IF A) you NEVER have to print an envelope and B) you have nothing but time on your hands if you need to work with tech support


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleasantly Surprised

By SteveG from Loganville, GA on 12/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When time came to replace my current inkjet all-in-one I started looking around and noticed the better reviews for the Brother as opposed to other manufacturers. At the same time, I have become aware of certain design and operational deficiencies in some competitor's products from my own use, as well as from my customers comments. Based on the great performance and reliability of Brother's QL-1060N label printer and their P-touch Pro-XL hand-held labeler, I decided to order the MFC-9840CDW. Its scan speed is amazing. In a matter of seconds I can scan in large documents. Additionally, I can scan and/or print in duplex which saves me additional time and effort. Quality of design and construction earns high marks in my book. I will be recommending this model and other Brother products to my customers in the future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Multi-Function out there

By snowleopard from Colorado on 10/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

While this Multi-Function delivers everything possible the only one draw back is the lack of a real time clock. When the unit is powered down, it looses current time. The only way to fix this is through a utility or menu options. It would have only cost $1 to add a on-board battery to keep time or via software to query time from the local network or WWMV. The only other minor annoyance is that the document feeder does not always bring copy or scanned documents in straight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wrinkled Paper Solved

By GreenBranchBuilder from Boulder, CO on 09/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The refurbished MFC-9840CDW came on time and was inspected to be in perfect shape. Installing into my home office was fast and easy. The machine's setup quickly found my wireless network. After installing the drivers on my two laptops and one desktop, I was printing beautifully. I am running XP on two machines and Vista on a newer laptop. About 25 pages later, the machine started spitting out crinkled paper. If I used the MP Tray, it did not occur. Brother support @ Tier 1 quickly shot me up to Tier 2 and was very helpful. Together, we quickly discerned that I would need a new part to start a trial and error process. Part arrived the next morning at 10am with a Pitney Bowes Tech arriving shortly after. Tech removed the "fuser" to replace with the new one that had been shipped to my doorstep overnight. Upon inspection of the fuser, we found that it had a broken piece that was most likely causing the creased paper issue. Sure enough, I am 10 days into the replacement part and the issue has been successfully resolved. I am delighted at the simple, quick and friendly response that I received! I was initially apprehensive based on website chatter and forum posts that had lead me to believe I was going to have to send the machine back. No need. In fact, the Pitney Bowes Tech was exceptionally knowledgeable and has been with that company for 32 years. Unbelievable! He and his group maintain that the Brother Machines are, in their expereince, the most reliable on the market in this price range. My experience to date leads me to believe that there is nothing better out the there without paying thousands more. I intend to post a follow-up to this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By RonP from Neptune, NJ on 05/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine works better than the HP I had purchased before it. The colors are vibrant and the printing speed is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother's over promise, under deliever

By captken from Honolulu, Hawaii on 05/10/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We operate a busy home-office. I bought this unit as an escape from the ever-increasing costs of ink jet printer cartridges and a particular competitors all-in-one constant breakdowns. To be honest I am disappointed with Brother's excessive toner consumption and poor photo quality printing. I have also found it impossible to print envelopes because of excess heat and wrinkles. Some serious engineering flaws. The toner consumption is much higher than expected. When one color cartridge runs low, the other two seem to run out at the same time. The replacement costs on these toner cartridges from Brother is excessive for the four cartridges at the local retailer I purchased the equipment at. I have since found an online source with remanufactured oem toner cartridges for less than 1/2 the price for all four which makes it considerably less painful. The warmup time for this unit is also, excessive. It takes anywhere from 30-45 seconds to run 1 copy from sleep mode. On a good note I have not had the breakdowns with this Brother that I often had with a competitor's all-in-one equipment nor had to deal with an India-based customer service dept. The scanning features have been very convenient and the fax machine had worked excellently.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not as good as our old Brother printer

By AustinOffice from Austin, TX on 05/05/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Our office switched to a color laser printer but we often miss our old monochromatic Brother printer. We were happy with the low price but disappointed by a few key elements: -The printer seems to jam a lot more often than our old printer when feeding envelopes or thicker paper. -Print quality is terrible with cotton paper and any other slightly textured paper. -Occasionally the toner won't set on the page and can be wiped off. This usually happens with the first print of the day or the first print using color of the day. The machine might not be taking enough time to warm up or something. -The green color is too dark. It's a bit better when you print using the "vibrant" setting but it's still not as good as the other colors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst color printer purchase ever

By gma1 from Los Angeles, CA on 05/04/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had problems with color print quality since the day I purchased this unit. Brother has not been able to resolve the issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really Like this Printer

By TTFW from Virginia on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really like this printer - second one we have purchased. This one is faster than the first - you don't have to wait very long (about 8 seconds) to get your first print or copy, and the wireless network connectivity is great - I had no problems setting up printer on the network. The control center works well for faxing, scanning, and printing. I did notice that the previous model had a studier paper feed tray and other plastic components but everything works just fine even though it has a "plastic" feel. Obviously, I recommend this printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product!

By MIKEG from Houston, TX on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this product in 2009 I have had no problems in 18 months.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love a Brother!!

By TAB2010 from Cherokee, NC on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer is awesome!! I love it and have not been disappointed in its quality. It's works great for my desktop publishing business. Thanks, BRO! = ]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good Printer - Great Buy

By LongTimeHPBeliever from Seattle, WA on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the first NON-HP printer I've purchased in 20 years or more. It was a risk...but the feature-rich deal and the Brother reputation pushed me over the edge this time. So far, I've not been disappointed. I love the small 4-in-1 footprint, speed, print quality, duplexing, autofeed, intuitive layout, friendly & powerful software, very good customer support by Brother,... and much lower cost. I would do this again in a heartbeat. The only thing I do not yet know about is durability. I've had it only six weeks without problems. I'll be interested to see if it works flawlessly for a couple years or more like all my past HP machines.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You'll go broke if you print in color.

By Brenda from Valparaiso, IN on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The good: wireless connectivity The Bad: Everything else. Uses tons of toner if you are not in toner save mode, but prints really horrible if you are in toner save mode. Very slow warmup! Much slower than my last two laser printers, yet seemed like the fastest available at the store when I bought it according to specs listed then. Fax works.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It does the job!

By Fighthunger from Whittier, CA on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this printer last year (09) and 3 months later a part needed to be replaced...the techinician came out really fast and solved the problem (not our fault). Always have toner cartridges available...it wastes toner fast. Don't like the fact that if you have to replace the drum, you need to purchase the entire kit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Somewhat dissappointing

By fhenry from Missouri on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The color is disappointing and the standby current is excessive, which wouldn't be so bad except turning the machine power switch off to avoid current draw during times of disuse causes the clock function to lose all its settings. Wireless setup is also difficult.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Purchase ever!!

By purplerose from East Texas on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have several other Brother MFC printers & this is the best of all. I am always satified with Brother technical support, easy to understand & quick to answer! Means alot to me! This is a dream machine!! I would highly recommend it to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good and Bad

By Mend from NY on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Noisy, software is not so great, could use some more options. Overall a nice workhorse. Prints and copies are clear and faxing is useful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor color print quality

By OfficeManager from Blacksburg, VA on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We are happy with the machine as a multi-function machine in general but we do a large amount of color printing and the color print quality is VERY poor. If you want the use this machine to print pieces in-house for mailings we have found we cannot do that. If you are using for general office use it is perfect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brother MFC-9840CDW Review

By cale from Encinitas, CA on 05/03/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have two of the machines. They are great for productiviy and versatility. I selected the products over HP for their printing speed and duplex scanning capability. On both machines I have had a problem with the document feeder. If they jam it is difficult to get the document out of the feeder and on each manchine I could not find the location of the jam. One of the machines was out of warranty. I took the machine to the Brother recommended repair location. After I took the machine to them two times, they were able to locate the jam and fix the machine. The other machine was in warranty. Brother sent a technician to my office. The document feeder was replaced. It would be nice of the document feeder were self servicable. There is no way to get inside the feeder when it jams. The only other item that I am watching closely is the cost of the toner. The verdict is still out on this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great printer

By SafetyGuy from Indianapolis on 05/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works as advertised. Love the full duplex mode. Good print quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great, easy to use product

By celestialgrapes from Harrisburg, PA on 05/02/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We've been using this printer for about 3 months now and we're very happy with it. We have both Windows 7 and Windows Vista interfacing with it and both work well. Originally we had some issues installing on the Windows Vista computer (because I hadn't completely disabled the firewall during installation), but a quick call to tech support fixed that up easily the first time. Tech support was very knowledgeable, polite and focused on solving our problem. Windows 7 configured the printer automatically and the other software and scanner drivers were available on the Brother website. Very easy. We love the print quality and the speed. I have already recommended this to a colleague looking for a wireless printer for their home office.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great versatile office machine

By Nifty from Champlain, NY on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased online in January 2010. The unit was left on my porch with the carton in excellent shape and no signs of abuse. Some people (online) complained about the weight (83 lbs.), but in my opinion it only means you are getting more for your money. Other than that (of which is not a complaint of mine), I have no complaints or regrets. I use mine in a home office so it's not in a high production environment. The unit is well engineered and thought out. Set up was easy and instructions were clear, although I did have a little challenge when configuring the wireless connection as I wasn't totally familiar with the technology. When first turned on, the unit takes about the same amount of time as an office photocopy machine to warm up and be ready. After the first copy or print, subsequent copies come out fast. I was really impressed at how fast photos came out, especially when compared to my HP photo printer. When on standby in sleep mode, the unit is dead silent of which I appreciate being in a small office. When installing the program(s) or drivers on your computer, be aware that it sets itself as the default printer during setup. If you desire another printer as default, it is simple to change so that is not really a problem. There are so many features on this machine, I would recommend someone give themselves time to become familiar with them so as not to become overwhelmed. I haven't used all the features yet, but it's nice to know they're there when I need them. Support documentation on Brother's website is extensive and reassuring to know it's there if needed. Cannot comment on Technician support as I haven't needed it. All in all a great multifunction printer of which this customer is happy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally a MF machine which is not a toy

By j0hnd from Undisclosed on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine is the first multi-function machine I have owned which really works. The document feeder has not malfunction since I purchased it a year ago. The software for scanning is easy to use and works great. The duplex printing works great but is a little slow, but for the money it is more than adequate. The unit is large and directions suggest you use two people to lift it out of the box.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW great buy

By Anonymous from Austin Texas on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this printer for almost a year all i can say is WOW fast black and white, auto Duplex and easy to install consumables. works great whit my Mac's and the Presto! software is ok. the only down side is the COST of toner WOW it is what i call very high. I haven't had to replace image belt or developer tray but i will go online for best price when i do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty good, a few irritating flaws

By Engineer from Los Angeles on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Generally this is printer does what I want - print, scan, copy, duplex, color, network. A few weaknesses: * You must replace the cartridge after a number of copies, whether it is empty or not. A cheap trick. * Slow, but I can live with that. * Color is only so-so. * Windows printer driver has major flaws. When you switch back and forth between duplex multipage and duplex single page, the binding orientation changes. So the back sides are upside down from the fronts. Clearly the driver was never tested for usability. * You can't easily save scanning parameters - you have to enter them every time. Other than those complaints, it's a good machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Caol

By Carol from Undisclosed on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this machine becuase scanning was very important since I'm a realtor and scan 25 to 30 pages at one time. this machine is very dispointing since it take forever to scan.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer Go Wireless!

By HomeOfficeUser from Phoenix, AZ on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Printer, Very happy with the quality. I have had it for about 6 months now. 5 Stars. > Easy to set up. > Fast. > Duplex works great. > Excellent scan to File. > Wireless is legit. You will love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Highly recommend for small office or biz division

By Emily from San Francisco Bay Area on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was a huge step up for us. We have a small business with 3-4 people using the printer during the day. We had been using Canon Pixmas which are also great for home office but really can't deliver for a small biz. We did a lot of research before choosing this Brother. We have had it for a few months and it is fantastic. It weighs a ton but two women easily unpacked it and got it up onto a worktable. It was very easy to set up and worked right off the bat. We are using it via a wireless network. Never had any glitches, prints quickly, can duplex automatically, (really key for us - and our environmentally aware clients who prefer two-sided reports), great color, good print options. Also scans, faxes, copies. It was an investment for our small biz but from our point of view a great value and made a tremendous impact on efficiency and printing speed right away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good small-office printer

By dclaudew from Oakton, VA, moving to Decatur, GA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer has met all my expectations. I wanted a great personal printer that would have no problems serving as an office printer when I needed quality color or faxing. Normally I keep the printer set on B&W, but when I need color, I just change the properties at the time of printing, and I get great color copies for office use. Faxing and scanning are both easy. Just hit "fax" or "scan" and the process starts. There is also a "one touch" feature in which I can save a fax number. For example, I have a house under construction at Unit 2, so if I hit "2" on the fax board, this printer sends a fax to my builder. I haven't had any paper jams yet, unlike my last printer, but the paper path seems easy to access, so I don't anticipate any clearing problems even if it ever were to jam. I haven't tried the wireless option. I have the printer within 10' of my DSL service. After a month or so of use, I can only find two very insignificant nitpicks. First, this is a massive printer, so wherever you set it up, that is where it is staying. Brother probably couldn't fit all the features in a smaller printer, particularly the easy access to the internal paper paths. Secondly, the fax will pick up the phone on my choice of rings 1, 2, 3, or 4. My actual choice would be ring 6, to give my answering machine plenty of time to be first, but Brother's maximum setting is the fourth ring. It just means I have 2 rings to beat the answering machine at ring 3 or the fax at ring 4. I'm very pleased with this printer. The price was better than fair. It performs office functions such as color, scan, and fax flawlessly. It doesn't jam. It serves as my daily B&W personal printer. And it looks very impressive in my small office. I recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not an inkjet

By BroLaser from Dallas tx on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's good for Black text only printing MFC. The color printing is weak. Photos look particularly bad. If you do a lot of color printing get an inkjet


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine!

By MrBob from Pittsboro, NC on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Reasonably fast, high quality, color, duplex printing. The wireless feature is the best as it makes it easy to support my 3 PCs. So many features that I've just begun to explore this machine's capabilities.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer easy to use.

By Russ from Undisclosed on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Couldn't ask for a better printer. everything works great. We believe we lucked out getting this one. Look at all the stores and check them all out and were very HAPPY with this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

simple to install and use

By jimbo from Snohomish, Washington on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have replaced one black-white laser printer/scanner/copier and a color laser printer. This printer was very easy to install, use and produced very high quality print. The functions are very intuitive for my wife [a non-hightech person]. I would recommend this printer to anyone who wants a productive tool and a fun-to-use printer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2010-05-01 review

By Lawnmower from Akron, Ohio & Sarasota, Florida on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the machine, I use it wireless, I use it as my default printer, I use the copier, I like the document feeder, I dont have much call for the duplex or the fax. My only complaint is I would like the color to be more vivid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mixed Function Quality

By Tried from Orange Park, Fl on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This machine is one of the best scanners and fax machines that I have ever used.. fast and efficient. The automatic document feeder is very reliable. The "booklet" feature is awesome. However, as a printer, it leaves much to be desired. Color print quality is poor even after changing the default setting that saves toner. The machine takes too long to warm up to print, takes to long to print and is quite noisy. The machine gives off a lot of heat. Duplexing works well but is slow. Black and white printing is acceptable quality. Color printing is not. I tried several things to improve color print quanity. I changed the print settings and purchased 24 pound paper. It made some improvement but overall color printing is unacceptable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value machine.

By labGuy from Ohio on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Basic color laser printers have come down in price. There are issues with this class of machine. Coming from a B+W multifunction laser, we were surprised at the slow heatup for the first print out of the color machine. It almost makes me want to go back to B+W. Image quality is decent, but noticeably less sharp than the high end color laser printer we have. The fax function is good. Network set up and toner cart swap is easy. The machine is good for light duty office use, great for when we don't want to interrupt our bigger production machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect small business machine

By Jeric from Los Angeles, CA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My MFC-9840CDW has become the workhorse of my real estate business. The set up, wireless networking and functions were simple, intuitive and quick. Finally, a machine that doesn't require an engineering degree to use. The copies are fast, very professional quality and we have gone through an entire duty cycle now without a single problem. The integrated scanning software is user friendly. I no longer need an IT person on staff just to help my agents (real estate agents are by and large not tech savvy by nature - LOL) fax, scan and print on the network. The size is more compact that the monster machines we have previously used, and the design is attractive. I consider it one of our best purchases.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good purchase

By Ladybug from Charleston, SC on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had it a little over month now. The only problems has been in printing some colors. Reds, blues are not true. I have been using it as WI FI so other people in the house can use it. At times it will not print and hang up then looses the document when you have to turn it off and back on. Tec support is not much help. They must out sorce support and it is hard takling to people. Software is a little behind the times could offer a lot more and make it easer. Over all I like the machine, I use it in my home office mostly and all but the above it works fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Printer

By BillTheRecruiter from Torrance, CA on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This printer (multi-function device) was so good that I bought a second one for the house. This is big for me, given that I would rather try the latest and greatest than buy two of the same. So far, the MFC-9840CDW has been flawless. It's wireless connection to our network was easy to set-up and has been stable. Never dropped off the network once. Network scanning and printing is great. The software is easy to use and we scan alot. Saving scans to our shared network folders saves us time in duplicating efforts. Even my non-technical partner loves it and has learned to use many of the features. It even has the ability to automatically scan 2 sided documents! While this does not come up that often, the ability to take a 2 sided document, pop it in the ADF, press a button and have it scan to a PDF is just awesome. As far as faxing is concerned, we just use the 9840 like a regular fax machine; sending and receiving. There are so many other options to send, receive and forward faxes that it would likely meet any faxing scenario. To many, 2 sided printing is an unnecessary option that brings up the cost of the machine. We primarily print in duplex mode and this is saving us reams of paper that would be lost if we didn't print on 2 sides. We do not print in color that often, but we do sometimes and this makes for a great looking document. As always, pictures come out best on photo paper, but, in my opinion, this is not the best printer to use if you are looking for high quality photography. Photo inkjets do a better job, but for me, the quality is very good which is good enough and the pictures do come out much faster than on an inkjet. The only negative to the printer is the cost of the toner cartridges. While I have not done a cost per page analysis, and toner does seem to last, the cost of having to replace all cartridges at one time is a hard pill to swallow. So it is something you want to budget for depending upon your printing volume. If you save up about 5 cents per page, you should have enough in your piggy bank when the time comes to buy toner. All that being said, the printer and toner can be purchased at nice discounts on the net if you do your research. In summary, I have yet to find any flaws with the printer and while we use it a lot, we are only using about 50% of the features this device has to offer. While there may be faster printers on the market, this is fast enough, and it scans like crazy. The fact that, after researching the purchase of a second unit, I bought a second 9840 as the best printer for the dollar should be recommendation enough.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer I have had yet

By DoctorJim from Greater Boston area on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In my small business as a doctor, I wanted a multi function printer that could send and receive faxes, print and scan. This machine does all that and in color too. Minus- scanning is not intuitive nor is word recognition.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good Machine

By Broker from Cedar Hill, Texas on 05/01/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have opened a new business and bought this MFC_9840CDW wanting it to be a complete workhorse for my company. It is working very good. I have attached it to the wireless network and all of my employees can print, scan, or fax from their computers. It works great. The only draw back is HP told me that this caused my computer to crash. I am not sure if that was it but just be aware. Also it can be slow and loud. Over all it is a very good machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This all-in-one does everything

By port from Springdale, AR on 04/18/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My entire household uses the Brother MFC-9840CDW for color copying, printing, scanning, and faxing. It was easy to set up the wireless networking and the duplex function saves paper. I especially like the many automatic functions; as simple as pushing a button. If it is as reliable as my other Brother products, I am looking forward to many years of quality color printing and copying.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved