Home » Appliances » Personal Appliances » Personal Hygiene » Epilators & Shavers » 81398122 » 32 Reviews

Braun Cooltec Dry Shaver - Puts Skin Irritation On Ice - For Skin (81398122) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 32 reviews)

50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Only lasted about a year

By Justin from Indiana on 07/01/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this shaver because my other Braun products have lasted so long. This one lasted under a year. I took perfect care of it. Then, all the sudden, it wouldn't turn on one morning when I went to shave. It is fully charged and will still light up green, but the motor won't run at all. It went from 100% to 0% functionality. There was no relevant troubleshooting provided for this product by Braun. So, when issues do happen, Braun's website and assistance provides very little to address concerns. Also, the Cool-Tec feature sounds neat, but once I played with it a couple times, it seemed pointless, at least for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

finally an electric shaver makes my day

By hmadyabdallah from Kew Gardens, NY on 11/19/2013

I replaced a Panasonic shaver after 5 years and really like the Braun cooltec better. It provides a close shave and doesn't feel warm. I use it everyday. The cleaning station is little bit noisy when operating, pumping cleaner for a very short time, and really not noticeable anymore. Shaver head feels so cool on skin when i put it on the cooler mode, and my skin doesn't get irritated. Very convenient. No shaver is perfect but the Braun-cooltec is amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great close shave, cooltec is definitely different

By Mooseman190 from Broken Arrow, OK on 11/19/2013

I received this shaver through a program from Braun and honestly I was skeptic. I tend not to like electric razors and stick to old school safety blades. THIS IS COMPLETELY different, I'm a redhead and have pretty sensitive skin but the cooltec keeps it from becoming red and irritated. I'll admit that having a shaver that is cold and doesn't have the heat of friction is a weird sensation at first but this shaver gets a closer shave than any electric shaver I've used and is better than most blades as well. I definitely recommend this shaver!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First ever electric shaver and super satisfied

By Socalntve76 from Chambersburg, PA on 11/19/2013

Let me first say that I have never owned or used an electric razor in my life and never thought about using one before and now I don't know if I can go back to a regular razor. I am a 37 year old man who has a typical baby face where it takes me almost a week to get a 5'Oclock shadow (ok just a couple of days) so razors have always been my choice. I received the cool tec solo through a program by Braun so I figured what the heck. The shaver itself has a nice design and grips that fit perfectly in your hand. The shaver does feel a little heavy but nothing out of the ordinary. I was surprised how close the cool tec shaves which is what I wasn't expecting. For me since I don't get too ch facial hair a couple trips over the face and I'm done. The one feature I really enjoy is the cool blue button which once you press it the shaver goes cold on your face and seems to help avoid any skin irritation. After using this for about a week straight I'm no longer using regular razors. If you never owned an electric razor or are thinking about it definitely check out the Braun cool tec solo


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can it Handle a Months growth

By Bubba524 from Anaheim, CA on 11/19/2013

Just got my Braun Cool Tec in the mail and I was waiting for this because now i can shave I come from the old school I still use my grandfathers razor with a double edge blade so i get the best and closest shave I can get so lets see how this does it took a bit to get through but once it got started it worked fine and the cooling action worked well I think that if I shave once a day this will be a great addition to my medicine cabinet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolutely the best electric shaver I've ever owned..

By beafraid from Bremerton, WA on 11/19/2013

I opened the new Braun CoolTec shaver and was immediately impressed by the quality of the shaver and accessories. The shaver itself felt solid in my hand and fit perfectly. After setting it up, which was easy and charging it I used it for the first time.. I intentionally grew out some stubble to see what this shaver could do.. I was BLOWN AWAY by how effortlessly the CoolTec shaved my face down to sift skin.. I only did half my face.. I then activated the CoolTec function of the shaver and shaved the other half.. The cooling sensation actually worked. The shaver head felt cold and soothed my skin as it shaved.. I'm thoroughly impressed by this Braun product and will recommend it to every guy I know.. It's simply amazing!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BRAUN Cool Tech Shaver

By Chinna from Dover, NH on 11/19/2013

I received my Braun Cool Tech Electric shaver yesterday. Its very easy to charge this Electric shaver and i am really excited to try this product.Today i used Braun Cool Tech shaver, its really good and the cooling sensation is awesome . My only concern is its taking more time than expected when compared to the manual shavers. Over all good product very excited to share my opinion with my friends and colleagues.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice shaver with a great feature.

By Anonymous from Portage, MI on 11/19/2013

I received my CoolTec Solo yesterday and charged it according to the directions. I received my shaver through a test program by Braun. I'm starting off with a positive for the Braun CoolTec Solo. This is a very nice shaver that as you shave it cools the skin, and I mean really cools the skin. This shaver drops in temperature and that allows the unit to cool the skin as you shave which for me prevents irritation from using electric shavers. Here is a kind of negative. On my cheeks where my hair is fine it shaves to the skin and is very smooth, but under my neck the hair is very coarse and the shaver has a harder time cutting all the hairs. A mesh screen that had holes slightly larger holes could possibly fix that. The build quality is very nice. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone that shaves and will continue to use it but would like it to accommodate my coarser hair. That one drawback is why I rate it a four star and not a five.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Braun shaver

By Mongoose43 from Albany, MN on 11/19/2013

Love the feeling of the aluminum cooling bar on my face thanks to brAuns cooltec shaver. I have less skin irritation using this shaver then any others I have used. The cutting blades are great. I would recommend this razor to a friend and family.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Braun degreesCoolTec" First use

By mavsman13 from Fort Worth, TX on 11/19/2013

Ok here are my first thoughts after using the Braun "cool Tec" for the first time. First let me say I am a Safety Razor user so this was going to be a new experience for me. I waited until this morning (11/15) so that I would have a few days growth. Per the instructions shaved prior to my shower. Typically I shave after my shower so this was an interesting change, but did make sense being this is more of a dry shave. I powered "her" up and activated the Cool Tec feature. I gave it a few second so that it would be nice and activated and must say it was an interesting experience. The coolness was very noticeable and must say provided a comfortable shave. I did not experience any irritation and overall enjoyed the shave. Compared to my typical "wet" shave the process is a lot simpler, quicker but first shave was not as close as I would hope. I am hoping that it might just be a rookie shave and hope to report after my second shave this weekend. So far even with the not as close as expected shave I still give the razor an 8 out of 10 for comfort and "cool Tec" feature! I would recommend this to friends and family members but want to experience it more so I can move from "rookie" to "pro". Picture attached.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Braun CoolTec Shaver

By mafritzsurveys from Woodbury, MN on 11/19/2013

Braun CoolTec is a game-changing electric shaver line that achieves what plenty of others like it have tried before and never quite succeeded in accomplishing: a nonirritating shave. For all the attempts to get guys with sensitive shave-skin to use electric razors, it turns out, the solution was simple " just keep it cool. Literally. The problem with all electric razors is that they generate heat. While you're shaving, this warmth is passed on to the skin and often initiates the most common shave irritations, such as redness, ingrown hairs, and breakouts " not to mention being kind of painful at times. So Braun has added a cooling aluminum bar on the tip of the razor, set so that it glides against the skin and cools it off with proprietary Thermo Electric Cooling (TEC) technology. As you shave, the bar comes into contact with your face and chills any sparks causing the irritation process before they can even start. We tried it out with the CoolTec 5cc, and it was one of the first times we got through a full electric shave without having to take a cool-down break. The thing refused to get hot, but it also never got too cold and, strangely, became a pleasure to use, if that can be said about shaving. The cooling bar is set between its two best friends " two SensoBlade foil-style razors and one epilating jaw, both of which are staples on Braun's successful series 3, 5, and 7 shavers. It's waterproof and is made to be used dry or wet, with some gel. A clearly marked button controls the cooling, which, for now, comes in On or Off options and there's only one speed. Some may not like the lack of control in those arenas, but we don't think it's a concern: We repeatedly got shaves smooth enough to make us not care. Some of the other bells and whistles include a robust long razor that's great for trimming sideburns, beards, and mustaches and an optional self-cleaning and charging dock. The shaver stays charged for 45 minutes worth of buzzing and gets enough power from five minutes of charging for one good shave. Overall, adding this to your shave stash is a no-brainer " it's simple, effective, and sure to be imitated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cool New Razor

By mrcheese from Honey Brook, PA on 11/19/2013

The new CoolTec Razor from Braun is definitely the coolest electric razor I have ever owned. You never get any razor burn sensation. The CoolTec immediately starts working like a ice cube being slid across your face while shaving. I used it with about three days growth and it worked quite well. Under the chin on the neck needed a little more care but I chalked it up to never having used a foil razor before. Overall I am happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Braun degreesCoolTec Solo is the one

By bobsylvia83 from Guilford, CT on 11/19/2013

I've been using the same electric shaver for probably about 7 years now, so it was going to take a lot of convincing for me to switch over to a new one. But Braun degreesCoolTec Solo may just be the one to convince me. I received the electric shaver through a program run by Braun and was at first a bit skeptical about what seemed to be a gimmicky option - active cooling technology? revolutionary aluminum cooling bar? How about just a close, comfortable shave? Much to my surprise, Braun's new electric shaver delivers all of that. Close, comfortable, AND cool! My wife even commented on the close shave, and she can be quite the critic when it comes to my stubble. Will I use the cooling feature all the time? Probably not, but it's nice to know it's an option. Braun degreesCoolTec is now Solo mio.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cool as a cucumber

By christo816 from Delmar, NY on 11/19/2013

I was provided an electric shaver as part of a promotion by Braun. The new Braun CoolTec electric shaver is really quite a shaver. Upon taking it out of the box I was pleased with how the shaver looked as well as how it felt to hold. The trimmer was easy to slide up but also tucked away nicely. I used this shaver with probably two days worth of stubble and it did a very nice job getting into all the curves of my face without tugging and pulling and irritating. I did a quick clean up job and found that there was no later irritation. I do not know if that was due to the CoolTec technology or if this is just a great shaver but so far I am very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Impressed

By Bkeene from Shermans Dale, PA on 11/19/2013

I received my razor in the mail yesterday. I charged it and tried it out last night. I was impressed. It actually did feel cool and did a good job at shaving. My skin was not irritated at all. I'm excited to keep using this razor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Braun CoolTec.....Absolutely COOL!

By TMCARLEY from Olathe, KS on 11/19/2013

Finally, I had the chance to tear open the box and unveil the new Braun CoolTec shaver. After waiting for its initial charge to complete, I put it to work. Having sensitive skin, I was a bit apprehensive to use the electric style razor. I have had bad experiences in the past with electric razor burn but this time was different. The cooling technology was immediately put to the test and sure enough its ability to ease the redness and sharpness of a shave was apparent. The smooth gliding action of the shaver along with the fresh cool sensation on my face.....my eyes were opened to a new way of shaving. On any given day I currently use the ever so costly razors that require a small investment when refilling the cartridge supply. Absolutely.....NO MORE! In one use, I am sold on Brauns ability to make a shave truly enjoyable. CoolTec is unequivocally the way to go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Braun is the Coolest!

By Shaunot from Bluffton, SC on 11/19/2013

I received the Braun CoolTec Solo shaver through a program being run by Braun. I have to say, I am greatly impressed. This is only the second Braun shaver I have used in my (approaching middle-age) adult life; I have usually used Norelco products. After hearing about the cooling aluminum bar, I was instantly intrigued. I am one of those sensitive skinned guys who has some difficulty getting through an entire morning shave, so it definitely has not been my favorite part of the daily morning routine! My neck areas are the most sensitive, and of course, the most difficult areas to get a close buzz without having to use the circular motion over, and over, and over. I have been using a three head shaver that gives me a great shave compared to most products that I have had the opportunity to use, but those heads heat up during my use. Not something I really paid much attention to, until trial of this product. Now, I feel that the heat being generated was contributing significantly to the minor discomforts I would feel during shaving, including the red blotches that would stick around for a couple hours. With the Braun CoolTec Solo, I have a button I can push that cools down to a 44 degree mark while I am running the shaver over my skin. I can use the cooling technology all over my face, or simply over the areas that I have most difficulty with. I can turn the cooling bar on, or turn it off with the simple push of a button. And the cooling takes place immediately after pushing the button. This cooling technology has appeared to work very well on my sensitive neck areas in particular. And above all, the shave is great. No shaver is absolutely perfect in this regard, but the SensoBlade cuts my facial hair down very close and leaves my skin feeling smooth to the touch. Again, I was impressed due to my lack of experience with Braun and foil headed shavers. Best of all, my irritation is almost null and void, and no red blotches after I have completed my shave. The cooling bar does not get TOO cold, either. When I read that it reaches the "chilling" 44 degree mark and was as cold as a beverage can straight out of a cold fridge, I didn't think that sounded overly soothing. But, it is, in fact, soothing. The entire head of the shaver does not cool down, just a bar in between the two foils, and it really is just enough. I would highly recommend this shaver to anyone who has trouble with skin irritation or the after effects of reddness during their shave with an electric razor. I have to say that, hands down, the Braun CoolTec Solo is the coolest shaver I have ever used - no pun intended!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Braun Cool Tec Shaver is chill

By rtparnow from Bellevue, IA on 11/19/2013

Braun has introduced a razor with a cooling bar intended to reduce the irritation from shaving. It is a cordless shaver with a three stage cutting system. Overall, it works well, feels good in your hand, and has a nice list of features. I am not entirely sold on the cooling technology, especially since it cuts your battery life by 66%. Pros: -Decent shave -Can be used in the shower and cleaned under running water -Travel lock to keep the shaver from starting in your suitcase Cons: -cooling feature cuts down battery life -a bit heavy -takes about 45 seconds for cooling feature to get to temperature The shaver was provided to me through a program run by Braun.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome razor.

By scottgentry from London, KY on 11/19/2013

My face is very sensitive so when I use an electric razor I get razor burn but with the new brawn cool Tech the razor burn was gone my face felt good. Even help me with my 5 o'clock shadow. I highly recommend this product to anybody.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally found a shaver my face agrees with

By elcabezon from San Antonio, TX on 11/19/2013

I've owned many electric shavers but since I have such sensitive skin none of them worked for me. After receiving an invite to try the Braun CoolTec Solo for free I was skeptical but decided to give it a shot since I have to shave everyday for work. It was simple to plug in and charging was pretty quick. I was impressed by the aluminum cooling bar and helped to not irritate my sensitive skin. This shaver provided me with the closest shave from any razor without any irritation. I'm seriously thinking of giving these to my brothers and father for Christmas!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great concept

By Cbmatthews from Yadkinville, NC on 11/19/2013

I have highly sensitive skin and rosacea so shaving is usually a chore. I have always been a Braun fan. This new razor takes it to the next level. The coolness of the cooling element does a great job of decreasing inflammation while shaving. The packaging was ok, but the individual components, each packaged separately, we're a chore to unwrap. It was easy to assemble the charger and actually charge the razor. I actually looked forward to shaving this morning. Overall: a great product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The cooling feature makes every thing better

By Shaun102413 from Tampa, FL on 11/19/2013

I was a little skeptical about the "cooling" feature. Lots of products claim to do different things but usually end up with roughly the same outcome. I wanted to know if it was really worth it, and I found out it was. the cooling really helps with limiting irritation. m wife was impressed by how smooth my face was. There were a few bumps but they were there from before when using my previous razor. I'm sure they will go away with continued use. I'll keep you posted but really a must try! You won't be sorry


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New to electric razers.

By d2ahiddenkiller from Bristol, RI on 11/19/2013

This is my very first electric razor and was provided to me through a program run by Braun. I'm still getting used to it, as of right now I'm very satisfied but not quite sure if Im ready to through away my old manual razor just yet. To properly test this razor I let my facial hair grow in for over a week. The first thing I noticed was how well the cooling element works. It feels great on my face especially in the hot shower. It feels like your rubbing an ice cube on your face as you shave. It's defiantly a different experience but the tech alone makes it worth purchasing. According to Braun they say the cooling element is to prevent razor burn and it does so, very well. After trimming my facial hair there was no sign of razor burn anywhere, and I did not use any pre shave lotions. Another positive of the Cooltec over a traditional razor is how close it gets and how smooth it leaves your skin. I actually had a closer shave with the Braun I ever had from my razor, and it left the skin very smooth. After the shave, out of habit, I applied some aftershave lotion that usually burns after a shave. With the Braun I didn't fell a thing, meaning that it did not break the skin in any way shape or form. So for comfort and overall feel this is 5 out of 5. Unfortunately there are a couple negative aspects to this razor, but from what I hear they are an issue with most electric razors. It defiantly wont win any speed records; I found it much slower to shave my face with the electric razor. I think with time and practice I may speed up the process a bit. Even though it is slower, all though convenience being able to shave without water or shave lotion almost anywhere makes the loss of speed almost worth it. Secondly I had a hard time with some spots under my chin. It took multiple passes to get some of those spots. I feel like it is partially my fault for not knowing how to properly shave with an electric razor, but still it was a little frustrating. This could also have been due to how long I allowed my facial hair to grow in order to properly test this razor. After a month or so ill update post a new review and see if I have been able to iron out these issues. Overall quality of shave 3 out of 5. Final verdict: 4 out of 5 Great smooth shave with zero razor burn, but can be slow at times. I would defiantly recommend to someone who already has an electric razor because it is a heck of an upgrade in the comfort department. I would also recommend this to a traditional razor user who wants to be free of the soaps and aftershave and the ability to shave anywhere. I hope this helped you decide!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

braun cool tech solo

By hells1salvation from Fort Irwin, CA on 11/19/2013

I got the razor from braun. I'm in the military and being able to shave on the go is a nice commodity. This particular electric lasts for quite a bit between charges. The cooling function on it is really a big help. It really does eliminate razor irritation. It doesn't have the closest shave but does do fairly well, and as stated before the cooling effect really helps especially in a field environment where dry shaving is a must. I haven't had it long enough to rate the blade life but I will when I can. Other things to keep in mind is that it is a rechargeable unit so you do have to charge it, it is a razor and must be emptied/cleaned and oiled every so often, and if you need that really close shave a traditional razor is still more effective. I really like this product thought. As I said before the cooling effect really does wonders for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CoolTec, 3 Stage cutting system razor gets high grade

By Anonymous from Norwalk, OH on 11/19/2013

In a program run by Braun, I was fortunate to trial the Braun CoolTec Solo shaver with a 3 stage cutting system. I must note that my facial hair growth is medium to light, but grows enough stubble to clean up on a daily basis. After a week of shaving each day, I have been happy with the results day in and day out of this Braun product! I am not a brand loyalist when it comes to shavers, but the innovative product in hand certainly makes a case to reconsider and support Braun going forward. The CoolTec technology offers a pleasant sensation with no irritation while I shave - not afterward with aftermarket product - and does not require extra effort to maintain its performance integrity. I found that I prefer this 3 stage cutting system over another 3 stage, rotating head, system "hands down" as the results of the shave and time to execute are much better in each respect. If you are considering a shaver, consider this Braun product to get and feel the results a man desires.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

easy to use, easy to clean, great results!

By Jbisk19 from Green Bay, WI on 11/19/2013

I have used the Braun CoolTec Solo twice now and I love the results. Before trying the Braun CoolTec I used the Braun electric razor #5610. Comparing the two razors, I found that it takes me longer to achieve the results on the CoolTec than I did with my Braun 5610 razor. However, once done shaving with the CoolTec, I find that I received a nice, closer shave.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love the cooling sensations

By 420kmh420 from Chesapeake, OH on 11/19/2013

I never would of thought I would of liked this so much. Cold shaving is the best honestly I want a cold trimmer attached too and a cold blade razor not electric it would be the best for women too! It's great for sensitive skin. It gets cold but not too cold in just wish the whole device would get cold instead of a bar in the middle other t gan that I love it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Have BRAUN cannot Travel....

By Anonymous from Middletown, DE on 11/19/2013

As a traveler, I was really disappointed that the Braun shaver didnt come with a cap for when I travel so that the folis would not be tamepered with. The shaver is also a little bulky when traveling and you need to place it in a travel kit. I have only shaved with it twice so far...I will write a review on the quality of the shave shortly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No razor burn with the Braun CoolTec

By dtsheets from Suffolk, VA on 11/19/2013

This electric razor has something that I have not come across with other electrics, the coolness! It gives a really close shave and as it moves across your skin, the cool strip technology feels like a miniature ice cube cooling your skin. It REALLY helps with the comfort of the shave. You can turn this feature on and off as well. I did not experience any razor bumps after shaving either. Overall, it was a close, smooth, comfortable shave. The hair trimmer on the reverse of the handheld did not perform as well on the sideburns, taking multiple tries but still was unable to make a clean line. I had to get out my previous razor to complete the job (this is the reason this did not get the perfect 5 stars).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BRAUN degreesCoolTec is Cool

By collect2012 from Riverside, CA on 11/19/2013

I have to say first that I always have skin irritation from shaving. The first thing I noticed about Braun degreesCoolTec "provided via a program run by Braun" Solo is the chagrining time. it took around 30 minutes to charge. I noticed the effects of the aluminum cooling bar on my face which had a vey cool touch to my skin. after my first use I felt the difference between my old way in shaving and the Braun degreesCoolTec Solo. It really reduced my skin irritation. The only thing that I didn't like is that it wasn't sharp enough to completely shave my beard (it left some behind) but I think the reason was it that I had a heavy beard. I will try it next time on a normal beard and lets see the difference! In general it is the best shaver that I used ever, and I'd recommend it to my friends and family.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brauns new cool tec is refreshing

By Sobs3939 from Oakland Gardens, NY on 11/19/2013

I received this razor as part of a promotion from Braun. I was very interested in testing this razor out with the cooling application. I felt that the cooling effect made it easier to shave the skin. I had a little trouble figuring out how to charge the razor. It was an ok shave as there was still stubble. Overall it was a good product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cooltec is amazing

By Scott46 from Boston, MA, USA on 09/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was initially concerned that the manual warned against using any pre-shave products - i.e. no lotion before dry shaving and no foam or gel for wet use in the shower. I called Braun CS and asked if shave products would really damage the shaver and if so, would using them void my warranty. The agent said, "Yes" the warranty would be void! I was incredulous and asked for a supervisor who corrected the previous agent and told me that although using pre-shave products was strongly advised against, the warranty would still stand. Another CS agent emailed me that the Cooltec could not be manually cleaned with soap at all and could not be used in the shower! I knew from the manual that both of these statements were incorrect and she later apologized and confirmed that I was right. Clearly Braun US customer service is not up to speed on this product. The bottom line, I'm happy to report, is that the Cooltec works beautifully in the shower without any foam or gel! I am amazed at the close and comfortable shaves I'm getting. Braun should really promote this as a "plus" since anyone would be happy to save money by never having to buy shave foam or gel again! The cooling technology is very soothing and has greatly diminished the irritation I used to experience. The only reason for deducting one star is that use of the cooling feature drops the shave-time per charge from 45 to 15 minutes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved