Home » Audio » Radios » Radio Transmitters/receivers » RP7887 » 30 Reviews

Rca Rp7887 High-performance Super Radio - Successor To Ge 72887 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 30 reviews)

86% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:

Practical (25), Gearhead (3)

Pros:

Lightweight (8), Great Reception (21), Durable (19), Good Sound Quality (22), Long Battery Life (11), Easy Controls (4), Good Sound (4), Powerful (3)

Best Uses:

Daily Use (17), Home Use (24), Travel (6)

Cons:

Bulky (3), Heavy (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Amazing Sound, very good reception

By MJ Verified Reviewer from USA on 05/15/2012


Was this a gift?:

No

Pros:

Great Reception, Good Sound Quality

Cons:

Bulky

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this radio picks up stations that other radios don't. the sound quality is just amazing due to the large speakers. try this before you try other more expensive radios. you can connect external antennas to get better reception. you have to listen to this radio to really enjoy the sound quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just OK

By Hoyt7811 from Bokeelia, Fl. on 09/30/2011


Pros:

Easy To Read Freq Scale, Good Sound Quality

Was this a gift?:

No

Cons:

Freq Scale Not Accurate

Describe Yourself:

Practical, Hands On Type

Best Uses:

Home Use, Outside Working

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not what I expected. Performance was just as fair as the other portable I use. Don't know how they call this a high performance radio with dx circuitry. Good enough for the price I guess. Definately disappointed in it's performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not too happy

By ski Verified Reviewer from wyoming, MI on 12/07/2009


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Poor Reception

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Home Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I don't think this radio was worth the money at all. Very disappointed. It doesn't do anything different than my $19.00 CD player with radio does.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Good as touted"

By Bob the Golfer from El Segundo, Ca on 11/21/2009


Pros:

Good Sound Quality, Great Reception

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Daily Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I listen to Rush but couldn't get the signal at work. With this radio, I am able to listen with a little interference but it's worth it. On other stations with good reception, the sound quality is excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best AM-FM Portable I've ever heard!

By TGC Verified Reviewer from Indian Lake, Ohio on 11/15/2009


Pros:

Great Reception, Great Speaker, External Antenna Posts, Durable, Great Sound Quality

Describe Yourself:

Practical, Cruising Boater

Best Uses:

Home Use, Travel, Am Dxing, Daily Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent reception & sound quality as-is with its built-in antennae! Use a simple long-wire and a ground wire and re-discover those wonderful "Clear Channel AM Stations". The External Antenna posts are ready to use. Obviously, this is not a shirt-pocket radio & it definitely does not sound like one! Suggestion: Do a Google search for the "Clear Channel" stations & have fun Dxing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great radio

By sal Verified Reviewer from Sault Ste. Marie, ON Canada on 11/14/2009


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Good Sound Quality, Long Battery Life, Great Reception

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Home Use, Travel

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

we love it in the backyard


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

RCA RP7887 SUPER RADIO

By BUZZY from WISCONSIN on 11/10/2009


Pros:

Good Sound Quality, Great Reception, Durable

Cons:

Short Battery Life

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Travel, Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THE RADIO WORKS WELL, HAS GREAT SOUND AND A BUILT IN POWERSUPPLY TO SAVE ON BATTERIES.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good AM/FM radio

By Mern from Palm Coast, Florida on 11/10/2009


Pros:

Great Reception, Good Sound Quality, Durable

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Use every day, better performance then any other AM/FM radio we have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

As Advertized

By Talk Radio Man Verified Reviewer from Buffalo, In on 10/28/2009


Pros:

Good Sound Quality, Great Reception, Durable

Describe Yourself:

Retired

Best Uses:

Daily Use, Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It has the best and most powerful AM section of any radio regardless of price. I use these radios strictly for AM; I didn't buy the radio for it's FM qualities. It pulls in more stations than I could listen to in a lifetime.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy!

By Curt from Halifax, PA on 10/16/2009


Pros:

Good Sound Quality, Great Reception

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Daily Use, Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this radio to use at work. I had tried several radios in my office, but hadn't found one that would receive my favorite AM or FM stations. My office is located close to a mountain and radio reception is sometimes poor even for strong stations. I read reviews on numerous products that boasted good reception and noticed that many compared radios in the $120 to $175 price range to the Super Radio. The Super Radio being priced at about [$], seemed to be worth a try before spending at least three times the money. It only took a few days to arrive after ordering. I am very pleased with the reception. It pulls in AM stations clearly, that on other radios used to produce constant static. The FM reception is good too. The Super Radio has a large speaker that produces very good sound. I would recommend this radio to anyone that likes to listen to AM stations and is troubled with poor reception. It's a great value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome radio from awesome dealer!

By Big Dog Gary Verified Purchaser from Casper, WY on 09/09/2009


Pros:

Long Battery Life, Lightweight, Durable, Good Sound Quality, Great Reception

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Daily Use, At The Lake

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We live in the state of Wyoming and go fishing out in the boonies - we needed a radio that would be easy enough to take with but still get a good, quality sound and this product does all that we ask!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I plan on buying another one.

By David from Whitinsville, MA and Rapid City, SD on 08/27/2009


Pros:

Great Reception, Good Sound Quality, Durable, Lightweight

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Daily Use, Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the radio for my mother who moved to South Eastern Mass from Boston and still wanted to listen to talk radio from Boston but could not find a radio good enough for evening listening. Right out of the box it worked great and does everything expected of it. I am now back home in SD and am buying another one for myself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The SUPER Radio

By Judy Verified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 08/26/2009


Pros:

Great Reception, Durable, Good Sound Quality

Cons:

Bulky, Heavy

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Home Use, Travel, Daily Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The SUPER Radio gets great reception in the office, even with the flourescent lights. That was why I bought it...and I am NOT disappointed


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great sound for a portable.

By George Verified Purchaser from Ruisoso, NM on 08/12/2009


Pros:

Durable, Good Sound Quality, Lightweight, Great Reception

Cons:

Hard To See Tuning Bar

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Daily Use, Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's a great radio but the tuning bar is hard to see there should be led's behind the bar so that frequency will show up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Under-rated radio.

By Dave in Oregon Verified Purchaser from Southern Oregon on 03/31/2009


Pros:

Long Battery Life, Powerful, Easy Controls, Durable, Good Sound

Cons:

Not For The Techie

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Daily Use, Emergency Use, Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is actually the 3rd Super Radio I've owned. The first two were GE's that I gave to family a few years ago; now I have the RCA (as well as other family members without one). I haven't found a great deal of difference between the GE and RCA versions. Big clear sound. Big AM and FM reception. Easy to use controls. Since its not digital, when its off its off and prolongs battery life. Built in wall plug is a plus. Long battery life makes it a good candidate for an emergency radio as does its long range reception. I've never used the external antenna connections. Like I said in the review head line, "Under-rated radio" - I care about AM radio and have others. The Super Radio is a real champ. HTH Dave in Oregon


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big sound - OK quality of construction.

By Dave in Oregon Verified Reviewer from Oregon on 03/20/2009


Pros:

Long Battery Life, Good Sound, Durable, Powerful, Easy Controls

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Best Uses:

Daily Use, Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is actually the 3rd Super III I've owned. I gave the other two to family some years ago. Now have a replacement (and other family members without one). Big sound, great reception, with OK construction and a reasonable price. Non digital, so when its off, its off and not draining the batteries. The built in wall plug is a nice plus over a separate cord and transformer. Very long battery life on 6 "D" cells makes it a good candidate for a home based emergency radio as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

same radio, different maker, outcome bad

By Oconee brown Verified Purchaser from Madison Ga on 03/17/2009


Pros:

Easy Controls, Long Battery Life

Cons:

Poor Sound Quality

Best Uses:

Travel, Daily Use, Commuting

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this used to be the only radio that would pick up an AM station in my truck. this new one i just bought will not do that now. this is my 5th or 6th radio in the last 20 years. all have served me well up to the last one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Paul from Portland, ME on 01/06/2009


Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Great Reception, Good Sound Quality, Durable

Best Uses:

Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great radio.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A tech sleeper!!

By JoeyJay Verified Purchaser from Merrick, NY on 12/20/2008


Cons:

Heavy

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Good Sound Quality, Great Reception, Long Battery Life, Durable

Best Uses:

Daily Use, Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The overall sound quality of this radio is awesome. I have higher-end radios that do not perform as well in sound quality and am/fm reception.(AM reception is unreal) A little heavy when using batteries. Controls are straight-forward and easy to use. On/Off switch could be a little better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Quality radio

By adklogger from Rome, NY on 12/19/2008


Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Long Battery Life, Lightweight, Great Reception, Good Sound Quality, Durable

Best Uses:

Travel, Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This radio has good sound quality and provides good reception in remote areas...we feel this radio will be used for years to come as was our previous one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No buyer's regret

By Joe O Verified Purchaser from Ottumwa, IA on 10/14/2008


Describe Yourself:

Practical, Gearhead

Pros:

Great Reception, Good Sound Quality

Best Uses:

Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a talk radio fan and am living in the middle of nowhere so this comes in handy for entertainment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cleared up distortion in am band

By tree guy from Farmingdale, NJ on 10/13/2008


Cons:

Short Am Band Range

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Good Sound Quality, Lightweight, Durable, Great Reception

Best Uses:

Home Use, Daily Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use it for AM talk radio. The reception is excellent but it does not have the far range that it advertises.My other radio easily received a Kentucky station that I listened to at nite, this radio pretty much just gets about a 300 mile range.The clear sound makes up for the loss in range. I would recommend it. Good portable radio when just using batteries.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great reception & sound from a portable

By jvog Verified Purchaser from Orlando, FL on 06/27/2008


Cons:

Heavy

Describe Yourself:

Practical, Gearhead

Pros:

Good Sound Quality, Great Reception, Durable

Best Uses:

Long Distance Reception

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pulled a station from Chicago first time turned on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's Name tells it all - Super Radio

By Joe Bear Verified Purchaser from San Antonio on 01/28/2008


Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Value For Unbeatable, Good Sound Quality, Great Reception

Best Uses:

Office, Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The office I work in is notoriously bad for radio reception. I have tried 3 previous radios and none of them have been able to receive the stations I listen to. Most recently I purchased a Sangean radio because the customer reviews I had read indicated that it had the best reception among the standard group of moderately priced radios (Boston Acoustics, Tivoli). When I took it to the office, the Sangean couldn't pick up any channels. This is not a knock on the Sangean, the other radios I had brought in didn't work any better. After I returned the Sangean, I was surfing the net for other alternatives, reading reviews on Sony and CCR world radios, when I noticed a sentence "Of course, I assume you have a Superradio". I did a search and found this radio. [...] Bottom line: I took the radio to my office and was able to pick up most anything, including several stations that were more than 100 miles away. For [$], you can't beat the value. Every other radio I had looked at was well over [$]. [...]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Reception! Amazing sound!

By Radiophanatic_71 Verified Purchaser from Woodinville, Washington on 11/09/2007


Cons:

Bulky, Radio Dial Is Off Some, Not Calibrated

Describe Yourself:

Radio Enthusiast

Pros:

Long Battery Life, Great Reception, Durable, Good Sound Quality

Best Uses:

Daily Use, Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an awesome radio! The price is just right. The reception is amazing. Clearity like no other. It pulls those scratchy long distant stations in and really pin points them... Can't go wrong with this purchase.My only complaint would be of the radio dial. It's off calibration wheh you tune, so its as if your not directly on the station. This is a common issue with this radio but is no real big deal once you get used to it...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

COMPANY GOOD, PRODUCT WEAK

By jack Verified Purchaser from ny on 11/06/2007


Cons:

Poor Am Reception

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Good Sound Quality

Best Uses:

Work, Home Use

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Disappointed in AM reception


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great radio

By BigBill Verified Purchaser from Pioneer CA on 10/30/2007


Cons:

None

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Lightweight, Great Reception, Durable, Good Sound Quality, Long Battery Life

Best Uses:

On The Job, Daily Use, Home Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned five or six of these radios. I'm a drywall taper and I listen to the radio while I work. The price is right, it fits nicely behind the seat of my truck and the battery life is first rate. After a few months it gets covered with drywall mud and paint but it still works and sounds just fine. The only thing that hurts it is when I leave it in the bed of my truck and it gets wet. Then it usually dies. But that's my bad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid performer for the money !

By Corky Verified Purchaser from New Jersey on 07/20/2007


Describe Yourself:

Gearhead, Practical

Pros:

Easy Controls, Durable, Long Battery Life, Good Sound, Powerful

Best Uses:

Home Use, Daily Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The only thing I could fault this radio for (and my old GE version had the same shortcoming)is a totally inaccurate tuning dial. I would think the engineers could fix this without too much trouble. Better would be a digital readout for tuning or best would be a digital tuner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"The same great reception and sound"

By Budd Verified Purchaser from Gilbert, MN on 06/07/2007


Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Good Sound, Superior Reception, Long Battery Life

Best Uses:

Home Use, Daily Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned the older GE version of this radio for years and am happy with the RCA model. You can't beat it for reception in areas where other radios can't get a clear signal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SUPERADIO III REMAINS A SOLID PERFORMER

By WA5KRP Verified Purchaser from San Antonio, TX on 05/04/2007


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just purchased my 5th and 6th SR-III. I can distinguish no change in performance since it became an RCA product. I've been a ham radio operator since 1964, and I've used dozens of radios. Aside from sloppy calibration, this radio has the sensitivity, selectivity, and audio that embarasses the much more costly Grundig, Sony, and Sangean radios, including the CC Radio. I frequent remote areas of west Texas and the SR-III consistently pulls in weak AM stations from throughout North America. This radio is a rock solid performer I take everywhere I go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved