Home » F55800A » 38 Reviews

Remington F5-5800A F5 Recharg. Foil Interc Shave Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 38 reviews)

59% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Not Bad at all

By Johnnyman61 from Warren, OH, USA on 04/22/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Though I was looking for the triple head, this works just fine. I'm not an everyday shaver but cleans me up when needed. Have not had to recharge battery yet which is a plus in my book.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do Not Buy Body and Back Groomer

By Kenron from Utah on 03/29/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The F5 shaver works fine however the Body and Back Groomer did not charge enough to operate any of the attachments.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst ever

By milbro from Undisclosed on 01/25/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

been using remington shavers for over 50 years.This model is terrible my face feels raw after shave as i have to keep rubbing many times to achieve something close.Dont know how it passed the product testing stage.Impossible to get close under nostril as cutting blades are not effective


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Performs better than I expected

By TomSr from Buckeye, AZ, USA on 10/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wanted to keep my MS2-390 as long as I could get parts. Thought it was my best ever. My new F-5800 performs very well. Intercept feature is particularly effective. Disappointed in the charger cord, very cheap & doesn't coil for storage. Overall a good value. Wait and see about durability. Have only been using it less than two months but have no reason to think it won't last 3-4 years. Would like to have seen a travel case included.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good razor.

By Wingman01 from Baton Rouge, La on 09/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a good razor and cutter. As my beard grows gray, it would be nice to have a more durable cutter and screen. I find the cutter dulls quickly when cutting a gray beard. I still prefer the old microscreen to this product for a closer shave.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor, Poor, and Poor

By George68 from Deale, MD, USA on 08/11/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Extremely disappointed in the quality of this shaver. This shaver has turned into a money pit to maintain. Factor in The initial price, add cost of replacement foils, not once, but twice in the past three months, and I now need to replace them AGAIN! My face has been nicked to the point of bleeding, by the holes in the foils! Really? I am done with Remington Products!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another great shaver

By GaryL from Rock Hill, SC, USA on 08/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second Remington shaver my first one lasted 12 years and now it was time to upgrade instead of just buying a new battery.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Shave but Battery Issues

By ireb from Davis, CA, USA on 05/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this from my wife for Christmas December 2013. Now in May 2014 it suddenly stopped recharging correctly. If I leave it on the charger cable for a full day then the green lights blink as if it is fully charged. It will run plugged in. As soon as I unplug it though the red light comes on and it does not work. I miss it, great shave for in the shower. Taking it to repair shop in Napa, CA, hope it is covered by warranty (hope we can find proof of purchase too!).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

F5800XLP - Bad Shave

By Tom24 from Sonoma, CA on 04/10/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This shaver simply doesn't give you a close shave. I have given it over a month of daily use in hopes it would somehow, get better? It hasn't. You have to go over the same spots over and over, and it is terrible shaving when you have a two day beard growth. I have used Remington's Triple Foil shavers for many years. And I highly recommend them for ease of use and a super great close shave. I bought the F58 as a back up shaver which I keep at work. It has already gone in the trash. Time to get a Triple Foil backup shaver.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product is the best Remington shaver in years.

By Jerry42 from Carrollton, TX, USA on 03/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

65+ use daily-clean shaven. I have used the best of Braun,Norelco and Panasonic through the years and this shaver gives a very quick comfortable shave as any of the others mentioned. I would highly recommend this shaver.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Burned

By Dave60 from Spooner, WI USA on 03/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the worst shaver I've ever owned. It's over-sized and under-powered. The shape is hard to hold onto. It takes ten minutes of steady shaving to achieve what I would call a barely passable shave. I received the wrong extra cutter and foil, but it doesn't matter because the shaver is in the garbage. I'll never buy another Remington product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this shaver was to replace my wahl

By hosea from kansas on 03/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this shaver never has given me the close shave my old wahl did. I have since ordered new cutters for my wahl.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

vERY GOOD SHAVER

By TITUS from BERKLEY MICHIGAN on 02/26/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I ORRIGINAL USED THE MICRO SCREEN SHAVERS. I STARTED WHEN THE ADDS RUN ABOUT THE MAN WHO BOUGHT THE COMPANY. I USED THESE UNTL I SAW SANTA CLAUS SLEDING DOWN A HILL AND SWITCHED TO NORELCO. HOWEVER I NEVER GOT A SATISFACTORY SHAVE. ALSO USED THE 4570. UNFORTUNATELY REPLACEMENT BLADES AND SCREENS ARE NO LONGER AVAILABE FOR THESE OLD SHAVERS 88P2-10 AND MODEL 8MF1. THE 5800 IS EASIER TO HOLD AND GIVES A VERY NICE CLOSE SHAVE. YOU HAVE TO FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS:SMALL ROTARY MOTIONS. DOING THIS GIVES AN EXCELLENT CLOSE BLADE LIKE SHAVE. I AM 85 YEARS OLD AND HAVE USED THIS SHAVER FOR WEEKS. HAD A HARD TIME ON THE REMINGTON WEB SITE TO FIND THE REPLACEMENT SCREEN AND BLADES. THE ARE PRICED ABOUT THE SAME AS NORECLO,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor appliance

By jokershade from Surrey, BC, Canada on 02/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Poor cutting qual0iites. Left most of my whiskers on my shoulders , no containment of cut whiskers. Have thrown this item in the garbage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really Like It

By Coldwaterite from Coldwater, MI 49036, USA on 02/17/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My old razor's battery was not holding a charge and needed new cutters, so it only made sense to move up to a new razor. I tried one of Remington's Rotary shavers, it was a nice lightweight, quiet razor but I just couldn't get it to shave as close as my old foil razor and couldn't get above my lip (mustache area) well at all. Remington was very prompt in returning my purchase price for that unit. So I bought this F5. Nice razor! Shaves well. I am very happy with this unit and very satisfied with Remington's return policy for the Rotary I tried). The intercept trimmer has eliminated all those little stray hairs that seem to spring up in the neck area. The best shave is when I use a pre-shave lotion; but I still get a good shave without the pre-shave lotion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

F5 Shaver

By Beegee from Chicago on 01/22/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a step up from the 4800 shaver, nicer design, less noisy, heavier razor, and a step up in the rechargeable class of razors in general. If the motor doesn't quit after 2 years like the 4800, I will consider a true upward trend in quality of hand-held razors for Remington, since they stopped making the cheaper versions...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far so good

By Alshouse from Undisclosed on 01/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far this is performing much better then the other brand's floating head shaver that I had and quickly came to hate. I hope it continues to be this good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unhappy with shaver

By Linda12 from Anaheim,Calif. on 01/11/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This Shaver quit cutting in 3 days. It has been sent back. Very Disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Total let down compared to older models

By Mohd7999 from Undisclosed on 12/29/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The pop up trimmer doesn't cut longer hair and does a very poor job cutting/detailing side bearns or mustache. The interceptor trimmer did not perform as well as I expected. The only good to decent thing is the foil on this shaver. I would go back to buying an older remington model rather than buying this piece of junk


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Use to be the best brand

By sra4031 from Smyrna, TN, USA on 12/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have always love Remington Shavers, but now it seems everyone wants to make these things fancy. Go back to the basic models we used in the 80's and 90's These razors shaved as close as a blade, and would last for years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product overall performance.

By Martie from Sutton, WV on 12/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I viewed several other shavers before selecting this one ... it has been an excellent choice .... works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Foil died

By doctorstrange from Lafayette, CO on 11/13/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After no time at all the foil started scratching my face. I will have to buy the foil and cutters - not just the foil. The cutters never had a chance to get dull!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not just a replacement, a great new shaver.

By archnlv from Henderson, NV, USA on 09/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I finally had to let go of my last Remington Foil Shaver. 8 years of great shaves. The battery more than outlasted its normal life. The F5800 shaves even better and the battery is remarkable. 2 weeks is great! The interceptor is a great addition. No more stray whiskers discovered too late. Thank you Remington!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Average shave at best

By MikeM from Columbus, OH, USA on 09/02/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been a loyal Remington customer for close to 20 years and have really liked all of my previous razors. The pivoting head and foils don't shave as close as previous, non-pivoting, dual and triple foil razors I have had. The pop-up trimmer is terrible and barely works. I'm disappointed that pretty much all of Remington's foil razors have a pivoting head because I don't think it cuts as close as previous models.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Remington Shaver

By ShaveHappy from California, USA on 08/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The foil shaver works great, but the pop-up groomer is awkward to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome but a defect

By mattz from Lancaster, CA, USA on 07/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using Remington four ten years now very good shaver one set back with this shaver the pop up trimmer died 3 months after i got it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

junk

By scarface54 from Greenwood, IN, USA on 06/30/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

after only five months foil came apart and cut my face


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a little disappointed

By drralph from Undisclosed on 05/24/2013

F4 gives a closer shave. F5 does better with longer facial hair


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like it a lot

By MBPeru from Maryland, USA on 05/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using Remington for 40 years and this is one the best shavers I have bought


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An Average Product For An Average Price

By Rags from Arlington, TX, USA on 03/26/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After about 2 weeks the razor is slowly adjusting to my face and gives a relatively close shave, although I would like to see better results. I think the shave would be closer if I weren't so gun shy about razor burn from the blade between the screens in the hair pocket. This design flaw is the major drawback of the product. The old razors without this feature worked just fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This shaver is acceptable. The intercept technology is tough on the face.

By RazorBurn1 from Texas, USA on 02/02/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this to replace a Remington F4790 dual foil shaver without intercept technology. I wanted something that addrssed the longer hairs and gave me a better shave. This F5 was not any better than the F4790, and the intercept technology is tough on my skin. It takes a long time to get a close shave. My unit did not come with a set of replacement foils. I would not purchase this product again


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best Remington shaver I have bought yet

By Louigi from Ohio on 02/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's a fine shaver, except for the SPF-300 replacement part. Where do you find it? I tried several different sites, but no luck.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding SHAVER !!!!!!!

By DUFFER from Elyria, OH, USA on 01/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THIS IS THE CLOSEST SHAVE I'VE HAD IN A LONG TIME ! THE CUTTER BETWEEN THE FOILS , I BELIEVE , MAKES THE DIFFERENCE !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another winner from Remington!

By GB317 from New Jersey on 01/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been shaving with Remington electric shavers since the early '70s and they've averaged a respectable 10 years of service life. Recently when my Remington Intercept model needed new cutting heads, I was informed the model was no longer manufactured. I took a chance on the F5 which boasted the new pivoting head which was supposed to follow the contours of your face. Well the shaver does what it's supposed to with surprising ease, cutting through sometimes 4 or 5 days worth of tough beard - very impressive! A great shave every time. However, I must say that the pivoting head (at least on mine) is a bust. It's too stiff to roll across the contours of your face which is why I only gave the shaver a good rating in the performance box. I still highly recommend it for the excellent shave.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's shaped well and fits my hand well.

By hwwlls from Monroe, Oh on 01/11/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Does not shave as close as my old remington. Requires numerous passes to remove all stubble. There is a "comb" in the middle between the two cutters, and its sharp edges irritate my skin. On the positive side, it holds a charge really well and lasts a long time between charges. You will get numerous shaves from a single charge. It's shaped well and fits my hand well. The trimmer also works very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too early to tell

By Woodyhuff from Arlington, TX, USA on 01/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only just received the F5 shaver and it is too early to tell much about its durability and overall performance. The limited experience I have had with it has been pretty good but it doesn't appear to shave as closely as the Remington Model MS2 390 it is replacing after 5 years of outstanding service. Given my previous satisfaction with Remington shavers I must conclude that the F5 will also work out at least as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Great Product

By MrP01 from Roselle, IL on 01/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the 3rd Remington Shaver I have owned, and once again I love it! I've also tried Braun and others over the years but none brought as much satisfaction. Thank you for making consistently great products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My new favorite.

By JohnnyT from Atlanta, Ga on 11/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For me this is the best razor I have owned. I have tried both foil and rotary and the F5 is the only one that doesn't leave my face burning or feeling like it's been through a blender. I am 51 and my beard is like straws now but I still have a baby face so for me using shave cream and a disposable are out of the question because I always wind up looking like I lost a knife fight. With the F5, It just takes me a few minutes even though my beard grows in different directions. It still leaves my face touchable and it doesn't feel like it's been pricked by needles. It works very well for me. Thank You Remington.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved