Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Supplies » Water & Beverage Dispensers » RCP168501 » 17 Reviews

Rubbermaid Water Cooler - 5 Gal - Polyethylene - 20.6"19.5" - Orange (RCP168501) Reviews
Rubbermaid Water Cooler - 5 Gal - Polyethylene - 20.6"19.5" - Orange (RCP168501)

Rubbermaid Water Cooler - 5 Gal - Polyethylene - 20.6"19.5" - Orange (RCP168501)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Water cooler is made from durable, crack-resistant and long life polyethylene. Well-insulated to keep beverages cold for hours. Water cooler features a drip-resistant recessed spigot, leak-resistant lid and convenient carry handles.

Rubbermaid Model: RCP168501

$74.72

10 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 17 reviews)

64% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

A Life Saver!

By KiwiCath from Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand on 04/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Brought this whilst living in Texas and filled for stormy weather [pumped own water] then when I immigrated to New Zealand brought many Rubbermaid items with me. This container [along with several smaller RM ones]was a lifesaver following a major earthquake in Feb 2011 when our city was devastated . We lost sewer, electricity and water. Tankers were brought in so we could fill containers - this was when it came into it's own! My RB coolers saved our frozen goods for several days so we didn't have to cook everything at once [on the bbq].


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

10 Gallon Cooler

By rainwater guy from Texas, United States on 12/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this cooler for cold liquid storage while working outside in the Texas heat. It does a great job keeping the ice all day long. Of course, it lasts longer if you keep it in the shade. + The white interior doesn't stain easily when filled with colored liquids (red or blue gatorade). + The rubber button on the nozzle is good quality and has endured the Texas heat and abusive use. + It is easy to clean. No hard to get to nooks or crannies. + Built in handles are strong, comfortable, and have no moving parts to break or malfunction. Two complaints: 1. It doesn't have a vent, so you'll need to unscrew the lid some to allow air inside to remove the suction (vacuum) in order to pour out liquid. 2(A). When you unscrew the lid, the insulating capacity of the cooler is greatly reduced. I'd say the ice lasts half the time it would if the lid was kept tight. 2(B). If you don't remember to close the lid tightly at the end of the day it will blow off if riding in the back of your truck on the way home. - There is no lanyard to keep the lid attached to the body of the cooler. Suggestions to Rubbermaid: Add a one way, sealed vent (to allow air in when a suction occurs) on the lid and also include a lanyard on the lid. The lanyard could perhaps attach at the lid as part of the vent hole, and maybe tie onto one of the handles on the cooler body. I own two of these coolers and am happy with their performance. I own two because the lid blew off the first one and I was in a hurry to use the cooler and had to buy another one because the lids are only available through Rubbermaid and I didn't have the time to wait for the replacement to arrive. The customer service reps at rubbermaid are wonderful and went above and beyond to make sure I was happy when ordering replacement lids.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

last a long time

By burnett60518 from erlville il on 07/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

need girl coolers, pink, purple etc. everything ia also so manly


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lid Issues

By mike4333 from Ponoka, AB, Canada on 07/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Awesome all round cooler except for one thing. The lid. It has blown off multiple times on my travels and was lucky enough to find it every time except the last time! Now looking for new lid. This seems to be a problem for more than just me after reading these reviews.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome replacement part service!

By Kimau38 from Chesapeake, VA, United States on 06/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got quick service (hold for 1 minute)...and then very reasonable replacement fee which including shipping.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Same issue as many others, not leak proof :(

By jarom1976 from Boise, ID, United States on 05/04/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I love the cooler itself, and hate how much it leaks. I often will wrap it with several beach towels when we go on a trip and they are completely wet by the time we get there. Have you considered designing a retro-fit rubber ring that people could buy to make it leak-proof? I would buy one in an instant if you did.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Need replacement lid

By lwaters from Catawba NC on 04/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used it a lot , but lost the lid on my last trip. Could I get a replacement lid and how much? It blew off on the back of the truck.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does the job-poor quality

By HBGuy from TN, United States on 03/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Received the product and tested with water. Unfortunately, the spigot was cross-threaded on when it was assembled and it leaked horribly. Luckily, I had a spare and was able to fix the issue. Would have expected better quality for this price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Leaks

By puzzled8 from Houston, TX, United States on 11/20/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Shocked to find that the lid does not seal to prevent leaks. What good is a cooler if you can't keep the liquid inside? A screw top lid would be ideal if it actually sealed the cooler. I should have looked up the reviews before purchasing one. I'm taking this back to the store to return it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Missing one star for one reason

By SaraR from Lander, Wy on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We live in the country and have a well for everything but drinking. We use these coolers to hawl water. The spout on one of them starting leaving one gallon of water every day so I decided it was time, after 35 years, to get a new one. The cooler itself is great, but the new twist on lid stinks. It doesn't seal. If you fill the cooler full, you end up looking like you wet your pants, even if someone helps you. PLEASE bring back the old style lid that pushed into the jug. they were and still are 100% better than the new one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not so much bang for my buck.

By MB92345 from Undisclosed on 07/01/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the 10 Gallon Water cooler 6 months ago, have used it 6 times. I absolutely hate the design. The screw on lid, well DISAPPEARED on my last trip. It does not tighten up as advertised and leaks horribly. I do NOT recommend this cooler if you or your friends/family like leaving ultra smooth paved roads for the outback. On a 95 degree day, a 20 LB bag of ice melted in 7 hours. Size wise, it is great, the design is terrible, and the headaches are not worth it. I think I'll buy one from the competitor this next week. Oh and the spigot, it doesn't pour a stream out, it allows your water to run out the spigot, down the plastic side of the cooler and on to the ground, if you're lucky to have a slight tilt towards you, if not, it will soak your table, interior or whatever you don't want wet, except your cup. Will not buy another Rubbermaid "Commercial" product again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Etiam nec neque dolor, sit amet pretium velit

By Testermaks from Hickam, HI on 01/12/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Etiam nec neque dolor, sit amet pretium velit. Aliquam et urna non sem pulvinar sodales nec ac quam. In sed leo vitae dui tristique malesuada sed ut diam. Nullam nec ullamcorper est. Fusce rhoncus, ante vitae hendrerit tincidunt, ligula est blandit purus, eu volutpat lacus ipsum sollicitudin nisl. Sed sit amet porttitor metus. Nam et eros nisi, vehicula varius dui! Nunc et risus velit. Vestibulum sit amet ornare magna. Etiam justo risus, accumsan convallis luctus vel, feugiat id nunc. Cras amet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

5 gallon

By leaky from Plano, Texas on 07/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used the 5 gallon for 8 years, now I just need a new Spicket, after 8 years mine leaks. Really bad when you have 5 gallons of Margaritas, on 4 th of July.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but could be better.

By Rocky from California on 05/22/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this cooler for years to supply fresh water to employees and have often thought it would be more user friendly with a drinking fountain styled spout.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for football team& fundraising dinners.

By PrincessJ from Endicott, NY on 10/14/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was surprised to see that others did not rate this product highly! We use ours all the time now that our boys are in high school. We have used it many times for mixing up gatorade for the football team dinners that we host and it keeps the drinks very cold even in hot weather. One time, we left gatorade mix in the cooler for several weeks and we expected it to be a mess to clean up, but it was fine! This cooler is also good for iced tea or lemonade for fundraising dinners or scout campouts. We really love our cooler and I only wish it was lower so I could fit it under my kitchen sink spigot! It does fit fine in the laundry sink for filling.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does the job

By Loralie from Tucson, AZ on 10/31/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used this for cheerleading and it is lightweight when empty and it carries enough for the whole team! : )


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad lid

By kvinkc from KC Mo. on 09/08/2008


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The lid on this cooler tightens down with only 1/4 turn. It never feels like it is on all the way. The lid will come unscrewed and fly off very easily. A cooler lid that screws on should stay on a whole lot better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved