Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » BDH6500_4 » 112 Reviews

Samsung Bd-h6500 3d Blu-ray Disc Player - 1080p - Black - Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby Truehd, Dts, Dts Hd - Bd-re, Dvd+rw, Dvd-rw, Cd-rw - Bd Video, Dvd Video, Mpeg-2, Mpeg-4, (bdh6500_4) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 112 reviews)

93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Bright Display (55), Inexpensive (56), Realistic Color (50), Lightweight (58), Durable (25)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (8), Poor Quality (4), None (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Samsung Quality is the best

By LouisD from Delray Beach,FL on 10/12/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Durable

Cons:

Don't Change The Remote

This is my 4th player (not because of any issues) since I added more Samsung TVs. I'm very used to how the great features work and the enhancements are tremendous!! Simple and easy to use and the added features are great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features with this product,

By Luvmyapps from Burlington, WA, USA on 10/02/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my Samsung products, I recently purchased the blue ray player to set up with my Samsung smart TV. They work beautifully and the picture is unbelievable. I'm excited to play with all the features that it offers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best Blu-ray Player

By Salem012 from Tampa, FL, USA on 10/02/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had purchased this player to replace a 3 year old player. I was looking for a Blu-ray player that could do upscaling, this player did the trick. Easy to use and set up, makes DVD's look great and Blu-ray movies jump off the TV. Perfect fit for my 4K HDTV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better features than we expected.

By carbero from Wilton Manors, FL, USA on 09/29/2015


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This BD produces a reliably steady and clear picture, whether it be HD or 3D. The smart functions work seamlessly. Much more than just a DVD player!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player

By VHES from St Paul, MN, USA on 09/27/2015


Pros:

Works Great With Harmony, Easy Set Up!, Bright Display, Has A Really Nice Remote!, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This player was easy to get set up and programmed readily with the Harmony remote. It is a great bridge between our older (non-Smart) TV and to an OLED 4K 2-3 years down the road. The Smart is well organized and easy to use. Plays movies great. Nice remote, too! We'd definitely recommend this player!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Most features

By Zasa from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 09/26/2015


Pros:

No Cons-, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So glad I purchased this model-3D capable-4000UKD ready.It wasn,t that much more than models without these features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bd h6500

By sheetsky from Lexington, KY, USA on 09/25/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

recently purchased a samsung UHD tv and wanted top of the line accessories. samsung did not disappoint with this smart bluray player. Not only is it the best value out there the performance is great. Runs quietly, start up is about 8 seconds or less, and produces fantastic picture. When paired with my samsung tv with anynet they instantly connected. Set up was simple, we were watching movies 10 min after removing product from box


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is great, but...

By BeerMonster from Durham, nv on 09/12/2015


Pros:

Realistic Color

Cons:

Manual Controls

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a great unit but the manual controls are awful. There are four random buttons in a circle on the top with no labeling. Really? But it has a great GUI, excellent sound and picture and plays any Dvd disc format I have put in it. Yes blu ray are good as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Suprising ease use

By Footballdad from Rio Dell, CA on 09/10/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Highly recommend this unit, It was very user friendly and it was very friendly to set up. The Apps were a little confusing at first but that was probably just me. Great unit have enjoyed having it as part of our A/V system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Highly Rated, and confused by that.

By Salmiakki from Undisclosed on 09/06/2015


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Software Is Incomplete. Get New Bugs Updates, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Device provides apps, however, you cannot install the apps. Feel free to search and browse for the app you want every time you want to use the app. Bought a recent Blu-Ray (Peter Gabriel - Back to Front), played it on a brand new out of box device, and it skipped at a certain point into the playback all the time. I thought, no way would that happen on a highly rated device with a brand new Blu-Ray disk. The Blu-Ray must be bad. So I got a replacement Blu-Ray. Lo and behold play the new Blu-Ray and it skips in the very same place. Like most other Samsung products the DLNA features are implemented poorly. Most DLNA music players will play songs in the order based on embedded tags within the music files. Not the Samsung DLNA player, it plays them in alphabetical order. So don't even for a moment consider purchasing this for DLNA features they are sure to disappoint.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great BlueRay Streaming Video DVD Player

By NinjaNed from Palm Coast Florida on 09/02/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Easy Setup, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Great Features

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy setup, worked out of the box. No problem finding LAN. Love the video and sound quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HAVE 2 SAMSUNG BLU-RAY PLAYERS - MY WIFE USES THE OTHER

By Starfighter5 from Undisclosed on 09/01/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We both love our Samsung blu-ray players. The size is smaller than most of the competition's comparitive new 2015 models. Most blu-ray's only have ethernet and hdmi cable connections like this Samsung model. Unless I have just overlooked a feature, I don't see any song title or artist name displayed on the frontal screen. this model handles 4k found through Netflix, Amazon, and now a satellite dish provider company. My wife's Samsung model does not have a frontal display window, and it handles 1080p. This model has benefits when linked to a Samsung tv. I don't need to push my tv's source button anymore to locate the blu-ray's input tab displayed not the tv. The tv automatically displays a pictured cd/dvd disc on its screen as soon as I hit the play button and the tray automatically closes its door on my blu-ray machine and starts the cd or dvd movie playing sequence. Plus, you can't beat the price of a Samsung product. Heck, their new curved screen 4k tv's come with a voice activated interactive or point-and-click remote, and they're the lowest priced comparative models in the marketplace. We've used Samsung products for many years, and we have never experienced a problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has great features)

By FarmerDave from Midwest on 09/01/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

to many great features to list. The best feature I think is how it operates Netflix!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small Footprint, Great Bell's & Whistle's

By rping54 from United States on 08/26/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Plenty of useful apps. Smart hub is awesome. Connects to just about everything in everyway.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wireless connection

By Jake010 from Undisclosed on 08/21/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This player was easy to setup and I have not had any problems with the wireless connection.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

4k UHD + up scaling

By Dave371 from Maryland on 08/08/2015


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

All I can say about the picture is WOW!! This DVD player is 4K UHD compatible and it takes blu Ray DVD's and upscales them. Awesome picture!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's a marvelous machine

By acjdover from Dover, DE on 08/05/2015


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The minute I click the power button, it takes over the TV, and is ready to go. I bought it because of the 3D capabilities, and it worked perfectly right from the beginning. It's easy to operate, and I think it was a great buy. I do have reservations with the 3D glasses. They worked great, but it took a moment to realize that there was no real on/off switch--I had to reinsert the little plastic tab that allows the battery to make contact.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DVD player works great. This is my third model.

By luvmyTVs from chicago on 08/04/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to connect. Setup very easy. Play back of DVD is great. haven't tried 3 D yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Enjoying product very much

By gmorgan0110 from Poulsbo, WA on 08/04/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No problem connecting with Acorn TV, which was our main goal. Same with Netflix and Amazon. Easy navigation using the Home button on remote. One call to support was concerning how to start photo slide show in the Multimedia section using a flash drive. That issue was resolved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice

By Wardog69 from Boston, MA, USA on 08/01/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works seamlessly with my other Samsung equipment . and it plays well with others


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great little machine

By GAR456 from Sacramento, CA, USA on 08/01/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

There Were No Cons

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just finished watching Avatar in 3D on my new Blue ray and Samsung 4K TV. It was amazing. Should have giving up on my other TV a long time ago. It's the best choice I made in Long time. Thanks Samsung.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love all the apps and features

By Galaxy69 from Undisclosed on 07/29/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I do not have a computer and I love how I can use this for everything,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I couldn't be happier.

By CAPnCRUNCH from MD on 07/27/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Durable, Ease Of Operation

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned several different sony bd players. Am i glad i tried this samsung 6500 to match my tv. I've used it a ton and it's performed flawlessly since i took it out of the box. Love the web browser, you tube and vtuner. Many apps....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has all the bells and whistles

By cshelinc from Van Nuys, CA on 07/26/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Short and sweet - this Blu-ray Disc Player (BD-H6500) has all the 'bells and whistles' that I looked for in a BD Player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Features

By GadgetOholic from Portland, OR, USA on 07/25/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Apps include Netflix, awesome to watch Avatar in 3-D.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could be better.

By 4rcAngel from Undisclosed on 07/24/2015


Pros:

Built In Wifi, Bright Display

Cons:

Response Time Is Slow.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far it's okay. I hate that w/o a wireless keyboard and using the remote to type things in is a pain. Trying to get new apps could be more easier. Faster response in general could be better. Besides that, it's a good product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is gratis overall

By Ruso from Undisclosed on 07/22/2015


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was sastisfied overall with the bluray player. I don't regret buying it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Blu-ray player!!

By Morpheus44 from South bend, Indiana on 07/19/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love just about everything about this player. Easy to use, nice looking and works well. Hard to see how it could be any better except for maybe a few displays on front of unit like time etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The product is as described.

By hmidwest from Undisclosed on 07/19/2015


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Enjoy the product; it as described. Easy set up, easy use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great products

By chef702 from Las Vegas, NV on 07/18/2015


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the quality and features of this blue ray player


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very crystal clear picture & GREAT 3-D viewing

By WonderfulMe from Dallas, TX, USA on 07/14/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a pretty user friendly HD Blue Ray player. The picture quality is very clear and watching 3-D movies on it along with the UHD 4K Samsung tv is actually an even better viewing experience than watching 3-D in a movie theater. The visual of the actual player is pretty simple. Very black box, nothing really cool looking about it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good, but not great

By anonymousowner from United States on 07/13/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight

Cons:

Digital Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this product for a little over two weeks and it performs as expected. My one complaint would be the digital display. LOAd, really? and the fact that it counts down the seconds only until it reaches one hour, then only counts down minutes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has everything we need!

By MGGuy from Colorado Springs, CO, USA on 07/13/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product, very helpful knowledgeable support team. Easy to operate and I highly recommend it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Quality

By Boricuamsw from New York on 07/08/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product performs exactly as my other Samsung products. Excellent!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3d blu-ray

By quay60 from Undisclosed on 07/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

bought this because it was the only unit i found with optical connection. I don't have 3d tv but this is a nice unit with lots of features ,easy to set up and use. especially like that I can set the remote to turn the tv automatically to the right setting when loading a dvd


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player

By robertorganic from Philadelphia, PA, USA on 06/24/2015


Pros:

Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought a new Samsung 4K TV. Wanted a new DVD player to go with the TV. The H6500 has all the features I wanted. The built in HUB works great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lots of features

By dmr85 from AZ on 06/23/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The only thing I would like to see different is having the controls on the front instead of on top. We either have to pull the player out or hope we hit the right buttons when we put a hand in the opening above the unit. Otherwise, the features and functions work very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lots of features for the price

By moviefan2015 from Undisclosed on 06/22/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Durable, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a combination blu-ray and DVD player player that could handle the new version of the you tube web site, have a visual display on the front, a built in wi-fi, and not be too expensive. The 3D model BD-H6500 had everything I was looking for. I do not have a 3D TV but this blu-ray player is ready when I do get a 3D TV. After I got this player hooked up to the internet, I was in for a surprise. Not only can it get the internet sites listed on the packing box, there are more internet sites it can pic up including Facebook, free movie channels, free radio stations worldwide, shopping channels, and the capability to download apps for more internet sites. It is almost like having a blu-ray player and computer in the same machine. I am very happy! I recommend this model for everyone!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has great features

By rayf539 from North Oxford, Oxford, MA, USA on 06/17/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easy to use ,picture quality is excellent I like that I can run it through the tv remote I would highly recommend this product to any one in the market for an excellent blue ray player


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This Blue Ray player rocks

By GAMERFORLIFE from El Paso, TX, USA on 06/14/2015


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!!! BEST BUY I'VE MADE IN A LONG TIME.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just ordered another

By grannycee from Bradley, CA 93426, USA on 06/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased one because my old player of another brand stopped working and the other brand had very little available on their site. This player had more features than my old one and more features than I needed since I don't have or plan to get a 3 D television, but based on reviews of various others, this appeared to be the best in a reasonable price range. I did have some issues in set up and had to get help, but the reps. We're very nice and were able to resolve the issue. I have another television in a room I use as an office and workout area and have recently discovered some videos I can only view online. Watching them on my computer is t cutting it so I ordered another of these because of the web browser feature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Design

By Sumwatdazed from VA on 06/14/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Overall Design, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have always been a big fan of Samsung products, however, this player is poorly designed. The on-board controls are ineffectively placed on top of the player and very difficult to see. A frustrating feature is that the player does not always remember where you leave off when watching a dvd, and requires that you fast-forward to get back to where you were. Finally, my pet peeve is with the controller. As a fairly large man, I am constantly hitting the wrong buttons due to the extremely small size of the controller. All that said, I cannot recommend this model, but still enjoy my other Samsung products, especially the HDTV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BD-H6500 - A good one

By AlMaine from Maine, USA on 06/11/2015


Pros:

Connectivity

Cons:

Remote

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had the BD-H6500 for a couple of months. Overall, a great machine. It was very easy to set up on my wireless network. I like the apps that come with the player, as well as the additional apps that are available.Operation of the player has been pretty flawless. My biggest gripe is the remote. It is laid out in a way that is inconvenient to use. I do not have a huge hand but the keys that you use frequently are poorly designed. Wrong place on the remote; too small; and too close together


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blu-Ray 3d player

By Crazycriss from Wimauma , fl on 06/10/2015


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Didn't Display Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Work great easy to use love the smart features to aloud u to stream movies lot of fun for the whole family


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best overall DVD player I've owned

By bondbuyer from Midwest on 06/08/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Versitility, Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Don't let the small size fool you. This unit is loaded with features, including the ability to connect with Hulu, Netflix, etc. Great picture quality and very easy to navigate the controls. For the money, my view is the best on the market.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great blue ray player

By bobster123 from Chicago, IL, USA on 06/07/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this blue-ray player when I upgraded my tv to a smart 3D tv. Wow what a great picture from the blue-ray player. Samsung put out an excellent machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's a great player, but...

By RandyInKCK from Kansas City, KS on 06/04/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display

Cons:

Menu Options Could Be Easier To Use.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I think it's a great piece of equipment. Samsung has been making some seriously good electronics. I enjoy the ease in which my Samsung Blu ray player Work, my only complaint, as I wish that it was easier to manipulate the MyApps section so that my most used apps would appear on the homepage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the few wireless WiFi dvd players on the market!

By F0r5aken from Greeley, CO on 06/01/2015


Pros:

3d, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Wireless Wifi

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This dvd player is a SMART dvd player. It has WiFi which is wireless. Watched Netflix on it and no flaws. For the price nothing compares or can compete with the performance. Lastly it is 3D. All the other I tried lagged, or froze using Netflix or you have to have ethernet cord. You need to buy it, you won't regret it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One word: Great!

By Bogdan1981 from Bucharest, Romania on 05/31/2015


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I bought this product I didn't expect much, but after I used it and I have seen what it can do I was very pleased. I discover every day more amazing features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little Blu-Ray Player

By gamelover42 from Salt Lake City, UT, USA on 05/29/2015


Pros:

Network Video Player, Realistic Color, Customizable Apps, Inexpensive, Broad Video File Format Support

Cons:

Only One Usb Port, Poor Remote Button Layout, Limited Customization On Home Screen, Controls On Top

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Exterior: The player is a nice size and has a clean look. Software: The player starts up very quickly and I like the new home screen that shows a thumbnail image of the DVD/Blu-Ray disc that is currently in the drive. I also like the ability to add new apps with a quick-list of frequently used apps. The video player detected my home network PCs and my Diskstation NAS and I am able to play watch video files from it. The video file format support is great so far. One quirk was that it detected the Windows 7 PC with Windows Media Center, however the video aspect ratio was not correct when playing WMC recordings. Wish list: There are a few things that I would like to see changed. - I would prefer a more matte finish though to match my AV receiver. - The controls are on the top which is a negative since that means it cannot be stacked. - It is so light weight that closing the drawer by pushing on the drive just moves the player. - The one USB port is on the front which limits its use with external hard drives and keyboards. - I would like to be able to customize the home screen more. There seems to be a focus on forcing you to see certain apps since not every section on the home screen can be customized. My previous Blu-Ray player was a Samsung BD-P3600 which has been a great player. It also had Netflix, Pandora, and Youtube access as well as a network video player. By comparison the BD-H6500 is light years ahead of the BD-P3600 in terms of disc load times and video file format support. I also like that BD-H6500 has the latest version of Netflix and Youtube as well as Amazon, Hulu, and an app store to add other apps.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this thing

By Guelo1180 from Bay Area, Ca on 05/27/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Minimal Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I attempted to have a pc substitute for a Blu-ray player for many years. It worked as an htpc but I was always left wanting a better experience when playing discs. This thing is awesome. It's fast, sleek, and oh so pretty. The smart features work very well, I just haven't played enough with them to figure out customization. It has many options for home theater use. I'm very happy with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New Blu-ray playe

By boricua96 from Fishersville, VA, USA on 04/27/2015


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Durable, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is astonish all the colors, control panel, all setting are easy and no hiccups or error.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice BluRay Player

By Coach54 from Undisclosed on 04/24/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

VERY fast loading. Excellent color and clarity. Streaming content manager is excellent and fast as well. Easy to set up and use features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product, Easy to Setup and Use

By jchtrumpet from Lebanon, MO 65536, USA on 04/19/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is easy to use and setup. It has all the features you could want. Works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Apps on this product are great!

By Indianlegnd from Independence, Missouri on 04/16/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this player. It is easy to set-up and loads blu-ray's quickly. But my favorite are the apps. I can use the Amazon app to watch my favorite shows as well as watch MLB TV games from the comfort of my bed instead of the computer chair. There are even apps to shop, if you want to. Awesome player overall. Would definitely recommend to everyone...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Interface is user friendly .

By Itzrico from Pa, Mount Pocono on 04/13/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like the interface ,and options on setting ,quick loading time...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Player

By gregmtn from Undisclosed on 04/09/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It works great. It upscales my Netflix that I only could get 720p because of slow internet but it now gets1080p. Easy set up with samsung tv..The remote has a light button for night viewing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceeded Expectations

By NavySly13 from Virginia, USA on 04/04/2015


Pros:

Upscaling, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Cons:

Controls On Top Of Player, Remote Needs A Backlight, Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just finished watching a standard DVD using this DVD player that is connected to my new 60" Samsung 4K TV. It handled the blacks very well, and the DVD looked almost as good as a Blu-Ray DVD. I didn't care for the controls being located on top of the player, but since it is so light, I just put it on top of other components. It is a bit pricy, however it performs very well with the upscaling.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not working

By Troan from Canada on 03/27/2015


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this one because it have lot's of video option and could access to Netflix. Tried the last 3 day to connect to Netflix, and I can't. Got no problem with my internet, my other bluray player, all my device can connect to Netflix, but this one, I can't even confirm my login info, They say it doesn'T exist but it DOES exist.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Setup and use

By hotshot2 from Whitney, TX 76692, USA on 03/20/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am not a geek so I was surprised and pleased with ease of setup. Actual use is also simple and a joy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another grea product

By BobbyBro from California on 03/14/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Got with my curved 65" 4x, 3d tv. They work great together.. Added the Samsung curved sound bar. A must! Out does the regular speakers. No comparison .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Unit

By Blazing from Morgantown, PA 19543, USA on 03/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Blu-ray player is much better than the Sony unit it replaced. I like the apps and the ability to access Vudu and other apps from the main screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good player for the price

By JZell from Virginia, USA on 03/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Met expectations as far as performance and ease of use. Playing from network device had its issues but still trying to figure that out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great upgrade

By DEMON69C from Delran, NJ, USA on 02/21/2015


Pros:

Ease Of Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simple set up, ease of use and a great selection of apps, an impressive upgrade from my original player. If only one flaw to exist it lies with occasional pauses during streaming video


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great player

By new4kuhdowner2014 from Kentucky on 02/16/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall, very satisfied with this player. Very easy and painless setup process. Very good picture quality. Appears to be very good quality and value for what is considered to be a mid-range player. Compared this player to several other Samsung models and other manufactures models.....felt and believed this model to be the best for money spent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall a good product

By Anteakfreak69 from Undisclosed on 02/08/2015


Pros:

Easy Setup, Lightweight

Cons:

Slow Internet Response

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to set up and program. Streaming video from Amazon is very slow using the unit compared to our Fire HD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buy if you have a 4K TV

By Bentdog from Washington, DC, USA on 02/03/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Great Picture

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The TVs up convert, but if you really want a nice, sharp, clear picture, upgrade the Blu-ray player to this one, and you won't go to movies anymore. Especially if you have a good theater system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice apps

By BigSal44135 from Cleveland, Ohio on 01/31/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this product because our old DVD player finally died. Highest rated player by CR. Got a great deal on an open box unit. Like all the apps on it, especially Pandora.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smart and easy

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/25/2015


Pros:

Internet Features, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Cons:

No Tv Code For My Tv

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was shocked how incredibly easy this device is. It was out of the box and operating within minutes. The internet features are fantastic plus it is BluRay and DVD which assists both my collections! My only issue is the remote does not have my TV code, so I have not figured out yet what to do about that. BUT besides that- a perfectly priced high tech device that is sleek and easy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has it all

By faliqh from Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia on 01/25/2015


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Cons:

Slow Start Up

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This smart bluray 3d player can play and surf almost at all. It can turn your non smart tv into smart tv. Recommended to all of you out there.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Picture quality exceptional

By Hatetowastemoney from Undisclosed on 01/25/2015


Pros:

4k Up-scaling Is Exceptional

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I originally purchased this product before Christmas and the unit was flawed. Samsung and the store where we purchased it made it good and this new unit is working flawlessly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Meet expectations

By AlGG from Florida on 01/24/2015


Pros:

User Friendly

Cons:

Prefer Smaller Unit

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Much better image than a competitor's 3D blue ray. Sharper picture and resolution.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Blu Ray

By Edwinro from New Jersey, USA on 01/21/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Unit is full of surprises, is the best blu ray in the market, I have no Cons


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product..

By JimmyZ65 from Undisclosed on 01/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Blu-Ray player is fast slick looking and has nice features. The only draw back is that the web browser is a bit cumbersome..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great player

By alabama1979 from Montgomery, AL, USA on 01/19/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this player when I got my new tv. I have to say that the picture is great, the sound quality is awesome! I would recommend this product to anyone!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has awesome features

By Hazelnuts from Jeffersonville, In on 01/19/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the sleek design with its ultra silent internal parts working in perfect harmony. This is one of the best DVD /blu-ray players I've ever owned. With that said lets not forget the cool features like Netflix app, Google, and new and upcoming releases on movies in box offices currently being released to watch on demand where you want it when you want it!!.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice and fast with plenty of app options

By m1a2tanks from Undisclosed on 01/19/2015


Pros:

Simple Install, Easy To Use, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works well, loads much faster than my old unit. Set up was easy and it synched with my wifi on the first go. Simple installation, speed, and eas of use are all good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great player with extras.

By n3rkt from Crisfield, Md. on 01/18/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Great Internet Options, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this BD-H6500 , for my new Samsung 55" Curved 4k TV , this is a perfect match, with 4k up scaling and my extra Internet options, the wife and I just love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A league of it's own

By Mikey831 from Dallas, tx on 01/17/2015


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's in a league of it's own compared to previous blu-rays I've owned, I love it! Easily worth twice it's price tag, will definitely recommend it to others and will be purchasing more in future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It was great product

By LovelyLotus from Utah, USA on 01/14/2015


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I would recommend it to friends. I also had two Samsung televisions


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product exceeded my expectations

By PoppaJ from Southeastern Michigan on 01/11/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Choice Of Movie Sources/feeds

Cons:

Setting Up Using The Remote Was A Pain., Remote Is Confusing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased an ultra-HD television which required an HDMI feed for Dvd. Our previous player did not have the HDMI. The Samsung model BD-H6500 while not the really expensive ultra-HD player more than satisfies our needs for clarity of video. The pleasant surprises to us were the versatility of input choices and the smallness of size. We love our movies and this Dvd player greatly enhances our enjoyment of them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Buy

By DJKram from Michigan, USA on 01/01/2015


Pros:

Fast, Bright Display, Great Video Quality, Good Wireless Perfromance/reliability, Lightweight

Cons:

Appearance Of A "cheaper" Product

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this after a lot of research and deliberation. The price is slightly higher than I wanted to spend, but the reputation of this device combined with the features and performance reviews helped me decide. Out of the box it seemed a bit "flimsy" so I was somewhat surprised when I powered this thing on. Looks like a toy but performs like a tank. Fast, and awesome video/sound quality. The included apps are great and the wireless performance/reliability has been better than expected. At the end of the day, this thing rocks! Don't let the "cheaper" appearance fool you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I'm satisfied with this player.

By jhutchman from Houston, TX, USA on 12/24/2014


Pros:

Small Footprint, Lightweight, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The item that kept me from a fifth star is the remote. It is unresponsive at times and over-responsive at other times. This occurs when entering alpha and numeric characters such as your username and password.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

like this bluray player a lot

By Emichael from Philadelphia on 12/15/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Best 3d Experience Ever, Lightweight

Cons:

Browsing Is Slow

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

While samsung still needs to produce faster internet browsing on both tv and bluray everything else about this product is amazing. Features are cool and I like that all my samsung devices can be controlled with one remote. Quality also AWESOME. good bang for your buck.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

High Quality At A Great Price!

By Skinny47 from Undisclosed on 12/14/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have been using this new Bluray player for a couple of weeks, and wow! This is simply the best we have every used. The setup was direct and easy to do, and the quality of picture to our HDTV is outstanding. We can also stream without a hitch. Thanks Samsung for a great video experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blu Ray a little tricky to get working

By GQCHU from NY on 12/10/2014


Pros:

4k, 3d

Cons:

Usb Stick Required And Not Documented

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Received a lot of "This operation cannot be performed due to disc restriction". Needed to insert a USB stick so it can offload the BD-Live data. Also USB stick needed to be high quality stick. Changed from Kingston Attache 2GB stick to SanDisk Extreme 3.0 64GB stick and works perfect now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super Fast Disc Loading

By Jonnie2014 from San Diego on 11/25/2014


Pros:

Fast Loading, Beautiful Upscaling, Great Streaming

Cons:

Goofy Interface

The Samsung loads a disc faster than anything I've seen and I was drawn to it after watching an online review. It also does wonderful upscaling making my non Blu-ray discs look awesome. Some of the screens for logging into different streaming services have nicer and more intuitive interfaces. However the home screen and the HUB screen are kinda quirky and unpolished and the large transport button on the top is just strange. I was able to plug in the power, network and HDMI cable and start using immediately without opening the manual.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product and features

By ReadsReviews from Michigan on 11/23/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Durable, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Looked at different Brands and read lots of reviews and Samsung BD-H6500 was the one, Easy install and works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT FEATURES

By trikos from Greece on 11/17/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Shape

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

GOOD PRICE FOR A GREAT PRODUCT WITH GOOD 3D FEATURES.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding But With Limitations

By HDFreak from Danville, VA on 11/04/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Cons:

No Auto Shut Off Function

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Let me get right to the point. This player has exceptional HD picture quality (I have not tested for 3D or UHD upconversion). Avatar (my reference movie for picture evaluation) almost literally jumped off the screen. These are some of its limitations: its construction is light weight; the audio jack pack consists only of an optical output (excluding HDMI); the manual does not indicate it has an automatic shut off after a period of inactivity (confirmed in my chat with technical assistance), the on board controls are located on the top right of the unit limiting access when installed in a cabinet. Set up is straight forward and the unit quickly connected to my wireless router. Excellent app package with all the major video applications included. I experienced difficulty with opening the Amazon Cloud Music player and Accuweather. Flixster works beautifully. On my first visit to the home page after completing set up, I could not access anything until I opened the player tray. After that, everything worked flawlessly. In response to those reviewers who say the remote does not have a player eject button, they are simply wrong. It's located right under the power button. You can spend a thousand dollars on a player, but I doubt you would notice any improvement in picture quality. On that score, this baby is absolutely first rate. I hope Samsung will add auto shut off in a future firmware update.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great buy

By tonyh25 from ny ny on 10/31/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Great Wifi

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the best blue ray, great dvd pictures ,no problem whit Wi-Fi ,no buffering , on Netflix the pictures are clear like HD and I was able to see a movie on internet


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a Roku

By shonras from Utah on 10/21/2014


Pros:

Optical Audio Out, Outstanding Blu-ray, Great Upscaling For Dvd

Cons:

Cumbersome Web Browsing, Can't Make Selections On Pull-down Menues, Limited Apps On The Samsung Site, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I really should write 2 reviews, one for the blu-ray player and one for the online streaming. Thought I might kill 2 birds with one stone with this one. Wanted both an online video streaming device and a blu-ray. The blu-ray is outstanding and the upscaling is as good as it gets. But the streaming side of this is slow and cumbersome and worked fine on several websites initially, but then it no longer would allow me to make selections on pull-down menus. (like my provider on Watch ESPN rendering that sight, and several others unusable). Frustrating, and the factory reset won't take you back to the original firmware, so if the an upgrade to the firmware caused the issue, apparently it's permanent. Haven't tried the 3D yet, but the reviews are excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Web browser useless

By Tundraboomer from Undisclosed on 10/20/2014


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Useless Browser

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this player instead of one of the less expensive models just for the so-called "SmartHub" and the web browser features. There is some video content I want to watch on certain sites that don't provide an app, leaving a browser as the only option. It has been an exercise in futility. The browser is extremely basic and difficult to use. It's just too slow to be practical. There are also no enhancements like plug-ins (such as an ad blocker) and the settings are too basic. For example, if you turn off pop-ups, that also prevents links using the 'open in new window' or 'open in new frame' tags from opening the page at all. Blocking pop-ups nearly renders the browser useless and leaving pop-ups enabled makes it too cumbersome to use. Navigating to and closing all those windows is too cumbersome. It crashed several times on me as well. Even when I do finally get a video to play, it has yet to finish loading before stalling. It is incredibly slow too. My 5-year old MacBook Pro on the exact same wireless network is 10 times faster using Chrome, Firefox, or Safari on the exact same page. It's like the player is throttling the download or something. Totally useless. Then, I was hoping to find a alternative browser in the Samsung App store, such as Opera or Google Chrome. Not only does nothing exist, but when you go to the app store and perform a search and it finds no apps to fit the criteria, it still bombs you with a bunch of other content, such as YouTube videos, that contain the name in your search string. This is bad interface design at its finest. If I'm IN the app store, I'm looking for apps, NOT videos on YouTube. The bottom line is that this is supposed to be a internet-centric player but if you don't want to use the limited content Samsung provides through their app partnerships, you will be underwhelmed. For me, I paid a $60.00 premium over another Samsung Blu-Ray player just to get the browser, and it turned out to be so limited and dysfunctional that it's virtually useless. I'm very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An excellent BD player!

By Rhetts455 from Lake Forest, CA, USA on 10/13/2014


Pros:

Easy To Update, Durable, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This player even up-converts DVD and Blu-rays to near UHD quality. Picture is excellent. I would definitely buy another Samsung in the future!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

up convert

By Jpainterman4 from Tacoma, Wa. on 09/25/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It up converts very nicely, not that far from true 4 k, happy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the Blueray

By Mac6531 from Houston on 09/19/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have only had my Samsung Blueray player for a few weeks but I alreay live it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best Blu-ray I ever own.

By Anonymous from Katy, TX, USA on 09/16/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Easy To Install

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is so far the best Blu-ray player l own. Easy to install and the quality of image is standing. For the price is a great buy. Great product, great quality at great price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BD 6500 model

By cmdp from florida on 09/16/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color

Cons:

Limied Smart Hub, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Basic DVD operation. Smart Hub disappointment. Limited in what it can do. GOLF app prominent & cannot delete due to manufacturer. need ability to change apps to my preference not manufacturer. Unable to download Xfinity app in system due to samsung restriction. Only reason I bought DVD in first place. Freezes. Distorted sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nearly Perfect ...

By Shrike from Florida, USA on 09/15/2014


Pros:

Fit And Finish Very Good, Lightweight, Can Eject Disk W/remote, Easy Set-up, Clear Menues

Cons:

Remote Not Programmable To Non-samsung Tvs, On-unit Controls In Bad Position Poorly Labeled

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Packaging was very good; set-up was easy. There are no interface cables included (e.g., HDMI) , so be sure to purchase separately whatever cabling you need to connect it to your particular TV. Not sure what some other reviewers were talking about regarding "no disk eject button on the remote" because its right there, immediately under the POWER button. Works with streaming (Netflix, Amazon Prime Video) well, but did run into some hiccups with Netflix the very first time after account set-up. My advice - if you have properly created a new account or logged into your existing account with a streaming service and the service does not work, WAIT! Leave the unit powered up, but come back in an hour. I suspect there is some background firmware updates taking place. Everything worked like a charm after an hour. The unit runs flawlessly. BR and DVD playback is quick. Upscaling seems to work well. No skipping, chatter or clicking. The unit runs very quietly. There is little to no heat issue, either. you can set the brightness (or turn off) front panel control LEDs in the set-up menu. Downside - just two. First, that stylish but stupidly designed control surface on the top right front corner of the unit. As described by others, it is very sensitive but you'll need a flashlight and a magnifying glass to read any markings. Whatever minimal markings that are there are small and faint - no contrasting paint to make it easy to read. Also, if you stack your components, remember - your remote is your friend. Don't lose or break it. Second, the remote is designed to be used with Samsung other components. So, if you have a non-Samsung TV, don't bother trying to program the Bluray player's remote to power on or off you TV - you can't.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WiFi 3D Blu Ray Rules

By CelinaBobcats1 from Celina, TX, USA on 09/15/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I never thought I would care to have a WiFi Blu Ray player but I can't believe I never had one before! It is so awesome to access the web and playing 3D movies at home beats the crowds and cost less than going to the movies!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Bluray player for live streaming and many more

By SamsungLive from Hyderabad, Telangana, India on 09/06/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Durable, Live Streaming Through Wifi Internet, Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Typing Through Remote Keys A Little Harder

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted to use TV as a streaming device to watch any program which is live streaming on internet and i can do it through my samsung player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent choice in Bluray

By anthrapoid from SF Bay Area, California on 09/04/2014


Pros:

Built-in Digital Hdtv Tuner, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Supports 4k Content, Supports 3d

Cons:

Could Use More Audio-out Options

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with this attractive little unit. It's ready for 4k content whenever that becomes available. It supports 3D, whenever I get around to purchasing a 3D tv. The settings menu is easy to navigate, and the remote has all the features you will ever need. I did have a brief struggle matching the color space to my HDTV, but that was easy enough to configure in the settings. I do wish this model had more audio-out options, but a digital audio cable is easy to come by, so I'll have to go that route. Overall performance is excellent, you won't be sorry.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Web browsing is awful

By RobSF from San Francisco on 09/04/2014


Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The web browsing feature of this product is just awful. The product was okay otherwise - some issues, but passable - but including a feature that is so awful is reason to avoid this product like the plague. Samsung should learn to not include a feature if it going to create anger with their customers - better to have fewer features than a customer who will never buy a Samsung product again and will tell everyone they can to do the same. I selected this product - and paid more - so I could use the browser and access things like hulu in addition to the apps included. Do NOT make the same mistake.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What you expect from a 3D Blue ray player!

By Jogllama from junction city, kansas on 08/30/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent player. Fast compared to others I have owned. The only exception is that my TV plays more file types from an external hard drive, player only has a few compatible file types. Would like it to play all file types because the upscaling is amazing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall Great Product--Excellent Value

By Grendel from Amissville, VA, USA on 08/30/2014


Pros:

Excellent Value, Inexpensive

Cons:

Missing Means To Eject Tray From The Remote

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Recently received the BD-H6500 as a gift (after I did a lot a research and left hints as to what devices I wanted for my (eventual) home theater set-up. I'm acquiring items piece by piece). The device is well-packaged and protected in shipment, compact, with a better-than-most (detailed) but easy-to-understand instruction manual. The device itself is attractive and extremely functional, with setup exceptionally easy--including that of firmware updates, which does require a external USB thumb drive (not provided). Initially, I had trouble getting the device to wirelessly connect to my Netgear WNDR 4500 router--but that turned out to be an issue with the latest firmware from Netgear. It had nothing to do with the bluray player. If you possess that router, and you have difficulty adding new devices (any new device), do yourself a favor and revert to a previous version of the router firmware. As soon as I did that, I had no trouble connecting the device. Using the device is simple and straightforward. It simply works as one would imagine it would (and should). I do have 2 complaints as to the design--and in fact, these complaints were observed in other reviews I encountered elsewhere (during my own research). It turns out those statements were accurate. The 2 issues are: a) the inability to eject the tray via remote, and b) the on-board controls placed on the top right hand corner of the unit. If you place the bluray player in a cabinet (like I did), and if it sits on top of a stack of other components, make certain you've left enough space to reach in to operate the on-board controls (primarily the aforementioned lack of means of ejecting the disk because there is no button on the remote to do so). Because the on-board controls don't sit very "proud" of the unit's surface (meaning they don't stick out very far at all--they are almost imperceptible to feel, in fact--but they are quite sensitive). Because my unit is on top of a stack that completely fills the cabinet space, I have to actually grasp the unit and pull it far enough out to "see" the on-board controls so I hit the right one. If I don't do this, I will invariably hit the wrong control and usually (and inadvertently) turn the unit off instead of ejecting the tray. Samsung should have created an eject button on the remote. Perhaps a future firmware change might, somehow, allow two keys pressed at the same time on the remote to open the tray--failing that of having a dedicated button. Because of this issue, I gave the design only 4-stars. Otherwise, this unit would have gotten 5-stars for everything.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brilliant picture

By hrsail from Westfield, NJ, USA on 08/28/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight

Cons:

Easy To Set Up

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works as advertised and with my Samsung TV, picture is magnificent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung 3D Blu-Ray Player

By Moovieluver from Riceville, TN 37370, USA on 08/14/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Inexpensive, Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I replaced a Samsung "Home Theater in a Box" with a component system, using this Samsung BR player. It is, by far, the best BR player I have had. it set up quickly and easily, connects to the Internet efficiently, and plays all CD, DVD and Blu-Ray media flawlessly. The price was extremely good for the qualities built in to the product. I recommend this player to anyone looking for a quality piece of equipment at a decent price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

terrible browser and keytype set

By Lovegadgets69 from PA on 08/10/2014


Pros:

Bright Display

Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was told that this had the WWE app loaded on it and it was not there. When I tried logging on to their website it was impossible to differentiate between the screen and the type key box. Terrible browser design. I own s5 galaxy and Samsung Galaxy 3 but this one is going back to best buy. after this experience I may not buy the Samsung 4k TV. I wanted to integrate my phone as a advanced remote but at this point I am not going to even try.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smart DVD Player Overview

By myreview1234 from Undisclosed on 07/21/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good overall performance and good value. We have it connected to a wired internet connection and the speed of the system seems pretty good. Also boot time is short. My only complaints are that the remote should be bigger so that Samsung can add some easy to find primary buttons like Hub, NetFlex, Play, stop, pause etc. Everything is just too compact. We use this player in our bedroom so it is dark and the remote is difficult to use even though the remote is backlit. I also would like to see the ability to customize the app screen more than Samsung gives the ability for. In short you can't put your favorite apps on the Home screen. You can only move them around on the secondary screen causing extra button presses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far, so fair to good.

By tajf from Moorpark, CA, USA on 07/20/2014


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

No Ethernet Over Hdmi!, Plastic Case?, No Blue-tooth!, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My biggest gripe after one day is that it's ironic that an H-series Blu-Ray disk player hasn't been designed to support a Blue-Tooth keyboard. The latest crop of H-series HDTVs do! How difficult would it have been to include a Blue-Tooth ASIC on the player's motherboard so I could use the Blue-Tooth keyboard that came with my Samsung HDTV. Really? Another possible gripe is possible functionality issues with using the TV remote to control the player. Still trying to get it to work. Hard to believe that it wouldn't between tow Samsung products from the same model year. 3 Stars for features for not including Blu-Tooth for an otherwise internet ready DVD player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SAMSUNG BD-H6500-GREAT PRODUCT

By TROOPER93 from Brooklyn, NY, USA on 07/12/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good product.Iam very happy with my unit.It is the best on the market .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product has lots to offer

By Betterviewing from Florida on 06/27/2014


Pros:

Durable, Seamless Connectivity With Other Devices

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product exceeds my expectations. The features of this product allows me to maximize the potential my other electronic devices.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved