Home » Computers » Printers » Multifunction Printers » CLX3185FW » 40 Reviews

Samsung Clx-3185fw Laser Multifunction Printer - Color - Plain Paper Print - Desktop Scanner, Copier, Fax, Printer - 17ppm Mono/4ppm Color Print - 2400 X 600dpi Print - 17cpm Mono/4cpm Color Copy - 12 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 40 reviews)

69% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight (6), Durable (9), Realistic Color (20), Bright Display (10), Inexpensive (14)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (8)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great All in One Laser Printer

By GizmoFreak from Jersey City,J on 01/08/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This All in One is excellent value for money. The performance is great. The only annoying thing is that it does tend to lose network connection from time to time requiring the re-installation of the printer software.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best laser for the dollar

By Anonymous from Wisconsin on 12/30/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It does all the I want and more. Clear crisp copies and pictures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Product

By samsung4life212 from Undisclosed on 12/30/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We love this - setup was a breeze, and very easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

TINY paper tray - weak apps

By dev1854 from chicago on 12/09/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Cons:

Small Paper Tray

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The software apps can't find printer unless directly connected, which is lame for a wi-fi device. The prnting is good and the document feeder is nice, but seriously - why can't printer vendors make a 500-sheet paper tray?? Anything less requires the user to maintain partial paper reams - ugh. Also - the paper tray is flimsy. The small plastic flap to prevent printed paper from curling, is too flimsy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great step up to laser

By BigSpender from Mesquite, TX on 10/12/2012


Pros:

Long Cartridge Life

Cons:

Config Menus Not Intuitive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My family and I were tired of replacing small inkjet cartridges every other week (it seemed that frequent.) The expense was significant as I have a teenage daughter that prints quite a bit for school research and projects. The cartridge cost is similar, but the quality and longevity of the laser cartridges far outweigh the cons we were experiencing with our old inkjet printer. The old unit was getting to be old as peripherals go (6 to 8 years.) I would prefer the menu driven config display to be a bit more intuitive, but the options are more than usable. The network interface was a new feature for us that is very welcome so we can share the printer with all the devices on our home network.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

print a lot of copies

By renatopo from Undisclosed on 07/22/2012

I am having trouble from the start when I try to print a lot of copies and the paper starts to hang after the third and fourth copies. If I make multiple copies individually, repeating the process several times, it works well. I do not understand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

neat and nice

By Smiletoo from Undisclosed on 06/06/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

Too Big

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy and good way to print in different ways like scan, email or print.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Laser Wonder

By Tee2Shop from USA on 06/05/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Durable, Inexpensive, Print Fast

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this printer because of it smart network connectivity and also the print quality. I would surely recommend this to my family and friends- ! Yes and it is a power saver too ! (keep this in mind also)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best printer I've used accept for 2 things...

By Dez0000 from Undisclosed on 05/30/2012


Pros:

Reliable, Easy To Use, Durable, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Some Components Are Designed To Wear Out.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this printer at work and it gets used very often for large quantities of prints. Overall this has been the easiest printer to learn all of it's functions and has given me the least amount of those random annoying printer issues like most do. But I've had 2 issues.. For one this printer does seem to drink Ink like water when doing a lot of color printing like I do and it will just stop and force you to change the ink cartridge, you can't print when they run out.. that's a bit annoying. And here is a big issue I had.. for some reason in the Imaging Unit Drum, Samsung added this little electrical chip that all it does it allow a signal too loop through it and as long as the signal can loop through it the drum works fine.. but they added a weak capacitor into the loop that in my opinion was designed to burn out so you must buy a new Imaging Unit.. which is half the cost of the printer.. well since I work for a company that builds electronic equipment we soldered in a stronger capacitor and now the thing runs like a champ!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all around - poor execution of technology

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 05/30/2012


Pros:

Price To Advertised Features, Inexpensive

Cons:

Advertised Features Very Limited Abilities, No Limitations Listed Anywhere, Not High Def, Poor Quality

Purchased printer in order to test for home office/small office application. Print cost is pretty low. Printer cost acceptable. Advertised feature list sounds great but Wireless card does not support more than 54Mbps with TKIP. Unable to scan to email (as advertised) - will not authenticate to basic email server (hotmail, yahoo, gmail, powweb). Scanning fails to pick up document shading (picks up less than 10% gamma while on the glass or through the automatic feeder.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

is not a reliable wireless printer

By miamiflorida from Undisclosed on 05/30/2012


Pros:

Have Many Features, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Too Big, Wireless Connection Is Unresponsive, Top Tray Is Flimsy

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

will connect to router easily, however once it goes into saving mode it will become unresponsive, I literally had to run the installation cd several times in order to gain control of the printer again, because there's no option to reset it or factory reset it. This should have a mayor driver revision, a person with little knowledge of networking will literally throw this heavy (30+lbs) thing out the window out of frustration.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 05/22/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Print quality still smear on glossy paper .. need more work on that ..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jack of all trades, master of none...so far

By GadgetFan from New York on 04/22/2012


Pros:

Compact Nice Design!

Cons:

Difficult To Set Up!

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I don't know how to make this thing work with my Mac or my network. I usually don't spend too much time with any gadget I have. There seems to be an understanding between me and machines. This one is different. It's just way too cumbersome to set up and work with a Mac. I can't speak for a Windows machine since I don't have one. Since this is not for busy people, better look for another one, if you are. One of these days, when I have the time or the chance or the patience to tinker with this thing, I'll set it up again. In the meanwhile it's not useful. It's like a space occupying lesion around the house despite its small footprint... Must be the frustration of not being able to make it work right out of the box.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice All In One Laser

By DaddyDude from Milwaukee, WI on 04/06/2012


Pros:

Not An Eye Sore, Fairly Quiet, Multi Function, Compact

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased this printer for a small office business. Has performed very well with the exeption of one glitch and had to call a tech. I normally solve probs meself. However, this particular day I had no time. Turns out it was a Networking communication problem. The tech apparently reinstalled the program and got me up and running in a flash. The most reliable setup of any network printer is to have it directly plugged into the router itself. Mine is set up wirelessly. Never had a prob since. Was it a software update of some sort causing my prob? Printer? No matter, this printer has served its purpose very well in an harsh environment. Tone is a bit expensive. But I have found, if you search the internet a bit, you can fined great deals.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Printer

By vallarta from Tomball, Tx on 04/03/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Select this printer for the futures so far has been performance as expected....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Multifunction color laser printer

By Gershon from Cincinatti on 02/22/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After a long wait I finally bought this printer and now I'm sorry I didn't buy it sooner. It is a well designed and performs great. I especially like being able to log on to its internal website to check toner level and settings. The wireless feature is very useful for a family with many notebooks and smartphones. I would definitely recommend this printer. The only thing I would improve would be to add a backlight to the display.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Laser Printer

By scoobydoo43 from Columbus,Ohio on 02/18/2012


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great printer not as fast as I would like but over all a GREAT Printer.The wireless is a pain as I have to always search the network for the printer. It keeps losing it's IP.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can anyone say PAPERJAM?

By huemeister from Allentown, PA on 02/13/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Cons:

Eats Paper For Dinner, Eats Paper For Breakfast, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Eats Paper For Lunch

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this a few months, it was a Christmas present. What a waste of money!!! I've had printers that lasted for ten years; in this short amount of time, I've had more paper jams than in ten years with my brand I can't name printer. This MFP was fairly cheap; now I know why. Most of the paper jams, I could just pull out. This last time, the fuser ate it and won't give it back; I am dead in the water. I have a Samsung warranty and an extended warranty, but I have a feeling I should just cut my losses; at this rate, it will be in the shop more than it will actually work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great printer

By wwmcwwm from Undisclosed on 02/03/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received my printer today, and so far it is working great. Color is vibrant, print speed fast, and overall I am very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CLX-3185W, nice, easy to use

By mokuti from Undisclosed on 02/01/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have like this printer, however there was a problem with one of the rollers when I first used it. Samsung did replace it at no cost, for which I was grateful. I do have a slight issue once in a while with a paper mismatch, or so the error tells me. The wireless function works great. Overall, I woudl give it a 4


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wow

By tonyjd from PA on 02/01/2012


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

amazing printer. colors are so real. great design.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The prints are excelent very sharp colors

By web1 from Undisclosed on 01/29/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

it's a nice printer its very nice to have this printer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This printer hogs electricity

By Homeuser64 from illinois on 01/17/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Electricity Hog, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The printer takes a lot of electricity periodically during the heating cycle. Enough to make the lights blink on a 20amp service. Some say peak is 7 amps. Otherwise it works well. Setup is a little glitchy on OSX.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could be better

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/06/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Bright Display

Cons:

Not Wireless

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This replaced an inkjet printer, and I am happy with all but the fact that it cannot be set up wireless. It doesn't have a fax, but that I don't need on this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

make sure you read carefully before you buy

By Lowly1 from MidWest on 12/15/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

It functions well enough for a home office but not a small business. Read carefully. I thought I was buying a wifi adapted CLX-3185 but mine required hard wire connection and is completely unsuitable for my needs. Quality of printing is acceptable but not outstanding.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quick Installation Guide

By USA4now from United State of America on 11/02/2011


Cons:

Material Should Be In English

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Quick note....If this item is going to be sold in the United States of America then it should include a Quick Installation Guide that is written in ENGLISH not some other foreign language. This turned me off to this product right away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features

By THipp from NJ on 10/22/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great machine, fast, great quality and most of all the Tech Support was outstanding. Not being a computer savvy, I needed help, and that was the best service anyone could have asked for. Customer Service was awesome!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

When printing cards the ...

By bobokitty from Undisclosed on 10/14/2011


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When printing cards the ink splattered all over cards smearing the colors. I called tech support they walked me through going into software preferences selected card stock then it printed fine. very bright colors. Tech support is one of the best I ever came in contact with. Good knowledge from support.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the best printer you could ever get from the best brand name

By techpro from MINNEAPOLIS, MN on 10/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

had this printer working at a light speed. no issues. color printing looks soo natural. I print more than 1000 papers in ma printing shop a month and have not had any issue with it. there is no need to look around for something else if you want a good printer that's also affordable. GO GET IT NOW!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great MultiFunction Printer, Terrible Mac Software

By dhbuckley from Undisclosed on 10/04/2011


Pros:

Realistic Color, Good Size, Fast

Cons:

Bad Mac Software

My wife, a schoolteacher, and I really like this machine--fast, good print quality, fits nicely on desk, etc.. However, the Mac software provided really doesn't work--the various pieces conflict with each other, install is problematic and un-Maclike, there are NO instructions for installing and little intelligible instructions for using the software and so we cannot use many good features. Thank goodness for Image Capture which allows this to be used on the Mac with no additional software. Please, fix your Mac software and I'll give 5 stars!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

setup poor supported

By lenovostandards from germany on 09/26/2011


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

does not work nor print after set up an reading of docs, no display if USB works or not


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Below average printer for home office use

By aka2002 from Austin, TX on 09/17/2011


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Face-up/down Not Clear On Loading Tray, Did Not Meet Expectations, Bright Blue Leds - Dont Dim Down, Low Output Tray Capacity

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Quiet printer, now that is one of the best things you can say about this printer. The surprising thing about this printer is that it is networked/WiFi capable but the scan to computer feature works only with computers running XP --- wow! that is ancient. The second idiotic/annoying thing about the printer is the output tray - holds about 12 sheets in a flimsy pull out tray. The last thing is the bright blue LED lights around the "ring selector" and the "status" -- now that cannot be low power! Haven't seen these lights dont dim down or turn off when the printer is in "sleep" state. Don't get me started on the fax/scan program included with the printer -- terribly unintuitive....when you start the program, you have to choose the printer every single time and select "Quick Scan" to start loading the TWAIN drivers - wouldnt it be great to start there with the last selection and let the user change the printer (assuming he has more than one) from a drop-down?. Overall, disappointed with the printer...wish I had looked harder for reviews before purchasing on the strength of the brand and store recommendations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far so good

By TimelessMD from Undisclosed on 08/22/2011


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Just fired it up. Looks great! Easy to hook up and run...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My favorite printer

By ChoicePlumbing from Undisclosed on 08/19/2011


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I absolutely love my printer! This printer is amazing. The quality of my pages is amazing. The price was very reasonable. I would highly recommend this printer to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great machine

By luv2tinker from bay saint louis, ms on 07/14/2011


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like everything about it. Easy to use, and I like the features. For a laser it is lightweight


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Economy for Home Office

By artgraf from SC on 06/12/2011


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Durable, Inexpensive

Cons:

Not Known Yet

I was satisfying with this first color lazer multifunction. I have had at least five inkjet printers, but the cartridge inks cost a lots and still have problem about noze clogging, even I always used same brand name original ink of printer. It's time to switch to lazer printer, so far no problem at this time :-)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I was assured by the ...

By caped212 from Undisclosed on 06/06/2011


Cons:

Unfriendly To Mac, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was assured by the salesperson that the printer was completely compatible with my new MacBook Pro. He did mention that the disk which shipped with the product was for Windows only, and that I would have to download the file from online. That proved to be easier than said. The file proved to be three files. Getting those files to work was not easy. Even when I did get them up and running, scan still did not work. The printing function went in and out of wireless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Only certain peper can be ...

By TTTbuyer from Singapore on 04/22/2011


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Only certain peper can be use.??????????????????? ??????????????????????????


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product serves the purpose of my purchase

By MultiUser from Malaysia on 04/06/2011


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall it is a good multi-function unit. Software setting is relatively easy to setup and use but the process can be made more easily, intelligently, and without too many keying in by user. There is a difficulty in setting up the printer to accept faxes when the unit is used via a keyphone environment. This specific instruction on how to set up the machine as a fax machine in a keyphone environment should be given clearly. Otherwise, I totally recommend it to others!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small Footprint, Very nice printer AIO

By Anonymous from Austin TX on 02/02/2011

I've only used this printer for a few weeks. So far, it performs as expected and other than being a bit louder than I expected during startup/warmup, is a great addition to my workspace.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved