Home » DVDV9800/xaa » 29 Reviews

Samsung Dvdv9800-xaa Dvd/vcr Combo Player Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 29 reviews)

73% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Realistic Color (6), Lightweight (6), Inexpensive (10), Bright Display (6), Durable (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Poor quality

By DesertEd from AZ on 12/09/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

DVD player stopped working in less than 2 years making it useless


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dvd player

By NettaBlue from Undisclosed on 06/29/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Dvd Quit Working

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had this dvd combo for six months and the dvd quit working.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The anynet is nice when ...

By Scapegoat from Louisville,KY on 01/23/2012


Pros:

Durable

The anynet is nice when hooked to a Samsung television.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outdated feature set

By rkipping from Mesa AZ on 11/28/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Any VCR without a built-in HD tuner is very limiting. On this machine, VCR output is limited to AV composite. Component output is restricted to DVD only. If you still want a VCR, get one with a tuner and for DVD, you may as well get a Blu-Ray.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dvd-combo

By Dragonstar from Winston, OR on 11/18/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We loved this dvd-vcr combo when we first started using it, but lately we have had issues with getting it to read some dvds. I don't know if it is an internal hardware or software issue, but it is quite frustrating. looks like it's time for an upgrade.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good

By cda03107676 from kennesaw,georgia on 10/29/2011


Pros:

Durable

good for those that require this for thier stuff,neat products


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is of good quality.

By SFIpr from Undisclosed on 07/31/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I found this product what you were looking for, simple, quality and modern. Strong structure, good design, I'm using in a Sylvania 32-inch and it looks very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT PRODUCT EASY TO ...

By RCMIAMI2011 from MIAMI on 07/16/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

GREAT PRODUCT EASY TO USED GREAT QUALITY PRODUCT TKS


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EXACTLY WHAT I NEEDED AND WANTED

By MDJEDIWITT from HUTCHINSON, KS on 02/24/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

JUST WHAT I NEEDED FOR THE PRICE GREAT VALUE AND TURNS OUT JUST WHAT I WANTED AND MORE COULD NOT BE MORE SATISFIED


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Had a little trouble to start

By EMIFF from Bullhead City,Az on 02/14/2011


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had to add a RF/ Modulater in line . Works good now. Like all the features on this machine


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Warning: Limited Product

By Fischerman7229 from Colorado on 01/08/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight

Cons:

Poor Quality, Lack Of Hd Plug In, Lack Of Digital Tuner, Did Not Meet Expectations, Not High Def, Too Big, Lack Of Tech Support

We purchased this on the recommendation of Best Buy and quickly discovered there were issues. 1. Comcast said they could not provide numbers for integrating with HD Digital Tv. 2. Samsung did not have any numbers to integrate with a Vizio HD TV. 3. When tech support was asked about running existing VCR tapes and editing to DVD the comment was "well, if you can not get an image then you probably can not edit it." Needless to say, this went back to the store. We are now searching through the digital tuner models for something dependable. Interestingly, most of the salespeople are recommending that those with 4 head VCR units (the most common since 1990) keep them and hook them up to the HD TV(if you can find the codes and run as a component or auxilary) and then add an HD DVD recorder due to the high return rate on combo units. Ironically, we have Signature 2000 VCR units that still function from Montgomery Wards but manufactured by Gemstar and both Samsung and Comcast were able to tell us where to fine the codes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has great features

By danfarris1956 from KC,MO on 11/13/2010


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

It Does Not Have A Built In Tuner.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good overall product. It is a good player at a good price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

loving my samsung

By luvMYdvd from Undisclosed on 11/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

have had this for only a few days but loving it the set up was a snap playing dvd or vhs with this unit is real easy the remote can control all the functions very easy to ues once you learn all the bottons picture quality is great with the hdmi hookup even the vhs tapes have great pictures


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a very good ...

By hank32 from Traverse City, MI on 11/08/2010


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very good machine that has ease of operation.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DVD-V9800 Outstanding Value / Performance

By TampaJim from Tampa, Florida on 11/06/2010


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned this DVD-V9800 for about a year. Quality / Value / Performance all exceeded my expectations. You can't go wrong with Samsung Products !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product for the price

By Snowlover from Plainfield, Ill on 10/29/2010


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Features are great and easy to understand during the installation. Love the TV on/off controls etc. on remote, thus only needing one to operate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung DVD-V9800

By violetchloe from central kansas on 10/10/2010


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Needed Coaxial Cable Connects For Older (90's) Tv

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Samsung is assuming each of their customers has already purchased a new tv. The connections do not include a coaxial cable for older tvs (from the late 90's). Thus I had to hire Direct TV to come out and put on a converter box using coaxial converting to Samsung type of plug. Thus far I am happy with the purchase and the price paid. I will be upconverting to a HDTV at xmas.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good with one exception

By bunbun from California on 09/21/2010


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There is a design flaw in the clock. At times the menu clock does not match the screen clock. The unit is am/pm vs military 24 hour clock, but when changing from 11:59am to 12:00pm it still says am on the menu. At certain times the screen shows am and the menu shows pm. This can make programming difficult unless you know the problem. Other than that the unit is fine. I like that the programming does not erase durring short term power failure.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Problem with DVD Drawer Belt

By Rosemary from Undisclosed on 07/21/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the third Samsung DVD-V9800 we have purchased. We love the price, the design, the ease of connection and use, plus the features. However, it has one quirk that needs to be addressed: The drawer belt disintegrates and/or breaks after only a few months of use. Samsung is quick to authorize repairs, but it necessitates packing up the unit and shipping it to their authorized repair dealer in another state, a long wait and the possibility that the unit can get damaged in transit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works fine

By Senior from Undisclosed on 07/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Except for the fact the I am electronically challenged, and had to call the support # to get this going, it now works fine for both the VCR and DVD


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good choice

By GaWoman from NW GA on 06/10/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For a combination player this is a very good product; was easy to set up and easy to use. Good quality as far as I can tell.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Notcurly from Undisclosed on 04/18/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this product over 1 year with no problems at all. I like it so much that yesterday I purchased a 2nd one for another room. Great value for the money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst purchase ever

By greenlatern from cape coral,fl. on 04/07/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had poor run after 3 months,some dvd's &vhs would play others not . Do not purchase this product!!!!!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great DVD/VCR combo

By nay2010 from Michigan on 03/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've only had this DVD/VCR combo for about a month, but I'm very pleased with it. It is user-friendly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better Than Expected

By SubaruBuddy from Stockton, CA on 02/25/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

ok so i bought this unit because I needed an extra VCR and DVD player. i was a little iffy because i had read horrible reviews on it so with that said i decided to give it a chance. alas it has met my expectations just like every Samsung product i own (over 11 including a Samsung VCR from 1987 that still works to this day). clear picture from both decks and excellent sound too. i'm very satisfied with this product. thanks Samsung for great quality products you make.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good buy

By pixygirl from Undisclosed on 11/15/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The style is real nice, easy to set up, and the price was excellent. I would highly recommend this product to everyone I know who is looking for a replacement player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BAD PRODUCT

By StraightShooter1 from Bloomington, IN on 09/06/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have purchased 2 Samsung DVD -V9800 dvd/vcr combos and neither one lasted more than six months of low usage. The first one quit in 6 months with a bad laser. The warranty is useless as they want $40 to fix it after 90 days. The second one, I purchased a warranty to fix or reimburse. This one went out after two uses. I have several other Samsung TV's and DVD's Do not waste your money on this player. Be smart and upgrade as the 9800 is junk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broke Fast

By Craig from New York State on 01/16/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The DVD player function stopped working after less than 3 months. The VCR still worked fine but it has to go in for service because of the DVD. No DVD player should stop working after that short a time. I used it probably for about an hour or two a day, on average. Very disappointed. Always heard good things about Samsung but this makes me leery.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wonderful Purchase

By lovehitech from Portland, OR on 12/09/2008


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this sleek DVD-VCR combo. This is a reliable and high performing product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved