Home » Computers » Input Devices » Keyboards & Keypads » ECRK14AWEGXAR » 15 Reviews

Samsung ECR-K14AWEGXAR Keyboard Dock Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 15 reviews)

69% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight (5), Durable (3)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

poor design

By ohio765 from Undisclosed on 11/20/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Every time i try to use the keyboard i have to force my tablet into the dock, so much so that it feel like im going to break one of the two. If this is not done, The keyboard does not recognize its connected to the tablet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Causes my tablet to crash

By disap0inted from San Francisco on 10/26/2012


Cons:

Causes Tablet To Crash, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The keyboard dock consistently causes my tablet to crash. It appears to crash when they keyboard is plugged in to recharge and the tablet tries to enter sleep mode. I've looked around the web, and it appears to be a common problem with no solutions offered by samsung.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

overrated

By lafama36 from new york ny on 10/23/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i think this device is overrated the keyboard feature is nice but again any tablet have keyboard capabilities


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SAMSUNG 4eVeR!

By weeT8s from Cleveland, Ohio on 04/27/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I, I mean, we (my hubby and me) love this product so much. It is absolutely beautiful! Here's a word of advice for couples: Be SMART don't buy just one! I bought two and I am so glad I did. I take this everywhere with me, as it is small enough to fit in Hobo bag or purse. Pages load quickly, graphics are stunning, the apps are delish! All I have to say is, "I Pad...who?!" Faithful Samsunger!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't believe it doesn't come with a USB port

By davf62599 from Undisclosed on 02/21/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For the money you'd think it would have a USB port. Just one would have been nice. Other then that highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Keyboard for Galaxy Tab

By ElkeA43 from Caldwell Id on 01/09/2012


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this to go with my Galaxy tab and I just love it. It makes it so much easier to navigate. It has great short cut keys to make it easy to get where you want. I only wish it would charge the Galaxy Tax, but I still enjoy using this item. I would recommend it to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I use this keyboard ...

By Luv2beconnected from anywhere usa on 01/03/2012

I use this keyboard daily, it is easy and functional, it has all the necessary keying functions you would use on the tablet, without having to fight with a stylus or finger and hit the wrong option. Very helpful when the field you want to command is tiny!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

quite useful

By drb2011 from Undisclosed on 12/24/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is quite useful if you are using tablet for everything. But so far, I used table for just reading, occasional quick email/web surfing. But wish price was bit lower.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Addition to the Tab 10.1 if you type a lot.

By Serpico from Undisclosed on 11/09/2011


Pros:

Android Quick Keys, Good Build Quility

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have been using this now for a few weeks. Was a life saver when traveling - email and web so much easier to navigate and use with the traditional keyboard. Also the keyboard has several native Android/Tab functions built into it - quick keys, etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has great features

By xix19 from Undisclosed on 11/01/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the only thing that would make this keyboard worth it is if it had usb and it added battery life to your tablet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fair

By DintA1 from Minneapolis, MN on 11/01/2011


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

It fits well and probably a good buy as a dock. however, it periodically stops working when being used as a keyboard and that could be frustrating.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent device

By tcoole from Apex, NC on 09/02/2011


Pros:

Functional, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this keyboard dock when I got my Galaxy Tab 10.1. It works great, has a fantastic touch and has a great set of function keys that make working with the Tab very easy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great keyboard for Tab, still buggy integration issues with Android soft KBs

By turbonerd from Arlington, VA on 08/28/2011


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The integration with the Galaxy Tab itself is excellent. It has all of the features to fully utilize the tablet capabilities, holds the device at the right angle, and has Android smart keys built in. I am very impressed with it in general. However, part of the reason I am on this site tonight was to get troubleshooting support on the challenges I am having with the default Android browser and apps and the soft KBs built into the Android OS and Galaxy Tab. When the Galaxy Tab is inserted into the hard KB platform, the soft KBs should be turned off, and I should never see them. Howver, I continue to get sporadic presentation of the soft KBs when I click on a blank in a form or a web page. Also web page navigation could be made smoother. The Tab, Return, and arrow keys, while convenient do not allow a keyboard based flow through a web form. So the user had to touch the screen, then go back to the keyboard. All in all...I love it for writing longer comments...blog entries, emails, documents, etc...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice, but missing a few things.

By caguy83 from Oklahoma City, OK on 06/22/2011


Pros:

Extra Shortcut Keys, Lightweight, Great Feel, Lots Of Feature Buttons

Cons:

Lack Of Sd Card Slot, Missed And Stuck Key Presses, On Screen Keyboard Pop-up, Typing Lag, No Hdmi Port

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall this keyboard gives the Galaxy Tab 10.1 a huge upgrade - making it feel more powerful like a netbook or small laptop - yet still having the portability and flexibility of a tablet. It has many quick access feature keys like brightness, volume control, and music controls to name a few. It definately makes using a tablet worthwhile. One of the largest annoyances, however, is that any time a text field is selected onscreen with the tablet docked, the onscreen keyboard still pops up taking half the screen. Fortunately there is a keyboard show/hide button, but this is still highly annoying and will hopefully be resolved with a software update. The other issue here is that it requires that you have the Samsung onscreen keyboard enabled in order to use the keyboard. I find this unacceptable as I prefer to use "thumb keyboard" when I am not docked and do not want to have to change keyboards every time I dock the tablet. I will also tell you that I see a small bit of lag as well as a missed key press while typing. The latter issue is less frequent, but is there none-the-less. I also occasionaly havvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee an issue where a key "sticks" even though it is noooooooooooooooot being pressed. (I did not correct this sentence so that you could actually see a demonstration of what I am talking about. This is a legitimate error above, I did not do that myself.) It may be that I have a defective keyboard, but I am just reporting *my* experience with this unit - so please take it with a grain of salt as it may not be the case with all units. I will be exchanging this one to be sure. Now if it were a perfect world, I would like to have seen an HDMI port and a micro SD card slot built in to this keyboard - especially since the tablet has neither. I know that an adapter will be coming, but how nice would it have been to see perhaps a second version of this keyboard that included these features for a small bit more. Overall, I would say it is a good purchase, and definately makes the tablet more versatile. I would like to have seen a few additional features and less glitches, but that would be a perfect world. *It should also be noted that I typed this entire review using the keyboard dock.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesnt work!!!

By hill1113123 from Undisclosed on 06/22/2011


Cons:

Doesnt Work!, Wont Sync Up!

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Imagine my surprise when I get it home, dock the 10.1, and find the keyboard to be completely unrecognized, despite the fact that the tablet is up-to-date and running Android 3.1. According to the instructions: "To use the keyboard dock, the mobile tablet needs to have the input method set to Samsung keypad. On inserting the mobile tablet, you will be asked to change to Samsung keypad if it's not already set. Press the OK button to accept this change." The 10.1 was already set to "Samsung Keypad," and none of this happened when I docked the tablet. Instead, it automatically launched the clock that shows up when the device is docked. Pressing the button specifically for hiding/showing the Time/Date and Application indicator did nothing. As a matter of fact, pressing ANY the keys on the keyboard had no effect. I could still interact with the touchscreen, but the dimmed full-screen clock app never went away, and got in the way of the homescreen. I removed and reinserted the tablet a dozen times, I rebooted it, I checked all settings and running processes to see what was getting in the way, I tried plugged in versus unplugged. Nothing made it work and I started to think Samsung had launched a terrible product. This struck me as a magnificent shame because design-wise, the Galaxy Tab 10.1 keyboard dock is exceptional. With comfortably-sized chiclet keys, a dozen Honeycomb-specific navigation keys, and a body that feels sturdy without feeling heavy. Using email or productivity apps like Quickoffice Pro HD (which I have increasingly grown fond of) could really benefit from having a nice quality full-sized keyboard to go along with it. Then, despite all I had done, it randomly started to work after I had put it aside for a little while, and it hasn't stopped yet. As I had hoped, the full-sized keyboard allows for completely natural, fast text entry, while also taking advantage of Honeycomb's multitasking capabilities. What you're reading right now was written on the Galaxy Tab Keyboard Dock as a testament to its quality. As always, your mileage may vary.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved