Home » Video » Portable Multimedia Devices » YPGI1CB/XAA » 57 Reviews

Samsung YP-GI1CB/XAA Yp-gi1cb/xaa Galaxy-player G1 4.2in 8gb Blk Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 57 reviews)

92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight (54), Bright Display (51), Realistic Color (36), Durable (27), Built-in Speakers (50), Inexpensive (30), Expandable Memory (3)

Cons:

Not High Def (4), Did Not Meet Expectations (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

A wonderful music, games and social media machine

By AndroidFanInVA from Virginia, USA on 09/16/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought two of the 4.2 model for my teenage daughters, and they do everything they could ever need. We cannot justify the cost of smartphone plans for our kids (more than a few hundred dollars per year), and they really don't need phones at this stage, as the home WIFI gives them all the internet access they need for email, facebook and the Google Play store. The screen size and resolution is great - screen bigger than most, but still small enough to be convenient and pocket-able. While the version of Android supported on these devices in a little older than current, the 'heads-up' is that Android developers generally consider support for Gingerbread to be mandatory, as there are so many devices running this version, so plenty of software available (I'm a programmer fwiw), and there are literally thousands of apps available. Compared to the 'i-devices', these are more affordable, have a (commonly available and inexpensive) replaceable battery (not possible with Apple) and inexpensive additional storage can be added via micro SD cards (also not possible with Apple) plus the Android platform is more open. All in all, these are great players, and it is a shame they are being phased out - get them while you can (the latest version - 4.2 - is generally thought to be the best version of the Samsung players).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Fantastic ipod replacement

By Lsthero54 from Undisclosed on 09/08/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Durable, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this as a replacement for an apple ipod, and I must say it is amazing I love this device. It sounds great and it has a lot of variety of games it also has an ok camera but good enough to meet my needs. so i would definitely recommend this item.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it, but an ICS update would be nice :)

By thenerdling from Undisclosed on 07/14/2013


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Battery Life, Realistic Color

Cons:

Still Stuck On Gingerbread

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my Galaxy Player. The speakers are louder (and produce a higher quality of sound) than any iProduct I've ever come into contact with. It supports almost every format for music and video that I've ever used, and even included some photo formats that I've found useful as well. My only qualm with it is that some of the apps I want to use are only compatible with Android 4.0 and higher, and I haven't heard tell of an update from anyone. I know for a fact more people would buy it if it got the update (and quite a few are waiting for it to release before they buy it). Thanks for the iPod alternative :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy this obsolete device

By donotbuydis from Georgia on 07/11/2013


Pros:

Durable, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Not High Def, Incompatible With Many Apps, Os, Poor Quality

I got this as a present last year and everything was normal for about two months. Then it became laggy, glitchy, and froze half, if not more, of the time I used it. THe OS is incrediblely old. It seems Samsung does not want to update it. Don't pain yourself, it's easier to get a phone and not connect it to a network. DO NOT RECCOMEND THIS PRODUCT


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love it

By md25b from Watertown NY on 04/29/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought my son the 5.0 after he broke 3 ipod touch. He loves it and if can hold up to him its a great product. So I bought myself 4.2 and its on of my favs. Love all the apps and it has great sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply Awesome

By brad95411 from Undisclosed on 03/03/2013


Pros:

Expandable Memory, Removable Battery, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Lightweight, Gps/fm Radio, Big Screen, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First Android device I've owned, works great, love the FM radio, GPS, and removable battery. Didn't have those with my other MP3 player. Works great with things like double twist. All around cool device.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolutely Amazing!!!

By Fallen89 from Checotah, OK on 02/15/2013


Pros:

Very Smooth, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Eye Appealing, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Durable

Cons:

No Flash With The Camera., Other Than The Flash Nothing At All! Amazing!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I previously owned the Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 and I must say out of the 5.0 and the 4.2 the 4.2 is the better of the two. Yes the 5.0 is a little larger and has a somewhat better camera(also has flash). However the quality and feel of the 4.2 is just so much more appealing to me. Also when it comes to speed the 4.2 is very fast. All in all, I am very pleased with this device and will never buy another device unless its stamped with that big SAMSUNG logo on it! :) If everyone would just invest in one of these, the iPod would be obsolete.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WONDERFUL BUT GPS ONLY WORKS ONE WAY

By Nitpicker from Missouri on 01/28/2013


Pros:

The Right Size, Great Touch Screen, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Gps One Way Only

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this thing. The only con is the GPS will guide you to where you are going but not back, so you better remember the way back or you could be lost. Hopefully they will have a fix for this soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty Good

By patback66 from Undisclosed on 01/23/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Expandable Memory, Bright Display, Android, Lightweight

Cons:

Not High Def, Low Quality Camer No Flash Or Zoom

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had a 2nd Gen iPod touch for quite a while and finally replaced it with this. Personally, I enjoy the Android interface a lot more. I find this product easier to use and it does not require any special software to sync to your computer. Build quality is great, has expandable memory, has a removable battery, and is fairly cheap as Wi-Fi only phone sized devices go. It would be nice to have a higher resolution screen but the screen is decent. The speakers are fairly loud and the headphones that come with the device are pretty good too. Unfortunately, this is running an old version of Android (Gingerbread, 2 major updates behind) and the camera quality is somewhat poor. In addition, the single core 1GHz processor is very underpowered compared to most smartphones and tablets. Overall, I am pleased with the device but it still has a lot of room for improvement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great pocket media device

By LoveMyDroidDevice from Undisclosed on 01/21/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this thing. Works great for internet, email, twitter, facebook, pandora and youtube. MP3's, of course, and movies too. Bonus that it supports MKV format. Much quicker response and better value than icompany 4. Also, easier to access and load from the computer. Plug it in and the device and sd card are recognized as drives. Just drag and drop. Beats the other guys inoise only access. My only real complaint is that the software hasn't been updated to ICS or JB yet. That would make it a 5 star item easily. Don't get me wrong though, it works very well with the current software and I haven't seen any limitations in my use. Found a great custom case for it online to protect it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!!

By phillygirl109 from Roslyn, PA on 01/17/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Cons:

No Accessories!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this as a gift for my son but had to check it out first. He was very familiar with Samsung devices and android apps after using my mobile phone, but they pick up technology quickly anyway. He is never without it, because it does everything he needs. Not being a fan of i products, this is the best alternative. It would be awesome if there were more accessories for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great

By SilentBob from ct on 01/13/2013


Pros:

Sd Card Compatible, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Lightweight

Cons:

Needs More Internal Memary

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i`ve had the my galaxy player for about 3 weeks know and have had no problems with it. the touchscrean is very resposive to any touch. gyro is excilent responds quick to rotations. all in all the android system is great and fast, and is a great buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is awesome!

By Shepho from Undisclosed on 12/28/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first mp3 player and it is just great! The apps and features are great and the screen is great for watching movies!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really nice

By kristaal from Charleston, SC on 12/25/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is just the first day for me handling this but already I love it! It performs well, looks nice and I can't wait to delve into the other parts!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Give it a try !!!

By Goat57 from Washington D.C. on 12/23/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, User Replacable Battery, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As far as i can tell, all the Galaxy players have the same specs except for screen size but just for clarification i bought a 4.2. I am very pleased with my purchase and would highly recommend it. Fair price, clear and bright screen, plenty of apps for android OS (lots of free stuff!), micro sdhc input, and accessible battery (THANK YOU!!!). I do have a few quibbles though. 1) No external buttons to skip forward when using the music player. You have to wake up the touch screen and this can prove inconvenient if like you keep your player in a belt or arm case. 2) Perhaps its just me but when i use headphones listening to play music it just doesn't play loud enough. I like having the capability for my ears to thump a little, lol. 3) Again its just my opinion but i think that the internal memory of these players should increase with the screen size. 8 GB is a decent start but having it be a cookie-cutter standard seems a little ...you fill in the blank. 4) Using the USB cord to input media can be little frustrating until you get the hang of it. I have written more about the cons then the pros but dont hold that against the Galaxy players. I am very happy with my purchase and would do so again. I have yet to see a media player that i like more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great

By LMendoza from Undisclosed on 12/21/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love it! It's easy to use, and has loads of features that are awesome. The sound quality is much better than my last player I used. I am glad I purchased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love Samsung

By Eve413 from New Jersey on 12/18/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replace my I pod. Glad I made the decision to go with this one . Way better. Front speakers are great. A plus with the fm radio. Sound very clear. Easier to manage music.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ist mp3 player

By thundergas from macedon NY on 12/09/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Compact

Cons:

Needs Better Directions

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the first mp3 player I've owned and I'm still getting used to it and it's capabilities. The only down side is that the battery seems to drain quickly and there could have been more documentation with the product to better understand its use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this device!

By Nouweyyyaaah from Crystal, MN on 12/01/2012


Pros:

Easy-to-use, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this device. I had to get one when my sister got the 3.6 galaxy player. I wanted a better one. So I went to look for a "better" one and I found this one. It has everything I need! Its even better than my phone honestly. Not just me that has one but my boyfriend too! We both love our galaxys'.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sluggish

By MiMac from Undisclosed on 11/30/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It's has a sigle core processor. And just this morning, it won't boot. I just see the SAMSUNG logo.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great media player

By DJMandM from washington heights, ny on 11/29/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Can't Stop The Music Without Your Password

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i love this alternative to the itouch. my only issue is on the galaxy s2, u can stop the music before u even put in your password, i wish this had that. other than that, i love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Player with FM Radio at a great price

By mnnmn from Minnesota on 11/24/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable

Cons:

Headphones

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The price is right for this player. Has nice features and seems to be well made I have owned a number of Samsung products and have not been disappointed with any of my purchases. There are many accessories are available, including spare batteries. If I can state one short coming it is this; I have yet to find any Samsung or after market headphones that offer controls that i have had on other major brand players


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DOES NOT SYNC PROPERLY WITH WMP-12

By RICROB from Pittsburgh on 11/22/2012


Pros:

Bright Display

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have a big gripe with this product. It gets into this mode where when I hook it up to my computer to automatically sync my playlists with WMP-12, it drops the USB connection, then reconnects, and continuously cycles like this and syncs nothing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great

By brose111 from Gahanna Ohio on 11/19/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 5.0 was stolen about a week ago, so I got this. I wish I had gotten this first. It is really amazing, it's also so much faster than the 5.0! Please, get this!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Device

By Gore1695 from Petaluma, CA on 11/15/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Far more then just a media player. It can do anything an android phone can do. Love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Media player or tablet?

By Penrod from Solomons, MD on 11/07/2012


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color, Access To Samsung Apps, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Extremely Portable, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Samsung media player 4.2 is indeed the acme of of players. Music or audiobooks you can hear in stereo without earphones, movies you can watch any where, books you can read anywhere (especially at night with a reader app , set to red text on black background so you don't spoil you night vision), check the weather, the news, your email, create word and excel docs, play games, and have enough power to do this most all the day !! Just one thing missing -- I'm looking forward to someone adding a Startrek transporter app!.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gingerbread? Really?

By Jehrico76 from Undisclosed on 10/27/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Obsolete Os, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

C'mon Samsung...there's really no good reason you aren't pushing ICS for this. I'm taking it back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a great product to have

By All4tec from Minneapoils, MN on 10/21/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I compared it to the ipod touch and even though its bigger that the ipod i ended up buying because it was offering me pretty much everything the ipod touch offers me and i can get more apps free on this device than i can get on the Ipod toch. What more can i ask for. the only down side is it did not have flash on it other than that, I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Fun in a Compact Player

By Tweed524 from Chillicothe OH on 10/19/2012


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Fun, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this this Galaxy Player. I have had so much fun with it since I bought it. There are games & movies for me & the grand kids. The Galaxy has kept us entertained & talking for hours. Guess what is on the kids Christmas list? My shopping is done. LOL


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An Amazing device

By androidfan24 from Undisclosed on 10/15/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This device is great. I love everything about it. I recommend it to anyone interested in buying it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

amazing

By roryT from Undisclosed on 10/08/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Durable, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Can Trick Your Friends Into Thinking Its A Phone, Bright Display

Cons:

Not The Best Standby Time

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a great player. it is a lot better than my old ipod touch and is faster. the only downside is that it has so- so standby battery life. it also looks so much like the samsung galaxy S 2.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wi-Fi Rx Sensitivity not good as my iPod Touch

By Craft101 from San Jose, CA on 09/12/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall i like it more than my iPod Touch 4g. But things i don't like: 1) Wi-Fi Rx Sensitivity lower than my iPod Touch; 2) GPS is a joke, takes extremly long time to lock location; 3) FM radio quality so-so; 4) Plastic battery cover not firm; 5) Camera quality so-so;


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy 4.2 great!

By NewtoMP3 from Micco, Fl on 09/11/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was already familiar with Samsung quality so I looked up its ratings when I wanted an MP3 player. It was highly rated by Consumer Resports. I bought it based on ratings. I am happy with it. I have downloaded music, used My Route to jog with, used the radio which is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By VulcanMan from Undisclosed on 09/10/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The samsung player has everything i was looking for !!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Player

By Anonymous from leander, tx on 09/09/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Durable, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love it ts easy to use and fun to have has great features and a nice slim design


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really want an Update

By Th3Fang from New York, NY on 09/03/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Ergonomics, Touchwiz, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive

Cons:

Not Many Apps Compatable In The Play Store, Not High Def, No Updates For The Product

The Galaxy Player 4.2 is an outstanding device overall, I love the Touchwiz UI and how fast it is. The only detrimental thing about this device is that it lacks with software updates. I have had this product since its initial release wanting an update of some sort which would bring the sweetness of Ice Cream Sandwich or even Jelly Bean to the table, I have even gone to the point of searching for Roms for this device with none of them working. Please Samsung, release an update for this wonderful device and let it's true 5 star rating shine. Until an update comes out for this device a 4 star rating shall stay.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great, but runs on Gingerbread

By Clefspeare13 from Oaxaca, Oax. on 08/29/2012


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Runs Gingerbread 2.3.6

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great product and I haven't had any problems with it, but it runs on 2.3.6 Gingerbread, not Jellybean, and is not update-able.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome but lacking

By J2Gaeta from Flemington, NJ on 08/19/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Navigation, Size, Bright Display, Lightweight, Google Play Store, Keyboard

Cons:

Lacking Accessories, Cannot Connect Bluetooth With Text Messages

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The GALAXY Player 4.2 works great! Although, I am finding that its so sleek it keeps slipping out of my pocket and hard to carry it without the apprehension of damaging the product. In the manual it even says be careful about dropping the device although they offer no case or accessory specifically for the device. The GPS is absolutely one of the best qualities on the media player, It can browse the web efficiently enough and access email perfectly fine. The quality is there it's just missing the accessories to ensure the products worth.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this device but not enough storage

By SeaME from Round Pond, ME on 08/17/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Durable, Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Not Enough Storage Capacity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this device when my Zune died (went for an accidental swim in the ocean) and I like it a lot but it won't hold all of my music or even all of my audible books. I have added the max 32 GB SD chip but have to keep deleting media and swapping in new. (My Zune was 120GB.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Galaxy Player 4.2

By tony3546 from Undisclosed on 08/09/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice product , easy to use ,good display, good battery life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little Device

By tomgarz from MI on 08/06/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Cons:

Back Camera, Not Latest Ver. Of Android

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really love this player, hands down better than the ipod touch. I think the 4.2 strikes a good size balance for your pocket. I really would give it a 4.8 rating if I could. The only negative for me is not being able to update to the newest version of Android and the back camera needs a LED light so it can read bar codes. No biggie for me but would be nice. Other that that I very happy with the 4.2 player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome but needs improvement

By Zacadieux from CT on 07/28/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Durable, Bright Display

Cons:

Single Core Processor, Low Ram

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Its an amazing product and i love it but it would be nice if it had duo core processors and a gig of ram


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome MP3 player

By FirstDroid from Omaha, NE on 07/18/2012


Pros:

Very Responsive Touch Screen, Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Durable

Cons:

Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The touch screen on this player is far better than my last one and works better with my hands than the iFruit models I tried in the stores. I've only just begun to explore the features and apps, but already I can tell I'll be very happy with this purchase. I've only had it for a few hours and my wife already wants one, too!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Player

By videojockey from Undisclosed on 07/08/2012


Pros:

Expandable Memory, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Cons:

No Way To Uninstall Bundled Apps You Don't Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I LOVE the performance of this player so far. They got the size and the screen quality just right on this one. Sound and video quality are excellent, and wi-fi performance seems good. There does not seem to be a codec installed to handle movies with surround-sound audio tracks, so I had to recode some of mine in order to play them on it. I wish I could connect an external USB keyboard, thumb drive, microphone, etc. but that apparently requires a newer version of the Android OS. So if Samsung were to offer an Android OS upgrade for this player to version 4, or 4.1, that would be really cool. My only real complaint is that the way the expansion memory card gets mounted (as /external_sd subfolder of the /sdcard partition), it's only used by apps that search your folders for files or that support specifying a specific folder for storage. The Android app management option to 'move to SD storage' doesn't work. When it's enabled, it only moves data from the internal android partition to the sdcard folder, which is actually still part of the 8G of internal storage. The only apps I've found so far that can use the expansion card are media players and the camera app. Bundled games (and some other apps) that have large data downloads can use a lot of internal storage, 1.6G just for the FIFA12 game!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Only one problem

By Craigly from ohio on 06/28/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Cons:

Sometimes Wont Connect To Wi-fi

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this MP3 player for 2 days and i can tell you that i love it more than my ipod. the capibilaties for this MP3 player are impecable. i have had only 1 problem and that is that for some reason it wont saty connectred to my wifi but it will everyone elses.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Love this player

By ChasGalaxy42 from Undisclosed on 06/26/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use,Pretty good for the price, Android! Nuff Said


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product but leaves me wanting quad core

By Capn64 from Houston, TX on 06/21/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive

Cons:

Needs More Cpu Power

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I Like everything about this device... BIG Plus is the Stereo speakers... Nice sound and sound level...!!! I have run almost 300 different apps and only a select few gave me any problems... probably due to ram/cpu/running multiple apps at once. I would love to see better games, as the single cpu is simply a little aged for today's mobile devices... I must say that the SCREEN is big, and very bright, with extreme vivid colors! Way to go! I will be using this as my PRIMARY device until Samsung comes out with a quad core version! (Yes... I'm already waiting!)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy 4.2 A really good media player

By NoGeniusButKnowGoodDevice from Washington, DC on 06/19/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable

Cons:

Two-year-old Specs Hardware Outdated

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife bought the Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2 since I've only ever had used the iPOD Classics before. I love it! I ended up downloading Poweramp to handle my music collection as the preloaded player was unwieldy but I love the external speaker. I also have the ability to add additional storage space and that is a BIG PLUS over the competition. The screen resolution is great and the cameras are excellent for Skyping for the price. My only complaint is that the hardware spec are 2 years old. However, if your not a techie it really doesn't matter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Early Days

By bigbronbrian from Chicago on 06/19/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Realistic Color

This player was chosen after a long and exhaustive search for an Android player to store music and connect to Spotify. It does these things better than I had hoped. Also, I hadn't realised how much cool free stuff there is to download to it - both as toys and as useful tools. I'm happy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lots of great features in a small package

By Spotz from Undisclosed on 06/18/2012


Pros:

Good Size Screen, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 4.2" screen is a nice size and provides a crisp image, sound quality is enhanced by the front speakers, lots of useful on-board apps and widgets. The overall dimensions of the device make it very convenient to carry around in a pocket. Photo quality of the camera is not great but good enough for anything you wouldn't want to break out a dedicated digital camera for. Overall, I highly recommend this device.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Itouch Killer

By Jazzmanjeff from Central Florida on 06/10/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own a Samsung large screen LED TV and love the video quality of that device. I wanted to try and see if Samsung's small handheld tablet devices would also display video so vividly and I was not disappointed in the Galaxy Player 4.2. Really sharp video! It plays Youtube videos really well. That was a big selling point for me because I love to view the online videos. I was waiting to buy a handheld tablet until someone brought one out with a replaceable battery. It's very nice to be able to swap out a battery with a new one. That's a big seller rather than having to send the unit out for a new battery. Thanks Samsung. All the applications I have installed play well with the unit and it also has a great little GPS navigation in it which will do turn by turn navigation. The best part is that it updates the maps! If you don't want to pay the high cost of a data plan on your cell service with data going up in price, there is plenty of free wifi out there. The device always seems to find some free wifi and more and more cable companies are putting hotspots all over the place. The wifi is so much faster than a phone data service. All in all a great device and the only thing is that i wish I could find a rubber skin to protect the device. For now I put it in a leather pone type case which works fairly well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

big mp3 ever

By tingting from rob on 06/02/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Durable, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the price, sound and best HD Videos. this is samsung best mp3 yet to date


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

upgrade to 4.2

By lordtheobald from Undisclosed on 06/01/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Old Version Of Android

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I returned my 4.0 to gt the 4.2. The 4.2 has better ram, but a worse camera. I have noticed that it has a problem with simple games and the touch screen doesn't always notice that I touch it. I have found other android devices that are cheaper, but most are not pocket size. It doesn't have the most up to date version of android and I don't see that it will be updated anytime soon. Most phones will do the same thing this does and will have a newer version of android and cost the same or less.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a relief

By bsurks from Undisclosed on 05/31/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Has A Gps, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

A Protective Sleeve Would Be Nice.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Last year I needed to replace my Palm Pilot and finally found a small android tablet that wasn't a phone. It was an Archos 43. I was very happy with it until I kept hitting the ceiling of its 270MB app space. My wife bought a Galaxy Tab 7.0 Plus and I loved it but it was still too big for my pocket. I was thinking about the Galaxy Player 4.0 and discovered that the 4.2 had just come out. I LOVE it! It has plenty of room for all my necessary apps and still has space left for fun. It still has a ceiling but it's high enough that I will probably never hit it. It sounds great and looks great. The video is beautiful. I have a 32GB microSD in it so there is months of music to listen to. If you need a pocket-sized tablet I would definitely recommend this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great device

By vintral88 from Undisclosed on 05/24/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great iPod replacement. i got this device for my birthday and love so far. great screen, with excellent quality. i will definately use it a lot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New Toy

By Ferocity from Iowa on 05/21/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Not 4.0 (ics), Processing Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this to replace my few year old Ipod touch and it is a GREAT! upgrade!!! What sold me from the other GP's was the two front facing speakers, Samsung nailed that 100% great sound out of a little device. I would have liked the device to be 4.0 (ICS) but it has the latest Gingerbread. i am used to my Nexus with 4.0 so some interface challenges but thats expected. The other thing i didnt like is the processing speed i would of liked 1.2 but for the price you cant beat this AMAZING! above Ipod! player


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Galaxy S

By ShSamsung from Undisclosed on 05/21/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Low Voice For The Receiver

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I bought this smart phone last year, it was almost the top notch of the market. I am still happy with my choice. I would recommend Samsung designer to improve the batter design of the smart phone and the OS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved