Home » Video » Portable Multimedia Devices » YPGS1CB/XAA » 77 Reviews

Samsung Galaxy YP-GS1CB 8 GB Black Digital Multimedia Player - Audio Player, Photo Viewer, Video Player, FM Tuner, Camera, Voice Recorder, Video Recorder, e-Book - 3.7" 153600 Pixel Active Matrix TFT Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 77 reviews)

98% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Realistic Color (38), Lightweight (61), Bright Display (52), Inexpensive (59), Built-in Speakers (47), Durable (41), Fast (3)

Cons:

Not High Def (7)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Nice Features

By ikvirgo27 from Boston, MA on 07/29/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

No More Firmware Updates, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product has nice features, things that I would use every day, which makes it very convenient. I don't really need a "high definition" screen as long as it does what I want it to do. I wish Samsung updates its firmware though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I really enjoyed this MP3 player

By Scooty from Undisclosed on 07/18/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive

Cons:

Software Should Be Updated

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

To call this just an MP3 player is really an understatement. It's pratically a smartphone, Samsung Galaxy S, without the phone, and it's like a mini-tablet. The 3.6" screen is very nice and bright. The Androis operating system is easy to use, though I would like to have an update. The Kies software, in my opinion, is absolute garbage. I cannot get it work with my Galaxy Player, my Galaxy S cell phone, nor does it work with my Galaxy 4 S. I purchased this device refurbished, so I think I got it for an excellent price. My only problem with it, is that it sits humbly beside my cell phone, as I use it more often for playing music than this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

player

By tishizbeth from kansas on 06/10/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I loved my player. Now so sad my device has an accident at work and the player got run over and trashed. Would love to get the info off my device esp my pictures. Definatly would recommend this device.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Overall

By Gravsey101 from Undisclosed on 05/13/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Battery Does Not Last Long

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this player as a gift for Christmas and I like it a lot. The only problem is that it is not very good on battery. I also do not appreciate the fact that it is so hard to find cases and replacement headphones. I love the fact that you pay for what you get and you don`t pay based on the amount of gigs. I also like the option to add on storage with a memory card. Also, the samsung customer service was fantastic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent media player!!!

By SamsungGalaxySLuvr from Texas on 04/17/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this product for quite some time and although the OS is outdated (2.3.6), compared to current Samsung Galaxy models, it's still a pretty little device to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleased Customer

By SheWoubMe from Dallas, TX on 02/01/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased the Samsung Galaxy Player 3.6 main purpose to play games and listen to music. Have had no problems with performance. Little issue on Samsung Apps Update (called and they walked me through quick fix). Extremely polite and helpful. Product is sleek and user friendly. Great price!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice product

By electricroo from Undisclosed on 01/30/2013


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to replace my old PDA that I use at work. It works great. I managed to port the address book and found a nice database app and some engineering apps that I use on a daily basis.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product

By pepperann from woodland, wa on 01/23/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Cons:

Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I would recommend this product to anyone. We had an ipod touch and we are more than impressed with the galazy player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy and Fun

By ckfourman from Undisclosed on 01/18/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Nice Features, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this product mainly as a replacement for my old mp3 player. It does a great job! Sound is good, easy to use and navigate and having wifi and bluetooth capability is awesome. Would definately recommend this product!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

On my third Galaxy 3.6

By RedGecko from Chesapeake, VA on 01/17/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Easy To Use, Bright Display, Lightweight, Great Customer Service, Durable, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought a Samsung MP3 player because I totally love my Samsung Galaxy SII phone. My 1st player had to be returned to the retailer after my media scanner would not stop scanning and my second was returned to Samsung because it would not read my micro sd card. The point is, my 3rd player arrived yesterday and I am EXTREMELY satisfied with my experience from the Samsung tech folks who tried (twice) for over an hour to rectify the situation, the repair staff that responded immediately with a pre-paid UPS label to ship my player to them and the internal team that sent me a perfect (so far) replacement. I have had many dealings with many tech companies over the years and without exception this is the BEST Customer Service I have EVER experienced. Kudos and many thanks to Samsung for standing behind their product and treating me with respect!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun and easy to use

By Chickenhawk from Iowa on 01/10/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Durable, Lightweight

Cons:

Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to add music and apps. Wish it had a turntable for my albums.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Competes with iPod!

By GalaxyMan4Life from Florida on 01/07/2013


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Exceeded Expectations, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I bought this device I was looking for something that was like an iPod touch but not as expensive. I was skeptical when I first bought it that it would not be able to even compete with the iPod but upon using it and exploring it I found that it was just like an iPod and only had slight differences. The design is different of course, slightly thicker, different buttons and locations but not a big deal. The resolution of the Galaxy Player is not quite as good as the iPod touch but again not very noticeable unless you are comparing the two side by side. The uploading speed of the Galaxy Player is slightly slower than an iPod touch but again this is almost impossible to discover unless a side by side comparison is performed. All in all this device rocks and I will probably never be an iPod man because of it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

easy to use

By turkeyboy from berlin n.h. on 01/06/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easy to use even when your not computer savy. customer support is very helpful,samsung site trobleshooting very helpful


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK Device, But Below My Expectations

By Sling from Columbus, OH on 01/05/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Self-adjusting Volume, Music Would Hang, Sensitive Buttons

The buttons are too sensitive and because of the small size of the device and where the buttons are placed, it's often that you hit one by mistake and exit an app., adjust the volume, or put the screen to sleep. I also find the music to hang for a bit and more often than it should, even though I have a great wireless connection. On two occasions, the volume kept self-adjusting itself, which was very annoying.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

it is by far the best

By auburnfan38401 from columbia, tn on 01/01/2013

it is one of the sleekest designs I have seen in a long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3 1/2 months later and the hubby still uses it

By Robert686 from Undisclosed on 12/29/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My husband easily grows bored with electronic devices. We gave him the Galaxy Player 3.6 for his birthday and he is till using it. It is the perfect size for him to have in his pocket while he is outside grilling or barbecuing. The music quality is great. Inside he connects to our WiFi and surfs just like he would on his smartphone. He uses my tablet less...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fun For All

By Snickerbar150 from Undisclosed on 12/27/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really liked this product its way better than the ipod touch in many ways.Downloading music is not a hassle and eaiser than ever plus there are tons of free apps the best thing about this product is that its easy to carry around and like a android smart phone !!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By sabral from Fombell,Pa. on 12/27/2012


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Simple, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great player for kids! My kids havent put them down yet! Good job Samsung!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is awesome.

By darkdisorder78 from florida on 12/27/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Fast

Cons:

2.3 Os, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this product. I new it was going to be good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mighty big for MP3 player

By SSSSSSSSSSSSSS from Undisclosed on 12/26/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My Christmas gift...very happy with it. More than just a MP3 player...almost a tablet in many ways. Easy to carry, easy to use, fun to use as well


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Experience

By Jr2003CB from Undisclosed on 12/26/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my 9 yr old son who was determined to have a Ipod He was very pleased and excited. Samsung never Seizes to Amaze me with Quality Products with Great prices.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cases for Samsung Galaxy player 3.6

By Triplets from Florida on 12/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The choices for rubberized or silicon cases for the Samsung galaxy players are limited. I bought 3 players for my triplet daughters and they each would like different color cases. I have searched throughout the web and in the stores and have only found black, white and pick hard cases.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ridic!!

By Lovesfairdream from Somewhere in the USA on 12/24/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Cheaper Than Apple, Bright Display, Its Samsung, Durable, Its Not Macintosh, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Good things: 1.Battery life lasts all day. 2.1 camera on front 1 camera on back 3. Fairly Durable 4. Android 2.5 5.Custom fonts 6. Live/Animated Wallpapers 7. Earphones are indestructable Bad Thing: no cases!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the best

By drejapan from Undisclosed on 12/22/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

my kids love the samsung galaxy players.....they think they have real phones with all the apps from android and the build of samsung thank you samsung


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best media player

By Luis13 from Springfield, Va on 12/20/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easy to use, great quality, user friendly, great christmas gift.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

easy

By Samwolf from FULLERTON, CA on 12/20/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable

Cons:

Need More Portalbe

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easy to use, light weight. love the apps easy to down load.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE LOVE LOVE

By pengwinlvr from baltimore, maryland on 12/19/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Fast, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just received my Samsung Galaxy player 3.6 from my husband(early Christmas present) and I must say I am thoroughly impressed. I love the android operating system and the sleek clean design! Its quick and multi-functional, I'm super excited to replace a few devices with just this one!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is well worth the money

By pkscomix from Undisclosed on 12/19/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product was a great replacement to a cd player I had. Not only does it do so much more the sound quality is out of this world. The connectivity is quick and its very easy to sync songs from your computer. These were my three bench marks connectivity, sound, and ease of use. This device surpassed all my expections on all three.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing

By Tjones1119 from Undisclosed on 12/17/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had the samsung galaxy 5.0 and I like this one better. I can put it right in my pocket and bring it with me everywhere. Great graphics and screen! Super fast! Will never own anouther Mp3/Tablet!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wow

By tingting from rob on 12/10/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Realistic Color

this mp3 is amazingly good i love it just one problem is the camera brightness


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Player

By Northridge4ever from mckinney,texas on 12/02/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought Galaxy Player 3.6 last month. Like convenience of being able to access internet without having contract for service. Since I have not had player that long I have not fully had time to play with it. So far everything seems to be working fine. Purchased Bluetooth speaker...synced up fine, works great. Wife liked it so much I had to purchase her the Galxy Player 5.0. Anyway, the games are great and nothing much to complain about. Thumbs up to Samsung.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love It!

By MusicLuvr from Charlotte, NC on 11/27/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Much better than the other brand I was considering. Love the sound qualities and the extra features the other one didn't have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good price

By panchos2222 from chicago il on 11/25/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Cons:

Poor Quality, Not High Def, Cheap Plastic

happy 4 d price ...downs: case is too cheap make me feel like a toy from dollar store... I got an iphone and the cheap plastic material ist d only reason why I don't get d galaxy s3 .... I hope Samsung put some quality materials on theirs products ... I a construction worker ...so I need a rugged phone


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME PRODUCT!!!! :-)

By JAIMEMDCFV from roxbury,Ma,02120 on 11/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I may not have known this product for a long time but it feels like i known it for a decade, this product does things that you wouldn't expect it to do for a MP3 PLAYER!!! this thing has google play/wifi/android 2.3 gingerbread/a built in GPS/VERY FAST performance/E.T.C. THIS ''MP3 PLAYER'' has so many features that sometimes while i am using it i accidentally call it a phone instead of a mp3 player. THIS MP3 PLAYER GOES FAR OUT EXPECTATIONS. IT AN AWESOME PRODUCT REALLY AWESOME PRODUCT I RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE. :-)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for teenies

By moonsoon from Undisclosed on 11/24/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great for young teens. Cannot use on internet unless you have wifi.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This thing rocks!!

By ninnysis1973 from Iowa on 11/14/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Its amazing how many things you can do with such a small gadget! I use this mostly for working out so it it the perfect size and there are so many helpful fitness apps I can use during my workouts. I have a tablet too, but its too big for what i need. I only use my tablet when on vacation and I don't have a computer available.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome product

By Subzero08 from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 11/12/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Cons:

To Thin

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the product is well built , excellent quality look to it , speaker is loud enough to hear.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for me

By grich from Undisclosed on 11/12/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I wanted it for a good MP3 player. The player constantly stops playing and goes to the home screen for no reason.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

<3

By lovesbooks24 from Undisclosed on 11/09/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Cons:

Hard To Find An Case For

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this product have had it for four months now and I never want to give it back!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SIMPLY THE BEST

By IceyOne from Cleveland Oh on 11/06/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was in the market for and mp3 player. I researched the Ipod but the only thing I did not like was that the memory could not be expanded. This was important to me because I am replacing an MP3 that uses the Micro SD card to expand the memory. I went on line and discovered the Samsung 3.6 player. I went to my local store and they had just gotten them in. I purchased it. I could not be happier. It has many features and since I am used to android, operating it is a snap. I like it too because it works with Windows without any special instructions. The GPS is great and being able to download the Android apps makes it great. The only thing I wish that I could find more accessories for it. You can't go wrong purchasing this great player


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Goodbye I pod Hello Galaxy

By Eve413 from New Jersey on 11/05/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love it . Easy to use. perfect price. great company


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Player - Pitiful Kies Software

By CraigOS from Undisclosed on 11/01/2012


Pros:

Features-value, Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Kies Software

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Sound and Features; CAUTION: Earplug positioning in ears Affects Quality of Sound / Farther into Ear = a MUST/Best; (Win 7 Hm Prem) Level 2 Sppt w/Remote Access could NOT get Kies 2.5 App to CONNECT to my Galaxy 3.6 but I was told Wi-Fi Software Updates will work (it does though None Avail) and Music Transfer via Mass Storage USB Setting will work. (Kies 2.1 was only Sometimes for Device Connection --- Kies when Connected produced more Organized Music (by Album/Artist) - Media Player Music transfer IFFY with 3 CD's once combined into (1) Unknown Folder in random order. Happens with Other Brands too but just an FYI - Prepare to get creative as needed. Wanted FM radio too and Apple TOO PRICEY Vs Samsung Features/Price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great

By yackman01 from Undisclosed on 10/31/2012


Pros:

Android, Bluetooth Headset Capability, Built-in Speakers, Syncs With Google Music, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great MP3 player. I didn't even have to put my music on it!! with Google Music, I can stream all my music from Google. This allows me to put books, my bible, or movies on this device. Very fast, very response. MUCH BETTER feature set then any Ipod I have ever had. The internal speaker has great sound, bluetooth capability allows me to pair it with a bluetooth headphone set :-) great for when I'm at work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

humanartistvendingmachine

By humanartistvendingmachine from Camp Hill Pa on 10/19/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

I Hope To See The Camera Go To 8mp., I Wish I Bought A Slightly Bigger Screen

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had an I pod and got rid of it. What this product does is work hand and hand with my google+ account. As an artist I love music but I also like getting my art in the world. This devices helps me take quick photos so I can post my art in real life,real time. This device works better then my new lap top in speed in emails..and web pages.. I hope this will keep up with the tech. Maybe a zoom lens and higher pixels in the near future?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Thoughts after a week

By orbi from Pacific NW, USA on 10/08/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Durable, Gps, Many Capabilities, Lightweight, Expandle To 40gb, Battery Life, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Cons:

Lack Of Interactive Training, More Ram Maybe?, No Hdmi, Power Button And Volume Placed Close Together

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

(Review for Galaxy 3.6 from a beginner with Android devices that's experienced with computers) I think that the screen resolution of 480x320 (horizontal by vertical dots of color) for this 3.6" screen should be easier for those with not-so-great vision to read than the 800x480 resolution on the 4-5" Galaxy screens since everything appears bigger with less pixels per inch (but not as sharp). Even with the lower resolution, the quality of graphics and video are quite impressive. Cool feature: You can share your multimedia contents with DLNA compliant devices. So if you have a newer TV that's part of your home network, you can transmit videos, photos, and music without wires. An HDMI port would be handy for those with older TV sets, but may not be possible or cost-friendly to add. For the Android OS, there are several free and free-to-try anti-malware applications available. I found one that scans each app as it's installed, plus it does an automatic scan at a specified interval. There is advertising with free apps, but the majority of them use it tastefully. I wish there were more payment options for paid-for apps. Per the design being four stars, I tried to be as critical as possible. One annoyance, it vibrates when turning on/off, or after it's been fully charged. There's probably a way to change that, but I haven't found it yet (I've disabled vibration in Sound). Will have to check with support on that. I've had one glitch, where it restarts after I try to access Accounts and sync. Also, I've pressed the wrong button at times - the power and up/down volume buttons are placed close together, and blend in (almost too) well with the frame. It's pretty amazing that you can go to the App Store on your computer and install/uninstall applications from there (with the device turned on and connected to the same network). Summary: "The Samsung Galaxy Player is out of this world!" Indeed, it's like a smartphone without the phone. Without the 3G/4G on standby (on a phone) draining the battery, you get the benefit of a lot more usage per charge. The few minor issues I've encountered are far outweighed by the wonders of this device, especially for the price. Wish List: 20" Galaxy Tablet "Ultrabook and Desktop Replacement" with organic display.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent!

By LincsGrampa from Cincinnati on 10/08/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Wifi!, Durable, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'd bought a different mp3 player around a year or so ago, and it turned out the battery was defective. I had to recharge nearly every time I used it for more than a half hour or so. I decided a couple weeks ago I needed a new device, and my son recommended this one. I've been thrilled with the performance, as well as the features. I don't have a smart phone, but with WiFi connectivity,this player lets me do everything I would be able to do with a smart phone (except make phone calls, which I do with my stupid phone.) I am absolutely satisfied with the Galaxy Player, and would highly recommend it to anyone in the market for a good portable music player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

is great

By rafaelenrique from Undisclosed on 09/27/2012


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

sansung forever!!!! speechless. this is very good player Sansung galaxy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The move up was worth it....

By Codysdad302 from Virginia Beach, VA on 09/23/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Having several different mp3 players over the years, the step up to this device caused me to way the costs vs performance increase. I am so glad I did. This player has provided me great pleasure in it's design and performance that I'm totally hocked.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Device

By HappyGalaxyOwnersMom from Connecticut on 09/20/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this device for my daughter and she LOVES IT! she was used to using my Droid to play games etc, so for her birthday instead of getting a IPod Touch i wanted to get something that she could still use a Google platform...after soem research i found the samsung to have the best value and it has been the best purchase for her! even her friends with IPod's are jealous!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By Vickyc99 from Jacksonville FL on 09/09/2012


Cons:

Hard Time Finding Cases

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love all the feature and plenty of apps both free and at a cost


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this little guy!!!

By Shannara from Undisclosed on 09/05/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Cons:

Usb Cord Too Short

All I wanted was a MP3 player. Got SO much more for just alittle more than the other units that just played music. Great value, features, and support. Had a little trouble getting it to sync to my pc, a few minutes with online chat support, (my fault) and now I'm rockin out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

affordable....lots of features

By n2treez from Undisclosed on 08/18/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

affordable, lightweight, lots of features and great sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a media player should be

By cleesy from greenport ny on 08/18/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Expandibility, Replaceable Battery

Cons:

Answers To Operational Questions Are Difficult To, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Galaxy Media Player 3.6 is a superlative device. It does many things very well. The touch interface is as good as it gets. I can even use the interface while out jogging with just a bit of practice. There are several features that distinguish the Galaxy in a world of media players. It can accept a 32 gig flash card. It has an easily replaced battery. Although it has a wealth of features that could be buried in a poorly designed operating system, the interface is intuitive and it is quick and easy to master. In terms of setup, the Galaxy finds email and social media accounts and effortlessly syncs to them. I've had it for only about 2 weeks, so I can't comment about longevity, but there is a common theme in the design of the player and the software and that is it's well thought out. There are only a few negative points.The lack of answers to questions of usage available on the Samsung website is one. There does not appear to be an email address to help with questions. In fact the Samsung website itself is difficult to navigate and is a very weak support resource for the Galaxy. The user's manual is also just mediocre and tends not to address important functional problems that confront the new user. There are a few operational mysteries that I haven't solved and the manual is less than helpful. For example, the ability to transfer music and podcasts from Itunes is really not explained well. There is also a difference in viewing files on the removable flash card on the Galaxy and the files that appear through windows explorer. It would be nice if the Galaxy could be updated to newer Android versions and could run all the apps that are designed for the phone, but this is a minor issue. Overall, however, a great device at a reasonable price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Player w/Wifi for the price

By LifterGirl from St. George, UT on 08/02/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Durable

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great item. Have only had it for a few days and still learning all the uses but so far very pleased. Does all I expected and more. Thinking about picking up 2 more for the kids for Christmas.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fun fun fun

By shabazz from NEWARK,NJ on 07/21/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers

its good for all the fun you wish for theirs music , apps , and videos , and eBooks i guess. it's a steal for its price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Anniversary Gift from my husband!!!

By luvmymusic from Illinois on 07/20/2012


Pros:

Easy To Use, Bright Display, So Many Features, Quality Of Sound, Inexpensive, Comfortable Headphones, Durable, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

On July 1st, 2012, my husband and I celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary. He said he had a surprise for me and that he had "truly" listened to what I wanted. He set a box (no wrapping) on the kitchen counter and said "there you go." I looked at the box and it said Samsung on it and I said "is this what I think it is?" I opened it and I just kept saying thank you, thank you, thank you soooo much! It's the best thing I could have hoped for! I love it and I use it every single day. It has SO many features and it's very easy to use. The quality of sound, the headphones, and everything about it just makes me feel so lucky to have it. My Samsung makes me happy!!! Thank you....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By mmmmmm123 from Undisclosed on 07/19/2012

Nicely done!!!! Best player that I have purchased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value

By Section8 from Dallas, TX on 07/16/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This player does everything I need it to do at nice price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great alternative to iPOD Touch

By LoveAndroid from California on 07/13/2012


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Replacable Battery, Built-in Speakers, Radio

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I can toss my iPOD now and have the same capabilities and more. I like the radio feature which is not available on the iDevice. Replaceable battery is a major benefit. My iDevice just died, the battery will not re-charge. Check how much it cost to replace a battery on iDevice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Device!

By DWXVI from Undisclosed on 07/12/2012


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive

Cons:

Not Running On Android Ice Cream Sandwich

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently sold my iPod Touch 4th Generation due to it's fading battery life. My best friend recommended picking up a Samsung Galaxy Player instead of buying a completely new iPod Touch, and I gotta say it was a great choice. I have yet to find a big flaw with my Galaxy Player 3.6. Only thing I hope for is an upgrade to Ice Cream Sandwich. ;)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great new Product

By Jaminjh from Shepherdsville, Ky on 07/05/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Multitasking, Built-in Speakers, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Next best Mulimedia player. Yes, Multimedia player it plays music and video. Allows you to read books, Home or Office files, and surf the net. You can pair it with your Tab2 and transfer files over bluetooth. Now to decide if I want to purchase a laptop to complete my set.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gift for grandsons

By jkspat54 from Undisclosed on 06/25/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought two of these for two of our grandsons. They both love it. Easy to use. Had preloaded games and they have downloaded more. It was easy to connect it to their router at home and the router at our house.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best

By ThatsRight3 from Undisclosed on 06/24/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best mp3 player out right now. Whats not to love about it has everything you need plus the android market.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing little thing

By Henk5066 from Boston MA on 06/18/2012


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Lightweight, Fast, Awsome, Large Capacity For Expansion, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color

Cons:

Camera Could Be A Bit Better. Not Really A Con

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

admitedly the gps takes a bit to get usedto but other than that this is a full functoning android for someone who does not want a phone but does want a droid. i love this little thing. It is durrable unlike an ipod, it is equiped with gps, unlike an ipod, and is nicely priced for the everyday consumer, unlike an ipod. and it does everyting an ipod does.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent iPod Touch Alternative!

By saleenman from West Bend, WI on 06/17/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Cons:

Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love everything about it EXCEPT the battery life. The battery needs to be re-calibrated. The device thinks it is fully charged when the cell voltage reaches 4130mV. At a true full charge the cell voltage should be 4200mV. Since it stops charging at 4130mV the battery life is greatly diminished.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product for a Great Price

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 06/15/2012


Pros:

Wifi, Gps, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Micro Sd Expansion, Durable, Fm Radio, Inexpensive, Replaceable Battery, Android Os

Cons:

Screen Resolution

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was contemplating on buying the 8gig I Pod touch or this product. I read a lot about both products and I decided to buy the Samsung Galaxy 3.6 player. I must say I am very very very pleased with my purchase. I was very impressed with the technical aspects, I could change the battery if my battery was weak and I could also put in a micro SD card. I bought this player mainly to listen to music but I was surprised with the other add ons, Its more like a phone without a sim card. I know the screen resolution is not super great but it is far better than most touch screen phones I have seen. Great job Samsung


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy

By lovemygadgets4life from Undisclosed on 05/22/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Cons:

Lack Of Acceseeories

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far navigating and finding features has been simple. Some apps are a litle off but that is the apps problem. Would love more accessories.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic!

By ix64 from iowa city on 05/15/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, It Runs Android, Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I Bought this when i was in korea, one of the best mobile devices i ever owned i would highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME!

By MBethel from Iowa on 05/15/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a beginner and i love this product...I would absolutely recommend this to anyone! I love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wow

By SOCIOPAPI from BROWNSVILLE, TX on 05/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great device love the features and all the apps and the screen its real bright


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wow!

By Tonymm from Pearland, Tx on 04/30/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Samsung Quality, Built-in Speakers, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Outstanding MP3 Player plus! I got this for the MP3 player but it does so much more. Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, HD video, GPS and more. Sound is great, Bluetooth to my motorcycle helmet works without any dropouts, battery time is great, what more could I ask for. Great product Samsung.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Neat gadget

By SteveT07 from Laurel md on 04/26/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Durable

Great sound quality. Good Battery life. The wifi features set it apart from most mp3 players. Video is a bit blocky though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome!

By kingsnickers from Bakersfield, CA on 04/25/2012


Pros:

Speaker Sounds Great!!, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

No Accessories At The Moment

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I personally couldnt imagine living without it now. Works great, more durable then any ipod or iphone. Me being a butter fingers, have dropped it multiple time from above weist high, and only 1 scratch and no cracks. Works just like Any ipod or iphone if not better. Am disappointed that it has no accessories, but thats only because its to new. I am looking forward to buying multiple skins and cases for it, hopefully soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Device

By Broncosman from Houston, TX on 04/15/2012


Pros:

Price, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Android Market, Realistic Color, Not Stuck Using Itunes To Put Music On., Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall, this is a great device. Audio is great, the screen is pretty nice. The device is listed to be 8GB, but when you turn it on the first time, and then go into storage under settings, you'll see it is only showing just over 4.5gb total/available storage space. The great thing about this device is that it doesn't really matter since you have the ability to use a microSD card in the device. I love mine and my wife loves hers. Great mp3 player for the price. Blows IPOD out of the water!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Galaxy Player 3.6

By HoustonTech from Texas on 04/15/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Cons:

Firmware Upgrade Not Available, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excelent player,Replaceable Battery,Memory Slot,gps and somany more features. Same spec. on all 3 sizes except the camera megapixels on 3.6 display could have being HD but on this screen size is not much the difference picture is clear and videos awesome good investment so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sounded Good!

By BosJerseyGirl from Undisclosed on 04/13/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sounded good, but wish it had the 5" screen like the 5.0 Galaxy Media Player. I have that and I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This player is awsome!!

By Judges from Oregon on 04/13/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Nothing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This 3.6 player is perfect size not to big not to small. Its fast plays every android app so far, all music, movies and games. long battary life.....great price...hmmm nothing I can say that i dont like about it. PS, now they just need to get some accessories for it like casses, and screen protectors....that would be the icing on the cake :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved