Home » Photography » Camcorders » HMXW300B » 38 Reviews

Samsung HMX-W300B Digital Pocket Camcorder [brown] Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 38 reviews)

88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight (26), Realistic Color (15), Inexpensive (23), Durable (27), Built-in Speakers (15), Bright Display (19)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Excellent choice

By CCompost from Montana on 10/01/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We needed a camera to record progress and work in our community garden - full of dust and kids! This camera proved invaluable to us - it is so easy to operate, takes great pictures and videos, and has been our best tool for sharing what is happening as kids learn to grow their own food, and harvest and eat it. Thanks for making a camera that ANYONE can use!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Access door opens underwater and destroys camera

By runjanerun70 from Undisclosed on 08/04/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Opens Under Water

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has been a great video camera, rugged and water proof. However, there is an access door on the side that has a micro usb port, a reset button and memory card slot. This door unlatches easily on the side of the camera where you hold it for shooting video. As my daughter was recording under water, her hand slid down and inadvertently unlatched the access door. The door pooped open and the camera is dead. We are passed our 12 month warranty so I was quoted more than the value of the camera for repair. This is a bad design on the part of Samsung. There is no way this door should pop open so easily on a camera designed to be in the water. Buyer beware, if you buy this and plan to use it in the water, be sure to securely tape the door closed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stopped working after it got wet

By italiana3s from Atlanta, GA, USA on 07/16/2014


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Not Waterproof, Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I took my pocket camcorder to the beach. The first day it got a little wet from the ocean and immediately stopped working. Very mad and disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy!

By os2k from Undisclosed on 07/13/2014


Cons:

Poor Design, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Due to a terrible design detail, I never got to use the camera as intended. The first time I tried to use it in the pool, the USB cover came open on its own and water got into the camera and destroyed it. Why would Samsung market such a poorly designed product is beyond me. I would think hard before purchasing any product from Samsung that is not part of their proved product line.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Techaddicted from North Carolina on 06/23/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought for my husband to take with him to film his flight in a Stearman Biplane. Needed to be easy to handle and control. Got great videos and stills of a once-in-a-lifetime memorable experience highlighted when the pilot let him take the controls for a while.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is nice

By Blubber from Oregon on 05/20/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Cons:

Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product works well however I have trouble seeing the mode indicator underwater.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a fun little "toy" video camera!!!

By CreedeMike from Creede, CO 81130, USA on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Very Small., Lightweight, Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Considering the size etc. this is a very good little product. I do professional videography and this little camera just goes with me up into the mountains on occasion. It is good for close video.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value

By Sundevil1981 from Undisclosed on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the size of the unit and it's easy to use features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

charging

By 781rider24 from Boston, MA on 12/09/2013


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm not very satisfied with this camcorder. I have bought and returned several of these because i haven't come across one that will charge. They all work until the factory battery life runs out then they will not charge. I do like what I've been able to do with it and the performance is good...i just want one that charges.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

my opinion of the w300 rugged full hd 1080p pocket camcoder

By Anonymous from merced california on 05/30/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Easy To Use, Durable

Cons:

No Flash For Pics

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love it the only thing it needs is a flash other wise it is easy to use and take grate pic and vidios I take it with me everywere you must get one


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good

By mom69 from Undisclosed on 05/11/2013


Pros:

Durable

Cons:

No External Mic Input, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

no eternal mic input butgood overalltoob bad not in hd


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome technology

By thebud201 from Ballwin, MO, USA on 01/05/2013


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I enjoy this camera. It is user friendly and so light weight that I take it on almost every vacation, fishing trip and every where I go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

was not as happy as I thought I would be

By auburnfan38401 from columbia, tn on 01/01/2013

it does what it is supposed to do, and it is nice but I was left wanting......


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

waterproof???

By Anonymous from Tucson, AZ. USA on 12/27/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight

Cons:

Not Waterproof, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Nice little camera. The included software did not load. much less work. I took it in the water tree times. The third time one of the little doors that are suppose to keep the water out of the camera opened. The camera completely filled with salt water. The latch on the doors is a joke. The slightest touch and it opens. A ridiculously poor design for such an important aspect of what is the whole reason for purchasing it in the first place. An now.... The circus begins in an effort to get a refund or return it for an exchange. I definitely would not recommend it for anyone who wishes to take a camera in the water.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great, even with a couple flaws

By ichizen from Boston, MA on 11/24/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable

Cons:

Compartment Access

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this unit particularly for its video capabilities, although it's just as good for still shots. I found the size and shape, with at least its small LCD screen most appealing. The rugged design means I can toss it into any bag or pocket without worrying too much about damage (no moving lens mechanism or protruding buttons, and it's even water resistant). Nice that it has an integrated male USB connector (potentially no cable necessary to connect to a laptop, for instance). My only dislikes are: 1) While Samsung managed to make the HDMI and memory card slot compartment accessible via a hatch on one side, the USB connector compartment hatch is on the bottom, rather than the other side. This means I must unscrew my small tripod mount bracket every time I want to to connect it to the computer for downloading. 2) Although it is a wide aspect ratio, Samsung accomplished this by cutting off the top and bottom of the image, rather than making it wide angle (compared to my old point-and-shoot still camera with video that this unit replaced). Also, this unit has a built-in, non-replacable battery (naturally, rechargeable by connecting to a computer or your own USB charger) . The jury is still out on whether this will be a problem later on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HMX-W300

By nter from Undisclosed on 11/21/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is a decent product. Not bad at all for the price!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This a pretty reliable video and photo machine

By Juanillo from Sarasota Fl on 11/05/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Is a another fine product HMX-W300YN from Samsung a little recording and photo machine, good videos and pictures


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value in a little package!

By LoPwr from Undisclosed on 11/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fantastic HD camcorder in a little package. I would have liked to see a better way to CHARGE the unit other than through a computer input. Maybe a AC cable for home or car charger! This item is packaged as a sports model and charging is important! I don't see see these options as accessories, WHY NOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!? HAPPY CHARGING WHEN YOUR IN THE WATER OR ON THE SKI SLOPES


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic!

By Sojjang from Undisclosed on 11/04/2012


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It works great. It's been abused and gotten underwater. Been in sand and still no problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smooth Design

By Toomuchinfowanted from Undisclosed on 10/16/2012


Pros:

Waterproof, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Durable, Bright Display

Cons:

Only Waterproof To 16'

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I chose this camera because of the smooth design. I read a complaint about another camera being "waterproof", however, the customer was not happy about how sand got in every part of the exterior... and the price was good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The thing i really like the HD its great!

By Belrache from Oxnard on 10/14/2012


Pros:

Durable, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product I really like it! I just wish it has bigger screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great camera dangerous design.

By Sunset1 from Saint Louis, MO on 10/03/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Shock Resistant!, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Great Night Photos And Movies With Some Light.., Durable, Lightweight, Simply Fantastic Photos.., Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Poor Usb And Memory Lock Design.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is simply the best sports camera i have ever owned. However it does have one basic and dangerous design flaw. Why didnt they simply put better locks on the usb port and memory port? I have had them pop open even after carefully testing them before getting in the water. Fix that issue and you have one awesome camera. Fantastic shots and for once the video at night is better with the movie than the camera? prob needs a firmware update. While i can shoot underwater with this design you are just looking for trouble. Sooner or later ... it will pop open. a simple screw type lock or latch but a spring loaded simple latch on the side? someone didnt do their research effectively.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PERFECT!!!

By iseeu4u from Ellenwood, Ga on 09/30/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Mega Pixels Not Great For Larger Enlargements.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I went on cruise and wanted something to take pictures and video not having my hands full of equipment. I fell in love with this baby the instant I used it. Great photos with a nice 5x7 enlargement from the 5mp shot. Great for sending via email. It was great to have one camera and the ability to shoot and image and capture the moment on video. I love it! The below is an image taken with my new waterproof camera ... Great! Thanks Samsung!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camcorder!

By VacationAlways from Undisclosed on 09/23/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Waterproof!, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Camera/Camcorder. It worked great on my family cruise. Took the most amazing underwater videos. The editing software was easy to use. I was initially concerned with the door that covers the memory card, but it did not open while iunder water. Maybe they should make it so the doors lock? Other than that a great decvice. Like I said I used it under water for 5 days on my cruise!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

test test test

By deeneer from Undisclosed on 09/11/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality

test test testtest test testtest test testtest test testtest test testtest test testtest test testtest test testtest test testtest test testtest test testtest test testtest test testtest test testtest test testtest test test


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great pocket HD cam

By HappyChappy1 from Bloomington, IN on 09/02/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This pocketcam was exactly what I wanted. It's highly portable, and can record in HD and Full HD. The interface is easy to use, i can easily playback my videos straight after recording. The video quality is awesome - i'm having a blast making movies on it :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cool waterproof camera!

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 08/06/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

No Cons.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Always wanted to shoot images and video in the water. Travelled to Palau recently and didn't have a water-safe camera. We're going on a Disney curise and plan to use this for the water tube ride on the ship, and jet skis / parasailing on the Disney Island. Can't wait!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great design

By slnhn from Utah on 07/23/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This item takes great pictures and great videos. You have the option of using 720 or 1080 HD video. Using 1080 will take up more of your memory card. You will want to install an SDHC memory card if you want to record for a couple of hours. For a comparison, I installed a 16GB card and I get about 4.5 hours using 720 or about 2.5 hours using 1080. The item recharges its battery by plugging the USB port into a computer. I wish it had a little bit more battery power, but what it has will do. I seem to get about one hour of recording time for each battery charge. Lightweight, great design, but no accessories available at this time. The one accessory I'd really like to have would be a chest harness so I can wear it while recording hiking, fishing, rafting, or other activity. For such an inexpensive product, you get a lot of value with this camcorder!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this product

By kmvt from Undisclosed on 07/15/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Did Meet More Than My Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My opininion about this product is that is good for taking photos full of action. The HD and FUL HD options are great and the effects that you can have in photos and videos are excellent for the photographer you want to be. Excellent product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great performance in a small package

By MaoriDude from Undisclosed on 07/15/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Cons:

Viewing Screen Easily Scratched

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product on a whim. I was surprised at the quality of video. It took a great video from 100' away. Unfortunately, the viewing screen is made of plastic and was easily scratched by the cloth wristband. Other than that, the video quality and sound quality was better than I expected. You can even take photos while you're taking video without interruption. It was very easy to use. I would definitely purchase another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing value.

By SteveT07 from Laurel md on 07/06/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my son and his wife. They have been using it for about 6 weeks and are thrilled with it. The video quality is very good for a camera in this price range. They have a 4 month old and not having to worry about dropping it in water or the floor was the main reason I picked this model. The video quality exceeded expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simple to use

By morpho from NY on 07/04/2012


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Quite simple to use when one needs a quick video. I have not tried the underwater feature yet but I am looking forward to that on my next trip to Maui.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Working great so far

By Shootsalot from Cincinnati, Ohio on 07/02/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased the camcorder for use at the beach and pool. So far, we're very pleased with the simplicity of operation and quality of the videos and still shots. We've only used it at the pool so far. Won't have it in the ocean until vacation time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product with some issues

By RD99 from Johnson, Arkansas on 06/22/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Reset Everytime, Hdmi Connection To Tv

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera takes great pictures. I can take the SD card out and play them in the computer. In low lights the quality is not that good, but without a flash it does a decent job. The issue I had is connecting to the TV and playing the videos. When I connect to the smart TV via micro to standard HDMI cable, I can see the list, but cannot play. And each time I unplug the USB cable, I have to reset the camcorder again. Not sure what is the problem or else would have given a 5-star.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By Anonymous from Dallas, TX on 06/17/2012


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camcorder is lightweight and the display is superb. The menu is easy to navigate. I am very happy with it so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great video & Pictures

By Ann1972 from Indianapolis, IN on 05/29/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Cons:

Hard To Use Options Confusing

This Video recorder is great, takes good pictures and the water mode is great. Only thing is a little hard to learn how to use in the beginning, but great buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Features!

By NCSUSoldier71 from Charlotte, NC on 05/10/2012


Pros:

Durable, Pause Record, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Video Stability Is Less Than Ideal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This camera has excellent features, specifically the pause record feature. The only down fall is that it does not come with a wall charger; USB charging on a computer takes a long time. The stabilizing feature is also a little lacking, but all in all this camera is very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pocket Camcorder - Good things come in small packages

By Wags04 from Undisclosed on 05/07/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, 720 Or 1080 Full Hd Video, 3x Digital Zoom While Recording, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Hdmi Connection

Cons:

Quickstart Guide Type Too Small, Screen Is A Little Small, No Ac Battery Charger (usb Only), Hdmi Cable Not Included

After researching pocket camcorders, Samsung was at or near the top of the list. I wanted a rugged, waterproof pocket camcorder/camera to capture all those events you wish you had brought your camera for (but it was too bulky for everyday use and too expensive to get wet). I also wanted Full HD video, high resolution photos, decent battery life, and plenty of available memory. Most devices offer 4MB, 8MB, and rarely more than 16MB internal Flash memory. The HMX-W300 offers a micro SD memory slot essentially providing unlimited storage capacity. It's internal USB connector allows charging the devise and uploading images via internal software (may also load onto your laptop or PC). The Share feature works great for uploading to email and a number of social media sites. It does not have wireless capability (Wi-Fi), but do you really want the data charge for Full HD files? Sharing on the Cloud via email costs nothing. I'm impressed. I don't miss a touch screen. The intuitive keypad layout is easy to navigate and can be operated with one hand. If you are looking for a rugged all purpose pocket sized camcorder/camera, this deservse a good look. It's no digital SLR, but it can do a surprizingly good job at a wedding, beach, school play, or in your pocket or car for whatever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved