Home » HTAS730ST » 9 Reviews

Samsung Ht-as730st 5.1-channel Home Theater System (samsung Htas730st) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 9 reviews)

77% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great value

By Gator1 from Boston, MA on 07/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

have a Samsung LED TV and a Samsung Blu-Ray player. The natural compliment was an amplifier with speakers. I selected this system in spite of many negative reviews. The price was right and the specs were very decent. I have not been disappointed. Compared to TV-only sound (which was pretty good by the way), the system is awesome. Great surround sound with crisp placement of discrete sounds on each speaker. The base speaker is amazing but you do need to keep it low or it will blast you away. The system is not perfect, I need to remind it that is connected to my HDMI2 port every time, but that is a minor annoyance. I paid more than the system is now advertised for, oh well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOOK ELSEWHERE

By MROKOBO from AZ on 05/19/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have owned this system since August 2009. I had to return for warranty repair in November 2009. I am preparing to package it up again for warranty repair again today. The interface is less than intutive and the sound quality is fair at best. This is one of those entry level HT systems that is best to avoid. Almost immediately the system began to fail and the picture on the TV was corrupted - but ONLY when routed through the HT. So it wasn't the TV. Now the audio has failed on HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 and I'm returning it again... Very disappointing. The old saying is true; "You get what you pay for." Sadly this system is NOT worth the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HT-AS730ST

By guzzleboy from Rockford, IL on 03/22/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was a very good value for the price. It literally shakes things in my house and only have the volume to about 75%. Way better than the BOSE Lifestyle system I returned that cost about 6 times as much and put out about 1/6th the volume. Save your money from the BOSE system and get the Samsung blue Ray 3600 and an LED tv. It comes with 5 speakers but can be expanded to a 7.1 system by adding 2 speakers, the outputs are already there. I haven't tried the IPOD dock yet, or the microphone for automatic sound setup . I like that it has 3 HDMI inputs, but am still trying to figure out why it won't recognize my COMCAST cable box HDMI. The front panel display is dim. I also REALLY wish it had on screen programming since it is obvious this unit was designed to be hooked to a TV. All in all it sounds great when watching a movie from the blue ray player. Samsung has their "BD-wise" system which automatically powers up the sound system and sets it to the blue ray, as well as setting the tv to the correct settings (and turns the tv sound off) all by opening the disc drawer on the blue ray. one button set-up! Nice! Also the remote can be used to control a samsung tv and blue ray without any programming.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Get A Great Deal On A Good System

By StretchNavy from Undisclosed on 03/15/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After buying my samsung 52" LCD, I decided my surround sound needed upgrading seeing as it didn't have optical in. Was very leery on this system after reading reviews on multiple websites, but couldn't pass up the deal I had got. I made a great choice as the system sounds great and looks good. Key Points: 1. The subwoofer is a little larger than expected. It has a built in amp and a seperate power switch on the SW itself. You either have to leave it on or get up and turn it on when you want it. 2. The LCD display is dim, but managable. 3. The manual can be vague, but what man reads the manual anyways? Trial and error is the best way to learn! 4. I live in a 3 bedroom 2 story house and never have the volume more than halfway maxed. I feel the system gets plenty loud, is sharp and has deep bass. Those who feel it isn't loud enough must like having their ears bleed. Bottom line, it looks good, sounds better and is expandable to 7.1. I wouldn't pay $500 for it, but if you can get a deal go for it...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I Love My AS730ST

By missoulasamsunglover from Missoula, Mt. on 03/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The ease of installation, The sound quality, The ease of operation everything about it is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok Introductory System if you Have to Have Samsung

By Robino from Sacramento, CA on 02/24/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'll keep it short and sweet. I have read numerous reviews about people having issues with this system. I did a lot of research before purchasing this system and felt that I HAD to get a Samsung Home Theater system to go with my new Samsung BD-P4600 blu-ray player and Samsung PN50B550 plasma TV. Personally, I am happy with my system because I live in a 1 bedroom apartment so it works for me. There are better systems out there at similiar price points, so if you're stubborn like me and have to have all Samsung for your setup give it a go. Just know the instruction manual isn't really user friendly so you'll have to be patient in order to take the time to figure everything out. Once I figured out ALL the features and how everything works, it worked like a charm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Home Theater-in-a-Box System

By Pauley from Hudson WI on 01/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Let's start with the Pros: Most importantly it sounds great! The speakers are crisp and clear and the sub hits hard. Connecting the speakers and sub was pretty easy, too allowing for screw type connections or banana plugs. Having 100 Watts per channel (150 Watts for the sub) is comparable to many other receivers on the market; being able to add two speakers, making this a 7.1 system is awesome as well. Being able to adjust the A/V delay and Crossover frequency is great. The Anynet feature is cool too, if a bit overrated. In terms of device connectivity, I have it hooked up to my PS3 and a Samsung 46" LED LCD TV running at full 1080p with NO problems whatsoever. My 5th gen. iPod nano also works with this unit, despite it not being on the list of compatible devices. Finally, I got this on sale for $399.99. Now, the Cons: The ASC works, but it doesn't get it all right, so some tweaking is required. Although all wires are included and it sounds good right out of the box, the sub cable is pretty puny; getting a premium cable WILL make a noticeable difference. Navigating the menus to adjust settings could be improved upon also. It would also be nice if there was some sort of device auto-detection for switching between TV, PS3, iPod, etc. FInally, there are no DTS HD or Dolby TrueHD codecs. Overall: A person could easily spend over $1000 buying a separate receiver, speakers, sub, and wiring (and that's a conservative estimate!) or you could get pretty much everything for at least half that amount. Aesthetically It looks good and it sounds great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

functional flaws

By tired from phoenix on 06/09/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Looks very nice. Sound is acceptable, although I expected more volume. It has lots of settings. However, there are some serious drawbacks. The manual is very difficult to understand. The explanations are not complete. There seems to be an assumption that the user knows a bunch already about this product and how it works. I needed more explanation on how to set up to get what I wanted. In at least one case, the button presses described in the manual did not result in the display showing the choice described in the manual. This is quite frustrating. The help line staff at samsung don't seem to know anything more than the imperfect manual, even at "level 2". One particularly frustrating point is programing the system to use the hdmi inputs for sound. Amazingly, this is not a choice in the setup menu. With experimentation, I found a different series of commands, not described in the manual, to make that choice. Once I discovered this process, I found that this default was not saved when I turned off the system. I had to make at least 3 choices after turning on the power to get the settings back that I wanted. In the end, I decided that this was too complex, and I just could not abide by such poor planning by the makers of this system. I sent it back. For now I am sticking with my old school system. At least it stays were I set it, and is predictable. I probably will not purchase another Samsung product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good with a problem

By cowboy from Berkeley, CA on 06/04/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the sound of this system. It has 3 hdmi inputs and plays well with other Samsung devices. A couple of problems were that the display is hard to read at a distance and the FM presets that I selected are not remembered once the unit is put in standby - this was very annoying. With a helpful customer service, I sent the unit back to be repaired. After 2 weeks, it was returned to me but the problem was not solved. A courteous customer service rep apologized and suggested that I disconnect everything again and send it back in. That was too much trouble to repeat so I declined. I do like how the system sounds, looks and makes the viewing experience great with the Bluray, Netflix and Pandora. I just wish...........


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved