Home » HTWS1 » 66 Reviews

Samsung Ht-ws1r Sourceless Soundbar Home Theater System Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 66 reviews)

70% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight (19), Durable (8), Inexpensive (14), Realistic Color (3), Built-in Speakers (6)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (12), Poor Quality (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Sound bar

By victor90020 from Los Angeles on 02/23/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great sound and easy setup. I am a fan of samsung video


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sounds good

By Justduckie from Michigan on 08/05/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

clear sound. even at high volume. excellent lows highs and mids


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good starter

By SamsungFan1922 from Colorado on 11/24/2012


Pros:

Quality Sound, Inexpensive

If you aren't looking to drop an excessive amount of money on a sound bar, this is a great "bang for your product". I've owned it for almost 2 years now and have nothing but good things to say about it. I'm in the position now where I want a little higher quality, but it was a great "starter" sound bar.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointment in a box!

By our3babies from Undisclosed on 10/11/2012


Pros:

Design Matches Samsung Plasma 55"

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had thought this sound bar would be perfect however adjustments to sound pitch are almost non existant and the sub is far too overkill in any mode that gives decent sound. It seems everything is either tinny or pounding base. I found a way to leave my TV audio on along with the external sound bar and now get tolerable sound once tweaked. I am very disappointed with this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Slapa Da Bass

By slapadaBass from Undisclosed on 09/17/2012


Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Way too much bass or none at all and not enough power for lower then average broadcast sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By mrmagoo32 from Undisclosed on 07/18/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

If you want decent sound without all the wires this is the unit you want.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great First Gen Soundbar

By KalEL1978 from Maryland on 06/29/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This came as a bundle with the TV...Soundbar has great sound and pleased to be able to control soundbar with Comcast Remote


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MADE A HUGE DIFFERENCE WHEN ADDED TO TV

By SAMMYLUVSAMSUNG from TEXAS on 06/22/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

GREAT QUALITY, GREAT SOUND, EASY SYNC, CAN DEFINETELY TELL WHEN IT'S NOT ON


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great sound/aesthetics compromise

By Austech from Austin, TX on 04/25/2012


Pros:

Wireless Sub, Reasonable Sound, Wall Mountable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted a 7.1 surround-sound speaker system. My wife wanted to not see any speakers in the room. This product was a great compromise. It has great sound with solid base, and very few wires running around the room. I especially like the wireless sub, which lets me move the sub to different locations in the room as necessary, without re-wiring. The sound is good, with reasonable imaging.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good product for the price

By libeda from Undisclosed on 03/06/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Inexpensive

sound is great, but wireless woofer has to be positioned a certain way so that sound doesn't drop


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great soundbar speakers

By wattkisson from NC - USA on 02/11/2012

Sound awesome. Look great with Samsung touch of color LED tv. Works seamlessly with Samsung tv.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME SOUND! SLEEK ...

By SEAVIXEN75 from OXFORD,ME on 11/23/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

AWESOME SOUND! SLEEK DESIGN AND BOOMING BASS. EASY TO USE AS WELL, WIRELESS IS THE BEST


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Died after 1 year

By tkstall from Undisclosed on 11/21/2011


Pros:

Junk

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the 2nd samsung soundbar that I've had in 2 years, I wish I would have purchased a different brand. After looking at the reviews they only people happy with it have had it less than a year. It's like there's a timer for them to stop working when they reach 1 year. My advise is to buy the warranty because it will not last long!!!! Will not by anything more from Samsung!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WORKS GREAT AS I EXPECTED ...

By DEMASSD from living room on 11/10/2011


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WORKS GREAT AS I EXPECTED AS THE TV IS ALSO SAMSUNG WHICH IS ALSO RUNNING GREAT!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love It! would recommend ...

By Chachi3323 from Undisclosed on 10/25/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

love It! would recommend it to anyone. Easy to install.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I loved getting rid of ...

By thedudeabides from Durango, CO on 08/13/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I loved getting rid of all of my speakers and wires and still having great surround sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Owned for 11 months and DIED....

By tris91684 from Undisclosed on 08/03/2011


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Lasted Less Than A Year, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The soundbar worked well for less than a year. It was easy to install, but the options on it are sub par. The most aggravating problem is I turned on my TV two days ago and the soundbar popped and stopped working. All of the light came on but no sound..... Nothing at all. Less than a year old bought brand new....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for small spaces

By hotchach from Undisclosed on 06/30/2011


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

it's a nice design. The wireless subwoof sounds really good but I think the sound bar isn't all that great. If you live in small place though it would do the job. sound isn't as crsip as I would like it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this was the best item i bought

By NM62 from Jefferson OR on 06/06/2011


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

it sound so great the dizend of the item fits almost every were


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Sound

By BanjoBoy from Central Illinois on 04/18/2011


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this sound bar to replace another one that didn't work like I wanted. I wanted one that I didn't have to turn on and off manually. This one is automatic and really works great. It was very easy to set up and really enhanced my new Samsung LCD TV. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to add to TV/DVD viewing enjoyment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What can I say other than AWESOME!!!

By johnson48 from Knightdale, NC on 03/05/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Samsung has done it again!! Superior system. Forget that it is 2.1. Doesn't matter. This system will blow you away, especially watching movies. To get better, if you can, you have to spend hundreds more!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks Great

By samsungjunkie22 from Il on 02/22/2011


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Good sound, but not great. Like the wireless sub. Bar needs to be bigger for better sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Soundbar HT-WS1G kills Wi-Fi

By Chingas from Tucson, Az on 02/17/2011


Pros:

Sound

Cons:

Wi-fi Compatible Not, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Samsung HT-WS1G soundbar has great sound for what it is. Much better than what is built into TV. Sub-Woof fills in missing low end. The major problem is the wireless woof is not compatible with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. What were their engineers thinking? Many people have Wi-Fi in their house. My Samsung internet TV uses Wi-FI. The wireless on this soundbar kills all wireless internet access within 30 feet. The reason I bought it was the Samsung online info says it operates 5.8 GHz for wireless woof. Should not be a problem. The manual says it is 2.4 Ghz, same as Wi-Fi, and that you should avoid being too close to it with other equipment. My Wi-fi does not bother the woof but the transmitter in the main unit kills my wireless internet. They should have made a wired option for most people who have wireless internet in the house. Too bad it has to go back. I like it otherwise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

samsung sound bar

By kevin0224 from buffalo ny on 02/15/2011


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this sound bar brought out all the hidden sounds on ALL my favorite shows !!!! watching games is like being azt the stadium !!!! absolutely love it !!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good but not great

By FLHRCI from Sierra Nevada, CA on 02/07/2011


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Easy to set up, worked out of the box with no problems. Plays only moderately loud, "surround sound" is not as good as either some other sound bars or a dedicated multi-speaker system. Bought it as an "open box" for a good price, not sure I would be willing to pay list given its performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung Home Theatre System

By ddkyoung from Philadelphia, PA on 02/05/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We had a problem with the audio cables. We had to use an adaptor cord from the box of original cables that came with the television in order to hook this into television. I am glad we saved all the cables that came with the tv!! Once again assembly directions left alot to be desired, why wasnt proper cable included?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good for less clutter

By Paecelvoemisuc from Texas on 02/05/2011


Pros:

Lightweight, Mountable, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

sound is good but not compared to a true 5.1 or 7.1 system, sub has really good bass, for a bedroom this is ideal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Soundbar

By Retsailor from Memphis, TN on 01/12/2011


Pros:

Durable

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

The subwoofer does not always connect and the fan in it makes a lot of noise. The sound bar itself sounds great but the subwoofer brings the overall performance down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2.1 Channel Soundbar

By RVTraveler from South Carolina on 01/12/2011


Pros:

Fantastic Sound, Lightweight, Great Appearance

Cons:

"not Available" Tv Warning

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Recently purchased Samsung soundbar for my Samsung 46" Flat Screen HD television. Television speakers sounded good, but adding the soundbar greatly enhanced the audio. The wireless subwoofer adds a richness to the sound. Very happy with this purchase! One problem that Samsung cannot resolve that in no way affects the superb quality of the soundbar. When increasing or decreasing volume, my Samsung television displays a warning block saying "Not Available." This warning stays on the screen for about 15 seconds and then disappears. The volume will increase and decrease but the warning is distracting and an annoyance. Despite this problem I love the soundbar. Will buy another when I purchase another Samsung HD television in the near future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not loud enough!

By Anonymous from Georgia on 01/07/2011


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We really like the system overall, but it is just not loud enough. It's fine as long as it's quiet in the house, but with just a little noise we can barely hear it. We don't really like the bright light on it when it's turned off either.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awsome product

By Astonished from Atlanta, GA on 12/24/2010


Pros:

Remote Works With Samsung Tv

Cons:

User Manual Not Very Informative

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It was a tossup between a receiver and this active speaker system. The receiver I have works fine except the remote sensor stops responding after it has been on for a few minutes. I wanted something that would work with my Samsung LCD TV such as power on/off, volume and so on. This was just what i was looking for. It also has a wireless sub-woofer has perfect deep base. All was easy to hook up


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Kills Wi-Fi

By gotdirt from Bay Area, CA. on 12/22/2010


Pros:

Looks

Cons:

Blocks Tv Remote, Kills Wi-fi

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Warning this will mess up your Wi-Fi Also too tall to sit in front of TV


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Room limits for multiple speakers

By flocean from f on 12/15/2010


Pros:

Decent Sound Quality, Lightweight, Good For Room Where Multiple Speakers Do Not Work, Good For Room With Limited Space, Reasonable Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our room layout limits options for multiple speaker systems. We wanted to add a better sound without all the speakers. This fits well into the room layout and meets our needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not That Great

By RiverCats from California on 12/01/2010


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the WS1G from my local retailer on October 19, 2010 as an alternative speaker system for my Samsung Plasma. It worked great for Blu-Ray movies, video games and regular television. However, less than two months later I returned the equipment due to phantom audio loss. The sound bar speakers would make a "pop" noise and the audio would fail. Only a complete shut-down would allow the audio to return, but the bar would fail again minutes later. Save your money and your receipt.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I like how easy and ...

By rlxtv from Undisclosed on 11/22/2010


Pros:

Great Sound, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Cons:

Little Cheaper/rebate

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like how easy and simple it was to put the system together.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks great, sounds okay.

By Smartacus from Boston on 11/20/2010


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Love the form factor and convenience of it, but not so impressed with the sound. When it's hooked to the tv, only the soundbar remote works to control the sound. All the options listed on my Samsung 8000 LED TV. . . not available. The sound is too bassy and not that good. My living room is small and I thought this would be the right choice since this small space is easily overwhelmed. I think we might be better off adding some more speakers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ease to set up

By rsj67 from Pa on 10/24/2010


Pros:

Inexpensive, Just What I Was Looking For, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was the easiest sound system I ever had to set up. I am not much with electronics but this was a pleasure to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad design

By Drewber from Kalamazoo, MI on 10/15/2010


Pros:

Wall Mountable

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

There is not enough room to plug in an optical cord to the soundbar, and within 2 months the optical toslink input has been damaged. Not a very smart design, if you ask me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The sound bar did a lot ...

By db1nyc from Undisclosed on 10/14/2010


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The sound bar did a lot to enhance my viewing experience with my new Led 8000 series Samsung. My wife really likes the lack of wiring. Sounds great on most movies and hi-volume TV dramas and live sports events.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

really nice and clear sound

By mike2010 from san antonio TX. on 09/18/2010


Pros:

Lightweight, Quick And Easy Install, Inexpensive, Wireless Sub, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Overall Size Of System

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This system works great the wireless sub is really cool no wires to run and hide. would have to say for the price it works great! Worth buying! I would buy another if need later down the road.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good deal

By hagar from monroe, n.c. on 09/13/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

already purchased samsung tv and blu-ray dvd, wanted the extra speakers,but,didn't need new dvd with home theater. this unit worked very well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for bedroom

By Crescentfallen from Somerset Co. NJ on 07/23/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this soundbar in my bedroom on a 32" Samsung LED and it works just fine.. Its much better than the TV speakers and now I get the rumble with the wireless sub.. The TOC matches the tv and it looks beautiful in the room.. For those of you who use this on your primary tv I would not recommend it.. This is great for the bedroom or basement, for the primary tv use a reciever with 5-7 speaker set up for the real experience.. My only complaint is that its not ANYNET compatable so I have to turn it on manually.. but my Comcast remote controls the volume to it through the TV so its not a big deal.. Now my wife gets annoyed caused the sub keeps her from sleeping.. wish there was a separate volume control on the sub


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Improvement required

By schmike from OHIO on 07/09/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I hooked the HT-WS1 to my Samsung LED TV and I need to turn the device all the way up to here anything out of it. I don't believe that I am doing anything wrong. I am thinking about taking it back to the store for a refund.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

over all great

By batmunch1 from Undisclosed on 06/17/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sound is great but have problems with the auto on off feature even with it hoked to a samsung tv with optical conection but still a great product over all great sound good looks great price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Would have had more enjoyment burning the money

By aprov from Indianapolis on 05/19/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The sound system on my 50" Samsung Plasma is so bad, we struggle to understand what is being said. The store said it was the rear facing speakers. We bought the sound bar because it faced forward. Unfortunately, it is no improvement; the voices are all muddled. We finally took the sound bars down and stored them. Looks like we now have to spend more money to get additional speakers or a surround sound system which just adds clutter. Based on my experience with the 2 Samsung products I own, I wouldn't take a chance on another Samsung product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

How disappointing

By tuddy from San Antonio, TX on 04/27/2010


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Your LED TV's are great. Your soundbars are far from great as are your blu-ray players. I had to have the main boards replaced in both the blu-ray player and sound bar 10 months after purchasing each item. Sound on the blue ray kept going on and off, blu-ray player kept searching for a disc. I understand that there are problems with most manufactuers blu-ray players. I just expected more from Samsung. I wish Bose had their soundbar out a year ago, that would been an easy purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Convenient, Easy to Set-Up & Great Sound

By Anonymous from Greenfield, WI on 03/04/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have this home theater unit hooked up to my Samsung UN55B8500 55" 1080P LED HDTV. Although this TV has great sound, I wanted a more intense sound for my blu-ray movies, sports or music and the HT-WS1G (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Gray) provides it. The sound bar and the wireless subwoofer provides great quality! I have it hooked up with the fiber optic cable that is provided, which I believe helps with the sound quality. It was very simple to syncronize the sub woofer. All I did was to turn on the sound bar and then turn on the sub woofer, it worked immediately. Since it is hooked up to a Samsung LED TV, the home theater unit can turn on automatically with the TV or you can leave this feature turned off. The sound bar can be placed below the TV on a shelf, above it (like I did) on a shelf or on the wall. It is not made to be placed in front of the TV as some have noted. Note, this is not going to provide you with the same sound quality like a Yamaha receiver with 6 speakers. However, I am extremely satisfied with the ease of use, set-up and sound quality for the money spent!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

necessary addition

By wonka13 from Hume, VA on 02/20/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you own the super thin LED TV you almost have to get this accessory. The sound quality on the TV leaves a lot to be desired but I guess that's understandable given the design. I wasn't wow'd by the addition of the soundbar nor the woofer. They are average but a definite upgrade over the tv speakers. One negative for installation in a bedroom is that you can't get the standby light (actually pretty bright) to go off when linked to the TV as it needs to be. I had to put a piece of tape over it to kill the light for a dark room. The soundbar does have one interesting effect. It will generate audio from some content that wants to make you look to see if the sound is coming from anther room or source. This is usually part of the background track in tv video.....listen closely it's actually kind of cool. The sub-woofer is a great design fits nicely below furniture but doesn't really pack a woofer punch....of course it's a smaller dog so perhaps to be expected. The sound level adjustment is not smooth but goes up in set levels. This is reflected in the leds on the left of the bar......would be better if this was a smooth gradation. Overall it's a good accessory for an expensive tv and is really essential to complete the package. The intergration into the TV may be corrected by firmware updates at some point (i.e. shutting down the standby light on the sound bar when the TV is off).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

so easy to set up so great to hear

By readwrite from phoenix md on 02/16/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wow, I waivered on getting this to hook up to my samsung 46 lcd 640 tv and BD3600 but I need something after trying to listen to pandora internet radio using tv speakers. I am not technical but wanted an easy small system for an area that is not right for a multi speaker sound set up. It could not have been any easier to set up. I am SO SO happy with the sound for all...tv, blu-ray,music, internet. Perfect price point, set up and quality for all my needs. I love Samsung Products - everything they say they are and more. I now have Samsung LCD, Plasma, 2 blu ray, wireless internet hook up through blu rays, 5.1 channel HTS, and Samsung refrigerator, convection range, washer and dryer, and now the the Cyrstal sound bar. Anything else I need, Samsung will be the first brand I consider. You should too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung HT-WS1G Sound Bar

By Huttman from Undisclosed on 02/07/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

HT-WS1G very good product,easy hook-up and sounds, crisp and clear, You do have to customize the sound, but that is expected with any sound system. The sub woofer adds just enough when needed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great alternative to Wires and Multiple Speakers

By Fuzzyhead46 from Undisclosed on 02/06/2010


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really wantd to get rid of the surrond sound system i had due to the multiple speakers and wires. I really wanted a clean look that matched my Samsung 46" LCD TV without having to give up quality sound. I read many reviews about this product which spoke to having issues with sound quality and subwoofer wi-fi performance and i experienced none of these issues. It was literally a breeze! It took me longer to unpack the item than to get it hooked up. The sound was great and i found it to be a very rich sounding system. While i cannot speak for everyone who purchases this system, i have found it to be a great sounding system at a very reasonable price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exactly what we had hoped for.

By Trilogy from Atlanta, GA on 12/28/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We just wanted something to boost the audio for our existing Samsung flat panel and it exceeded our expectations. Simple install with just one optical connector needed and the wireless subwoofer went behind our couch. The sound is really very good. With an RCA cable, we also plugged our iPhone into it for tunes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not thrilled

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 12/24/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I hooked it up several different ways, and finally settled on using the optical cable out of the cable box, and into the sound bar. The audio is better than the tv's speakers, but the volume doesn't go high at all. Also, the subwoofer doesn't really work. There's VERY LITTLE coming out of it. The fan in it is louder than anything else, and yes, it is linked. Overall, it's just an inconvenient and weak system. I'm really disappointed. I honestly feel as if I wasted my money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Let the buyer beware!!!!

By mcarson from Undisclosed on 12/10/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased and installed one of these along with a very overpriced UNSB7xxx series LED TV. Soundbar uses 2.4 GHz so it INTERFERES with wireless networking. No mention of 2.4 GHz in the product specs (BAD Samsung...BAD). Contact w/tech support pitiful too. I can either surf the net OR use wireless networking in my house...but can't run both simultaneously. Not too thrilled by this...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't waste your time or money on this!!!

By kerosenedrvr from Undisclosed on 11/27/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had high hopes for this system. It is super easy to install and looks good. However, the rear speaker would not provide constant sound. Rear speaker was intermittent and sporadic. I tried everything possible, moving components, and on-line tech forums. After reading some forums, this is a common complaint. Had I have done more research, I would not have wasted my time or money on this system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By HOGFVR from Meridian, Idaho on 11/10/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For what we paid this product does everything I want it to do. We use one in the family room and one in the office. Easy to hook up and the the sound is great compared to waht we paid for the 2 we have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great expectations, but failure to achieve

By Anonymous from Huntsville, AL on 10/29/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I accepted the bar as part of a package promotion from my dealer. I love the LED television and the blue ray player, but this bar is sub-par. The sound is muddier than the set's own speakers. Like other reviewers, I wanted this bar because the speakers would be rear-facing and I though they would not cover the room Indeed, the set needs a little help, but this bar does not improve the sound a bit. It makes it muddier and while my sub-woofer does not cut in and out, I have to use the power plug to turn it off. The remote is cute but ineffective since you really cannot control the features of the bar. The light comes on when the bar is off -- and you cannot over ride that option. I am sorry, Samsung gets many things right, but this bar is NOT their best effort. I am going to return mine and go with another (not sure which) solution.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

what a setup!

By tws1 from crescent city ca on 10/12/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

On July 19, 2009 I purchased a Samsung UN55B6000 LED HDTV. After setting up the TV and playing with the preferences and options for a couple of weeks I decided to try Netflix. I connected to my computer via HDMI and DVI. Netflix turned out to be pretty cool so I began to look at DVD players and discovered that Samsung's BD-P4600 Blu-ray disc player was Netflix ready. On August 13, 2009 I purchased a BD-P4600 and after playing with the preferences and options for a couple of weeks I decided to check out Pandora since the BD-P4600 is also Pandora ready. I love Pandora. For those music lovers unfamiliar with Pandora, you need to try it out. After listening to Pandora for about a week I thought it would be great if I could enhance the audio presentation. I looked at Samsung's home theater options and on September 9, 2009 purchased a HT-WS1R soundbar and wireless subwoofer. I didn't want a lot of speakers in the room but at the same time wanted a full sound. The speakers in the TV are very good but when teamed up and balanced with the HT-SW1R the sound presented is full and rich with the added midrange and bass. What a setup! Thank you Samsung! Not only does the system look cool with the touch of color and futuristic design but the video presentation is excellent, the audio presentation is excellent, and Samsung's support both on their web site and telephone is excellent. The TV can be challenging to setup if you are not very familiar with the newer electronics as I was, but Samsung is there to assist with patience in a very professional manner. Hello Samsung, goodbye Sony!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great sound affordability.....

By pierre from sand springs, oklahoma on 08/31/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easiest hook up and great sound for the money..love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor design with tv on cabinet

By schub229 from Undisclosed on 07/17/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this with a 46 inch LEDTV by Samsung and blu ray player, all of which are fantastic, but since we live in a log home, we had no wall on which to hang the tv and no place for surround sound speakers .We opted for the soundbar. Thought this was going to be the perfect answer until we discovered that the height of the soundbar blocks the ON'OFF feature of the tv-so it can't be turned on with the remote unless you stand right in front of it and point the remote downward. What a poor design since these 2 items were supposed to be used together. We've now put 2 blocks of wood under the TV stand to elevate it and finally we can use the remote. Samsung-this certainly seems like a BAD design.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

New theater system

By Dewy from Pekin, Il on 06/18/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It plays great, installed without a problem, easy to use ...Love it except for two little things. Mine is hooked up to one of the new 40inch LED LCD and I can not access the sound options for it on the TV's menu. I can change sounds modes using the remote. However, if you're on the Tv menu you can see the additional options for the theater system but they are "grayed" out. The other thing, this has a stand-by light that looks and acts like the LED LCD TV's except it comes on opposite of the TV's by design. When the sound bar is on, you can clearly see the volume and sound mode indicator lights to know that it is on. Plus the TV's stand-by light is now lite. Turn off both of them and the tv's goes out and the one on the sound bar comes on. Which is a little confusing until you get use to it. Plus when both are in your bed room. this acts as unwanted night light that is annoying. Wish there were a option to turn it off or that it knows not to worked when coonected to a LED LCD Tv. Other than that, I love it when watching tv....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not thrilled with the sound

By Geor from Undisclosed on 06/11/2009


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Overall, the sound is fine except for the fact that you can always hear the fan or buzz sound from the wireless subwoofer. And every 20 mins or so, the sound completely cuts out for a second.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good with limitations

By RickW from Boston, MA on 05/29/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall very happy with the Soundbar within its limits. The only limits I've found are: Bluetooth music support is only hi-fi. No stereo and very poor subwoofer response. Disappointing. Should be stereo headset. (Maybe Samsung can upgrade the software??) This is a very promising option. Theoretically I should be able to play my ITunes songs from my bluetooth notebook or my Blackberry. However, the sound reproduction is BAD from both... No upscale on the DVD to 16:9. Should add HD Radio to it and a stand for my IPod. Nice looking unit also.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Nice Purchase

By harryt from Arlington, Virginia on 05/17/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The sound bar matches my Samsung TV very well. The sub woofer is also very nice looking. When hooked up properly the unit sounds great. I am very satisfied with this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

sound quality

By Fyrbuff102 from Undisclosed on 05/10/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is amazing in the sound reproduction at such an affordable price. I initially hooked the optical cable to my Samsung HDTV, but did not get the multi channel surround sound effect, so instead I hooked it directly to the optical jack on my HD cable box and the soundbar came alive. I guess they only drawback is that in order to enjoy the full effect, I will have to move the optical cable back and forth between the cable box and Blu-ray player. An associate at the place of purchase said a "switcher" is available, but it would be cost prohibitive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't Go Wrong

By Wizard from Wading River,NY on 05/09/2009


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very,very good piece of equipment. Installation could not be easier even when installing on the wall,just use a ruler and a level and you will have a professional looking install. Sounds great,looks great and you just can't complain about the price. Downside- wish the remote had universal capabilities.Most of the controls for T.V. operation on the remote are only for Samsung televisions. If you can't use a 5.1 surround system then this is the system you must get.You will not be sorry!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved