Home » Audio » Speakers » Multimedia Speakers » HWD550/ZA » 69 Reviews

Samsung HW-D550 2.1 Speaker System - 310 W RMS - Wireless Speaker(s) - 20 Hz - 20 kHz - DTS, Dolby Digital - USB - iPod Supported Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 69 reviews)

73% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Bright Display (13), Durable (19), Built-in Speakers (21), Inexpensive (31), Lightweight (33), Realistic Color (9), Good Sound (3)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (12), Not High Def (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Awsome Sound both indoors and outdoors

By KenTheDesigner from Orange County, CA on 08/06/2013


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I matched this unit to my Samsung 4300 series 4 LED TV and it sounds great. The versatility is fantastic. I can switch form the sound from my computers to either an HD broadcast or saved audio on my thumb drive. Easy interface and super easy to mount.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent sound bar for the price

By Anadarko from Lafayette, LA, USA on 06/01/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this sound bar to accompany a Samsung Ultrathin Smart TV. The TV's sound was disappointing. I did not want a home theater system or a large sound bar. The sound bar was very easy to install and is slim and attractive. The sound is very good. Great value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sweet

By LAROKA from Brooklyn on 05/01/2013

I love it, wish it could turn on automatically with the tv, ugh...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does the job - but HDMI connection(s) did not work

By KA2X from New York on 02/07/2013


Pros:

Built-in Sub-woofer, Inexpensive, Scrolling Detailed Display

Cons:

Hdmi Only Works With Arc Equipped Devices, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was looking for something to improve the sound from my new TV (equipped with HDMI CEC). The HW-E350 is feature rich & fit my price range. In addition, I could integrate it into my universal remote for ease of use/operation. Unfortunately, I found out my TV is not equipped with HDMI ARC & could not connect via an HDMI cable. I did connect via the HW-E350 AUX analog connections. All in all it's doing a good job improving the sound. I use the HW-E350 remote to tweak it's settings & I use my universal remote to control HW-E350 power on/off and to set the HW-E350 to AUX input.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Samsung failure

By zmanatokc from America on 02/06/2013


Pros:

None

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The specs show it has a digital input along with the HDMI in and out and analog. I'm still trying to find the digital input. Just bought it. Will take it back to the store and find a real soundbar with the true specs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value

By Joeo810 from Ramona, Ca on 02/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great sound compact size good value Easy installation


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustrating

By William518 from Undisclosed on 01/28/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My biggest complaint is that everytime I turn on my TV and Soundbar, the Soundbar goes to the ARC as a default instead of the HDMI. I have to go up to the Soundbar and switch the output to HDMI. This is FRUSTRATING and as of right now, my Soundbar isn't even hooked up because when I sit down to watch TV, I want to be able to use my remote to turn everything on. I don't want to have to walk up to the Soundbar EVERY TIME I WANT TO USE IT!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Audio Bar HW-E350

By DENGT from The Villages, Florida on 01/22/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I attached this to a 51in 3D Samsung Plazma tv. It worked great right out of the box as both have ARC with HDMI cable. The sound is great, so we don't have to use as high volume as we did without it. Mounting on the wall was easy as well as connecting to tv. We are going to get another for our other Samsung 40 inch tv. I recommend this unit for any tv. The built in sub-woofer is great also, no wires to run for a wall mounted tv.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung sound bar

By Yfvera from Fl on 01/18/2013


Pros:

Good Sound, Durable, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Cons:

Did Not Like Smart Sound

My intake of the sound bar overall is pretty good. You got aux and usb for music. You have hdmi for superior sound. The down side is there's no optic cable port on it. But that's ok. The reason why there's no optic cable is Because they give you hdmi. Which surpass the optic cable. This sound bar is good for streaming movies or playing games. Most players have hdmi so there's no need for the optic. So to sum it all up, if you need it for a game room or guest room or maybe for your bedroom. This is a good choice to go with it. You will be pleased. Thank you samsung for good products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sounds goooood

By tapukakababa from milwaukee, wi on 01/14/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A great sound bar for less and without any other attachments or bulky items attached.. all in one


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Device

By Susheel from IL on 01/06/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight

This is awesome, gives a real theatrical effect and I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

decent sound bar

By MarriedWolf from Undisclosed on 01/02/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

got this sound bar to have a fuller sound for watching tv and movies. which it delivers. has plenty of power. and with the little sub built in gives decent low tones. to give a full range of sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great sound

By zerpda from Orangevale, CA, USA on 12/19/2012


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love my soundbar. I had read some complaints about it not being "bassy" enough. Wrong, this thing rocks. I love to crank up Pandora.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HW-E350

By Customer123 from Florence, SC on 12/16/2012


Cons:

Only Works With One Device, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This sound bar will only work with one device. It will work with Direct TV or Cable box but your Samsung DVD player cannot play through it if hooked up to D-TV or Cable box. You need to disconnect from the Direct TV and plug HDMI cables into the Samsung DVD player. Nowhere on the web site or on the packaging does it tell the consumer that you can only use this with one device at a time. Due to one HDMI input.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The product fits well with TV, nice features.

By wdh66 from Florida on 12/13/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first product of this type. So far so good, nice sound and design,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent speaker

By rschoenber from kansas city on 12/10/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

very good sound (great bass for such a small speaker) and easy to hook up


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

E350 Sound Bar

By istSamsung from Melbourne, Florida on 12/09/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very nice sound bar to enhance the audio from larger Samsung LED tv's, but don't expect it to be a room filling surround sound system. We use it to enhance normal audio but also have a surround sound system for action movies etc. The E350 is attractively designed, has decent sound, a built in bass speaker that can be adjusted to taste, and is reasonably priced. Nice product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs tweaking

By fogbow from Birmingham, AL on 10/13/2012


Pros:

Great Sound

Cons:

Must Use Separate Remote

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the sound. Wish it would work with my Samsung TV remote.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great sound! No need for HDMI - in - out - NO Toslink Optical in!!!!!!

By ilivehdtv from south florida on 10/13/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, No Computer Or Phone To Turn On For Mp3 Music!!!, Durable, Lightweight, Play All Your Mp3's And See Names Of Songs Scroll, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Great Sound And Usb Mp3 Play Back With Usb Stick

Cons:

No Tolslink Optical In!! Why????

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This little sound bar has great sound! The USB in port is great for playing all your mp3's and older WMA's - USB sticks are cheap now and 32GB holds a lot of Music!!!! Great - even scrolls titles of the songs on the display and you can skip forward or back! nothing esle required!!! The only thing missing is the toslink optical in onput!!! Why they did not put one on this soundbar is a total mystery to me. You surely do not need to go the the trouble of the HDMI IN and OUT just for the digital sound - to many cables to fight withfor thi small but great sounding bar. Great for any room or if you live in apartment or townhome. Except for the lack of the optical in, I would rate this bar an A++ - Give it a look - you will not be dissapointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You get what you pay for.

By justsubmitalready from Nunya, BS on 09/23/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Not Enough Separation Between Stereo Channels

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I live in an apartment and didn't want to anger my neighbors. So I just wanted something small. Overall the sound quality is excellent with crisp vocals. My problem with it is that it doesn't have much separation. It essentially is a center channel with stereo audio. Like I said I live in an apartment and I didn't want to buy one with a powered sub but this one speaker isn't enough. What I wish I could get is kinda like the HW-E450 model and how it comes with a sub-woofer but instead of a sub-woofer I want one that comes with two thin tower speakers like on the HT-E6730W model. What I want is good clear sound with good separation between the left and right channels.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product in comparison to other sound bars

By Luvanurse2005 from Buffalo NY on 09/14/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Easy To Use, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Easy To Set-up, Durable

Cons:

Wanted Better Sound

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good sound, quality features, easy to use. Sleek design. Excellent sound when 1st purchased, 60 days later - had to turn volume up considerably to get the same quality sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It sounds excellent

By radday5 from PA on 09/09/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Durable, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've read what others had to say about it, don't believe the hype. If you know the dimensions of your room and do your research you should be fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't use it on regular tv

By asdfghjkl123 from Undisclosed on 09/05/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Can;t Use To Watch Tv, Only One Hdmi In One Out

With in the last month I have bought a samsungLED tv UN32EH4000, blue ray BD-E5700, and what this is about is a HW-E350 sound bar. I bought this thinking I could connect it and watch tv using the soung bar. I was wrong. This sound bar only has one HDMI in and one out, so u can only use it with a dvd/blue ray or other device. If I am wrong someone post a reply and tell me how to do it because the manual is useless. Other than that it sounds good when you watch movies....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

like the idea of built in sub woofer

By BFDOZIER from Tallahassee, FL, USA on 09/01/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the product and the idea of the built in sub woofer to reduce the overall size of the system. Have problem with the universal remote for cable box not turning the sound bar on but will control the volume and shut the sound bar off. Tried everything in the manual to solve this problem can anyone help ps it is connected to a Samsung Series 6000 40" TV


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great sound, BUT...

By HDKorp from Oak Forest, IL on 08/24/2012


Pros:

Nice Design, Crisp Clear Sound

Cons:

Input Auto Changes After 15 Seconds Of Powering Up, Only 1 Hdmi Input

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This 2pc (soundbar & subwoofer) unit pumps out really clear, crisp sound. The main issue is after 15 seconds of powering up, the input auto changes. It is annoying, but after the initial power up, it works great. For some reason, various Samsung sound systems have this same issue. I think it is a firmware issue. The other issue is that this soundbar has only 1 HDMI input. Not good if you have multiple HDMI devices, like me (DirecTV & Blu-Ray player). Because of this, I had to run DirecTV to the soundbar and the Blu-Ray player to the TV. So DirecTV sound comes out of the soundbar, whereas the Blu-Ray & SmarTV streaming comes out of the TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall good

By israelg200 from California on 08/23/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Not High Def, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Audio is not very high but its good for a small living room. Good sound quality and the Smart volume feature is also very useful. I Enjoy this product every time I use it whether it be for music, movies, or games.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Missing key features

By Eric79 from Undisclosed on 08/20/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Almost Useless Features

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The ONLY use for this product is to replace your TV speakers, and ONLY if you only have just one video source. If you have more than one source (such as Cable-TV and a BlueRay player) you have to connect this soundbar to the Analog audio, and the sound quality in analog is horrible. To get digital sound, you must connect the HDMI cable from your source to this soundbar, and then from soundbar to the TV. If you have more than one source, you are out of luck. While a TV can serve as the switch between video/audio signals (most have more than one audio/video input connectors) and provide a single audio-out, I don't know of any TV that has HDMI-OUT, which is what this device requires. I have digital-audio out as Fiber and as Coax, but this device will connect to neither. It makes absolutely no sense to force you to route your video through this soundbar, especially since that is the ONLY way to get digital quality sound. It ABSOLUTELY needs (and is missing) a normal digital-audio jack that matches the output selections of common televisions. This evaluation was written from a perspective of trying to connect/use it with a new Samsumg TV and Samsung BlueRay, so the issue is not a mis-match of brand-name components.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great!

By Max2999 from McAllen, TX on 08/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Searched around and this is a great speaker for its value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Save your money.

By Secondaryworks from Undisclosed on 08/13/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product would not connect with my new Samsung 50 inch LED TV. It has a very limited audio input/output capability. It worked for exactly 30 days before it quit. I could not get it to turn on and therefore returned it to the retail merchant for full refund.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sound quality way below expectations

By Augman58 from Miami FL on 08/08/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When I first saw the "Surround AirTrack with built in woofer", I thought it would be a great product with a low profile for my 55' Samsung TV. Although the sound quality of the TV improved overall, the AirTrack did not provide a superior quality sound based on the product advertisement and price, even though I purchased it "On Sale" In short, there were other sound systems for less money with much better sound quality overall. I trusted the Samsung name to match my Smart TV but was greatly disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

needs optical input

By homeTheaterGuy from Warrenville, Il on 07/27/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Length Fits 32" Tv, Lightweight

Cons:

Only 1 Hdmi Input, No Optical Input, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just bought it and was upset that my new 32eh5300 won't even connect to it sincethe tv does not support ARC. So I have to settle for using an analog mini jack. It would be nice if I could connect with optical cable so I could send a digital signal from my tv and the tivo and blu ray it has connected. AT least that way the soundbark is getting a surround signal it can process vs just stereo. Or add another hdmi input and get rid of this ancient analog mini-jack.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great

By Froggie08 from Undisclosed on 06/24/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great value & design. Works perfectly for what we wanted.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unexpectedly good sound

By rrec from Undisclosed on 06/07/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Surprised at how good the sound is from the little bar.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great sound

By vicktor811 from garrett,IN on 05/26/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

No Bluetooh

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

to many pros to list, my favorite is the sports sound feels and sounds like you are right there. another great product from samsung.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Delivers great sound, looks great , perfect if you don"t have room for external woofer.

By Pooldog from Ambler, PA on 05/16/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Attractive Design, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Cons:

Waiting For Upgrades

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far it's great, just got it yesterday, still checking out it out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buy yourself a Digital Optical Cable

By MQVegas from Undisclosed on 04/24/2012


Pros:

Sleek Looking, Realistic Color

Cons:

Bad User Manual

You need both a Digital Optical Cable (not provided) and HDMI ARC connected together. Buy the cable first and save yourself some headache. For some reason, my Directv remote can control volume, power on/off with the sound bar. So I'm not going to mess with it, but I also have a Samsung TV with Anynet turned ON.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great sound bar with one fatal flaw

By flaminio from California on 04/09/2012


Pros:

Television Remote Controls Volume Through Arc, Subwoofer Adds Just The Right Amount Of Bass, Great Sound, Beautiful To Look At

Cons:

Television Remote Does Not Turn On The Sound Bar

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm using this sound bar with my Samsung UN55D7000 television. It works perfectly using the HDMI ARC (Audio Return Channel) on HDMI 2. Sound is much better than the "stock" TV sound. Subwoofer adds just enough bass without the boom-boom-boom. For a room where a full surround setup is either impractical or undesirable, this sound bar is excellent. It's really a perfect match for the Samsung line of televisions. HOWEVER -- there is one fatal flaw with this sound bar. The Samsung television remote can control the volume, and it turns off automatically when the TV turns off, but the television remote CAN NOT TURN THE SOUND BAR ON. This means that you either still need to maintain multiple remotes, or get up and go press the Power On button. A grievous oversight, and I've requested Samsung support to push out a firmware update to fix this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We purchased the soundbar ...

By tesaba from Undisclosed on 03/12/2012


Pros:

Fantastic Sound, Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased the soundbar at the time we bought the television. It is comparable with bose when it comes to sound! A bit pricey but worth it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great other than anynet and power options

By gaidin43 from Undisclosed on 02/20/2012


Cons:

Cost!!!!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The system sounds great, but it doesn't power on with the tv while anynet is on. It says so in the manual and causes an issue. The system turns off with the tv, but will not power on while anynet is on, which defeats the purpose. Other then that one annoyance that I haven't figured out a work around for the system sounds great, looks great, hooked up extremely easy using an ABT10 sound bar bracket mount I modded to work with an older model Samsung tv, but the new ones plug right into it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System

By redwash from Baltimore on 02/09/2012


Pros:

Look's Nice

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I picked this up the same time as my TV and set it up but was not happy with the way the sound did not match up with the sound of the TV Other than that it is OK


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Remote Code

By Zuknardoz from Undisclosed on 01/28/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

No 3rd Party Remote Code

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

sound bar can not be used with other remotes. therefore you must use the sound bar remote regardless of the anynet or TV remote programming. Always need 2 remotes to turn on TV and Sound. Ridiculous design!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Compact with great sound

By offweekends from Millersville, MD on 01/26/2012


Pros:

Durable, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

With great sound coming through my audio bar combined with my television, what else can I ask for?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Sound

By WeekendShopper from Spring, TX on 01/16/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have an older surround sound theater system but it does not sound quite as good as the newer systems. Instead of investing in another complete system, I bought the sound bar to complete my new 3D Plasma TV and Blue Ray DVD system. The sound is great and I can't watch TV without it being turned on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This 2.1 Setup fits my space PERFECTLY!

By bkjphilly from Maple Glen, PA on 01/12/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Extra Hdmi Ports, Optical Audio!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was in the store after Christmas looking for a speaker system for my room, and wanted surround sound for the TV when I'm watching movies. The HW-D550 is just what I needed. The soundbar sits perfectly on top of my TV cabinet, and the remote sees it immediately from everywhere in my room, and the wireless subwoofer is responsive! Samsung once again for the win!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptionally easy to set ...

By TorpedoJuice from Lakeland, FL on 01/10/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Exceptionally easy to set up. Several input options. Fills a small to medium sized room with plenty of "surround" sound. Subwoofer is more than adequate. If you don't want (or need) a complete surround sound solution...this sound bar is more than adequate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great sound!!!

By SCshops from Asheville, NC on 01/08/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the size and look of this sound bar. There is no need to purchase a surround sound system


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You need this product

By RfromPA from PA on 01/07/2012


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Enhances the whole experience!!! You need to add this to your Samsung System.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Requires 2 remotes to use product

By GANDA from Undisclosed on 01/02/2012


Pros:

Good Sound

Cons:

Requires 2 Separate Remotes, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When connected to a new Samsung TV and using any cable/sat box, this product requires 2 remotes. It's own to control the volume and the cable/sat box remote to control all other functions. It is a very poor decision to design the product this way. I returned both the Samsung TV and sound bar. I SIMPLY REQUIRE 3 FUNCTIONS: POWER ON/OFF, VOLUME AND CHANNEL.......... WHY SHOULD THIS TAKE 2 SEPARATE REMOTES? Samsung tech support confirmed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not live up to expectations

By CMatheny75 from WV on 01/02/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am a die hard Samsung fan and currently have 3 Samsung HD TVs. I thought this soundbar would be a great addition to my living room TV when our Vizio soundbar died this year. The hook-up when ok, I have my DirecTV box and Sony PS3 routed through the soundbar using the mini HD cables so that I can change the device using the soundbar, but when I power up the satellite receiver the soundbar switches from HDMI 1 to Digi 1 and will not change back for quite a while. I went with a soundbar because they are usually much simpler and provide decent sound, but this unit is MUCH more complicated than the Vizio bar I had and sounds about half as good. I do like the looks of the bar and the fact that it is controlled by my TV remote, but that is about it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big sound in a small package

By ShortyALS from Undisclosed on 12/26/2011


Pros:

Sleek, Lightweight

We tried this out last night just watching T.V. & also playing a DVD. It's very small & slim but has great sound. Once you turn on the 3D sound it really does sound like it's surround sound. Also tested the speaker volume up to 25 but did not turn it up any higher because that was way already way louder than I needed it & this thing goes up to volume 50. The wireless subwoofer is very nice because you don't have to run the cable between the speaker & the subwoofer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good sound and hides out of the way

By Armand1 from Bethesda, MD on 12/23/2011


Pros:

Size, Ease Of Use

Sounds very good and easy to set up. I did not want or need an entire sound system. Just wanted a subwooder to add base and this did just that. The only drawback is using two remotes, but that also makes it less confusing. Just need to find the remote


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor

By stackmann from USA on 12/10/2011


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Performans is good, but to make it perform correctly is unbelievable. It is back in the box waiting for a software upgrade.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awsome audio product

By phibou from Dallas, TX on 12/10/2011


Pros:

Great Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Samsung surround AirTrack is really a great product that produces audio in a very good quality. The woofer is linked via wireless to the main unit so you can place it where you want in your room and do not have to worry about cables.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME

By kbrown510 from Undisclosed on 12/09/2011


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Good Sound, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product! Very easy out of box set. Very good sound and goes great with my Samsung 55'' TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blastin' Sound Bar

By SMFDFF from Central California at the moment. on 12/06/2011


Pros:

Easy Peasy Hook-up

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As I mentioned in a tv review, I got this sound bar because my wife is deaf in one ear and has a hard time hearing the tv and I do not want to blow the speakers. This thing makes it sound like you are in a movie theatre without having to turn up the tv too high.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Sound Product

By daniel77777 from Undisclosed on 12/03/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Its a total new experience, you can see my house dancing from up the street. Its not Bose but it is very good and provides a great experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

STRONG RECOMMENDED! I LOVE IT!

By Alvaro from USA on 11/24/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Amazing Sound

Cons:

Glass Desigh

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really love this product. - PRO Amazing Sound & Performance. - CON The remote control only works with Samsung TVs Glass Desigh, quickly scratches By the way, I found the a "professional" Review by Sound And Vision Magazine. Here is the BOTTOM LINE: """This is a very solid system that delivers great performance at a not-too-lofty price. Although I wished its subwoofer were a little less restrained, the system's overall fidelity was unmistakable. I was bummed that the otherwise well-connected soundbar lacked a USB port for connecting an iPod, but you can buy Samsung's optional wireless dock to overcome this limitation. If you've got a good TV with a sharp-looking picture, this system will match it with smooth sound and smooth style.""" I hope this review could be useful for you! Regards!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sound could be better ...

By gambit44 from Florida on 11/09/2011

Sound could be better need better instuctions on set up had to talk to live chat to sort it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HEARD IT, LOVED IT

By MOHZLEY from AUGUSTA, GA on 11/05/2011


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

MUST HAVE SAMSUNG PRODUCT TO COMPLETE THE FENG-SHUI OF HD/3D QUALITY WE ALL DESERVE.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SOUNDBAR HW-D550

By CADILLACRICH from HOMER GLEN, ILLINOIS on 11/01/2011


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I ONLY HAD THE UNIT FOR 3 WEEKS I LIKE EVERYTHING IT DOES I DO BELIVE IT IS WORKING OK EXCEPT I DON'T KNOW IF MY SUBWOOFER IS WORKING THE WAY IT SHOULD BE? I DID GET A GOOD PRICE ON THE UNIT


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Great Sound Bar

By CajunDenny from Round Rock, TX on 10/07/2011


Pros:

Rich - Realistic Sound

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Now I can hear what's going on with my TV... like never before. The sounds are wonderful dynamic and alive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not as good as I hoped, but better than I expected

By JDThird from Wi on 09/19/2011


Pros:

Beautifully Finished

Cons:

Middling Bass Response

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My "TV" is controlled by a new mac mini running Windows 7 media center. I've been using home theater PC's since 1998 when I got my first HDTV, so for the last 10 years I've just been using the best PC speakers I could find. I've gone through 2.1, 5.1, and 7.1 systems, but always got fed up with the cables for the rear channels. So I finally gave up, and resigned myself to 2.1 for the last 6 or 8 years. My most recent speakers actually impressed me, the Logitech Z-2300's. Phenominal bass, good mids and highs, and no distortion. But the problem with that was that I've been using my TV as the input selector for my PS3, my Xbox 360, and the Wii. And the volume levels were drastically different between the game systems and the PC, so when I wanted to play a game, I'd have to remember to get up by the TV and turn down the analog volume control on the Logitechs otherwise the sound of any of the game systems starting up was enough to wake the dead. So I've been looking at sound bars for while now, but never took the plunge because I knew I'd be giving up something... The subs aren't nearly as large as my Logitech Z-2300's, and the few times I'd seen sound bars, I was unimpressed. But I finally got tired of always having me or my 7 year old have to "point the volume to the left" to turn on a game and "point it to the TV" to go back to the Media Center input. So I started looking again, and since I'm so very impressed with my Samsung TV, I thought I'd give their sound bars a shot. I looked at this and the one that was a step down from this, but the little extra "oomph" on this model's subwoofer and the features decided me, and I spent a little more. Package arrived the next morning ( overnighted it). Box was well packed with formed styrofoam to protect the pieces, although it was about 40% empty because the disparity in size between the sound bar and the subs - sound bar takes a little bit on the top long edge of the box, sub takes up a little on the short end, and the rest was just a spacer. The sub had the peel away wrap on one side to protect the finish, and the sound bar had it on every surface except the speaker openings and the vents. So there's no chance of any damage or scratches unless something crushes or penetrates the box in shipping. Setup is easy - two power plugs, and your input from the audio source to the bar. I started out with the normal L/R and 1/8" stereo plug, but found in the directions that if you use a digital Toslink connector, the unit will auto power on and off with the TV (or other source). So I ran out and got the Toslink. Took me longer to pull the Z-2300's out than it did to get this hooked up and in place, but i started out my testing with this just sitting there in front of the other speakers, and the subwoofer in front of the TV stand. First thing - the looks... MUCH nicer now than it was with the Logitechs, although they looked good for computer speakers. Another benefit was that since I had the Kinect for the Xbox 360 sitting on the surface in front of the TV, this forced me to mount it on top of the TV, which I was actually able to do for free with a small pill container and some double sided sticky tape - I just taped the cylinder to the top of the TV behind the bezel, and now the kinect rests on the top edge of the TV and that container, perfectly level and stable... With that gone, the speakers gone, and the little controller pod for the speakers gone, I now have a MUCH cleaner looking TV stand. I'm still kind of split between the open speaker look vs. grills, but these are starting to grow on me because they're very well finished, so it doesn't look like normal speakers would when visible. I fired up a Star Wars movie and started playing with the settings. Immediately I noticed the good mids and highs, but it was far too upper frequency heavy. The default 0 setting for the subs is nearly nonexistent, and the range only goes from -6 through +6. I put it at +6, but it's still very underpowered compared to what I was used to. The movie still only sounded OK at the low end, and playing with the settings helped some, but not much. Then I hit myself in the head because I realized the sub was just sitting in front of the TV unit, so I wasn't getting the same reflection and such from the walls in the corner that I did with the Logitech. So I located it in the corner behind the TV (I have a rectangular stand for the TV in a corner, so I have that empty triangular space behind it for the subs and wires and such) right on top of the old Logitech one for testing, and that helped. SOME, not a lot, but it was enough to at least make it acceptable. It's still underpowered, though, and is the weak spot in this setup. Working through the various sound settings such as cinema, news, sports, music, etc, garnered some changes, but the problem is the one that gives the best bass response also introduces a slight echo to the mids and highs, which is annoying when watching a movie and listening to dialog - like they're in a tunnel. The 3D effects are also pretty negligible, but that may be due to the placement of my TV and the openness of my room - as I said, it's at an angle in a corner, so there's no side walls for it to hit and reflect anything off of, and the rear wall is only a partial wall that's open on top to the kitchen behind it, so I have no real back wall either. It may perform much better in a normal environment, but I have no way to test. I use a Logitech Harmony One remote, and they had this in the database, so there was no learning needed to program my remote to do all the functions. I just chose TV and put in this sound bar model number, and it loaded it up. Works perfectly. At lower volumes, things sound superb, far better than the logitech ones I loved for the last two or three years. Music especially was clearer and brighter. Once I tweaked my codec settings to not be the normal analog 2.0 stereo out, it helped some in the bass as well. Movies sound good, but that bass lacking really is noticeable in some movies. But it's not as bad as it was when the sub was sitting in front of the TV. And I almost never crank movies loud anymore anyway due to my 7 year old, so at the volume levels I'm playing, it's satisfactory. The ability to control the volume when switching to games more than makes up for the lack of bass to me, since that was such an annoyance. And the fact that it powers off with the TV (after a 20 minute lack of input, which I wish they'd allow the end user to adjust) is a bonus, since up till now, I simply left speakers on 24/7. They're about 2 or 2.5 inches less on each side than my 46" Samsung TV, so it's a good look with these underneath it. One thing to keep in mind though, if you're using the toslink connector, is there's no way to keep it "turned off" if you use the TV. I have a nice set of wireless headphones I use when my son is sleeping, and with the previous speakers, there was a headphone jack I could plug the base unit into which shut off the sound to the speakers and only sent it to the headphones. These have no such out, so I have to use another one of the audio outs on the TV to plug into the wireless base. But then it tries to send the signal to both. Powering off the sound bar works for a few seconds, till it powers back on again. So you need to remember to use the remote to turn off the "auto on" feature, or just unplug the toslink cable while using another source. Wish they had an out on these to help bypass the need to do either but at least it's a workaround. If you're used to a "real" stereo system, this won't be a replacement, unless you're doing it for other reasons than just sound like I did. But for replacing PC speakers it's worthwhile. And if you're in a smaller area like an apartment or something and can't / don't crank it and get the bass to rattle pictures off the walls, this is a good choice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect match for my Samsung LED TV!

By nuttyprofessor from San Carlos, CA on 09/05/2011


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Wireless Subwoofer, Sound Quality, Lightweight

Cons:

Price, Incompatible Anynet+ And Auto-power Functions

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the first sound bar I have owned, and overall it is a great unit and I love the fact the sub is wireless. The sound from the bar is very crisp and clear, both at low and high volumes. Setup was easy, especially as I have mine plugged into the ARC HDMI port on my Samsung TV (UN40D6420). The wireless sub itself is not that loud, but provides adequate base for my needs; those who want to feel the floor vibrate will be disappointed. I'm not an audiophile, but the virtual "3D surround" works well and provides crisper sound when watching movies; however, I have found it to cause unpredictable volume changes if left on when watching regular TV shows. One small annoyance with the sound bar is that the "auto power link" function, which turns the sound bar on and off with the TV, doesn't work when the Anynet+ function is on, which allows your TV remote volume control to work the sound bar!! I'm not sure what Samsung were thinking when they created a sound bar that you can't power on/off with their TV AND use the TV remote to control the sound bar volume. No matter how you set it up, you need both remote controls. Hopefully this will be addressed in a future firmware update. However, overall, I am very happy with the sound bar.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good sound bar

By JustAGuy0 from MS on 08/08/2011


Pros:

Clear Clean Sound

Cons:

No Many Config Options

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First, this is a good soundbar. The sound from the bar is very clear, even when way up (nearly to max). It is super easy to set up. Plug it in and it works, especially with a Samsung TV. I got tired of running wires for rear surround speakers. So this is very nice. The "Virtual" or "3D" surround works well. I'm not an audiophile, so having pure 5.1 or 7.1 sound, isn't a huge deal for me. (I did get rid of my 5.1 receiver and speakers for this setup) However, coming from a receiver to a simpler setup, I miss some of the features of a full system. You can't configure the crossover for the sub or set where in the room it is sitting compared to the bar. The crossover, which sets how much of the low or high frequency gets sent to the sub is an awesome feature to have allowing you to control the depth of the sound from the sub. The sub itself is not that loud. I don't really like super loud thundering bass, but I had to turn up the sub (an option that is available) to "+6" (as high as it goes) and would still like a little more. Without the crossover setting I am getting quite a bit of male voices coming through the sub, and a few female voices as well. Also, tied into the above, because the sub isn't as loud as it could be I had to move it to the back of the room next to the couch (which was easy because it's wireless). Some prefer it this way, but I had my sub up next to the TV before. With hearing parts of the voices coming through the sub and it being next to the couch it throws some of the sounds off. Overall a good soundbar. A few more setup option would be very good and make it a great soundbar.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good

By Taingbizzle from ATL on 08/03/2011

I purchased the CW451 to go with my UN55C8000 and the unit would intermittently skip to another channel like several people had complained about. After a few months, it was driving me nuts so I had to take it back when I saw this model was introduced. Good thing I purchased an extended warranty! Overall, I am much happier with this unit. Pros - I can see the text on unit while the other one was on the top (which made no sense) of it. It's sitting on the fireplace under my TV. It doesn't skip inputs like the other one. It looks much nicer in general - not plastic along the top. Cons - a little pricey and I wish it came with the optical cable like the other one did. Having to use Anynet kinda stinks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big Sound Little space required

By SeeingisBelieving from MASS. on 07/18/2011


Pros:

Space Saving, Inexpensive, Wireless Subwoofer, Saving A Few Hundred $$, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was thinking of buying a BOSE 2.1 souround sound system then I saw a display in the store and checked ot out. It was this Samsung sound home thearter bar. The sound was amazing. I played with it for awhile then went to the BOSE display and played with that. I could not justify spending 3 times as much money to buy the BOSE when the SAMSUNG sounded just as good and it has a wierless subwoofer!. I got it home and hooked it upr to my Samsung 6050 LED HD TV and it was like we were at the movies. Excelent souround sound out of this 2.1 soundbar will blow you away and saving a few hundred dollars is not bad either.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent soundbar.

By wingo61 from Undisclosed on 07/08/2011


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable

Excellent soundbar. I like the wireless ability...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

VERY IMPRESSIVE

By wardy61 from Undisclosed on 06/25/2011


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Mounting Bracket Is A Poor Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I live in a small apartment and have always had big home theater systems but needed a change when I moved here. I can honestly say that I was skeptical when I bought this sound bar but after hooking it up (which was soo simple a child could do it) and playing a sample blu-ray (Avatar) I was extremely impressed. The sound is crisp and clear and it honestly sounds like I have a 7.1 surround sound system. The wireless sub is an excellent idea also. It seemed small at first but it gives off the perfect amount of bass during a movie and doesnt drown out the rest of the sound. If you own a flat screen and dont have the room for a crazy surround sound system I would highly recommend giving this soundbar a chance. The only neg I have about this is the mount that came with it if you are going to wall mount this soundbar. I had to get creative because the mount itself doesnt exactly hold the soundbar that tightly but overall it does work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Constantly shuts down

By ZirMike from Undisclosed on 06/21/2011


Cons:

Doesn't Work Peoperly, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This system turns itself off and on every few minutes which is very annoying. I have already replaced it once. It seems to have gotten worse over time. I doubt I will ever buy another Samsung device. Unless you want to be disappointed, I would advise against buying it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved