Home » Audio » Speakers » Multimedia Speakers » HWE550/ZA » 39 Reviews

Samsung HW-E550/ZA **b-stk** Audiobar W/wireless Active Subwoofer 2.1 Chnl 310w 1.4 Hdmi Blk Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 39 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (6), Poor Quality (3)

Pros:

Durable (13), Built-in Speakers (10), Lightweight (17), Inexpensive (15), Bright Display (9), Realistic Color (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

nice soundbar

By CO61 from COLORADO SPRINGS on 05/19/2015


Pros:

Does A Great Job

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

after looking for days at sound bars I settled on the H550 it had all the features I was looking for I hooked it up in under 30 min and the sound is great for a small size bar I have it with my 60 in sony 850 very crisp and clear sound even the voices are clear the sound fields are very good also could use a bit more thump from the sub for tv watching but with a Blu-ray playing this bar rocks and there is plenty of thump there turned up the volume during a movie to 25 and my floor was shaking and I have a good size living room overall I am very happy with this unit it`s a keeper...thanks Samsung


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HW-F550

By njrossoneri from Undisclosed on 05/17/2015


Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Underwhelming quality considering the cost and constant subwoofer issues.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Versatile Sound Bar

By TommyO from Robesonia, PA on 10/14/2013


Pros:

Durable, Very Good Sound

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I researched a lot of sound bars before picking the HW-E550. For my purpose, it was the perfect fit. The ability to use it as a straight bar, or split it into a 2.1 is very nice. Setting up the unit was easy, takes about 45 minutes to setup, including unboxing and removing all the protective wrapping etc. Since I have a very old HD cable box, I had to use the digital optical cable from by cable box to the unit. My blue ray and Wii U are hooked up using the (2) HDMI inputs. Everything plugs into the sub, so the sub is not completely wireless. This wasn't a deal breaker for me since I have long cables and have read the many reviews stating this. My family room isn't very big so the sound is excellent. It is not true surround, but it fills the room nicely. The sub packs plenty of punch. I have a Samsung TV, so the anynet features work great. Can use TV remote for virtually all functions of the sound bar. Overall, couldn't be happier with the purchase of this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great sound for the size

By jamest66 from Undisclosed on 06/19/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easy to use very good sound nice to have different speaker setups


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Choice

By ModernCowboy from Undisclosed on 05/19/2013


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Decided to finally upgrade my Home Theater and was very glad I did. Was looking for a low cost upgrade from my previous system and was totally shocked at the difference in what I had compared to this unit. Will be looking to upgrade to an even better unit soon...No doubt that that unit will be Samsung as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

easy too setup

By manscave from Ky on 01/26/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

nice little system,sounds good for a sound bar and sub, have a larger system also but takes up alot of space that this one dosn't.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this sound bar

By corkala from Undisclosed on 01/13/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Makes a huge difference in the experience. Like sitting in a movie theater. Sound is exceptional.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wireless Sub?????

By ShouldaboughtaSony from Undisclosed on 01/03/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

Sub Is Not Wireless!!!, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The reason I, and I would suspect anyone else, has bought this particular model is the claim of its "wireless subwoofer". This could not be further from the truth. In reality, the subwoofer has at least three wires required to make it work. Obviously the power cord is necessary, but it also requires an HDMI in and out. How is that wireless? False advertising tricked me into buying this product and now I have to pack it back up and take it back to the store. Just what I wanted to do tonight. Stay away from this setup unless you want your sub mounted next to your tv with 2 HDMIs hanging on the wall.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Sound Bar for the Money

By samsunglover1977 from Duncan, OK on 12/29/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own a samsung 55 inch hdtv and wanted a same brand sound bar. The product works exactly as I wanted.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Blackice2 from New York on 12/25/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Durable, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great sound quality smooth design i love this system


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By hitechgreg from North Carolina on 12/22/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight

My only complaint with this Sound Bar is that it defaults back to Digital In signal. Once i figure out how to fix that, it'll be complete 5 star rating on everything.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome

By kassimodora from norwich connecticut on 12/22/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Realistic Color, Love It For The Apps, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Cons:

Remote Should Have A Back Keyboard For Webb Search

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I buy this product and i love it great sound and features the only douwnside for is the fact the remote is not realy fast by searching the webb for you have to go letter by letter and that take some time.but good for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Sound system

By damondlt from Undisclosed on 12/19/2012


Pros:

Big Sub, 4 Mounting Options, Bright Display, 2 Different Sound Bar Configurations, Great Looks, Easy Connection, Great Sound

Cons:

At The High End Of Price For Sound Bars, Sub Box A Little To Large To Hide.

Fantastic sound for a 2.1 system. Not a true surround sound, but I didn't care about that. Has tons of bass, and lots of great mid and high sound . Can easily put all other sound Bars to shame,and even most full Surround sound systems in this price range.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Average at best

By ConservativeConsumer from Iowa on 12/16/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

only reason we got is we did not need another tv or the blue ray player that came with the bundle. wish we had gotten the other tv. we could have at least sold that. Does not have a code so we can turn it on automatically with our TiVo remote


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Challenging setup

By sctthorvath from Undisclosed on 12/16/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Durable, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Amazing quality .. setup was somewhat frustrating.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sound Bar system....

By daddydaycare from Texas on 12/07/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

we needed a little more volume without having to invest in a huge system, also cost is a factor. with this sound bar, use an optical cable, install , and it works on the tv, blue ray player etc, it was just that easy. The sound is very good for 2:1 system, it isnt overbearing and you dont have to run wires everywhere and it sounds great, its just enough to give plenty of volume in a semi-small house without pushing the walls out or my wallet


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product is UNRELIABLE

By Upsetdude from Undisclosed on 12/01/2012


Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

DVD player stopped reading DVDs 2 months after purchase and 2 speakers produce loud humming noise and 1 doesnt even work at all after 5 months. I've never been disappointed in SAMSUNG products before but this is a terrible product! Now I cannot even request maintenance because this product is not listed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great sound

By fontda from Colorado Springs on 11/27/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i purchased this to go with my 60 in LED. excellent choice sounds great and looks good


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My 35 year job gift

By workaward from Undisclosed on 11/27/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

There Are No Lights To Show Buttons On Unit At Nig

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I choose this system for my 35 year service award from my work. My brother recieved one of these systems and after I heard it I thought wow I like it so I picked it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product, great sound

By Amazin59 from Bronx, NY on 11/23/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Stellar sound. A 2.1 system with movie theater quality


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy just because you have a Samsung TV

By Getittogether from Dallas, TX on 11/21/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I wish I would have done some research or read the reviews before I bought this sound bar. My biggest mistake was thinking that it would seamless with my samsung tv. No matter which way you decide to hook it up to your tv, you will still need to use two remotes to operate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Sound Quality!

By Coyster from Roseville, CA on 11/18/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Crystal Clear Sound Quality

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this new sound bar to upgrade my TV setup and could not be happier with the clarity and options available on this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Sound and Quality!

By Regg1229 from New York on 11/18/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Amazing Sound, Lightweight, Durable

Cons:

Nothing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great sound. easily connected with my Samsung 3D T.V. Love that its not just a Soundbar, The soundbar splits in 2 and becomes 2 speakers, plus a powerful Subwoofer. Recommend this to everyone!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Sound - no wires

By devlinnyc from Undisclosed on 11/09/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bottom line for us was to have a clean looking system for our new 60in plasma. Having a wireless sub was the reason we bought. Sounds awesome.. looks great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

All about the sound

By weRfun4 from Undisclosed on 10/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just picked this up and about to test with a 3D movie next. Speaker's seem to feel a little bit on the light side so paid extra for extended warranty. Hoping not to have to use it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great sound

By dprice0824 from The Woodlands, TX on 10/20/2012


Pros:

Can Split, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great features, I like the ability that the sound bar can be split into two.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the sound bar that i have right now

By killer5000 from Undisclosed on 09/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this the best sound i have sean for the prices and it has great sound, i will away by Samsung phones and tvs


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Quality Product with Great Value

By MontyUF from Palm Beach on 09/13/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Going on a week now owning the new E550. Connected it to my brand new 60in Plasma TV and can't stop watching and testing the volume levels and sound modes on Movies and Music. Very pleased with the product so far. Only suggestion would be to be able to skip Sound Effects and go right to the one I want like Sports or Music(why I give it a 4 out of 5 on Features). Having to scroll through each one is not ideal but for the value can't complain at all! Hooked it up to my Harmony Remote and customized the buttons. Works great with everything!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Sound, Lacking Features

By Maximilious from Undisclosed on 09/11/2012


Pros:

Durable, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Cons:

Not Configurable Outside Of Presets, Will Not Turn On With Tv Or Tv Remote

I purchased this sound bar to go with my TV because the rear-facing speakers just weren't enough to drown out the sound of a wall mount AC unit and table fan. This sound bar does just that and is great with the TV. "Wireless" is true for the speaker unit, not the Subwoofer. The Sub houses the AMP and connections for the TV. Through TV ARC technology, only one HDMI cable is needed for all sounds from all game devices, cable box and other devices to relay through the TV and go through the sound bar which is great! BlueTooth is great for streaming music from your phone or other devices. The soundbar is lacking in configuration ability. It comes with pre-set sound effects but no configurable features. Sometimes the bass is just a little too high or treble is a little too low, but the sound effects are "ok" in terms of getting around this. For the price I would prefer a soundbar I can configure on my own. The unit will turn off with the TV, but not on. You need the soundbar remote to turn the unit on. Not cool when your TV and soundbar are both Samsung AnyNet devices. You can change the volume and turn it off with your TV or COX cable remote though. Other than those mentioned this soundbar was a great purchase and I'm glad I have it to work with my TV and other devices!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

False advertising

By scrapbmx16 from Undisclosed on 09/07/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit solely for the "Wireless" Sub. I was planning on putting the sub-woofer in the back of my room. Upon un-boxing this product I found out that all the cables had to be wired to the sub-woofer. I am very disappointed in this Samsung product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Electronic Artwork

By DarthC from Houston, TX on 07/25/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Sound Clarity

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A soundbar with the debth & clarity of a 7.1 system. The 3D sound option is terrific as well. This bad boy replaced my (very popular) surround sound system. A bit pricey but worth every penny.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great sound

By Mrmojo13 from North Richland Hills, Texas on 07/24/2012


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Just What I Need Is Another Remote

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the product it sounds great works well with everything else. I have one con please make a universal remote


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Shake the walls

By mclover from Euless, Tx on 07/14/2012


Pros:

Realistic Sound, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This sound bar and sub-woofer packs a big punch in a small package. The sound bar is convertible from one long bar to 2 tabletop speakers or 2 wall mount speaker--whatever works best. The sub-woofer of course tucks away in the corner. The remote controls everything and a digital message on the right speaker lets you know when it's on. There are also options on the remote for smart volume, 3D sound and basic TV controls as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great but has flaws.

By Flashpanda from Phoenix, AZ on 07/11/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Good Sound, Easy To Install

Cons:

Unable To Extend Wire.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The sound is great but you are limited to what wire they give you because it has special tips which does make it very easy to install. Also the test noise startled me. Badly. Also it is a bit complicated to get it just right on setup (this is more due to my gaming system and less of it). Also for some odd reason I have my Galaxy S 3 to play 5.1 Audio and it is only coming out as 2.1 on the system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great out put

By Sweets11 from Md on 06/19/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent sound . I was going to purchase a different model Samsung but decided to treat myself to what I really want, no regrets


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice little system

By orbit626 from Undisclosed on 06/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this mainly for the home theater functionality. I have my PS3/Xbox 360 hooked up to it in my gaming room. The dvd playback is pretty much standard stuff and par for the course...no problems what-so-ever. Great upscaled picture through the HDMI connection. Having a Toslink input is really nice. A lot of these DVD HT dont have that. The sound quality overall is pretty good. Just dont expect to be blown away or anything though, as thats not really the units strong point. The subwoofer could pack a bit more punch, but it gets the job done. If you plan to use it in a small sized room, you will be quite happy with the audio. If however you plan to use it in a large room, you may find the sound to be lacking. As is, its a nice quality unit with good surround sound in a small area. Also, I have had no issues playing DVD +/- R/RW discs, so you are good to go if that is important to you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great sound...slim and sophisticated design

By MovieLoverCincinnati from Cincinnati,OH on 06/01/2012


Pros:

Great Sound, Easy To Set Up

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We wanted a basic surround sound system for our 3D TV and this delivers great sound. The volume can go as high as 50, but we can never get past 30 before you risk going deaf. The sub woofer is great as well. If you have a 1000 sq ft room that you want to fill with sound, then you may want a different system. Otherwise, this sound bar & sub woofer will give a full cinema like experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By RedCochise from NY on 05/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product with useful features. Easy to hook up. Sound is excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sound Bar

By TechnoBob1 from Pittsburgh on 05/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was really impressed with the sound that this soundbar and wireless sub produced. I have it mounted under a flatscreen tv on a swivel/tilt wall mount. It was a great solution for our summer cottage and it made viewing blu-ray movies a much better experience. As well as playing music from iphones/ipads via bluetooth. Easy to install, use and sounds great. Only comment is that I wish the remote allowed you to link to other makes of flat panels. A universal remote is needed if using a non-Samsung TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved