Home » Audio » Speakers » Multimedia Speakers » HWF550/ZA » 35 Reviews

Samsung HW-F550/ZA 2.1 Channel Soundbar System With Wireless Subwoofer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 35 reviews)

84% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (4)

Pros:

Durable (8), Bright Display (5), Built-in Speakers (8), Inexpensive (8), Lightweight (14)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Sound and setup

By den1rrb from Wyoming, USA on 01/24/2015


Pros:

Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Set Up Instructions

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was really pleased with the sound quality of this sound bar the instant we set it up. So much so my In-laws went out and purchased one as well. However, what I don't understand is why the set up instructions are incomplete! I happened to have the correct HDMI hook up on the back of my Samsung TV to use the bar right out of the box. My In-laws weren't as lucky and we couldn't figure out how to get the system to work with their TV. So we had to head to store to ask someone what to do and low and behold you a special cord to hook it up to the TV. Absolutely NO mention of this type of cord was mentioned in the directions. What is the story with that?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy

By Mgod13 from Chicago, IL, USA on 01/23/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This soundbar exceeded my expectations. It has great sound. Love the sleek look. My friends are impress with the sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK

By KatB57 from Louisville, KY, USA on 01/16/2015

Bought this hoping to add much better sound to TV. OK at best. Sound quality passable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this product is ok. cost to.much for the problems that comes with it though

By hardy15boy from memphis on 10/10/2014


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The soundbar is relatively ok. But the subwoofer is horrible. The subwoofer have to constantly reset itself and goes in and out during movies and shows.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beyond Amazing sound!

By Conansr from Norman, Oklahoma on 09/26/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Small Foot Print

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First thing you notice is the very small form factor of the main speaker assembly. Then there is the absolutely awesome sound that you can't believe is coming from the very slim main speaker array. The gloss black sub woofer pumps out the bottom line sound that goes great with the mids & highs coming from front and center, a perfect complement of sound, Samsung hit it out of the park with this little system. Keep up the great work!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

UNBELIEVABLE SOUND

By idemoran from Pass Christian, Ms on 09/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was having problems with my older soundbar and my son purchased this one for me. The sound is fantastic. Hard to imagine that much sound out of something so small.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good for the price.

By orionstarman from Maryland, USA on 09/10/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable

Cons:

Needs Separate Remote

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to install. Very good sound quality for the price. Just what I needed for my 40" Samsung TV. The only complaint I have is that it does not work with the TV remote you have to use the sound bar remote and program it for your tv. I will never understand why if every product I have is made by Samsung I can't run them all off one remote. Other than that its a very good product for the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SAMSUNG Sound bar

By antgeek from Undisclosed on 07/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy installation and beautiful design. My TV does not have DRC so I wish the sound bar had more HDMI inputs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this soundbar system

By willis2016 from Redding, CA on 05/10/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It made the movies we watched come to life, and with the wireless subwoofer, it's even better.. Great product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sound Bar

By KornFlake from TX on 04/14/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Cons:

Can't Turn Up The Bass Pass +6

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was blown away by this sound bar , great clarity and sound. The different modes for gaming which i do a lot take it's sound to another level, music sounds great being able to walk around the house playing music from my phone and tablet as well as my Mac thru bluetooth is amazing . At the price you're getting something well worth it trust me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice...

By Linelead24 from TN on 03/27/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Make Sure To Keep Wireless Routers 10+ Ft Away.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent ease of use, wonderful sound outside of their vacuum tube models, nice compact size over other manufacturers. Wireless subwoofer, wireless TV connect and auto power-on with newer Samsung Smart TV's makes for a nice combination. As with most devices that communicate through Bluetooth channels, make sure you keep your wireless router away from the soundbar as they interfere with each other and may cause your subwoofer to disconnect intermittently. Enjoy!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HWF550 Sound Bar

By Sckyline from Undisclosed on 03/19/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Loud, Lightweight, Clear Sound

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

OH MY GOD , I was blown away by this sound bar , by far it has many wonderful features, great clarity and sound. The different modes for gaming which i do a lot take it's sound to another level, music sounds great being able to walk around the house playing music from my phone and tablet as well as my Mac thru bluetooth is amazing . At the price you're getting something well worth it trust me. Good job here Samsung Hope this helps someone you won't be disappointed . Take care


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awsum Tv

By Rahul123 from Undisclosed on 02/26/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just love this product , there is no words for this product. Just can't explain


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big sound, Small package

By Paxmar from New York on 02/23/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Great Sound, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great sound quality. I love the wireless connection to my TV. Highly recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product and worth every penny!

By jsejd3585 from San Antonio, TX on 01/26/2014


Pros:

Great Sound, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very inexpensive sound bar and sounds incredible!! I've used it for movies, sports and just cartoons for the little one. Makes the tv speakers sound like junk. Crystal clear sound and I love the auto volume so the commercials don't kill your ear drums. Good work with this Samsung, keep it up!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Crackling with Music

By dontbuythisbar from Undisclosed on 01/23/2014


Pros:

Easy Setup

Cons:

Poor Sound Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased this sound bar to work with my Samsung TV. I wanted the nice soundshare features, so I didn't look at other bars. Connected easy enough and when I went to give it a test, it was crackling on the higher frequencies. I tried different songs, different inputs....all the same. There had been so many positive reviews, I thought mine may have been a lemon, so I sent it in for repair. It came back with new parts and the same crackling issue. Highly disappointing. If you buy it, test music at reasonable volume and take it back if you suspect it's not right.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Crackling at higher volume

By Mike86 from Laredo, TX on 01/20/2014


Pros:

Compatibility

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I noticed there was some audio quality loss at higher volumes especially within the high range when connected over Bluetooth. e.g. all share, iPhone. However it connected quickly and easily with my new Samsung TV rather seamlessly!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value for money

By tmoney5 from Undisclosed on 12/30/2013


Pros:

Sleak, Feature Packed, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Performs as described Great entry level soundbar Wireless features and connectivity to other Samsung devices incredibly helpful and user friendly


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good sound

By OMBM from Miami, FL on 12/16/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good sound, style, easy set up, reasonable price


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big Improvement Over TV Speakers

By ArizonaRick from Arizona on 12/06/2013


Pros:

Great Sound And Features, Lots Of Input Options, Works Perfectly Right Out Of The Box (as Usual For

Cons:

Auto Power Feature Would Be Nice With All Tv Input

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I mated the Samsung HW-55C Soundbar (SB) to my Samsung UN-60ES7150FXZA television, both of which were bought at Costco. I took the time to try the Bluetooth, Optical, and HDMI (ARC) interface options for the TV. I'd suggest that you read both the TV and Soundbar (SB) manuals, and make sure your TV's Sound Share feature is turned on. You should also always turn on the SB's "Any net" feature if it is available with your preferred connection method. Here are my observations: 1 . Bluetooth - The set up was absolutely painless, and about as close to automatic as can be. With this option, you can control the SB volume with the TV remote. You must always manually turn on the SB (via power button or SB remote). When you turn off the TV, the SB will remain on for about 20 minutes with a crawling display of "TV Ready". 2 . Optical - You can use the SB remote to turn on "Auto Power" so the SB will turn on and off in sync with the TV. Unfortunately, your TV remote doesn't control the SB volume with the optical option. 3 . HDMI (ARC) - This option requires that you have an HDMI (ARC) compatible jack on your TV (my TV's was #2), and you must connect the SB "HDMI Out" jack to the TV's HDMI (ARC) jack. With this option, your TV remote will control the SB volume, and the SB will power down when you turn off the TV, but the SB must be manually turned on. This is the option I chose as the best compromise for my family because all I have to do is turn on the SB. In terms of performance, I really didn't pick up any difference in sound quality using any of the three connection methods. The sound is much richer than what you get with the TV's speakers. If you are into playing things at a high volume, it really delivers, and the volume set at 30 could be heard clearly thru out the house when playing Pandora. I placed the SB immediately in front of the TV's stand where it blends in very nicely, and is really unobtrusive. I understand this unit is updateable using a download loaded onto a USB thumb drive. I did notice that the thumb drive has to be formatted as a FAT 16 or 32, so you'll need to check it before you attempt it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great compatibility

By rbailey from Amherst, NY on 11/12/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Sleek

Cons:

Occasional Sound Static

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great with my Samsung 7100 series television. Just plugged it into the wall and the sound from my television was playing on the soundbar. I also use the bluetooth feature to play music from my iPhone. The only downside is that occasionally there is some feedback from the bluetooth signal, both with the television and phone. Awesome sound and sleek look.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sounds Great when it isn't cutting out.

By dykefish from Riverside, CA on 10/28/2013


Cons:

Autio Cuts Out

What is occurring is the sound bar has to re-buffer the audio as the sound bar does not support 5.1 audio. When this re-buffer occurs your audio will drop or go out for a few seconds.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT!!!!SOUND BAR.

By yordan2607 from Tampa,Florida on 08/29/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Great Powerful Sound., Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i purchased this sound bar to complement with my new 55" slim smart 3d led tv and can't be more satisfied with this product.Everything on it is great,sleek design,powerful sound,no wires!!!! other than the power cords and the usual built quality from Samsung,they just nailed it!!! again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bass is Over-powering

By Samsung6400Owner from Cinti on 08/28/2013


Pros:

Clean - Simple

Cons:

Bass Not Well Balanced

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this for use with our new 55inch Samsung LED. Am a bit disappointed with the over-powering bass of the unit. I have even turned down the sound bar bass to max negative. Complaint is that the bass over-powers the voices at times. Otherwise a very nice looking, efficient, and easy to install unit. Net, I think I should have gone with the theater system; seems to be a better value with better performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simple and clean awesomeness.

By jrb4150 from Kansas on 08/20/2013


Pros:

Durable, Great Value, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The cat kept chewing the speaker cords on my home theater. This soundbar delivers. Easy to install, great sound and it's got wifi and blue tooth. Chew on that kittycat!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

JUST PLAIN EASY

By SNAPONTOM from COCONUT CREEK FLORIDA on 07/24/2013


Pros:

Easy To Hook Up, Sounds Great

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I PURCHASED A NEW SAMSUNG 55" 7100 LED TV. WELL ON THIS TV THERE ARE NO RCA OUTPUTS TO CONNECT TO MY "OUTDATED" SURROUND SOUND SO I NEEDED SOMETHING NEW. I SPOKE TO THE SALESMAN AT BEST BUY AND THIS IS WHAT HE RECOMMENDED TO UPGRADE TO, WELL THIS SET UP IS EXCELLENT!!! AS SOON AT I SUPPLIED POWER TO THE SOUND BAR THE TV ASKED IF I WANTED TO CONNECT TO IT. CLICKED ON YES AND DONE!!!!!! THE TV REMOTE CONTROLS THE SOUNDBAR GREAT AND IT SOUNDS WAY BETTER THAN MY "OUTDATED" SURROUND SOUND EVER DID! OH YEAH, NO WIRES OTHER THAN THE TWO POWER WIRES


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Phenominal Bluetooth!

By ToMiBo from Houston, Texas on 07/07/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Style

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Super-easy to install on the wall and my hook-up only required the power cord and the optical cable. Whatever plays through the TV plays through the sound bar! I was completely impressed when I switched over to the Bluetooth input and synced my phone! The sound was incredible! I have not used the USB input but don't see why that would be any different and sound quality. Highly recommended!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You will love it!

By italianstallion08 from Virginia on 06/28/2013


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this for only a week now but from day 1 I have been impressed. Setup was a breeze, installation took only 5 minutes, and the sound that comes out from that slim sound bar is just amazing! I would highly recommend you give it a try.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Design and performance

By rexal3239 from San Diego, CA on 06/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The HW-F550 is an excellent product. I also own a HW-E450 from 2012, which has worked very well, and still connected to my Samsung TV. I wanted to clean up the room with my other TV where I was using separate speakers, and plan to eventually upgrade that TV. I decided on the step-up F550 based on the product design, and reviews on performance. The design is excellent, as I prefer the clean face rather than the exposes speakers of last and this year's 450 models. The digital display adds to this cleanliness, incorporated into the front grille, and only displaying information when interacting with the Audiobar. Otherwise, it just looks like one complete speaker. The wireless subwoofer is pretty large, but set off to the side, it has great punch. I'm definitely impressed with the audio performance of the F550, considering it a major improvement over my E450. The voices seem to come through much more clearly. I'll have to play with the various settings and modes, but am already pleased with the defaults. Funds permitting, I'll definitely considering replacing my E450 with another F550 down the road. I haven't used the 3.5mm Aux or USB connections yet, but the Bluetooth performance was excellent from my phone and tablet. I did try connecting the unit to my Samsung TV wirelessly via the SoundShare feature, which worked OK, but feel the performance was much better with the direct connection (both optical and HDMI). This is a unique feature that will probably be worthwhile if the cable needs to be eliminated, but since an optical cable is so thin, I'd recommend going that route instead. Once I purchase the replacement TV, I'll mount the F550 below it. Overall, I'm very pleased, and would highly recommend the HW-F550.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THIS SOUNDBAR WILL ROCK YOUR HOUSE!!!

By MANDO76 from LOS ANGELES, CA on 05/24/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this Unit after I was disappointed by the quality of sound from the other sound bars in the same price range. I was considering the samsung hw-f450 because of its lower price range, but was wanted a more powerful system. I came across this samsung unit model hwf550 and was amazed by the clean bass and crisp sound. This purchase was a no brainer. Easy installation via hdmi with a samsung ARC hdmi connection to tv. U have an optical connection avail, and a hdmi out , and HDMI in, also an analog mini 3.5 plug input, and usb connection for software updates If I'm correct. I connected my iPhone via bluetooth and it works flawlessly, I'm satisfied with the sound, although I might even get better sound connecting via analog. So far I'm Satisfied with the easy installation, and control settings. The bar has a front metal mesh covering, good craftsmanship went into this product, very solid subwoofer. The best feature for me is its wireless subwoofer. I couldn't be any happier. It can be placed anywhere in the room, with minimal interruption. I have noticed the sub disconnecting, but all I had to do was place it where there wasn't too much blockage. All in all this sound bar sounds great. Im very satisfied with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not what I expected

By Deckard6 from LA on 05/24/2013


Pros:

Decent Sound, Low Profile, Wireless Sub

Cons:

Must Use 2 Remotes, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Since I had a 6 month old Samsung HDTV I thought a Samsung soundbar would play nice - not exactly . . . . Purchased this from a national wholesale club this past weekend. Model # has an additional letter but basically the same. This was to be paired with a 2012 Samsung 46" 6030 Series HDTV. Great TV but built in speakers are junk. Hoped a soundbar would help. The sound is much better than stock TV speakers and the sub adds some depth. Have tried both HDMI and Digital In / Optical Cable connection. With Optical Cable soundbar will be powered on when you turn on the HDTV - not so with HDMI. Neither connection type will allow my 2012 HDTV to control volume or mute on the soundbar. I have to use the soundbar remote plus my TV remote for all other functions. This is what I was hoping to avoid by purchasing a Samsung product. The "Anynet" or wireless "SoundShare" sync feature, which allows the TV to control the soundbar, is on the 2013 models. It would seem fairly simple for a Samsung soundbar to be designed to read the same IR signal from a Samsung TV remote. So far I cannot find a universal remote with a code for this soundbar. Will be returning it to the store this week. Disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome

By Rdub25 from Modesto, CA on 05/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the look and sound. The bluetooth Is a fantastic I can listen to music from my smartphone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simple, Powerful, Clear Sound

By JimSays from calif on 04/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was looking for a sound bar to go with my un55f8000. I went and listen to all the Soundbar's in this price range and a few that were a little more.The Samsung HW-F550 sounded the best. I have it set up wireless to my tv and i have no lag and sound is crystal clear. I plan to get another hdmi cable just for giggles to see if it will sound even better but i am blown away by how it sounds now wireless. The soundbar is all metal and seems well made (don't feel cheap). It has just the right amount of bass imo and can adjust it thru the remote from -6 to +6 from standard setting.There are about 9 sound effects setting to adjust the sound to your taste. The volume setting is from 0 to 50 and i spend most of the time between 15 to 25 ( that is in a very large open floor plan). My un55f8000 tv sits on a stand and the soundbar sits in front of it not blocking any of the screen. I watched my first movie with this soundbar and was just blown away by the sound this sleek soundbar gave off. If your looking for a soundbar in this price range, I highly recommend you give this one a look


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EXCELLENT PRODUCT!

By jaybird1980 from orlando fl on 04/20/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

went from my 5.1 surround sound to this, and i dont see a big difference, the sound is crystal clear and no wires which is what i didnt want! im glad i purchase this item, no issues with the wireless subwoofer if youre looking for something small with a big sound buy this!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Sound Bar

By WWKROIL from Vienna,OH on 04/13/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Cons:

Not Enough Hdmi Ports

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was undecided about buying this product but am glad I did now. Sound is great and the wireless sudwoofer is just awesome. Takes up less space and the Anynet is great and useful feature, no wires cant beat that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved