Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » MZ75E500B/AM » 33 Reviews

Samsung 850 Evo 500 Gb 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive - Sata - 540 Mbps Maximum Read Transfer Rate - 520 Mbps Maximum Write Transfer Rate (mz-75e500b-am) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 33 reviews)

96% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Inexpensive (13), Durable (6), Fast (4), Lightweight (7)

Cons:

None (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Liked the first one so well I got a second one.

By hadtotryit from Oregon, USA on 09/19/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I liked the first one so well that I bought the second one for my wife's computer. The best investment for my computer I could have made. Thanks SAMSUNG


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung SSD 850 EVO

By FloridaUser from Undisclosed on 09/16/2015


Pros:

Speed, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I did a lot of research before purchasing this drive. Industry leading 5 year warranty and 150TB Write were just 2 of the many pluses that I used for my purchase decision. You may wish to read the Tech Report: The SSD Endurance Experiment: They're all dead. Using the data cloning software that came with the drive was easy. After cloning the drive it booted without any issues. Using Samsung Magician is easy as well. I did have to turn on over provisioning but that was just a couple of clicks. I like the fact that I am able to boot and use windows in approximately 40 seconds vs the 3.5 to 4 minutes it was taking on my 7200RPM drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very cost effective buy

By zxaura from Israel on 09/12/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

With Out A Bracket (desktop Computer Adapter)

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

for its price it is a very effective and cheap way to upgrade the computer. with its support by the software and the company, it is perfect to my use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great drive, with great features at a great price.

By ItsMeIggy from Chesterfield, VA on 09/11/2015


Pros:

Inovative, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The drive is great on its own, in capacity and speed. I have used many SSD's and I own many SSD's but Samsung compliments it already amazing SSD with the Magician Software. You can benchmark, optimize, update the firmware, optimize the OS, security features and 1 amazing feature many dont think of. They offer over provisioning, which allows you to set aside portions of free space on the SSD for the controller to use to increase the lifespan of the drive and even performance, they thought of everything with this drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid & Fast

By Rickomatic from Leesburg, VA, USA on 09/07/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very happy with the drive! Was a bit tricky installing, but may have been a mobo issue. Once in, this purrs like a kitty!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Drive

By ckl1956 from New Orleans on 09/01/2015


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very fast drive, quite an improvement over my HDD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Potentialy great SSD

By LoPo2015 from Houston, TX, USA on 08/24/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Good Performance

Cons:

Magician Software Does Not Support Win 10

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This SSD could be great, the problem I am having is that Magician 4.6 does not support Windows 10, so I cannot run the SSD in Rapid mode. But the SSd works fine, and was great value for money. This is the second SSD on my system, so cloning with the Migration tool was not possible (only works for the first/OS disk). I bought the 2.5/3.5 inch mounting bracket separately, is not included in the box. All in all I am happy with the SSD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Noticeably better performance

By dborja from Northern California on 08/09/2015


Pros:

Great Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This SSD replaces an existing one from a different vendor. I definitely notice it's faster and I've had no problems with it. I'm using this with my iMac and I've enabled TRIM with no issues either. I am happy with my Samsung Evo SSD!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blazing Fast

By LandyR from Greenville, SC on 08/06/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

I just upgraded from a 7,200 RPM HD, Night and Day! This is great. Apps open as fast as you need them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great SSD Hard Disk

By csosa from Homestead, FL, USA on 08/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent SSD Hard Disk. Great speed and performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has great features

By Goth5150 from Undisclosed on 07/31/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great drive. Very fast and works great. Speed up my laptop boots by a minute and a half.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SSD 850 EVO

By graetz from Portland, OR, USA on 07/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Exactly what I needed. Installation was perfect. Function, performance are great.a


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THIS PRODUCT HAS GREAT FEATURES

By mmalang from Fremont, CA, USA on 07/20/2015


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

VERY GOOD PRODUCTS, GOOD BRAND I HAVE 5 SSD SAMSUNG SO FAR


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great drive.

By advacct from Arlington, TX, USA on 06/30/2015


Pros:

Good Value

Cons:

Have Not Found One Yet.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The is my second EVO SSD. My first one was a 250 MB. The 500 gives me more storage space. Both drives load faster than my original drive. The Samsung magician software keeps the drive at optimal performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great SSD for your money

By jak1up from us on 06/19/2015


Pros:

Includes Clone Softwere, Fast

Cons:

Clone Softwere Could Have Better Instuctions

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Installed easy and the software included to clone and keep updated works well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This review is from: SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

By cepak from Fort Worth, TX, USA on 06/19/2015


Pros:

Great Performance

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros: My OCZ 64Gb drives was down to the last 420mb. They were great drives, but a 5 year old Sata II SSDs don't compare to this Sata III beast. I bought 2, one for my PC and one for my wife's PC. I will definitely be buying one more of these for my daughter's PC. This Samsung SSD comes with Data Migration software for cloning an existing partition as well as Samsung Magician software for optimizing the drive. There is no need to buy or download any other cloning software. The cloning process was easy and took about an hour with an external USB to Sata II enclosure (I had one laying around). The Samsung Magician software identified that I had the SSD set for IDE and not AHCI (AHCI is much faster). Benchmarks with the SSD set for IDE were terrible, and here they are: Benchmarks are as follows: Sequential Read - 346 MB/Sec Sequential Write - 440 MB/Sec Random Read - 9074 IOPS Random Write - 18,623 IOPS After correcting and converting to AHCI my benchmarks are as follows: Sequential Read - 532 MB/Sec Sequential Write - 506 MB/Sec Random Read - 39,839 IOPS Random Write - 34,084 IOPS Much improved and you can really tell the difference, especially with game loading. Cons: None at this moment. I'll update this review in a month or two. Other Thoughts: If you installed Windows 7 in IDE mode and realize you actually needed AHCI mode for better SSD performance, you can fix this issue easily. You can't just go into the Bios during windows 7 boot up or your OS will crash. The following are instructions on how I corrected my IDE to AHCI: 1) Startup -> Regedit 2) Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE / SYSTEM / CurrentControlset / Services 3) Open msahci 4) In the right pane, left click on "start" then right click and select "Modify" 5) In the "value" data field enter "0" and click OK. 6) exit Regedit 7) Reboot your system and enter your BIOS (hold "Delete" key while rebooting) 8) In the BIOS select "Integrated Peripherals" and Onchip PATA/SATA Devices. 9) Change SATA Mode to AHCI from IDE 10) Save and exit BIOS, and boot into Windows 7. The OS will recognize AHCI and install the devices. Your system will now need one more reboot, then you'll have the screaming SSD you've always wanted.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Definitely fast, but a little power hungry for an SSD.

By Dave051968 from Denver, CO, USA on 06/16/2015


Pros:

Silent, Lightweight, Fast

Cons:

High Power Consumption For Ssd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was an upgrade from a SanDisk Ultra Plus 256. The capacity is much better for me. 500GB goes a lot further than the 256GB I had before. The speed is somewhat faster for large file transfers, and mine actually delivers 505MB/sec read and 465MB/sec write with large files (>20MB). IOPS benchmark about 40% higher than I had before. Real world I can't tell any speed difference between this drive and my old SanDisk, although occasionally my boot times climb into the 20+ second range (running a 2.2/3.2GHz i7-3632QM on HM76 chipset, 16GB DDR3-1600 999-24, and 1TB secondary HDD, Win7x64). Normally boot time is about 15sec; It was 14.1sec every time with the previous SSD. Power consumption in my laptop has also gone up considerably. With the previous SSD my battery life was a consistent 9h30m, now it is about 5h. (Both run times with brightness at max, surfing the internet only.) Standby power consumption is supposed to be very low, but when have you known Windows to leave the boot drive alone long enough for that to be effective? Overall, though, considering the capacity benefits I would definitely recommend this SSD as a great upgrade item. And if you are upgrading from a hard drive you could expect your battery life to increase significantly. ** Note that the Design rating only got 4 stars due to the significant power increase over my previous SSD. Some increase was expected, but not this much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value for SSD

By SSDforlife from Philadelphia, PA on 06/07/2015


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Great Value

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this drive for my performance laptop and it's a dream. The size is great for storing games, movies and music. Boot times were reduced to about ten seconds and loading applications is just about instantaneous. Highly recommend this drive to anyone looking to upgrade to SSD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad I made the move to a Samsung SSD

By Birddog669 from San Antonio, TX, USA on 06/02/2015


Pros:

Much Faster Than My Old Hard Drive

Cons:

Price Dropped $20.00 2 Days After I Bought It

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall, great product. Easy to clone my old hard drive using the software that came with the SSD. The only detractor was the drive is now $20.00 cheaper (price dropped a couple of days after I purchased the Samsung SSD (:


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent performance

By VloureedU from Houston, TX on 05/25/2015


Pros:

Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I read many reviews on the 850 series and I was definitely satisfied with all the positive information holding true in my application. I will be adding more of these into my environment as I upgrade.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This 850EVO 500GB is a fantastic SSD!

By Kirkola from Florida, USA on 05/14/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Great Data Migration Software, Great Samsung Magician Software (downloadable), Durable, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 850EVO 500GB has the speed, is lightweight. Way better than the 7200rpm 500GB drive it replaces. And what I noticed the most is the PC after SSD replacement for the Operating System, it has a feel when using the keyboard or mouse, of being as "smooth as silk". That was unexpected and hard to describe, but I bet you'll notice, it is great! I'd suggest if and before replacing the boot drive, Perhaps create a "Windows System Repair" disc or USB key fob, before replacing your boot drive with the SSD. Just in case, and if needed. So, I am very happy with the machine with the new SSD, and it is working great! Thank you Samsung!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The 850 EVO is a awesome SSD

By HappyGamer from Undisclosed on 05/04/2015


Pros:

Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have Win7 ultimate on a Asus Maximus and bought a 500gb EVO for the OS, I am running two 500gb disk drives one for games and one for programs and a 2tb disk drive for storage and backup. The two 500gb hard drives were left over from the raid on my old comp. The boot time and speed of the EVO is very impressive so I plan on buying a EVO 250gb or EVO PRO 240 256gb for Windows and making the EVO 500 SSD the gaming drive. I must say the Samsung EVO is probably the best single investment I've made on a upgrade..... Intel i7 4.0 CPU, Asus Maximus Motherboard, G.Skill Trident X 2133 Memory, 2X NVidia Graphics Cards SLI, Samsung EVO 850 500gb SSD


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No problem cloning

By scrammer from Dallas, TX, USA on 05/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My old hard drive was starting to falter after 8 years, so after reading reviews and comparisons, I decided on the Samsung 850 EVO. So far, excellent! Once I obtained the USB 3.0 to 2.5 in adapter cable, cloning was much faster than I expected and went without a hitch, once I made sure to close ALL open applications. Installation in place of the previous SATA drive was also easy with the 2.5 to 3.5 in adapter frame that I purchased separately.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent upgrade!

By zeppelinrules64 from Undisclosed on 03/28/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Added this to a system with a AMD FX8350,8 Gigs Ram and a MSI R290 as well as a WD1 TB Black HDD and it added life to an already pretty nice setup. Windows loads in approx. 5-6 Everything is very fast and responsive. 10/10


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excelent for virtualization and simulations products like VMware workstation and GNS3

By WhiteDrakko from Puerto Rico on 03/24/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, All The Benefits Of Having A Ssd.

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I installed application like. wmvware workstation and gns3 in my SSD 850 EVO 2.5" SATA III 500GB. Also I stored my VMs templates inside this ssd. VMware workstaions and GNS3 installed super fast comparing with my previous hdd seagate barracuda 1tb.!!!!.During the cloned process the disk utilization percentage avg was no more than 10%. During the Guest's OS installation, the utilization disk percentage was between 5%-6%. While Im working with 2 VMs simultaneously it keeps between 5%-10% utilization. Right now i have this samsung ssd hosting the os, application and my VMs. My previous seagate barracuda 1tb is storing my program installation files. I'm willing to buy the 1TB version of this SSD later this year (waiting for a lower price).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very reliable drive and fast.

By Ahlook from Wainwright, AK, USA on 03/21/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Fast

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this drive to replace 840 evo 250gb .The new 850 evo 500gb is a little faster and Windows 8.1 boots in about 13 seconds. I made the 840 my game drive and it still works like the day I bought it over a year ago. I'll always go with a good company and Samsung never has let me down yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By Dcdave655 from Maryland on 03/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The solid-state hard drive was not hard to hook up although my backup for the other hard drive did not work as planned the other hard drive was 100 gigs bigger in desk size and I tried to migrate it over with the software that came with it but after doing it twice it failed. So what I did was install the operating system Windows 8.1 then I installed my files off of another backup. It all worked good and I am pleased with the performance and the speed of this hard drive. I am very pleased with the hard drive and would recommend it to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best SSD Ever

By SSD500Evo from California, USA on 03/15/2015


Pros:

Fast, Inexpensive

Cons:

Clone Software A Bit Cheesy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So fast, my PC boots up in 8 sec running Win 7. Great value too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value

By Pablo123 from Undisclosed on 03/12/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Samsung SSD is super fast, easy to install, and is a great value. Highly recommend to anyone who is upgrading to their first SSD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Thought it was gonna be great

By TechnoPop from Undisclosed on 03/07/2015


Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

...but it wasn't. Looking at competitors now for better product at better price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great SSD

By DrReview from Pennsylvania, USA on 02/18/2015


Pros:

Fast Read And Writes, Design, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A great SSD for the money. Value, speed, and cool design at the right price point. Magician software is a great feature rich software, probably one of the best in the SSD business.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Fast!!!

By mobilcams from Phoenix, AZ, USA on 02/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive plus 4gig of memory took my laptop from a snails pace to a jaguar. I do a lot of photography and it used to take almost a full minute to load Photoshop CS 5.5, now it only takes about 5 seconds. It has improved my work throughput a LOT!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best upgrade possible for 3 year old PC

By SteveInOmaha from Omaha, NE, USA on 02/15/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Easy To Install & Configure

Cons:

No Information On Required Adaptor For 3.5 " Drive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Amazing improvement in speed and performance with easy to use software to quickly transfer your old hard drive to the new SSD. It's like getting a new PC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved