Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » MZ7KE256BW » 20 Reviews

Samsung 850 Pro Mz-7ke256bw 256 Gb 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive - Sata - 512 Mb Buffer - 550 Mbps Maximum Read Transfer Rate - 520 Mbps Maximum Write Transfer Rate - 100000iops Random (mz-7ke256bw) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 20 reviews)

80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Inexpensive (7), Lightweight (4), Durable (6)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great upgrade for laptop or desktop

By Diatomacious from Greensboro, NC, USA on 10/09/2015


Pros:

Superfast

Cons:

7mm To 9mm Converter Not Included

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this little drive... upgraded from a mechanical drive and the speed difference is insane.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best SSD

By dantfmly from North Carolina, USA on 08/19/2015


Pros:

Fast Great Warranty

Cons:

To Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best SSD in my opinion, but you will pay for it. the evo series is a better deal almost as fast but only a 3 year warranty compared to the 10 year with this one. I just wanted the fastest and the 10 year warranty.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Priced as Expected, fast device and faster with Rapid Mode enabled

By Toph2112 from Undisclosed on 08/03/2015


Pros:

Durable, Fast, 10 Year Warranty

Cons:

Samsung Magician Not Working In Win 10 Yet?

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Rapid Mode allows higher transfer rates that come closer in numbers to PCIe SSD Devices. So basically, yeah - the drive will be faster than other SSDs when it's enabled. The pro 850 model has a 10 year warranty as opposed to the 5 year for the 850 EVO. Both are great drives, either way. Samsung states the durability is such that you could write -at least- 150 Terabytes of data to this drive before it runs out of P/E cycles (short for program/erase cycle - the procedure of data being written, erased and re-written to the drive) and creates issues. That is amazing! It means that the majority of users won't 'use up' the drive in our lifetime, let alone the life of the existing computer it is housed in. Only drawback as of this review: The software used to enable Rapid Mode (Samsung Magician) for the drive is not currently able to run or is unstable for Windows 10. Samsung Magician does not list Windows 10 in its system requirements so even if it does work, it is most likely not supported yet. This issue is something I've read about, I have not seen it first hand. To be on the safe side, I uninstalled Samsung Magician before upgrading Windows 8.1 to Windows 10 in case there was an issue. I'm sure Samsung will have an update soon, so this will not pose as a real problem. You can still use the drive without it being enabled and it has great transfer speeds either way.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By 4EyeGeek from Sacramento, CA, USA on 06/26/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product worked as designed. cloning of system drive went flawlessly. Considering what I paid for it, this was the biggest and cheapest performance upgrade.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding performance and durability

By Taishan from USA on 06/02/2015


Pros:

Very Fast Boot Up, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have bought a new laptop workstation with a 500GB HHD , To me this is the economical way because SSDs can be purchased at one third the cost of the upgraded from the computer manufacture. I trust the Samsung SSDs for this upgrade as I have used different models of Samsung SSDs in the past . I have never had an issue with their drive so I have purchased a 250gb mStata and a 250 gb Stata to upgrade my new computer. I also purchase an 850 Pro to upgrade my six year old Dell M4800. I do recommend Samsung SSDs as well as their RAM memory.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EXCELLENT AND SOON THE ONLY OPTION

By BStithage from Phoenix on 04/11/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Cons:

Cost Prohibitive For Some.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is single handedly one of the most significant improvements along with RAM a novice computer user can effectively DIY improvements to their existing computers. No more lag or wait times for loading information. It is all right there and if you have a secondary HD to save your erroneous extras to you will never see a reduction in performance as the SSD use free space as Ready memory to support your current actions on the computer. Do it you will not regret the upgrade and remember when you pay for quality it only costs you a little today for a lot of peace of mind and reliability and time not waiting for repair/replacement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb SSD

By prjdmd from Middletown, CT, USA on 04/10/2015


Pros:

Fast Drive, Great Warranty, Durable

Cons:

Should Include Samsung Magician Info And Direction

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this drive to upgrade my original 120 GB boot drive. Prior to purchase I examined specifications and reviews of many SSDs before deciding on the Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB drive. The Samsung 850 Pro had the best specs, warranty and reviews at the time among comparable SSDs. Cloning my Samsung 850 Pro with the old SSD was very straight forward and installing the new boot drive went without a hitch. The only issue developed when I used Samsung Magician to optimize my OS. I failed to realize that the optimization software disables windows backup service. I went to perform my weekly backup and was surprised by the lack of Windows backup function in Control Panel. A quick search revealed that by re-enabling and restarting the backup service my Windows backup was restored and working properly. At this time I have had no other problems with my Samsung 850 Pro drive and software. I hope it will continue to function correctly for many years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blazing Fast

By Meinie from Undisclosed on 03/29/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fastest ssd i have ever owned it is robust comes with a nice bundle of software,all and all it is a good product like all products of samsung are,never had any complaints about it,keep up the good work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Loving it.

By Mick65 from Undisclosed on 03/22/2015


Pros:

Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fast and Reliable. I had no problem with the install. Keep up the good work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Its all about speed

By Anonymous from Fort Worth, TX, USA on 03/20/2015


Pros:

Speed

Cons:

None Yet.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Prior to purchase, I only read about the impressive performance specs. After purchase I never felt the need to run a detailed set of performance tests.... the reason being is that my system boots Windows 7 in less than 30 seconds including typing in the password. Gotta love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best SSD

By Protocol48 from Pomona, NY, USA on 03/10/2015


Pros:

Robust

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the best SSD on the market.; enough said !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

killed by firmware update

By greejay from Undisclosed on 02/27/2015


Pros:

Fast

Cons:

Unacceptable Software

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Got to use this new drive for a month, then upgraded the firmware through the included Magician software and the drive would no longer boot. Windows wont recognize the drive, so I cant reinstall the OS or even format it to get my files off. If I would've known I was paying full price for 10 years of some other user's refurbished drives, I wouldn't have bought.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

850 PR0 256GB

By rbullis from Avon, IN, USA on 01/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This SSD is the best thing I could have done to my system. I bought to of these to place in Raid for my OS and Applications I clone this raid set for safety and the Software included with this SSD helps me with that. This was by far the best performance boost I have given my PC since I upgraded the Video Card.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT DRIVE TILL GOT UPDATE NOTICE//UPDATED MAGICIAN AND GET BLUE SCREEN ON BOOT

By JNSNAMS from OKLAHOMA U.S.A on 12/10/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Super Fast

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This drive was great the first 2 weeks..loved it and got what it said it gives on tests in my laptop.. got a notice yesterday to update samsung magician and I did... when I enable the rapid mode again it wont boot and blue screens...tested several times to find the issue and thats what it is. Went to get support and theres no option for support under this drive ( basicly released and drive and didnt update support for it)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung 850 PRO

By AdamKi from Cincinnati, OH, USA on 11/19/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best SSD on the market today. No need to brag about it. 10 years warranty


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

user error

By kube1987 from nj on 10/11/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable, Awesome Increase In Speed Compared To Standard Hdd, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Do not listen to the people that have problems with this ssd it is very good and works flawlessly for the people having problems it's most likely user error and people that don't know much about the computer world windows 8 is a good op but is far from perfect and has a lot of issues with compatibility with other devices and as far as a partition disappearing I'm sorry I've never had this happen and I do this alot so I'm sorry to say that's user error my friends


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No osX Magician Software

By DAK60 from Pennsylvania on 10/10/2014


Cons:

Disk Software Only Works On Windows Systems

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product, but no compatible software for the MAC operating system. Big hole for all the MAC users out there that would like a simple way to monitor the SSD and update the firmware. Migration and Magician software only work on Windows operating systems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad software (Magian 4.4)

By Gadget1234 from The Netherlands on 09/27/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Every time I trie to use the supporting software and change the OS performance from normal HDD specs towards one of the 3 SDD choices the system stops working! Only a system restore will fix the problem. My system is brand new with Windos 8.1, an Z97m-plus motherboard and a I7-4960K processor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for Editing

By TGWM from Miami, FL, USA on 08/31/2014


Pros:

Warrentee, Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the main purpose of the ssd, besides windows startup. To me, 256gb is quite large, and even more so since this is just a momentary stopping point for the most part for editing. Foresee this lasting quite some time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Partition Lost

By AlohaMike from Kailua, HI, USA on 07/25/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Just received my new 850Pro. Created a partition on the drive. Rebooted and the partition vanished. Well the specs are great so may RMA this one for another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved