Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » MZ7PD128BW » 34 Reviews

Samsung MZ-7PD128BW 120gb 840-series Ssd Sata Iii 2.5 2.5in Single Unit 3yr Warr Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 34 reviews)

96% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Durable (13), Inexpensive (6), Lightweight (11), Fast (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Super Fast !

By lucky15 from Whitewright, TX on 09/15/2014


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The 128 GB version performs with remarkable speed and stability. After almost 2 weeks of very heavy use on a fresh install of Windows 7, I've experienced no issues. Samsung's 4th-generation 3-Core MDX Controller has been and still is at the top of the heap. Initially, the performance was lower than rated because I did not have AHCI mode enabled in my registry and BIOS, but after a couple of tweaks my benchmarks were impressive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

samsung

By ACEBEAR from Undisclosed on 08/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this thing is fast replace my WD and my System Rating went from 5.9 to 7.8 looking to get a 500gb when the price comes down


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great SSD

By CphvyD from Tampa, Fl. on 07/23/2014


Pros:

Durable

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using my 840 Pro for 6 months and it has performed flawlessly. My boot time is fast and download speeds are just what I anticipated. This product has met all my expectations, just as all my other Samsung devices. If your in the market for a SSD don't pass up this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This think resurrected my Computer

By Oren1a from Israel on 06/19/2014


Pros:

Fast, Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hi, This SSD made resurected my computer from the dead. Everything Is now running really really fast. I am happy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good ssd

By TechnicianProgrammer from Europe on 06/16/2014


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Cons:

A Little Pricey.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have it for a year with no problems. Good combination with win 8.1 pro 64bit. Reliable for work and gaming.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME!!!!!

By FrankW1975 from Grovetown, Ga on 05/25/2014


Pros:

Fast!!!, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I replaced a WD drive in my Asus X501A laptop with this one and all I can say is WOW!!!! This thing is fast. My laptop (running 8.1 pro) boots completely in under 10 seconds. Programs open super quick. The best upgrade ever. My laptop( i3-2350M, 4 GB Ram).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung is great!

By pw2much from United States on 05/23/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

No Cons

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my Samsung 840 Pro to bring my oldest desktop system back to life and that's just what it did! It's no longer the slowest of my systems but just as fast and reliable as the two newest systems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall Happy with this SSD

By SSDway2Go from Corpus Christi, TX, USA on 05/20/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this SSD seems to work very fast for business applications, has more than enough space for our business machines, and a price that comes in right under our budget limit, which is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best update to computer ever

By wecelliott from Tennessee, USA on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Adding the 840 pro SSD was the most noticable upgrad I have ever made to a computer, and i have been building my on computers for 20 yearI I would suggest a clean install, I have tryed both data transfer and clean install the clean install just works much better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blazing speeds

By rynomyte from Columbia, SC on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Reliable, Fast

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second SSD and my first from Samsung. This thing walks all over my OCZ Vertex 2. The Magician software really helps monitor the health and status of my drive. I will be using Samsung drives for the foreseeable future. My only complaint is that I didn't get a larger capacity...oh well, guess I'll be buying another soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great as a fast disk for OS and a couple games

By schrombomb from League City, TX, USA on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Fast, Magician Software

Cons:

High Price At Time Of Purchase

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this as a primary OS disk running Windows 8.1, as well as a few games that really gain from having a faster disk to load from. So far, I have not had any problems with it, aside from the price going down a lot shortly after I bought it :p I have the recommended overprovisioning of 11 gb with max capacity enabled in magician, and I haven't had too much of a space problem despite the smaller drive. I plan on getting a larger EVO when the time is right.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great features at an excellent price

By jk61fastssd from Undisclosed on 05/19/2014

I've had no problems at all using this fast solid-state drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very fast and stable drive

By Jmonee from Undisclosed on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Fast!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this SSD for about 9 months now, and it has worked flawlessly for the entire time. It is extremely fast and I find the Samsung Magician software to be easy to use and effective. Really, I have nothing bad to say, I plan to buy more in the future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features

By Vankata83 from Sofia, Bulgaria on 05/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The drive has excellent speed, run faster and stable... For now! There is no cable or mounting bracket in the kit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By denisp5964 from Undisclosed on 04/20/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent but just burned out after one year. What now?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EXCELLENT SSD

By DZGR from Kos, Greece on 04/14/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this product less than a month. It is very good, reliable and durable .The software is very useful and add extra value to the ssd. I recomend this product .


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This drive offers great speed for an amazing value

By CustomBuilder from Undisclosed on 03/18/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Excellent Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased the Samsung Pro series drive. Install of the drive is simple and quick. The performance of the drive far exceeds the performance of another brand SSD that i have.I have made the Samsung SSD my primary drive now. The performance from this drive is excellent, i feel i am really getting my money worth out of this drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply Awesome!

By GeorgiaDawg from Georgia on 02/17/2014


Pros:

It Looks Nice, Samsung Quality, One Of The Best Ssds You Can Buy, Durable, 5-year Warranty, Very Fast Read & Write Speeds, Solid Metal Outer Construction

Cons:

None!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WOW! My programs are installing and loading so much faster than they did with my old mechanical drive. Even web pages are loading faster than ever. Games are loading much faster, too. I certainly expected an increase in performance over my older mechanical drive, but this drive has really impressed me. I now understand why this SSD has gotten so many great reviews. This thing is awesome! I love it! Look, you probably can't go wrong with any brand of SSD, today. Any SSD is going to perform better than your typical mechanical drive. That being said, I am very impressed with the performance of the Samsung 840 Pro SSD and I highly recommend it. Plus, having the 5-year warranty (5-Years for Pro Version, 3-Years for standard 840 version) makes me feel even better about my purchase. Oh, and the Magician software is a very nice addition to this SSD as well. Don't be stressing out on what SSD you should get. Just get this bad boy and be done with it. You'll be glad you did. Promise! I just built myself a new computer this year (2014) and would like to share my system specs with you. If you're considering a new build, hopefully my system specs can be helpful to you. Good luck with your new build! Here Are My System Specs: CPU - Intel i7-4771 & Stock Heatsink Motherboard - ASUS Z87-Pro (V Edition) SSD - Samsung 840 Pro 128GB RAM - Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (1600) Low Profile/Voltage (1.3V) GPU - NVIDIA GTX 780 OS - Windows 8.1 Pro (64-Bit) Power Supply - Seasonic 660W Platinum Series Case - Corsair Carbide Series Air 540


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Drive

By Cmpepperdine from Undisclosed on 01/09/2014


Pros:

Speed

Cons:

Size, Cost

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Runs great in Raid 0, But there is no Software support under Raid. Which I don't understand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SSD 840 Pro

By Techmeup from America on 01/05/2014


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works GREAT! Easy to install. Brought my computer back to life!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice drive!

By Bash5995 from McKinney, Texas on 12/02/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very fast reads and writes in a real world application. Very cheap for the quality you receive. The Samsung software is awesome and free! The only con to this drive is the size, 128 GB fills up quick. Very light weight compared to other SSD I have owned which is nice if you are installing it in a laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to setup and lighting fast!

By whamp from Portland, OR on 11/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The SSD was super easy to setup and super fast. I've had no issues and will definitely be picking up a second one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best SSD drive out there!

By Encarne from Utica, NY on 10/24/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have Win 8 installed on this SSD and my PC is blazing fast. It boots in 10 secs!. Worth buying.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent performance, but might have a fatal flaw

By SSDExpert from Undisclosed on 10/18/2013


Pros:

Fast

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The drive works great, and makes my computer very fast, but when it is connected to my system it causes a system stutter every few minutes. Maybe I got a bad one... It doesn't happen with the drive disconnected. I have a z77x-UD3H motherboard, so if you have that too maybe you want to steer clear.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THE BEST SSD

By Anonymous from Presidente Prudente, SP, Brasil on 10/07/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simply too fast, the best investment I have made on the computer. Easy installation and backup, excellent performance, my operating system boots up in less than 5 seconds. Amazing, fantastic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Like a boss? No, like a pro.

By Go840Pro from Stanwood, MI on 04/06/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Affordable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After the many suggestions of friends who have SSDs I gave in and bought this one. And it has not disappointed. It packs all the jaw dropping speeds it promises. My only regret is not getting the 256GB. If you want an SSD go pro, Samsung 840 Pro.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The way a computer's supposed to work.

By sheeter from Undisclosed on 03/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Instant response. When I have to use a computer with a disk hard drive, It's painfully slow. By far, the best upgrade.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Definitely deserves its fame

By Stabler from Undisclosed on 02/10/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ultra thin(7mm), super light, exceptional aesthetics. Performance is as advertised. I had zero trouble installing two of these drives in RAID 0.Windows 8 64-bit boots in under 3 seconds(Without the BIOS POST).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice fast SSD

By D76EF from Undisclosed on 01/09/2013


Pros:

Durable, Performance

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This SSD has great reviews and has performed very well. The Magician software isn't performing correctly, a couple things are functional. Installed easy, first benchmark shows it's running at published specs. This is a fast SSD and I'm very happy with it. Initial price is high, hope it will come down. Gigabyte Z77X UD3H Intel i5 3570k 8GB Corsair RAM


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast

By Fleeorg from Undisclosed on 01/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very fast SSD.....................................


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Windows 7 Boot Speed

By RedEye9 from Alpine, TX on 01/01/2013


Pros:

Durable, Good Warranty, Fast, Lightweight, Cool Running, Silent

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this for my gaming machine. I am on the desktop in less then 30 seconds (including bios init.) Samsung Magician Software is just an bonus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super fast!

By impaireddeer from utah on 12/16/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The hard drive really performs. I can see a huge improvement in performance over the SSD it replaced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super

By MyeePlacee from Virginia on 12/04/2012


Pros:

Fast !

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very Fast - I purchased one of these, installed it, loaded Windows 7/64bit and my programs. Liked it so well I ordered another to clone for backup. I used to start my computer in the morning then take my dog out to potty come back in and check my email. Now I wait till I come back in to start my computer. I'm running these drives on a SATAII machine I built 5 years ago off of a raid card. I was going to get a new MB for SATAIII but decided not to. I do no believe the speed increase would be worth it. Cons - NONE


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Drive

By fed250 from Undisclosed on 11/18/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this drive! I have the 830 as well and for the price difference I would say stay with the 830 until the price on these drives drops a bit more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved