Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » MZ7TD250BW » 25 Reviews

Samsung MZ-7TD250BW 840-series 250gb 2.5 Sata 2.5 Iii Internal Ssd Single 3yr Warr Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 25 reviews)

90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Durable (4), Inexpensive (8), Lightweight (6), Fast (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Wow - startup speeds like a laptop should have

By gManRocks from VA on 10/15/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced a 7200 RPM laptop drive with this. Wow, the startup time for windows 7 was cut by more than half. Less then 27 sec from power button to login. So fast the little Windows chimes aren't even played all the way through before getting cut off. Only weird thing is when I used the Magician software I had to do it twice. It failed just at the very end. Restarted the process and it worked. I also had this problem with the 120G version I bought of this drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Day & night difference

By iam4lsu from Louisiana on 09/24/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Saves Laptop Battery, Fast

Cons:

Drive Erase Doesnt Work Right, Price A Little High

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really fast, saves laptop battery life, faster start up and shut down, nice software


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great, Super Fast but can't boot Windows 7

By Anonymous from USA on 09/16/2013


Pros:

Increased Battery Life, Super Fast, Quiet

Cons:

Not A Bootable Drive

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I love this drive. It is really fast. Loads Photoshop really quickly. This drive has been working well for 5 months except that I can't find anyone who has been able to boot Windows 7 from it. The solution has been to seldom shut the machine down. When rebooting I insert the system disc into the DVD player and boot from the disc. The speed and energy efficiency of the drive is well worth the minor inconvenience of not being able to boot up. Also, the SSD uses less electricity so the battery lasts a lot longer. I wish Samsung had disclosed that this drive cannot be used as a bootable drive before I purchased it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Like buying a new machine

By Blue68Camaro from Georgia on 05/15/2013


Pros:

Fast

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Five years ago I bought the top of the line, most expensive and fastest machine on the market. By todays standards it is slow. I really like the machine and never had any issues and decide to give it a new life. Just during boot up of Windows 8 ( I know, Ugh!) I instantly could tell the difference. I write a lot of software. The software applications load in a snap instead of sitting there watching an hourglass. Couldn't be more pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

lots of bang for the buck

By computergeek99 from Oregon on 05/12/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It just works, a simple way to speed up your computer and get rid of constant hum/noise of the spinning disk drive. The current version of the magician s/w has some minor problems with the fonts (bottom of some displayed characters are truncated), not sure why.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This SSD is like a rocket!

By trparky from Cleveland, OH on 05/06/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightning Fast!

Take any older PC, it could be as old as an Intel Core 2 Duo-based machine and install this SSD into it. Sit back and watch the computer take off like a rocket! Obviously, this SSD is going to have the most benefits for a notebook PC since notebook hard drives seem to scrape the bottom of the barrel when it comes to performance numbers. But it will most certainly help improve the performance of your desktop as well. The biggest bottleneck in today's PCs isn't the CPU or the RAM, it's the hard drive. They simply can't keep up with the Input/Output demands that we are putting on them. I have the 250 GB version of this SSD. I have Windows 7 and a mess load of programs that I use often installed on the SSD as well. Why? Because this SSD makes everything lightning fast. Boot-ups are fast, program launches are fast, everything is fast! This SSD is like a rocket!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easiest and most cost-effective upgrade ever

By WirelessMike from New Jersey on 03/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Thought about adding more memory to a 4-yr old desktop for a much needed performance boost, but memory was not widely available or cheap. The data transfer from the old mechanical HDD to the new SSD couldn't have been easier! Just make sure to get the kit (Samsung part numbers ending in "KW"). It has everything you need for a painless installation and data transfer. The old desktop is now much faster and quieter, probably good for another year or so before I'll treat the SSD to a new motherboard and processor! You'll be hard pressed to find a more cost-effective way to breathe new life into an older machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bang for buck

By t2kburl from Undisclosed on 03/15/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Finally and affordable SSD with enough size to be useful from a quality manufacturer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast SSD

By thearendts from Atlanta, GA on 02/20/2013


Pros:

Fast!

bought this to upgrade the speed of my laptop. Made booting Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit under 15sec


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great SSD

By Sanitahyzer from Undisclosed on 01/29/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Fast

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this SSD in my tower now for about 2 weeks using it as my OS drive, and love it. Windows Experience gave it a 7.6. I'm not really sure what else to say it's an SSD, VERY FAST, Small, and makes my tower so much faster then my friends.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good one

By sank from Undisclosed on 01/25/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

really nice working hard drive. there is no issue so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Snappy Little SSD's

By Loadedaxe from Jacksonville, FL on 01/24/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable

Cons:

Software

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love these drives, I have 2 in a RAID 0 configuration and a 1 TB Data drive. My write times are 1129 MB Read and 461 Write. The write speed on these is a little slower than some other brands and models, but for the price and the Samsung Quality, these can't be beat. I have tried a few other SSD's and none compare to the quality and durability as these. My only con is the bundled Magician Software doesn't support RAID.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good speed - may need other clone software

By zbellevue from Bellevue WA on 01/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

have 2 these. In my newer machine clone was very easy. In my older machine (Intel DP35DP Q6600) Samsung migration clone tool would not work (did not want to reload many programs by doing fresh win7 install). many tries and hours later later, third party commercial clone software did the trick (Ac____s). Would have saved money to buy the Samsung kit that includes Ghost. Once installed, boot and program/data load and write speeds are great. silent. cool. 5 star for drive, 3 star for my clone problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A nice one from Sammy.

By DtotheD from Undisclosed on 01/20/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A tad too expensive for my taste. Otherwise, it's quite fast and reliable thus far. Poor info from Sammy on feature activation/status, e.g. TRIM, etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast and light ssd

By lazyboywarrior from Undisclosed on 01/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The migration took ten minutes and was hassle free when you use norton ghost. Awsome performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Drive is faster than a speeding bullet LOL

By TheWraith2K7 from Undisclosed on 01/10/2013


Pros:

Perfect For Playing Games On!, Inexpensive

Cons:

None So Far

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this bad boy hooked up into an HTPC and I love it, perfect drive for an HTPC build! Talk about a fast drive WoooHooo!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for a start ssd

By marcelo4527 from Undisclosed on 01/10/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first SSD, I decided to invest in one after my old 5200rpm hard drive started to present some problems, I couldn't be any happier! I know this one isn't as fast as the 840 PRO but for a starting SSD It's really fast and impressive! I recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Linux support at all !

By lucamax63 from Milan on 01/05/2013


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, No Linux Support

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It is a shame that there is no software tools for Linux users or either some suggestions about how install it. How much it would had cost to Samsung to provide it ?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great!

By NIghtSkyGuy from Charlottesville, VA on 01/05/2013


Pros:

Fast

I replaced my notebook platter hard drive with this SSD and did a fresh install of Windows 8, Office 2010 and several other programs. Installation was incredibly fast and when working with programs almost everything is instantaneous. I should have done this a long time ago.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good SSD

By EatOrDie from Sacramento, CA, USA on 01/03/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display

This is the 2nd SSD that I got from Samsung. Both are 840 Series. Work really good and transfer rate is fast


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ssd 840 250 gb

By Bgries01 from Illinios on 12/21/2012


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Eeasy to follow instalation and easy to migrate the software was easy to use now if it lasts great deal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SSD

By computer5450 from Undisclosed on 12/17/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a good product for a new install and an update too. But hight price of SSD cards is still to high. and thank you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy

By BaconNBeer from Henderson, Nevada on 12/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my 250 GB SSD 840 off an online seller. The install was striaght forward. I registered the product found the software downloaded the cloning software. Cloning went fast and easy. I unplugged the old drive and rebooted it. It booted much faster and with no problems. Games load faster. I couldn't be happier. Price and features make it a great buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not the fastest SSD, but still a lot better than HDD

By jlobb2 from Chicago on 12/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Decent price per GB(relative to SSD) and decent speeds. The write speed should be faster, similar to the 830. Other than this, I'm happy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome ssd

By sdmf74 from Ankeny, IA on 11/22/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

samsung ssd 's are the best and the 840 is no exception. However I am a little mad cause I just built an awesome gaming rig with windows 8 installed and samsungs magician software would not install on this OS. Maybe I am complaining prematurely, I shall search for an update.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved